Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel San Moisè

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

When I entered the room given to us I thought it was a joke - a bad one. Not only was it extremely small, but it had also a ceiling so low I could touch it without fully extending my arm (I am of low average height). And to top this, the only window faced a brick wall. Being claustrophobic, I knew I would never be able to stay the 3 booked nights. So I called the front desk. A - not exactly friendly, but certainly very helpful and courteous - receptionist offered to show us 2 other rooms. The second was about the same size as the first except it has a little more light coming in though the window. The 3rd room was a little strange thanks to a ceiling with two different heights and a staircase leading to a small window with a nice view over the roofs of Venice. I said to the reception the room was OK, but that it was far from the room I had asked for (the 109 I read about on Tripadvisor, with window and balcony overlooking a canal). We were then offered to change room for the two following nights. And that's where we had a very nice surprise: the fourth room was really great (the 107; without a balcony but with 3 windows overlooking the canal, including the bathroom one). The breakfast is OK (only canned fruits and juices that look, taste and are dispensed just like medications). The hotel's location is fantastic. So all in all, we had a great experience and would recommend The Moise but only while being sure not to have one of those horrible tiny rooms.

First off, this hotel is in an amazing location. Literally a 2 minute walk to st marks square, beautiful restaurants and bars nearby, gondola stops the lot. There is also a very cute seating area where you can take a bottle of wine. The room we stayed in was VERY small. And I mean small. I understand, as a reply from the hotel to a previous review stated, that we paid the 'cheapest amount' (still over €450) so got the smaller room. But, we weren't expecting this. The door didn't open the whole way because the bed was so close to it. We had to store our luggage one of top of the other because there wasn't enough floor space for both. The wardrobe didn't open fully because the bed was so close to it, and the bathroom...well, my husband had to stand sideways to use the toilet. Put it that way! Also, our window looked out onto a small alleyway. So there was no natural light. It was very dark and dank. Ultimately, we weren't in the room during the day really as we were out and about. Which is a good thing all things considered! It was just annoying when there is two of you trying to get ready in a tiny space when you can't see because it's dark and you keep walking into everything because it's so cramped. Breakfast wasn't great. We had it one morning out of 3 and were less than impressed. The bread was stale, eggs were cold and not enough there for the amount of people at breakfast. Not worth the €8 each when you can get the same for less at other cafes in the area. Another negative we found was that there was no iron available. Bearing in mind you are in Venice and there are plenty of nice restaurants to go to where you would want to wear a shirt or dress etc they wanted €6 and 3 hours notice for every shirt my husband wanted ironed! I actually think that this was one of the most despicable and infuriating parts of the stay. We didn't have very much interaction with the staff to be honest in order to comment on their attitude. On the day we left we enquired about the boat 'bus' service and they didn't have a timetable, or offer any advice on where to get one which for a hotel in the centre of Venice was disappointing. Overall, I think it's fair to say that this hotel takes advantage of its location and has slacked on many of the services you would expect from a 3 star hotel. I haven't stayed elsewhere in Venice so maybe this is the norm but if we return we would pay more for a higher star rating stay I think.

Our room was the luxury canal view which was beautiful. We had two extra beds for the kids and it was a little squishy with us fire of us. Breakfast was nice - although very cramped seating due to space inside. Would recommend.

First impressions are everything; Upon arrival at the hotel via water taxi, a man came out to help us with our bags, this was a great start. I have stayed at 4/5 star hotels and not even had this level of service. Check in was straight forward and quick, the man who helped with our bags then took them to the room for us. From memory we were in room 18, up the stairs and along the corridor. The room was very small but had everything we needed, perfectly clean in a traditional Venetian style including Murano glass lighting. It felt like the hotel had recently been renovated. A small TV with Italian sky, signal was not great but I didnt go to Venice to watch tv... Mini bar had water and beer and there was a small selection of snacks, the Bathroom felt a little dated but was more than fit for purpose and again, immaculately clean. Location was brilliant, 5 mins max from St Marks Sq. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and set us up for a long walking day ahead, cereals, pastries and scrambled eggs, bacon and frankfurter available. The breakfast room was accessed through a side gate and the courtyard, which was very sweet, although we never sat with a drink there. I really do not have a bad thing to say about Hotel San Moise, it was perfect for a city break and I would certainly stay again, although I may upgrade to a canal view/larger room. Forgot to add, aircon was freezing!!!

Great location, approx 3 mins to St Marks Square. Lovely hotel with a beautiful courtyard. We stayed in a classic double room. It was clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. All in all a great hotel in the stunning city of Venice.

It's close to all the attractions and amenities. What can you ask more than to be close to the high street and not to be aware of this.when you get there try to visit /walk around the city, it's so nice and beautiful, it takes about 6 hours slow walk, just keep in mind the bridges.

We stayed here with our two kids and the room was just perfect for us. We paid a little more to have the room with a balcony overlooking the canal, and when the kids were tired it was the perfect spot to watch gondolas passing by. The interior courtyard is a lovely place to share a bottle of wine once the kids went down to sleep. It is minutes from St. Marks, but still quiet. The staff were very helpful, and the breakfast was good with many options despite this being quite a small hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Pleasant and helpful staff. Generous breakfast. Right on a canal ... can arrive from the airport by boat if you want. In a terrific location, only a five minutes walk from st marks sq, in a fashionable area, but off on a quiet little side street. No traffic or noise.

The San Moise has many good points: attractive classical/renaissance style and fittings as befits a 1600s building; comprehensive and satisfying breakfast including some nicely cooked bacon; friendly staff; location – on a canal bank, 5 minutes from St Mark’s Square, round the corner over a canal bridge past the San Moise church, and with plenty of nice restaurants just around the corner Vino Vino worth a try.. Our room had tasteful decor appropriate to the style of the hotel, and was clean and well serviced. It was in an annexe, but the luggage was carried there by a pleasant porter. However it was almost cell like and overlooked a narrow and scruffy courtyard – not a room to linger in. We have booked through Easyjet before and always been most impressed with the size and quality of the room, so this was disappointing on the first score. Despite air-conditioning it was always clammy – I suspect the heat being thrown out by the old fashioned fridge in the wardrobe was a factor – even our clothes were warmed by it. Also, it took two days to get an English language TV service – one woman on reception did not know how to, and there was only a general handset guide in the room. There is no restaurant/bar, only the breakfast room – a pity as there was a nice main courtyard where in nice weather a drink would be pleasant. Access was not as simple as we thought when booking Easyjet’s shared taxi from the airport. With its own adjacent canal we wrongly assumed that we would be dropped at the door – not so, it was at the Marco Polo jetty on the Grand Canal with a tedious walk to a hotel that is relatively hidden down a back alley; the same for the return. Not quite “taxi” service! However, access to the iconic attractions was straight forward. Useful tip – get a “skip the Q” ticket from the official visitors’ office just off the square – you will avoid a long wait – one queue into the Basilica must have been 150m long! Also to escape the throngs walk along waterfront towards the public gardens.

We had a lovely experience at Hotel San Moise, helpful staff (Although when we checked in at night, the receptionist didn't know English much, it was hard to understand what he was saying) but very helpful otherwise :) Room was very big and clean, toilet was soo clean. Breakfast was soo delicious (American style buffet) and the kitchen staffs were so lovely always smiling and wishing you as you enter the room :) Everything is close by, St marks square was just around the corner :) Overall we enjoyed our stay, such a pleasant experience, missing breakfast now :(

San Marco 2058 Venice VE

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to St. Mark's Square and St Mark's Campanile
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • Concierge services

Located in San Marco, Hotel San Moisè is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as St. Mark's Square and St Mark's Campanile. The 20 rooms at this 3-star hotel include sofa beds, private yards, and minibars. St. Mark's Basilica and Rialto Bridge are a short walk from the hotel, which is in the historical district.


Dining

Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

Hotel San Moisè's 20 soundproofed rooms provide sofa beds, private yards, and minibars. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and LED TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, and bidets. Coffee makers, safes, and phones are also available.


Property features

A local mainstay since 1400, Hotel San Moisè offers free WiFi in public areas, express check-out, and laundry facilities. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a garden and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Classic Triple Room

Twin 3 | Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Family Room

Full 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 4

Luxury Double Room, Canal View

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Triple Room

Twin 3 | Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

66% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 645 reviews