Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We stayed in the private room. It was very clean and the A/C worked awesome. The walls are pretty thin so beware of excess noise from local restaurants and sports courts nearby, especially late at night. Staff was very helpful and nice, emails were always answered very quickly. If you're looking for a good place in Tamarindo, I'd recommend it!

I liked that it had a private feel and outdoor kitchen. Hammock was a good touch. I had troubles with the lock it was getting stuck and it was was never resolved also the TVs speaker was definitely broken because it was distorting tremendously. On top of that the plastic chair outside just crumbled beneath me. My sister was didn’t feel as though she didn’t have much privacy because her curtains where see through. Other than that it was a good experience.

Location: a little off the main road. The walk to the hotel at night is fairly well lit and past a couple busy restaurants. I did not feel terribly uncomfortable walking to the hotel in the evening after the sun set. No problems with noise. Hotel: Very clean. Staff exceptionally friendly. Easy to coordinate my check-in. AC worked great. Hot water in shower. Kitchen accessible and easy to use. Pool small but refreshing. Hammocks outside each room for lounging. Each room looks in on the courtyard. Would be fun to book a few rooms if you had multiple friends or couples as it lends to a very social atmosphere if you want. Safe in room. Ventilador over bed, but only turns on when light is on. There aren’t porch lights and at night if your neighbor has left theirs on then your room may be affected by this a little. Meaning, the curtains don’t block all outside light. Overall a clean and enjoyable hotel.

This hotel does not have concern for customers. Due to pregnancy I could not stay at this hotel, they took our money from us, provided no refund or resolution. The manager was rude to say the least. The hotel is not as described. Overall Tamarindo has plenty of accommodating options with much friendlier staff.

Calle Corona Tamarindo Guanacaste

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Tamarindo Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Hotel Mahayana places you within a short walk of Tamarindo Beach and within a mile (2 km) of Grande Beach. This 8-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

The 8 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including furnished balconies or patios, refrigerators, and ceiling fans. Guests can enjoy free WiFi and TVs. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer free toiletries. Safes are also included.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Mahayana enjoy features like an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a library. There's free parking and an airport shuttle for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with tours or tickets, and offer advice about sights and eateries nearby. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include a terrace and a garden.

Room options

Comfort Bungalow, 1 Bedroom, Kitchen, Garden Area

1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

Twin Room #4

2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Double Room #2

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Mahayana

Everyone (2) Couples (1) Family (1)
5
Partner Couples

We stayed in the private room. It was very clean and the A/C worked awesome. The walls are pretty thin so beware of excess noise from local restaurants and sports courts nearby, especially late at night. Staff was very helpful and nice, emails were always answered very quickly. If you're looking for a good place in Tamarindo, I'd recommend it!

By , from Boston on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2020

Thank you very much for staying with us, it was a pleasure to host you. We hope to see you soon.

3
Family

I liked that it had a private feel and outdoor kitchen. Hammock was a good touch. I had troubles with the lock it was getting stuck and it was was never resolved also the TVs speaker was definitely broken because it was distorting tremendously. On top of that the plastic chair outside just crumbled beneath me. My sister was didn’t feel as though she didn’t have much privacy because her curtains where see through. Other than that it was a good experience.

By on Apr 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Thank you for your honest and positive feedback. We hope to see you soon again at Hotel Mahayana.

5

great!

Everyone

Location: a little off the main road. The walk to the hotel at night is fairly well lit and past a couple busy restaurants. I did not feel terribly uncomfortable walking to the hotel in the evening after the sun set. No problems with noise. Hotel: Very clean. Staff exceptionally friendly. Easy to coordinate my check-in. AC worked great. Hot water in shower. Kitchen accessible and easy to use. Pool small but refreshing. Hammocks outside each room for lounging. Each room looks in on the courtyard. Would be fun to book a few rooms if you had multiple friends or couples as it lends to a very social atmosphere if you want. Safe in room. Ventilador over bed, but only turns on when light is on. There aren’t porch lights and at night if your neighbor has left theirs on then your room may be affected by this a little. Meaning, the curtains don’t block all outside light. Overall a clean and enjoyable hotel.

By , from USA on Nov 9, 2017

1

robbed us of our money!

Everyone

This hotel does not have concern for customers. Due to pregnancy I could not stay at this hotel, they took our money from us, provided no refund or resolution. The manager was rude to say the least. The hotel is not as described. Overall Tamarindo has plenty of accommodating options with much friendlier staff.

By , from NY, NY on May 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2017

Dear client, Thanks for taking the time of a review though you did not come, we did not meet nor never talked... We do have a strict cancellation policy. That is certainly NOT robbing. I regret that the choice YOU made of not coming lead you to think you had the right of such heavy and untrue accusations. You cancelled and got charged according to the explicit Expedia's policy . There is NO need to bring your anger at us. Sincerely, Cedric

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Mahayana.h5225079-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Mahayana.h5225079-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Mahayana.h5225079-p2.Hotel-Reviews