Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Staff were very helpful. Room was small but adequate.

Convenient to Central Station, Asian Towns and Sidney Light Rail. The staff was very nice, but the room was disappointing. They could use some remodeling of the rooms and hallways. We were thinking of leaving the hotel to go to another, but the staff was very accommodating and moved us to a slightly better room, so we decided to stay. Everything worked well and the chambermaids were very nice, as were the downstairs staff. There are plenty of cafes, Asian restaurants and shopping areas very close to the hotel. We spent most of our three nights outside the hotel.

The hotel is ~2.5km from the Rocks/Circle Quay. It worked out OK for us-we walk a lot anyway. Upon check in I noticed an odor in the hall leading up to my room that I couldn't place. It was also very strong in the room (mildew as it turned out). I couldn't find any particular source, there were a few spots in the shower grout, but not much. I hoped it would get better with the A/C running but it didn't. When I mentioned it to the desk staff the next morning, they changed my room. The new one had no odor and was fine. They gave me no grief on switching. The hotel is nice although some parts of the bathrooms are older and a bit small. There are no security locks on the room doors. For a budget hotel (relative to Sydney pricing) it works and I'd stay here again if I had need. There's plenty of dining (mostly asian) around the hotel and Taxis are plentiful. WiFi is available as an extra cost.

great all round, but thought that paying $5 an hour for wi-fi was a bummer

Stayed here for the night before and the night after running the 2015 City2Surf 14K race. This hotel is a short walk from Central Railway Station and Paddy's Market. Many excellent eateries just blocks away. We attended a performance of Les Miserables at the Capitol Theatre which is across the street. Great value for a superb location. Staff friendly and helpful. Will certainly away here again!

I stayed at twin beds room for four days. During my stay, the bed sheet has not changed because the lip stick that I saw when I arrived from one of beds, had for four days long. The receptionist didn't provide detail information regarded with tour, of which the hotel has connection with. I would not recommend this hotel.

The hotel is in a great location. It's near the Central station, the light rail stop, bus stop and lots of taxis around. It's near tourist attractions and there are many restaurants around the area. It's near China town, it's walking distance to Darling Harbour, Hyde Park etc.

very convenient to the heart of the city for the best city sites

Was just there for one night before flying back to the states. Room was somewhat dark and the cleaning staff left lots of hair from the preview guest in the bathroom which was somewhat gross.

i enjoyed staying there , nice staff , great location , clean room , its an old hotel but still clean

I was looking for a low cost hotel in Sydney, and came to the conclusion that such doesn't really exist. Unless you want to do one of the backpacker hotels of course. Correct me if I'm wrong though =) The Metro Hotel Sydney Central is nicely located, only about a 10 mins walk from central station where the airport shuttle stops. The hotel is located in Chinatown (or at least it seems so), and darling harbour, and the shopping areas are close by. The town hall train stop is about 10 mins away from where you can reach all Sydney by train. I haven't tried the bus system, maybe there is something even closer. The room had standard equipment. Everything was clean and I had no interference with the service staff. When I arrived they tried to charge me extra for the wireless, but since I booked this hotel specifically with internet access, they did not charge me, and gave me internet. Very nice of them.

Had $12.00 shuttle to airport, they were prompt. Within easy walking distance to Darling Harbour. Good pub across the street, Chinatown close by. On the downside, we heard every door closing and conversation in the hallway. Rooms are nice and clean, desk staff are courteous. Okay for the price if you have earplugs.

The stuff was friendly, we called a day earlier that we wanted to stay an extra day, the next day. They even gave us a better price. The location is fantastic, you can not go wrong with Pitt Street or George. However, the bathroom was really old, the tiles were moldy and there was no shower gel. After requesting they refilled the dispenser that seemed malfunctional so after going for a day-long walk there was no shower gel left in it by the evening... it all dripped into the bathtub. I booked the hotel for the last 2 days of our Australian trip because it has a rooftop jacuzzi and a swimming pool. After half an hour of trying to locate it in a swimsuit we ended up at the reception where we learned that it is under construction. At least they should tell you if not at booking then when you get there. In the hotel it is shown as a 3 star hotel, that is kind of ok, do not expect more than that. Book it if the similar locations are very price, otherwise I can recommend the Metro On Pitt, which is its "sister" hotel and was much nicer.

431-439 Pitt Street Haymarket NSW

Hotel highlights

  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool
  • WiFi in rooms and public areas (fees apply)
  • Concierge services

Located in Sydney Central Business District, Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as University of Sydney and Sydney Opera House. This 220-room, 3.5-star hotel has in-room conveniences like refrigerators, coffee makers, and LCD TVs. Located centrally in Haymarket, it's also close to Sydney Harbour Bridge and Circular Quay.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Metro Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

All of Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central's 220 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and safes. LCD TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include phones, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central enjoy an outdoor pool, WiFi in public areas, and 2 meeting rooms. Offsite parking is offered for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. This hotel also has free newspapers.

Room options

Deluxe Double Room

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Superior Twin Room

Twin 2 | Sleeps 3

Junior Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Superior Queen Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Everyone (2) Business (2) Couples (2) Family (1) Other (4) Friends (2)
3

well situated.

Everyone

Staff were very helpful. Room was small but adequate.

By , from Hawaii on Oct 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2016

Dear Mark, Thank you for your stay and for the time taken to leave your review. We are all glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have taken advantage of our great location to explore the surrounding attractions. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation option with a friendly service and all feedback left by our customers is invaluable to us. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel and stay with us. Kind Regards, Guest Service Team, Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

3

ok central location

BusinessTravelers

Convenient to Central Station, Asian Towns and Sidney Light Rail. The staff was very nice, but the room was disappointing. They could use some remodeling of the rooms and hallways. We were thinking of leaving the hotel to go to another, but the staff was very accommodating and moved us to a slightly better room, so we decided to stay. Everything worked well and the chambermaids were very nice, as were the downstairs staff. There are plenty of cafes, Asian restaurants and shopping areas very close to the hotel. We spent most of our three nights outside the hotel.

By on Sep 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2016

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay and for the time taken to leave your review. We are all glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have taken advantage of our great location to explore the surrounding attractions. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation option with a friendly service and all feedback left by our customers is invaluable to us. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel and stay with us. Kind Regards, Guest Service Team, Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

3

nice enough hotel. not so nice area.

Everyone

The hotel is ~2.5km from the Rocks/Circle Quay. It worked out OK for us-we walk a lot anyway. Upon check in I noticed an odor in the hall leading up to my room that I couldn't place. It was also very strong in the room (mildew as it turned out). I couldn't find any particular source, there were a few spots in the shower grout, but not much. I hoped it would get better with the A/C running but it didn't. When I mentioned it to the desk staff the next morning, they changed my room. The new one had no odor and was fine. They gave me no grief on switching. The hotel is nice although some parts of the bathrooms are older and a bit small. There are no security locks on the room doors. For a budget hotel (relative to Sydney pricing) it works and I'd stay here again if I had need. There's plenty of dining (mostly asian) around the hotel and Taxis are plentiful. WiFi is available as an extra cost.

By on Mar 2, 2016

5

great

Singles

great all round, but thought that paying $5 an hour for wi-fi was a bummer

By on Sep 17, 2015

4

a hidden gem in stdney cbd!

GetawayWithFriends

Stayed here for the night before and the night after running the 2015 City2Surf 14K race. This hotel is a short walk from Central Railway Station and Paddy's Market. Many excellent eateries just blocks away. We attended a performance of Les Miserables at the Capitol Theatre which is across the street. Great value for a superb location. Staff friendly and helpful. Will certainly away here again!

By on Aug 12, 2015

2

no clean up for twin beds

Singles

I stayed at twin beds room for four days. During my stay, the bed sheet has not changed because the lip stick that I saw when I arrived from one of beds, had for four days long. The receptionist didn't provide detail information regarded with tour, of which the hotel has connection with. I would not recommend this hotel.

By on Jun 2, 2015

4

great location

BusinessTravelers

The hotel is in a great location. It's near the Central station, the light rail stop, bus stop and lots of taxis around. It's near tourist attractions and there are many restaurants around the area. It's near China town, it's walking distance to Darling Harbour, Hyde Park etc.

By on May 13, 2014

3

city stopover

Families

very convenient to the heart of the city for the best city sites

By on Feb 10, 2014

3

good enough for the price

Singles

Was just there for one night before flying back to the states. Room was somewhat dark and the cleaning staff left lots of hair from the preview guest in the bathroom which was somewhat gross.

By on May 22, 2012

2

good hotel with a great location

Couples

i enjoyed staying there , nice staff , great location , clean room , its an old hotel but still clean

By on Jan 4, 2012