Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location but quite noisy at night. Great if you are seeing a show at the Capitol Theatre. The pool was ok but not heated.

shower curtain (bottom) so dirty in room 1006 ..mattress kinda old , howevee staff nice, breakfast very basic and accesible to everything which is good

This place is in the heart of it all. Close to Central Station, Darling Harbour, and a ton of food choices. If I had to file a complaint (and this would be nitpicking) the WiFi isn't the best and they offer an airport shuttle but don't tell you it's a contract that stops at a ton of other places. Just take the train. It's faster.

Clean ample room. Great location! Hot water on demand and very good bath products.

The size of the room was sizeable for two double beds. The location was central to either the metro at Central or Town Centre. My only minor complaints are that the Wifi is fickle in the room, bathroom needs to be updated and the pool was not heated. Otherwise the hotel was good.

Very friendly staff. Room was very outdated and run down.

Wud been 5 stars but WiFi was subpar. Don’t plan to do much work related stuff as WiFi is ok for surfing the net only. Other than that no complaints and was allowed to check in early which is huge coming off a 17 hr flight

It was nice that we could buy our Air/Bus Shuttle ticket and our hop-on hop-off bus ticket at the hotel desk. The only drawback was that the shuttle had to be paid in cash.

Staff were very helpful. Room was small but adequate.

Convenient to Central Station, Asian Towns and Sidney Light Rail. The staff was very nice, but the room was disappointing. They could use some remodeling of the rooms and hallways. We were thinking of leaving the hotel to go to another, but the staff was very accommodating and moved us to a slightly better room, so we decided to stay. Everything worked well and the chambermaids were very nice, as were the downstairs staff. There are plenty of cafes, Asian restaurants and shopping areas very close to the hotel. We spent most of our three nights outside the hotel.

The hotel is ~2.5km from the Rocks/Circle Quay. It worked out OK for us-we walk a lot anyway. Upon check in I noticed an odor in the hall leading up to my room that I couldn't place. It was also very strong in the room (mildew as it turned out). I couldn't find any particular source, there were a few spots in the shower grout, but not much. I hoped it would get better with the A/C running but it didn't. When I mentioned it to the desk staff the next morning, they changed my room. The new one had no odor and was fine. They gave me no grief on switching. The hotel is nice although some parts of the bathrooms are older and a bit small. There are no security locks on the room doors. For a budget hotel (relative to Sydney pricing) it works and I'd stay here again if I had need. There's plenty of dining (mostly asian) around the hotel and Taxis are plentiful. WiFi is available as an extra cost.

great all round, but thought that paying $5 an hour for wi-fi was a bummer

Stayed here for the night before and the night after running the 2015 City2Surf 14K race. This hotel is a short walk from Central Railway Station and Paddy's Market. Many excellent eateries just blocks away. We attended a performance of Les Miserables at the Capitol Theatre which is across the street. Great value for a superb location. Staff friendly and helpful. Will certainly away here again!

I stayed at twin beds room for four days. During my stay, the bed sheet has not changed because the lip stick that I saw when I arrived from one of beds, had for four days long. The receptionist didn't provide detail information regarded with tour, of which the hotel has connection with. I would not recommend this hotel.

The hotel is in a great location. It's near the Central station, the light rail stop, bus stop and lots of taxis around. It's near tourist attractions and there are many restaurants around the area. It's near China town, it's walking distance to Darling Harbour, Hyde Park etc.

very convenient to the heart of the city for the best city sites

Was just there for one night before flying back to the states. Room was somewhat dark and the cleaning staff left lots of hair from the preview guest in the bathroom which was somewhat gross.

i enjoyed staying there , nice staff , great location , clean room , its an old hotel but still clean

I was looking for a low cost hotel in Sydney, and came to the conclusion that such doesn't really exist. Unless you want to do one of the backpacker hotels of course. Correct me if I'm wrong though =) The Metro Hotel Sydney Central is nicely located, only about a 10 mins walk from central station where the airport shuttle stops. The hotel is located in Chinatown (or at least it seems so), and darling harbour, and the shopping areas are close by. The town hall train stop is about 10 mins away from where you can reach all Sydney by train. I haven't tried the bus system, maybe there is something even closer. The room had standard equipment. Everything was clean and I had no interference with the service staff. When I arrived they tried to charge me extra for the wireless, but since I booked this hotel specifically with internet access, they did not charge me, and gave me internet. Very nice of them.

431-439 Pitt Street Haymarket NSW

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Capitol Theatre and World Square Shopping Centre
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Sydney Central Business District, Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is adjacent to Capitol Theatre and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like World Square Shopping Centre. This 4-star hotel has 220 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Metro Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

All of Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central's 220 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and safes. LCD TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include phones, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests of Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central enjoy features like an outdoor pool, WiFi in public areas, and free newspapers. Offsite parking is offered for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a terrace and a reception hall.

Room options

Deluxe Twin Room with 2 Single Beds

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Triple Room

Twin 3 | Sleeps 3

NEW YEARS EVE- Deluxe Twin Room with 2 Single Beds

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Everyone (8) Couples (2) Business (2) Family (2) Other (4) Friends (2)
4
Family with small children

Great location but quite noisy at night. Great if you are seeing a show at the Capitol Theatre. The pool was ok but not heated.

By on Oct 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and that you took full advantage of our great location to explore the nearby attractions. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with friendly service and all feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us improve. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of our team for their update. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

3
Everyone

shower curtain (bottom) so dirty in room 1006 ..mattress kinda old , howevee staff nice, breakfast very basic and accesible to everything which is good

By on Sep 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Dear Guest, We are glad that you have enjoyed the great hotel locatiion and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff. Thank you for your stay and time took to leave your review. I have passed your comments to the relevant department heads to identify what went wrong and avoid similar issues in the future. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

5
Families

This place is in the heart of it all. Close to Central Station, Darling Harbour, and a ton of food choices. If I had to file a complaint (and this would be nitpicking) the WiFi isn't the best and they offer an airport shuttle but don't tell you it's a contract that stops at a ton of other places. Just take the train. It's faster.

By on Jul 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. All feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we look forward to your return.

5
Friends

Clean ample room. Great location! Hot water on demand and very good bath products.

By on Mar 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2019

Thank you for your review and stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you have had a good overall experience and enjoyed our hotel location.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and all feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us improve. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

4
Everyone

The size of the room was sizeable for two double beds. The location was central to either the metro at Central or Town Centre. My only minor complaints are that the Wifi is fickle in the room, bathroom needs to be updated and the pool was not heated. Otherwise the hotel was good.

By , from Oakland, CA on Nov 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2018

Dear H, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

3
Everyone

Very friendly staff. Room was very outdated and run down.

By on Mar 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for your kind comments regarding our staff, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay. We strive to offer the best value for money accommodation with friendly service and feedback always helps us improve. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

4

fit the bill

Everyone

Wud been 5 stars but WiFi was subpar. Don’t plan to do much work related stuff as WiFi is ok for surfing the net only. Other than that no complaints and was allowed to check in early which is huge coming off a 17 hr flight

By , from houston on Feb 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2018

Dear jwili, Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and all feedback is invaluable to us, as it helps us improve. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of our team for their update. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your return. Regards, Guest Service Team Metro Hotel Marlow

4
Everyone

It was nice that we could buy our Air/Bus Shuttle ticket and our hop-on hop-off bus ticket at the hotel desk. The only drawback was that the shuttle had to be paid in cash.

By on Jan 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 22, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately we cannot control our contractors policies, sorry. We hope to see you again. Regards, Hotel Management

3

well situated.

Everyone

Staff were very helpful. Room was small but adequate.

By , from Hawaii on Oct 12, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2016

Dear Mark, Thank you for your stay and for the time taken to leave your review. We are all glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have taken advantage of our great location to explore the surrounding attractions. We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation option with a friendly service and all feedback left by our customers is invaluable to us. We wish you all the best with your future travels and we will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel and stay with us. Kind Regards, Guest Service Team, Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

431-439 Pitt Street, Haymarket, NSW 2000
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Sydney-Hotels-Metro-Hotel-Marlow-Sydney-Central.h808888-p2.Hotel-Reviews