Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney MGallery by Sofitel

4.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

While the hotel staff were pretty accommodating, kind, helpful, etc.. we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed with our stay. We upgraded to the studio suite, but it wasn't worth the payment. Our A/C dripped and was never really fixed, the movies on demand were pixilated and not working well (they refunded us our pay per view money thankfully), the shower door was jammed and wouldn't open enough to take a shower (the fixed this later in the day as well), the baby cot linens were old and yucky, the pillows were awful (although they gave you the option to order others- I didn't want the hassle), the wifi cost like $20! and the bathroom was tiny. It may be because we loved our stay in the hotel we were in days prior, or because this was the most expensive place we stayed at during our holiday (our of 3 spots) but we were disappointed with the facilities. I would like to note- they offered us a room change and looked into an upgrade after night 1, because of the tv and a/c issues.. but there was no upgrade because the room we were in was already the "upgrade". They gave us a complimentary drink at the bar instead, which was a nice gesture, just unfortunately didn't cover the disappointments. But- the staff was sweet and tried to accommodate as best as the could, they also diffuse the most amazing fragrance in the lobby, which is nice to come home to! Decor was nice throughout, Location was solid as well.

As a lover of architectural history, the Harbour Rocks Hotel's location placed me in The Rocks, surrounded by great buildings and history. It was super-convenient to everything I most wanted to see, and apart from the ferry to the zoo I was able to walk everywhere. The staff, especially Emily, Maria, Hugh, and Stephanie, were friendly and helpful. My suitcase took a trip to New Zealand for the first days I was there, and staff's commiseration, phone calls to the airline, helpful suggestions, and Maria hugging the baggage delivery guy when it finally appeared made a bad situation better. The room and bed were comfortable enough, though I found the shower weak and water temp hard to control. The chair was more for art than comfort, and the "desk chair" was worse. Being able to get complimentary Internet for two hours a day was fine for a vacation, but I really don't understand why free Wifi isn't automatic in a hotel of this quality.. Based on my experience, avoid the 24 hour room service menu! I got a pizza with a sopping wet crust and a thick disgusting layer of rubbery cheese. Breakfast in the on-site restaurant Scarlett was tasty though pricy, but with the plethora of excellent neighborhood choices (including the on-site creperie) there was no reason to eat there once I knew what else was available.

Great hotel in The Rocks of Sydney. One block from the Australian Tourist Board. A short walk to several classic pubs.

An excellent choice. Staff, location, price is perfect. This Hotel added to our "Sidney Experience" which was outstanding. Ownership, Management, Staff, are 5 Star. Very impressed with Emma and Paul. and the other staff members that added to our visit to Sidney. Sidney is extremely clean, well run, friendly, and has a great transportation system. There is a lot to do. It is very easy to fall in love with the City and Harbor Rocks Hotel. .

In the most perfect position, beautifully decorated hotel and rooms, 5 star in every way even the shampoo and body lotions to die for...... excellent

Lovely boutique hotel in great area. Easy walk to Central Quay and transportation. Nice outside sitting area. Very loud on weekend nights though and our room was on the street level so it was very distracting. Smallest bathroom ever-sink partially blocked toilet.

We wanted to be in the heart of The Rocks so that we could walk to all the major attractions - Opera House, Harbour Bridge, etc. But we didn't want to pay the extreme prices of the big hotels. So we booked Harbour Rocks and would absolutely recommend it and come back. Small room, but perfect for the two of us as we were only there to sleep and shower! Location couldn't be easier.

Made 4 calls to the desk to report that the air conditioning wasn't working in our room and was assured the maintenance engineer would call back. Never did get a call back as we checked in on a Fri. and learned he was gone til Monday and the air wouldn't be fixed. [...]

We used this hotel as a jumping point for walking to Darling Harbour, Hyde Park, the Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown. All were within easy walking distance. Internet use was more expensive here than other places we used around Sydney. We really didn't use any other services at this hotel. The staff though helpful when asked, didn't go out of their way either. No one ever mentioned having breakfast here.

The staff were incredibly unfriendly and gave us a room below the class we had booked online. Only upon presenting our confirmation did they move us to a room with a queen bed. This upgraded room was located next to a restaurant with loud music playing. [...]

34-52 Harrington Street The Rocks NSW

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Circular Quay and Sydney Harbour Bridge
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney MGallery by Sofitel places you next to Circular Quay and a short stroll from other popular sights like Sydney Harbour Bridge. This 59-room, 4.5-star hotel has round-the-clock conveniences like a fitness center, room service, and a front desk. Located centrally in The Rocks, it's also close to Sydney Opera House and University of Sydney.


Dining

In addition to a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, there's also a wine bar. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning off right with buffet breakfast served for a fee.


Rooms

All of Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney MGallery by Sofitel's 59 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers. 32-inch LED TVs come with cable channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include free newspapers, safes, and phones.


Property features

Renovated in 2012, Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney MGallery by Sofitel offers a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Offsite parking is available for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this luxury hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, a library, and free newspapers.

Room options

Studio, 1 King Bed (Suite)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, 1 Queen Bed (Heritage)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney MGallery by Sofitel

Everyone (2) Couples (5) Family (2) Other (1)
4

pretty place yet we were disappointed

Everyone

While the hotel staff were pretty accommodating, kind, helpful, etc.. we couldn't help but feel a little disappointed with our stay. We upgraded to the studio suite, but it wasn't worth the payment. Our A/C dripped and was never really fixed, the movies on demand were pixilated and not working well (they refunded us our pay per view money thankfully), the shower door was jammed and wouldn't open enough to take a shower (the fixed this later in the day as well), the baby cot linens were old and yucky, the pillows were awful (although they gave you the option to order others- I didn't want the hassle), the wifi cost like $20! and the bathroom was tiny. It may be because we loved our stay in the hotel we were in days prior, or because this was the most expensive place we stayed at during our holiday (our of 3 spots) but we were disappointed with the facilities. I would like to note- they offered us a room change and looked into an upgrade after night 1, because of the tv and a/c issues.. but there was no upgrade because the room we were in was already the "upgrade". They gave us a complimentary drink at the bar instead, which was a nice gesture, just unfortunately didn't cover the disappointments. But- the staff was sweet and tried to accommodate as best as the could, they also diffuse the most amazing fragrance in the lobby, which is nice to come home to! Decor was nice throughout, Location was solid as well.

By , from California on Apr 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2017

Hi Billy, Thanks for your feedback. Its great to hear that our staff members were helpful in general and sorry to hear that you have had a number of issues during your stay. We have informed all relevant departments and we hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

5

a place in the rocks

Everyone

As a lover of architectural history, the Harbour Rocks Hotel's location placed me in The Rocks, surrounded by great buildings and history. It was super-convenient to everything I most wanted to see, and apart from the ferry to the zoo I was able to walk everywhere. The staff, especially Emily, Maria, Hugh, and Stephanie, were friendly and helpful. My suitcase took a trip to New Zealand for the first days I was there, and staff's commiseration, phone calls to the airline, helpful suggestions, and Maria hugging the baggage delivery guy when it finally appeared made a bad situation better. The room and bed were comfortable enough, though I found the shower weak and water temp hard to control. The chair was more for art than comfort, and the "desk chair" was worse. Being able to get complimentary Internet for two hours a day was fine for a vacation, but I really don't understand why free Wifi isn't automatic in a hotel of this quality.. Based on my experience, avoid the 24 hour room service menu! I got a pizza with a sopping wet crust and a thick disgusting layer of rubbery cheese. Breakfast in the on-site restaurant Scarlett was tasty though pricy, but with the plethora of excellent neighborhood choices (including the on-site creperie) there was no reason to eat there once I knew what else was available.

By , from Boston,MA on Sep 24, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 30, 2016

Dear Stephanie, Wow! Thank you so much for your review & 5 star rating. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff. I will ensure your comments are shared with our team and we hope we can welcome you back soon! Regards Lauren Job General Manager

5

sydney

Singles

Great hotel in The Rocks of Sydney. One block from the Australian Tourist Board. A short walk to several classic pubs.

By on Jun 29, 2015

5

excellent choice

Couples

An excellent choice. Staff, location, price is perfect. This Hotel added to our "Sidney Experience" which was outstanding. Ownership, Management, Staff, are 5 Star. Very impressed with Emma and Paul. and the other staff members that added to our visit to Sidney. Sidney is extremely clean, well run, friendly, and has a great transportation system. There is a lot to do. It is very easy to fall in love with the City and Harbor Rocks Hotel. .

By on Dec 3, 2014

5

in the most perfect position

Couples

In the most perfect position, beautifully decorated hotel and rooms, 5 star in every way even the shampoo and body lotions to die for...... excellent

By on Jul 14, 2013

4

lovely but loud

Families

Lovely boutique hotel in great area. Easy walk to Central Quay and transportation. Nice outside sitting area. Very loud on weekend nights though and our room was on the street level so it was very distracting. Smallest bathroom ever-sink partially blocked toilet.

By on Jul 17, 2012

4

perfect location for a couple's getaway

Couples

We wanted to be in the heart of The Rocks so that we could walk to all the major attractions - Opera House, Harbour Bridge, etc. But we didn't want to pay the extreme prices of the big hotels. So we booked Harbour Rocks and would absolutely recommend it and come back. Small room, but perfect for the two of us as we were only there to sleep and shower! Location couldn't be easier.

By on Mar 30, 2012

3

harbor rocks hotel sydney

Families

Made 4 calls to the desk to report that the air conditioning wasn't working in our room and was assured the maintenance engineer would call back. Never did get a call back as we checked in on a Fri. and learned he was gone til Monday and the air wouldn't be fixed. [...]

By on Mar 18, 2011

3

good location

Couples

We used this hotel as a jumping point for walking to Darling Harbour, Hyde Park, the Queen Victoria Building, and Chinatown. All were within easy walking distance. Internet use was more expensive here than other places we used around Sydney. We really didn't use any other services at this hotel. The staff though helpful when asked, didn't go out of their way either. No one ever mentioned having breakfast here.

By on Mar 28, 2010

1

avoid this place

Couples

The staff were incredibly unfriendly and gave us a room below the class we had booked online. Only upon presenting our confirmation did they move us to a room with a queen bed. This upgraded room was located next to a restaurant with loud music playing. [...]

By on Mar 19, 2010