Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very comfortable, uneventful stay. Was able to work out on treadmill and rowing machine. I wouldn’t necessarily call what they serve breaking, but there is definitely coffee, tea, hot chocolate, muffins, oatmeal bars and Quaker oatmeal available every morning.

The first room I got smelled like weed, so I had it switched. The 2nd room I got, the bedsheets seemed dirty or linen/fibers felt super cheap. By then, I just wanted to sleep.

Property is in serious need of updating. Room was not properly cleaned. Carpet felt damp and dirty. Will never stay there again.

This hotel was very good for our length of stay and desire to not eat out the entire trip. We did have an issue towards the end of our stay with a bug or two in the bathroom- seems as though the sealing around the tub has gotten bad and maybe this was from the walls? The "gym" (treadmill and elliptical) was great if you use it! I enjoyed being able to get some cardio while I was there. The breakfast on the go was good- could use a bit more monitoring to make sure things don't run out since it is popular with guests as well as workers working on some area of the hotel. It was overall clean, non-smoking (which I LOVED) and a decent price compared to other hotels. This is not a vacation hotel, but basic. Pay more somewhere else if you want a lot of frills.

The hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel itself was clean looking. Our room smelled like wet feet if the AC was on, and there was a stain on our one pillow and our comforter. (Both of those items spent the night on the floor). No sign of bugs or mice so that was good!

Staff friendly, great rate would stay there again. Nice location....

Disappointing. There was a kitchen but no utensils. While booking the hotel they mentioned free breakfast. But nothing is available other than few muffins. No cream No sugar (to coffee / tea).

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past and never been given a room in this type of condition. It was disgusting. The fridge handles had caked on food and were filthy. In addition, the cabinet knob to under the sick (housing the trash can) was also caked with old, crusty food. The bathroom fan wasn't working and there was a hole from prior water damage/leak on the ceiling. The hotel was nowhere near full capacity when I stayed there. I couldn't imagine having someone pay over $100 to stay in a room like this. Unacceptable. In addition to all of this, while I was sleeping, some type of bug/insect crawled up on the bed and stung/bit me on my finger. I woke up early in the morning with an extremely sore finger/hand that has swelled to almost 1.5 times the normal size. Finally we had a late check-out. This was very accommodating (we asked to check out an hour late) and the front desk staff was extremely friendly about this and we appreciated it. While out, the cleaning staff came into our room, cleaned up and we caught her on her way out. We mentioned that we had a late check-out and she said that she knew, but saw that we didn't have our belongings in the room and decided to clean it anyway while shrugging her shoulders. That just seemed a little unprofessional.

Both rooms I was offered had residual smoker's odors. It's not a surprise as these hotels are usually stays for temporary workers and this is a mixed industrial/professional area.

Nothing was in a working or expected condition : room smelled terrible, the shower had no curtain , the dishwasher was soiled and broken ........had no choice but to stay for one night as I checked in close to 10 PM .

I have a family with two kids, one of which is an infant. Booked a non smoking room in this hotel. The minute one enters the third floor, the room is reeking of smoke and the assigned room was even worse. The staff was very cordial, but that did not make up for the fact that the room smelt like somebody had just smoked 100 packs of Marlboro recently. If that is a condition for your stay, do not book this hotel. If you are ok with it, then otherwise the room is ok.

Very clean and comfortable. Great Staff! Excellent Service. Overall very happy!

Staff was excellent! Very attentive and friendly! Room was nice and clean...

I love everything about this place the smell the view and the tvs .

The bed was terrible and uncomfortable and no maid service at all and overpriced for no extras like other hotels I have stayed in the past !!!

It was the cheapest I could find in the area I needed. If the heater fan was repaired and they had decent mattresses it would have been great.

The Hotel was in a good location easy access off of 287, and staff was pretty much attentive too our needs, however the bathroom needs too be made over, the sink had several rings on it, we had to ask for wash clothes at least 3 times and was told they did not have any, and we needed to ask for them in the morning, had service desk told us that your towels can be exchanged in the morning we probably would have brought our own. Overall thou if you need a nice inexpense room with a kitchen and fridge this is the place, just make sure you bring your own wash clothes and soap!. ;-))

Tenía una reservación y cuando llegue me dijeron que el hotel estaba lleno y tuve que irme para otro hotel y llamar muchas veces para que me devolvieran mi dinero

S Randolphville Rd Piscataway NJ

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facilities

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Middlesex Mall, Extended Stay America Piscataway - Rutgers University is within 3 miles (5 km) of Rutgers University, Busch Campus. This 112-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a fitness center.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

All 112 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, and dishwashers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America Piscataway - Rutgers University enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. Transportation is made easy with a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities, a picnic area, and a vending machine.

Room options

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Studio, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Deluxe Studio, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Piscataway - Rutgers University

Everyone (11) Couples (3) Business (1) Family (2) Friends (1)
5
Partner Couples Business Business

Very comfortable, uneventful stay. Was able to work out on treadmill and rowing machine. I wouldn’t necessarily call what they serve breaking, but there is definitely coffee, tea, hot chocolate, muffins, oatmeal bars and Quaker oatmeal available every morning.

By on Oct 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. It’s a pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fitness amenities. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

The first room I got smelled like weed, so I had it switched. The 2nd room I got, the bedsheets seemed dirty or linen/fibers felt super cheap. By then, I just wanted to sleep.

By on Jul 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the smoke smell you experienced and the cleanliness issues you encountered in your rooms. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team to see where we went wrong so necessary improvements to our processes can be made to correct our performance. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in Piscataway. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Friends Business Business

Property is in serious need of updating. Room was not properly cleaned. Carpet felt damp and dirty. Will never stay there again.

By on Jun 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2019

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay and the issues you experienced with your room. We only wish we could have addressed these issues while you were here so you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. Our housekeeping associates work hard to make sure all of our rooms are spotless and in good working order. We appreciate your honest feedback and will make the necessary adjustments to prevent this from happening in the future. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on May 20, 2019

4

nice for the price

Everyone

This hotel was very good for our length of stay and desire to not eat out the entire trip. We did have an issue towards the end of our stay with a bug or two in the bathroom- seems as though the sealing around the tub has gotten bad and maybe this was from the walls? The "gym" (treadmill and elliptical) was great if you use it! I enjoyed being able to get some cardio while I was there. The breakfast on the go was good- could use a bit more monitoring to make sure things don't run out since it is popular with guests as well as workers working on some area of the hotel. It was overall clean, non-smoking (which I LOVED) and a decent price compared to other hotels. This is not a vacation hotel, but basic. Pay more somewhere else if you want a lot of frills.

By , from Spartanburg, SC on Jun 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2018

Laura, thank you for choosing Extended Stay America for your stay. We are delighted to read you found us to be a good value and our facilities were up to your satisfaction. Your feedback in regard to our room will be shared with our team so that corrective measure can be taken. Thanks again for your review, we hope you will choose us again. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Everyone

The hotel staff was very courteous. The hotel itself was clean looking. Our room smelled like wet feet if the AC was on, and there was a stain on our one pillow and our comforter. (Both of those items spent the night on the floor). No sign of bugs or mice so that was good!

By on May 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We’re glad to know you were pleased with the service provided by our staff, but we’re sorry for the problems you experienced in your room. Please be assured that we have shared your valuable feedback with our housekeeping team so that they can be more diligent in their work. Please also know that our maintenance team is checking the AC to identify the signs of the odour. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Everyone

Staff friendly, great rate would stay there again. Nice location....

By on Oct 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know our location was convenient for your needs and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Hotel Management

2

not worth for the price

Everyone

Disappointing. There was a kitchen but no utensils. While booking the hotel they mentioned free breakfast. But nothing is available other than few muffins. No cream No sugar (to coffee / tea).

By , from Washington DC metro on Aug 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2017

Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. We strive to provide wonderful hospitality to all of our guests, but we obviously let you down. Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to improve our performance going forward. We regret the inconvenience caused, and please consider giving us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager

2

filthy, filthy, filthy extended stay

Everyone

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past and never been given a room in this type of condition. It was disgusting. The fridge handles had caked on food and were filthy. In addition, the cabinet knob to under the sick (housing the trash can) was also caked with old, crusty food. The bathroom fan wasn't working and there was a hole from prior water damage/leak on the ceiling. The hotel was nowhere near full capacity when I stayed there. I couldn't imagine having someone pay over $100 to stay in a room like this. Unacceptable. In addition to all of this, while I was sleeping, some type of bug/insect crawled up on the bed and stung/bit me on my finger. I woke up early in the morning with an extremely sore finger/hand that has swelled to almost 1.5 times the normal size. Finally we had a late check-out. This was very accommodating (we asked to check out an hour late) and the front desk staff was extremely friendly about this and we appreciated it. While out, the cleaning staff came into our room, cleaned up and we caught her on her way out. We mentioned that we had a late check-out and she said that she knew, but saw that we didn't have our belongings in the room and decided to clean it anyway while shrugging her shoulders. That just seemed a little unprofessional.

By on Dec 14, 2016

3

okay stop over

Everyone

Both rooms I was offered had residual smoker's odors. It's not a surprise as these hotels are usually stays for temporary workers and this is a mixed industrial/professional area.

By on Oct 27, 2016

Extended Stay America Piscataway - Rutgers University

410 S Randolphville Rd, Piscataway, NJ 08854
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Somerset-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Piscataway---Rutgers-University.h151277-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Somerset-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Piscataway---Rutgers-University.h151277-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Somerset-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Piscataway---Rutgers-University.h151277-p2.Hotel-Reviews