Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Budget Host Inn

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Nice for one night close to cedar point and close to restraubtd

This hotel is close to Cedar Point, but that's the only thing going for it. It's not very comfortable and the you can hear any noise outside very loudly in the room. I was woken up by a train going by several times. It's acceptable for one night but I wouldn't suggest spending any time here.

Overall, if you're just looking for a place to lay your head for a night, this will do. However, I would recommend shelling out a little more money to go some place nicer. The room was non-smoking but smelled heavily of smoke, the bathroom included no toiletries, not even hand soap for the sink. The toilet wouldn't flush half of the time, the tub wouldn't drain, and the wifi was non-existent. The location is convenient but I don't think it makes up for all the negatives.

Room wasn't ready when we arrived...had to drive around for 15 minutes....overall, friendly front desk staff

It was an overall good experience. The location is near a lot of restaurants in stores and only 5 minutes away from Cedar Point.

Although the the staff was friendly, we had to rent a mini fridge and the front desk lady was the only one who could deliver it, so we had to wait until she was free to bring it up, even though we saw 2 other workers who were available to bring it up. Then our rooms air conditioning wasnt working so we had to switch rooms, but they made it quick for us with no hassle. We also had to come down every day to get extra towels. There were 4 adults and 2 kids in our room, and were only left 3 towels. We also had to go to the lobby for extra blankets for the pull out sofa, and toilet paper. We always had to ask for extra food during breakfast, so go earlier. The air condioner was off when we returned from our day, so it was really uncomfortable. This is a short distance from the main road to Cedar Point.

Very nice, relaxing and quiet. I enjoy staying at this hotel when I want to just lay back. I recommend this hotel if you want a reasonable priced and quiet stay!!

Staff was friendly but the hotel room was overpriced. I could not wait to get out of the room. It was a oppresive! The only reason they can get away with charging $100.00 a night is because of Cedar Point. I wouldn't give you $40.00. Serious overhaul is needed.

This hotel location was just a minute from the Cedar Point Causeway. The room was clean, the staff was pleasant and efficient, and the rates were very reasonable.

The room was very smelly and the bed linen stinked. the room had spider webs all over the door. One of the beds box spring was broken on our first night and the bed had a big slump in the middle. The beds are very uncomfortable.. The breakfast was not great at all cold cereal, donuts, bagels and watered down juices... Not the best hotel for the money we paid. Th staff was very friendly and nice. the hotel location was wonderful.. I would never stay at this hotel ever again..

Excellent! Very great value. Ended up extending my stay. Very close to everything!. Literally 10 minutes from the mall and 15 from a shopping plaza. Food is everywhere!! 5 minutes from Cedar Point. If you are just going to be using your room to sleep in and your mostly going to be exploring the town then this is the perfect place. I read other reviews and was afraid to give it a try but im glad I did. The check in time was the earliest ever and your check out time is at 12 and usually its at 11. Give it a try, you will not be dissapointed. Very great value!!

I enjoyed my stay, the staff was very nice and the room was clean. I don't think you can expect anything better for the price, it has a great location, near the entrance to the causeway for Cedar Point. I was very satasifed with my stay, if your lookin for a 5 star place this is not the place for you.

We came to town for a wedding and just needed a place to crash, for the price it was fine. The staff was very friendly. The room was small but was fine for what we needed. A little musty when we first came in but we opened the window and aired it out then it was ok. Very noisy our room was close to the road. They don't have much in the room as far as shampoo, or a coffee pot. but we did get the cheapest room and really just needed a bed to crash so remember to pack your own toiletries if you stay here.

It is not bad hotel if you plan stay at one night. The price is not huge, room has necessary equipment. This hotel is very close to Cedar Point. But rooms are not so clean. Even you can see spiders on the walls. Pluses of this hotel are: price, location; minus is cleanliness. I was here at the beginning of September 2011

mainly there for fishing...got up very early..went to bed very early...alot of the people i was fishing with stayed there also...I would stay there again....

My stay was good, after spending a long day at Cedar Point, the nights sleep was restful. The youth in our group were able to swim in the warm and clean swimming pool the following morning.

With a great location near Cedar Point, this budget hotel is a good choice if you are just looking for an inexpensive place to sleep and shower at before heading for the roller coasters.

I just needed a place to shower and sleep for one night. Wasn't looking for anything fancy and this fit the bill. Generally clean but bathroom could have been cleaner. Nothing to gross me out though. I was missing the remote for my TV but didn't really need it as I was so tired. For a saturday night and location so close to Cedar Point I would consider it a good value. Staff was by far the best part, very friendly and knowledgeable. I had a few questions about the best closest store for some groceries and they steered me perfectly. Would stay here again. Just don't go expecting any fancy frills and you won't be disappointed. Continental breakfast was donuts, bagels, toast, mini-muffins, 2 kinds of cereal, juices, milk and coffee.

I stayed here because my boyfriend and I were spending the day at Cedar Point and didn't want to be bothered with a 3 hour drive home when we were tired and exhausted. It's actually a motel, not a hotel. The room was rather small, pretty outdated and not too clean from what I could see. Our top blanket had yellow stains on the back of it, there were cobwebs on the table, cigarette burns on the chair, the sheet didn't fit the bed. The walls are paper thin. There were people above us that were being really loud late at night and it sounded like I was in their room. In the morning, I was awoken to the sound of someone puking for about 10 minutes and someone else having sex. So overall, I was disgusted with this hotel. The continental breakfast was not too bad, but definitely not worth the $100/night! I would much rather just drive home from now on than waste money on a room like that!

We stayed here for my boyfriends birthday, and it was great! The rooms were huge and clean. We were able to fit 5 people in the room and had enough room to play cards and just relax! It was close enough to walk to the bars and just a 5 minute drive to CP.

2027 Cleveland Rd. Sandusky OH

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Rain Water Park Complex is within a 5-minute walk of Budget Host Inn while other popular sites like Pipe Creek Wildlife Area are within a mile (2 km). This 51-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Sandusky Mall and Cedar Point are also nearby.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

Budget Host Inn's 51 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Hair dryers and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Budget Host Inn enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free newspapers. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, Multiple Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Budget Host Inn

Everyone (7) Couples (15) Business (2) Family (17) Friends (12) Other (3)
3
Everyone

Nice for one night close to cedar point and close to restraubtd

By on Aug 20, 2017

2

meh

Everyone

This hotel is close to Cedar Point, but that's the only thing going for it. It's not very comfortable and the you can hear any noise outside very loudly in the room. I was woken up by a train going by several times. It's acceptable for one night but I wouldn't suggest spending any time here.

By on May 18, 2017

Review comment responded on May 22, 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. But, we can't do any think about train noise. Thanks for letting us know.

3

save a little more money and go somewhere else

Everyone

Overall, if you're just looking for a place to lay your head for a night, this will do. However, I would recommend shelling out a little more money to go some place nicer. The room was non-smoking but smelled heavily of smoke, the bathroom included no toiletries, not even hand soap for the sink. The toilet wouldn't flush half of the time, the tub wouldn't drain, and the wifi was non-existent. The location is convenient but I don't think it makes up for all the negatives.

By on Aug 22, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2016

would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies

4
Everyone

Room wasn't ready when we arrived...had to drive around for 15 minutes....overall, friendly front desk staff

By , from Hanover Park, IL on Aug 14, 2016

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect.

3

convenient location, close to cedar point.

Everyone

It was an overall good experience. The location is near a lot of restaurants in stores and only 5 minutes away from Cedar Point.

By , from Cleveland, Ohio on Aug 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect.

2

close to cedar point dr, but be willing to settle

Everyone

Although the the staff was friendly, we had to rent a mini fridge and the front desk lady was the only one who could deliver it, so we had to wait until she was free to bring it up, even though we saw 2 other workers who were available to bring it up. Then our rooms air conditioning wasnt working so we had to switch rooms, but they made it quick for us with no hassle. We also had to come down every day to get extra towels. There were 4 adults and 2 kids in our room, and were only left 3 towels. We also had to go to the lobby for extra blankets for the pull out sofa, and toilet paper. We always had to ask for extra food during breakfast, so go earlier. The air condioner was off when we returned from our day, so it was really uncomfortable. This is a short distance from the main road to Cedar Point.

By on Jul 18, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel policies.

4

nice, relaxing hotel cedar point view!

Everyone

Very nice, relaxing and quiet. I enjoy staying at this hotel when I want to just lay back. I recommend this hotel if you want a reasonable priced and quiet stay!!

By on Mar 1, 2016

Review comment responded on May 18, 2016

Thank you for your feedback and we would love to have you back again.

1

dump

Families

Staff was friendly but the hotel room was overpriced. I could not wait to get out of the room. It was a oppresive! The only reason they can get away with charging $100.00 a night is because of Cedar Point. I wouldn't give you $40.00. Serious overhaul is needed.

By on Sep 4, 2012

4

great value and location

GetawayWithFriends

This hotel location was just a minute from the Cedar Point Causeway. The room was clean, the staff was pleasant and efficient, and the rates were very reasonable.

By on Sep 3, 2012

2

family getaway

Families

The room was very smelly and the bed linen stinked. the room had spider webs all over the door. One of the beds box spring was broken on our first night and the bed had a big slump in the middle. The beds are very uncomfortable.. The breakfast was not great at all cold cereal, donuts, bagels and watered down juices... Not the best hotel for the money we paid. Th staff was very friendly and nice. the hotel location was wonderful.. I would never stay at this hotel ever again..

By on Jul 25, 2012