Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Everything was very walkable, lots of restaurants, bars, and coffee shops nearby. Our fridge didn't work, but with the power outage, that was the least of our worries. We were glad the hotel had a generator so we could have some light. There were many others that weren't so lucky. The pool is tiny, but the view is nice. The bar upstairs wasn't staffed, there was only a vending machine with $8 beers & champagne. All in all, our stay was fine. Probably wouldn't choose this location again in the future.

The rooftop was nice. But the room was hot couldn’t change temperature the water didn’t get hot nobody was at the front desk at all times. Someone was sleeping and I didn’t know if he was staff but he was in the lobby.

Overall very charming and classic. The infinity pool was very nice. No coffee maker in room, but there was a refrigerator. They would make coffee in the lobby. We visited with CoronaVirus precautions, so thing were a little abnormal. Great location. Air conditioning was very nice. Staff was very nice with the limited contact that we had. We'd go there again.

My flight was cancelled by the airline company due to the COVID-19 crisis. I tried to reach out to Orbitz however I was never able to speak with a representative. I called the property directly and was told that only Orbitz would be able to process the refund. I am just upset for the fact that Orbitz is not offering refunds or credits to individuals in my situation. I will no longer use this service when booking hotels and I caution others to heed my warning.

The rooms are spacious, beautiful, well kept , very clean .. the only thing is the staircase leading upstairs is VERY DANGEROUS.. much need of repair , an accident waiting to happen

Great location, room was large, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, modern large bathroom, air conditioning worked great, quiet, very clean. Staff friendly & very helpful. Rooftop terrace was fantastic, large, nicely set up grouped sitting areas & infinity pool. Would highly recommend!

We has luxury suite but only one towel for both of us, no water, no Kleenex, loud party noise until 1:30 am

Pros: The location was very central in Old San Juan. There was air conditioning in the room. The staff were friendly. Unique feel to the hotel and liked the style. Cons: You stored your luggage before and after your stay in a public room in the hotel where anyone could have come in and stolen items. The only way to lock your room was with a key from the inside. Big fire hazard. You can hear everything in the neighboring rooms. I heard someone stumble into their room and throw up around 1:30am. Then the people were fighting loudly and another room screamed at them to shut up.

Fabulous location, everyone is very friendly, the place is gorgeous and the surrounding area is so beautiful all of the buildings are a different color. Breakfast was delicious and there are so many shops and restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again!!

In was the heart of Old San Juan, which is 15 min taxi ride from airport. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, every staff member was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, modern and comfortable.

roof pool was good for kids, great city view. the staff was kind

This property is in the heart of Old San Juan. It’s a very small boutique hotel but it definitely has old world charm to it. For a short getaway to old San Juan this was a cute spot for my husband and I to stay at for a reasonable price.

Staff were super friendly and helpful. When we checked in the girl gave us a map pf the city and gave us a summary of the best places to go. It was of great help! Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. The only "bad" thing is that the water in the shower takes too long to heat up (like 10 min) I felt bad wasting so much water so I ended up taking cold showers :( But overall everything was great!

Great location. Comfortable room and amenities. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this property. It is centrally located and you can easily walk everywhere. Staff were very helpful especially Amy at the front desk. Rooms were clean and refreshed everyday. My only gripe was with breakfast. We ate there on our last morning. It's a good amenity that's offered but if not done well it's a waste. Food arrived ice cold and underwhelming. Plenty of other places for breakfast.

262 Calle del Sol San Juan

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to San Juan Cathedral and San Juan Gate
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Pool bar
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Old San Juan, La Terraza de San Juan is within a 5-minute walk of San Juan Cathedral and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like San Juan Gate. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 24 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 24 individually decorated rooms feature iPod docks, refrigerators, and minibars. 40-inch Smart TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. In-room massages are available, and other amenities include ceiling fans and ironing boards. Change of towels is available on request.


Property features

At La Terraza de San Juan, guests have access to an outdoor pool, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas. Offsite parking is available for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with securing valuables, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Family Room

1 Queen Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

King Deluxe Room

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Balcony Suites

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for La Terraza de San Juan

Everyone (27) Couples (16) Family (7)
3
Partner Couples

The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Everything was very walkable, lots of restaurants, bars, and coffee shops nearby. Our fridge didn't work, but with the power outage, that was the least of our worries. We were glad the hotel had a generator so we could have some light. There were many others that weren't so lucky. The pool is tiny, but the view is nice. The bar upstairs wasn't staffed, there was only a vending machine with $8 beers & champagne. All in all, our stay was fine. Probably wouldn't choose this location again in the future.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Occasional blackouts are part of island life and we are one of the few hotels with generators that have uninterrupted fuel service. We are happy to have served you well during troubling hours. Our food and beverage departments are closed at the moment but we have a fully stocked vending machine with $4 beer, standard price for beer at hotels. You can however, stock your mini fridge with booze and drinks from nearby supermarket. Our central location in the heart of a 500 year old UNESCO sight can´t be beaten. I hope you come back to Puerto Rico and can enjoy all the wonders the island has to offer. Best wishes,

5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2021

Review comment responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to have met your expectations and beyond. Hope you come back soon. Kindly,

1
Partner Couples

The rooftop was nice. But the room was hot couldn’t change temperature the water didn’t get hot nobody was at the front desk at all times. Someone was sleeping and I didn’t know if he was staff but he was in the lobby.

By on Mar 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our breathtaking rooftop views. I am sorry that the you were not able to adjust the temperature on the thermostat. Please reach out to us directly so that we can identify what room has this problem. We will, however, inspect all the rooms thermostats. We have 24 hour staff and are happy to help with any issues you encountered. Our staff is sometimes doing other tasks and performing security walks around the property and a few minutes wait at Front Desk might be necessary. Kindly,

5
Partner Couples

Overall very charming and classic. The infinity pool was very nice. No coffee maker in room, but there was a refrigerator. They would make coffee in the lobby. We visited with CoronaVirus precautions, so thing were a little abnormal. Great location. Air conditioning was very nice. Staff was very nice with the limited contact that we had. We'd go there again.

By , from Charleston, SC on Jun 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay during new normal. We are doing our best effort to keep staff and guest safe. Hope you come back again. Best wishes,

1
Friends

My flight was cancelled by the airline company due to the COVID-19 crisis. I tried to reach out to Orbitz however I was never able to speak with a representative. I called the property directly and was told that only Orbitz would be able to process the refund. I am just upset for the fact that Orbitz is not offering refunds or credits to individuals in my situation. I will no longer use this service when booking hotels and I caution others to heed my warning.

By , from Florida on Mar 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2020

Than you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience through Orbitz. We hope that you come back in the future. Kindly,

5
Family

The rooms are spacious, beautiful, well kept , very clean .. the only thing is the staircase leading upstairs is VERY DANGEROUS.. much need of repair , an accident waiting to happen

By on Mar 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great experience with us. Our 200 year old building has colonial stairs full of enchantment that we can´t alter due to government historic building protection laws. We do, however have two elevators in our property. Hope you come back soon. Best wishes,

5
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2020

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Kindly,

5
Everyone

By on Dec 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2020

Thank you for your review. Hope you choose us again! Kindly,

5
Partner Couples

Great location, room was large, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, modern large bathroom, air conditioning worked great, quiet, very clean. Staff friendly & very helpful. Rooftop terrace was fantastic, large, nicely set up grouped sitting areas & infinity pool. Would highly recommend!

By on Dec 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked the hotel and staff. Hope to have you back soon. Best wishes,

2
Everyone

We has luxury suite but only one towel for both of us, no water, no Kleenex, loud party noise until 1:30 am

By on Dec 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 8, 2019

Thank you for your review. I´m sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your review does not sound like us nor the service we provide. All the rooms have water, kleenex and parties are not allowed in our property. I wish I had more information of your stay to follow up but please be assured that we do our best to provide excellent service. Best wishes,

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions