Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Our room was down graded do to the fact they messed up our reservation we were never given a refund. Upon check in we were told we could not get to our room because they were shooting a music video finally someone to us to the room through the kitchen area. No hot water in the shower. Avoid this place unless you just want to get drunk and be in walking distance to the bars.

Very dissatisfied since I was not able to make it because of the hurricane Fiona, and The Terraze did not refunded me the $ . Not happy about it … because it was an unexpected situation!

You can tell this hotel is trying to be nice!! Staff is awesome! My only complaint is the mold in our room in the ceiling . The hotel is clean .

Love the roof deck with pool. Perfect location. Alphonso , Paula and other clerks at the front desk were very helpful. There is a hot water issue. My room did not have hot water even after advising the front desk. I had to ask for change of towels twice. The bed was made one day but the floor surface was not attended to. Because of the location, I would stay there again without expecting the standard that I am used to in the US.

The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Everything was very walkable, lots of restaurants, bars, and coffee shops nearby. Our fridge didn't work, but with the power outage, that was the least of our worries. We were glad the hotel had a generator so we could have some light. There were many others that weren't so lucky. The pool is tiny, but the view is nice. The bar upstairs wasn't staffed, there was only a vending machine with $8 beers & champagne. All in all, our stay was fine. Probably wouldn't choose this location again in the future.

The rooftop was nice. But the room was hot couldn’t change temperature the water didn’t get hot nobody was at the front desk at all times. Someone was sleeping and I didn’t know if he was staff but he was in the lobby.

Overall very charming and classic. The infinity pool was very nice. No coffee maker in room, but there was a refrigerator. They would make coffee in the lobby. We visited with CoronaVirus precautions, so thing were a little abnormal. Great location. Air conditioning was very nice. Staff was very nice with the limited contact that we had. We'd go there again.

My flight was cancelled by the airline company due to the COVID-19 crisis. I tried to reach out to Orbitz however I was never able to speak with a representative. I called the property directly and was told that only Orbitz would be able to process the refund. I am just upset for the fact that Orbitz is not offering refunds or credits to individuals in my situation. I will no longer use this service when booking hotels and I caution others to heed my warning.

The rooms are spacious, beautiful, well kept , very clean .. the only thing is the staircase leading upstairs is VERY DANGEROUS.. much need of repair , an accident waiting to happen

Great location, room was large, nicely decorated, very comfortable bed, modern large bathroom, air conditioning worked great, quiet, very clean. Staff friendly & very helpful. Rooftop terrace was fantastic, large, nicely set up grouped sitting areas & infinity pool. Would highly recommend!

We has luxury suite but only one towel for both of us, no water, no Kleenex, loud party noise until 1:30 am

Pros: The location was very central in Old San Juan. There was air conditioning in the room. The staff were friendly. Unique feel to the hotel and liked the style. Cons: You stored your luggage before and after your stay in a public room in the hotel where anyone could have come in and stolen items. The only way to lock your room was with a key from the inside. Big fire hazard. You can hear everything in the neighboring rooms. I heard someone stumble into their room and throw up around 1:30am. Then the people were fighting loudly and another room screamed at them to shut up.

Fabulous location, everyone is very friendly, the place is gorgeous and the surrounding area is so beautiful all of the buildings are a different color. Breakfast was delicious and there are so many shops and restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again!!

In was the heart of Old San Juan, which is 15 min taxi ride from airport. The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, every staff member was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean, modern and comfortable.

roof pool was good for kids, great city view. the staff was kind

This property is in the heart of Old San Juan. It’s a very small boutique hotel but it definitely has old world charm to it. For a short getaway to old San Juan this was a cute spot for my husband and I to stay at for a reasonable price.

262 Calle del Sol San Juan

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Port of San Juan
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Pool bar
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Old San Juan within a short walk of Port of San Juan, La Terraza de San Juan is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Condado Beach. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 24 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

For your convenience, a local cuisine breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 8:00 AM to 11:30 AM. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 40-inch Smart TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include iPod docks, refrigerators, and ironing boards. Change of towels is available on request.


Property features

At La Terraza de San Juan, guests have access to an outdoor pool, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas. Offsite parking is available for a fee. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include express check-in, express check-out, and a terrace.

Room options

Family Room

1 Queen Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

King Deluxe Room

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Balcony Suites

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for La Terraza de San Juan

Everyone (29) Couples (18) Family (7)
2
Partner Couples

Our room was down graded do to the fact they messed up our reservation we were never given a refund. Upon check in we were told we could not get to our room because they were shooting a music video finally someone to us to the room through the kitchen area. No hot water in the shower. Avoid this place unless you just want to get drunk and be in walking distance to the bars.

By on Oct 6, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2022

Good afternoon jason, let me begin by apoligizing for the music video situation. We were unaware of just how much it would affect our guests and it was a mistake on our part. In the future please inform front desk when you have issues with your water temperature so that they can further assist you in cases such as those.

1
Everyone

Very dissatisfied since I was not able to make it because of the hurricane Fiona, and The Terraze did not refunded me the $ . Not happy about it … because it was an unexpected situation!

By on Sep 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2022

Good afternoon Irma, after carefully reviewing your reserviation it seems you had a non refundable rate plan. We apoligize for any inconvenience this may cause.

5
Partner Couples

You can tell this hotel is trying to be nice!! Staff is awesome! My only complaint is the mold in our room in the ceiling . The hotel is clean .

By on Sep 12, 2022

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2022

Good afternoon michelle, we are grateful for the high review score.

3
Everyone

Love the roof deck with pool. Perfect location. Alphonso , Paula and other clerks at the front desk were very helpful. There is a hot water issue. My room did not have hot water even after advising the front desk. I had to ask for change of towels twice. The bed was made one day but the floor surface was not attended to. Because of the location, I would stay there again without expecting the standard that I am used to in the US.

By on Jul 27, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2022

Good afternoon stanley. We appreciate your kind words and have also noted your criticisms. We are sorry you experienced such issues and hope that you come and see us again to show you that we can do better!

3
Partner Couples

The hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Everything was very walkable, lots of restaurants, bars, and coffee shops nearby. Our fridge didn't work, but with the power outage, that was the least of our worries. We were glad the hotel had a generator so we could have some light. There were many others that weren't so lucky. The pool is tiny, but the view is nice. The bar upstairs wasn't staffed, there was only a vending machine with $8 beers & champagne. All in all, our stay was fine. Probably wouldn't choose this location again in the future.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Occasional blackouts are part of island life and we are one of the few hotels with generators that have uninterrupted fuel service. We are happy to have served you well during troubling hours. Our food and beverage departments are closed at the moment but we have a fully stocked vending machine with $4 beer, standard price for beer at hotels. You can however, stock your mini fridge with booze and drinks from nearby supermarket. Our central location in the heart of a 500 year old UNESCO sight can´t be beaten. I hope you come back to Puerto Rico and can enjoy all the wonders the island has to offer. Best wishes,

5
Everyone

By on May 15, 2021

Review comment responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to have met your expectations and beyond. Hope you come back soon. Kindly,

1
Partner Couples

The rooftop was nice. But the room was hot couldn’t change temperature the water didn’t get hot nobody was at the front desk at all times. Someone was sleeping and I didn’t know if he was staff but he was in the lobby.

By on Mar 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked our breathtaking rooftop views. I am sorry that the you were not able to adjust the temperature on the thermostat. Please reach out to us directly so that we can identify what room has this problem. We will, however, inspect all the rooms thermostats. We have 24 hour staff and are happy to help with any issues you encountered. Our staff is sometimes doing other tasks and performing security walks around the property and a few minutes wait at Front Desk might be necessary. Kindly,

5
Partner Couples

Overall very charming and classic. The infinity pool was very nice. No coffee maker in room, but there was a refrigerator. They would make coffee in the lobby. We visited with CoronaVirus precautions, so thing were a little abnormal. Great location. Air conditioning was very nice. Staff was very nice with the limited contact that we had. We'd go there again.

By , from Charleston, SC on Jun 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay during new normal. We are doing our best effort to keep staff and guest safe. Hope you come back again. Best wishes,

1
Friends

My flight was cancelled by the airline company due to the COVID-19 crisis. I tried to reach out to Orbitz however I was never able to speak with a representative. I called the property directly and was told that only Orbitz would be able to process the refund. I am just upset for the fact that Orbitz is not offering refunds or credits to individuals in my situation. I will no longer use this service when booking hotels and I caution others to heed my warning.

By , from Florida on Mar 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2020

Than you for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience through Orbitz. We hope that you come back in the future. Kindly,

5
Family

The rooms are spacious, beautiful, well kept , very clean .. the only thing is the staircase leading upstairs is VERY DANGEROUS.. much need of repair , an accident waiting to happen

By on Mar 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a great experience with us. Our 200 year old building has colonial stairs full of enchantment that we can´t alter due to government historic building protection laws. We do, however have two elevators in our property. Hope you come back soon. Best wishes,

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-La-Terraza-de-San-Juan.h4257992-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions