Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Morazán Hotel & Casino

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I was first given the wrong room, but was moved to the room I requested and promised after about 6 days. It was a much better room.

Room needs improvement and new furniture. Over all the appearance is adequate.

I was promised room 503, a junio suite, but when I arrived I was assigned room 504. Room 503 was given to someone without a reservation a day after I arrived. Room 504 is infested with cockroaches. I've told the maid several times. The maintenance staff put some powder down, but the roaches come out every night. The toilet runs all night because the flap. In the water reservoir doesn't seat properly. It was broken when I stayed here in June earlier this year.

Staff very helpful and professional Owner very friendly I like the place, and I stay there whenever I come to San Jose

The Morazan is not what it used to be.. I have been staying there for years... but never again until perhaps they upgrade and remodel,, There is a strong moldy and musty smell in the air to the point of unbearable. Also, there is the constant smell of sewer gas coming up out of the drains... The sheets and bed clothes are all old and worn and need to be replaced. The carpets need replaced in all the halls and rooms... I just love the staff.... but, the hotel management needs to make major improvements...

the location was ok, I got pickpocked one night and lost my cell phone, but was lucky a old friend found my cell back to me, the Junior Sweet was very noisy, had to buy ear plugs,curtains were so short the lite was always shinning in, elevator very slow, the 2nd floor closed at 10 at night but on friday/sat when they wanted very noisy, front desk very nice anf helpul,

Close to center of town, restaurants and activities.

Located in the sin city area the Hotel Morazán is one of the last old school hotels left in San Jose. Despite the age of the building my room was updated with a new split unit air conditioner a good TV, a safe and a comfortable bed. The staff was very professional and friendly and there were always two or three security officers present in the lobby. Casino and big bar on the second floor allow for in house entertainment and easy money exchange. Guests get free internet and a hot breakfast with juice and coffee.

Breakfast was better the last visit. They cut out the fruit in the morning and no longer served omelette or pancakes.

Centrally located. Good breakfast. Some rooms a little noisy from the club next door.

Ok hotel. Not for kids. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Some rooms better than others. Some noises from club next door.

The hotel is in a great location for downtown activities

Jacqueline, Ricardo, and the rest of the staff and cleaning crew are very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The breakfast consists of juice, coffee or tea, a small fruit cup, and one selection from their breakfast menu. Breakfast is served from 6am-10am. The restaurant is on the 2nd floor, the lobby and casino are on the 1st floor. The hotel is very basic there are safes available, but you have to ask for the key ($25 deposit or reserve with your credit card). The location is great, the wi-fi is somewhat spotty depending on where you are in the hotel. Downtown San Jose is generally pretty noisy, so regardless of where you are in the hotel's four floors, you're going to hear a lot of street noise. Rooms are cleaned every day there are no refrigerators cable channels are plentiful hand soap and shampoo are provided. Visiting guests are not a problem. I will definitely look to make a reservation at this hotel when I return to San Jose!

As always, my stay was excellent! To me, what makes me come back to this hotel every time, are the people that work there. They make me feel at home, and are very accommodating. The staff are always friendly, and greet you with smiles, always. Special thanks to Viviana and Carlos, for making my stay so stress free and comfortable every time. I really feel a great sense of happiness and security here, and they are a big part of that. I look forward to coming back home, soon.

Room it self was clean. Hotel's location was great, and it included free breakfast which is great. I was not able to sleep due to the noises off the road. You cannot avoid the traffic noises if your room is on side of the road. Staff was friendly but the manager Ricardo is very pushy to sell you the packages for beach trips, zip lining etc. so don't listen to him.

Stay there all the time, excellent location, good prices, excellent free breakfast, very good staff, Ricardo, Carlos, Viviana, and Ricky Ricardo(El Gordo)

My experience was great! The staff is always super awesome, friendly, and helpful. The rooms are cleaned everday, and the staff always smiles and say helo. The location does not get any better. The new bar and restaurant is a nice touch. Not anything bad to say. I love San Jose, and love the Morazan.

Staff courteous and friendly, great restaurant and bar within a few blocks of downtown areas safe for walking and exploring. On checkout I had a problem that they insisted I had to pay again for my reservation which was paid in advance booking, record locator PBORB1457975274. I was forced to pay again using the same cc I had originally used to book the trip package on Aug. 13,2014, which I have already paid to the cc issuer.

The hotel has the perfect location and it is convenient to almost everything. I plan on staying there again.

It is much better now then before.New restaurant on second floor and much nicer.For the money ,value is very good.Staff is great.

1st avenue and 7th Street San Jose San Jose

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Gold Museum and National Theater
  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Morazán Hotel & Casino places you within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as Gold Museum and National Theater. This 35-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like a casino and free in-room WiFi. It's in central San Jose and also a short walk from Jade Museum and National Center of Art and Culture.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free cooked-to-order breakfast offered each morning. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 35 air-conditioned rooms feature safes and desks. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Morazán Hotel & Casino enjoy features like a casino, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Airport transportation is made easy with an airport shuttle (available on request) for CRC 17000 per person one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include express check-out, laundry facilities, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Superior Room, Balcony or View

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Morazán Hotel & Casino

Everyone (9) Couples (3) Business (5) Other (30) Friends (4)
3

hotel morazan

Everyone

I was first given the wrong room, but was moved to the room I requested and promised after about 6 days. It was a much better room.

By , from sacramento on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2017

Hello, Darnell. We are very sorry to hear about the mixup with your room. We are working with our Front Desk staff closely to make sure inconveniences like these don't happen ever again. We are also monitoring their progress very carefully and have instated some new mechanisms to attend to customer requests to ensure these errors are not a common occurrence. Unfortunately, in the past year there have been many changes to our Front Desk team, and so we are till in an adjustment period, but we promise that the next time you visit us nothing of the sort will happen. As for the roaches, San José is a very humid city during the rainy season, and this makes roaches and other bugs attempt to find shelter in the buildings. With this in mind, we have regular fumigation protocols to counteract this infestation. However, an undesired side effect of the fumigation is that some bugs crawl up from the sewers in the days following the fumigation to escape the materials used. Maybe that is the reason that you came across some bugs during your stat, but we have asked for a follow up of the fumigation and are going to continue doing so until this issue stops once and for all. Be sure that finding these animals in our hotel is not something we tolerate and are doing everything in our power to end it.

3

no comments

Everyone

Room needs improvement and new furniture. Over all the appearance is adequate.

By on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your message. We love to hear back from our guests so that we can improve with every stay. As you may have seen from some of the work being done in the hotel the last couple of months, we are currently undergoing several, important renovations to our infrastructure, furnishings and customer service policies. The flooring in the first two stories has been completely changed, and little by little we will continue to make changes to our hotel until we can attend all requests from our clients. Unfortunately, this takes some time as it is a slow and very costly process but hopefully you will find a completely new hotel by the time you visit us again. Thank you for your preference.

3

hotel morazan

Everyone

I was promised room 503, a junio suite, but when I arrived I was assigned room 504. Room 503 was given to someone without a reservation a day after I arrived. Room 504 is infested with cockroaches. I've told the maid several times. The maintenance staff put some powder down, but the roaches come out every night. The toilet runs all night because the flap. In the water reservoir doesn't seat properly. It was broken when I stayed here in June earlier this year.

By , from sacramento on Sep 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your message. As we have told you before in our previous conversations while you were in the hotel, we are very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. Our front desk staff and their customer service polices are being supervised closely. In fact, there have been several changes in the past year alone. This means that we are working to have issues like your room changed fixed once and for all, but unfortunately, it also means that sometimes mistakes get made while we are adjusting to the new staff. We have discussed this situation with them seriously and are already implementing different methods of answering to our clients' special requests so that it never happens again. About the issues in your room, the week of your stay we underwent a fumigation. We do this regularly every few weeks, as San José is a very humid city and during the winter, bugs tend to try and crawl inside to find shelter. This could probably be the reason that you found roaches in your room, as the fumigation sometimes can lead to the roaches in the sewers attempting to escape and coming in contact with humans. After your suggestion, we asked for a reinforcement from the fumigation company, and hopefully you won't be seeing anymore bugs when you come back. I assure you we are doing everything in our power to get rid of this issue once and for all. Finally, about the toilet, we have looked into it both times that you suggested there was something wrong with the mechanism. Both times our maintenance staff has tightened and changes some of the parts, and it has worked wonders. We are very sorry that it bothered you, but we will have our people go back to look into it again. Please be certain that our Management team is tirelessly working everyday to make sure we can give you a better stay everyday.

4

nice hotel in the center of the city close to ever

Everyone

Staff very helpful and professional Owner very friendly I like the place, and I stay there whenever I come to San Jose

By , from Miami, FL on Sep 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2017

Thank you very much for your message. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay. However we are also sorry to hear you found the room chilly at times. It is highly unusual for Costa Rican accommodations to have heating, as tourists usually find our climate very warm. Nevertheless, we will take your suggestions into consideration and try to give this problem a solution as soon as possible to guarantee you total satisfaction upon your next stay.

1

not what it used to be.

Everyone

The Morazan is not what it used to be.. I have been staying there for years... but never again until perhaps they upgrade and remodel,, There is a strong moldy and musty smell in the air to the point of unbearable. Also, there is the constant smell of sewer gas coming up out of the drains... The sheets and bed clothes are all old and worn and need to be replaced. The carpets need replaced in all the halls and rooms... I just love the staff.... but, the hotel management needs to make major improvements...

By , from Texas on Aug 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your message. We sincerely appreciate the feedback as it allows us to improve everyday. We would also like to apologize and let you know that we are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't enjoyable. However, we can let you know that we are actually working right now on fixing all the inconveniences you have stated. In fact today we started the process of changing the carpet on the second floor, a full refurnishing of the rooms is in place for the near future, new odor elimination systems are being looked into and other major renovations are taking place in the next few weeks. The thing that does concern us is your comment about the beddings, as these have been changed less than a month ago in every single room. If there was something wrong with them please contact us through any of our available methods and we will look into the case as this should not have happened. Hopefully you will give us another shot in the future and see for yourself how we are improving. We deeply value the preference and loyalty of all our members of the Morazán family, but especially those who have been our friends for years. If there is any other advice you'd like to give us, it is very welcome.

3

good location

Couples

the location was ok, I got pickpocked one night and lost my cell phone, but was lucky a old friend found my cell back to me, the Junior Sweet was very noisy, had to buy ear plugs,curtains were so short the lite was always shinning in, elevator very slow, the 2nd floor closed at 10 at night but on friday/sat when they wanted very noisy, front desk very nice anf helpul,

By , from fla on Jul 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2017

Hello, and thank you very much for your message. We really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests because it helps us improve everyday. We are currently in the process of undergoing several renovations to our infrastructure and furnishings, so hopefully if you do come back to visit us soon, you will find most of the problems you encountered solved. We take our guests feedback to heart when deciding which changes to prioritize and in fact we are currently changing all the curtains in the rooms. As for the security, we have a full security team employed 24/7 and we also have a closely monitored CCTV that helps us prevent and identify any acts of misconduct or theft. We are very sorry to hear you experienced pickpocketing and if it occurred inside the premises of our hotel we encourage you to get in touch with us to be able to further investigate the incident. We would like to let you know, however, that we highly value our guests' safety and in this case of anything like this happening we would ask you to please report it as soon as possible to be able to deal with it in the moment since there are mechanisms in place for dealing with these scenarios when they happen inside our building. Thank you very much once more for your comments. We will use them to make your next stay even better.

3

reasonably comfortable hotel.

BusinessTravelers

Close to center of town, restaurants and activities.

By , from elk grove,california on Jun 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2017

Thank you very much for your message. We greatly appreciate your feedback to be able to improve everyday. We have been undergoing serious pest controls to ensure that our guests do not find any bugs in their rooms. Unfortunately in a tropical country it is really hard to eradicate insects completely in the rainy season because they tend to go indoors by nature. However, we will check the room you stayed at and reapply the corresponding methods of pest control to try and remove any remaining animals. We apologize once more and can assure we are taking any and all measures necessary so that this doesn't happen again.

5

well run hotel

BusinessTravelers

Located in the sin city area the Hotel Morazán is one of the last old school hotels left in San Jose. Despite the age of the building my room was updated with a new split unit air conditioner a good TV, a safe and a comfortable bed. The staff was very professional and friendly and there were always two or three security officers present in the lobby. Casino and big bar on the second floor allow for in house entertainment and easy money exchange. Guests get free internet and a hot breakfast with juice and coffee.

By on Mar 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and really do hope to have you visit us again soon. Unfortunately, since we are in the middle of the city it does get a bit noisy around here at night, but we are currently undergoing changes and renovations and will take your comment into consideration to try and fix that problem in the future.

3

central location

Everyone

Breakfast was better the last visit. They cut out the fruit in the morning and no longer served omelette or pancakes.

By , from sacramento on Feb 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2017

Hello, d m. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our food. We are in the middle of making adjustments to our menu to improve upon your service. However, we appreciate your comments and will incorporate them into the decisions we make for the future. Hopefully you will have a better experience next time you visit us.

3

morazan

Everyone

Centrally located. Good breakfast. Some rooms a little noisy from the club next door.

By on Sep 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2016

Thank you for staying at our hotel