Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Morazán Hotel & Casino

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Rooms need to be upgraded. This is the electronic age with computer notebooks and cell phone. There few electrical outlets in the rooms. Most outlets are hidden behind furniture or used by the tv or fans. They need more outlets for chargers in each room.

It was nice to have a balcony, not very big but it's nice to have just sucks there is super loud traffic noise. The casino is small and caters to only pai gow tables. Such a waste inplayed everyday at a Colonial casono next to Hotel del rey just down the street. So there are losing business there. Also you can only get bottled beer on the 2nd floor, however you can carry it down into the casino? It seems like an easy fix, offer bottles downstairs. Also elevator works good, over all it is clean, breakfast was good etc. Bed wasnt that great, towels not so great and furniture is really outdated. Great services by all workers encountered so keep that up!!

Nice staff always helpfull with any questions good security

I liked the location. I was somewhat disappointed in the room. I stayed in one of the best rooms available but several problems existed with maintenance even. There was not enough lighting in the room..There was only one lamp next to the bed and the lamp switch was broken. Hot water came out of the cold water tap in the shower after it ran for a while.. I was burned by the excessively hat water..

Very simple hotel. Yes it's located in a congested area with cars and pedestrians but for the price , worth it. Would definitely use Hotel Morazan again !

I wanted to reserve a specific jr suite and was given the suite but when I arrived they said I needed to Pay more. Woman clerk was rude, requested to.meet with manager but manager did not cme to meet with me as promised by staff.

This hotel is good for the price, is centrally located, and has a good breakfast included. They have done some remodeling recently which is nice. My husband and I were given a smaller room this last time. It didn't really matter because it was just for one night and we arrived very late due to flight delay. During check-out the employee explained that my reservation was showing for 1 person and not 2 which is why we were given a smaller room. I showed her my reservation confirmation for 2 people and e-mailed it to her for their records.

I've been a Morazán Hotel customer for about 8 years and always my experience about the Hotel has been the best. I think that the combination LOCATION, STAFF and PRICE, it's hard to beat. I've never has an issue, if you are before the check-in time and they have the room ready they don't hesitate to install you in the room without any charge; the restaurant has nice activities the better in Fridays; clean rooms and very nice Casino. You don't have to go out to eat because they have excellent food at low price. Morazán is an excellent choice, close to many interesting places. The new Operations Manager Mr. Douglas I think have been a very good acquisition, very dynamic and young guy!

Nice comfortable room with a nice bed and good air condition.The room was a nice size with a good shower with plenty of room.I got a inside room because of thee noise on the streets,this place has a nice bar and a great breakfast with a friendly staff.This is a great place to stay.

The hotel is nice and clean, staff very friendly and very accommodating. Hotel is centrally located.

They gave me a nice upgrade to a master suite. Very nice room.

Over all this is a good hotel for the price. Front desk lady was nice & profesional , the security people were attentive & courteous, there's also a heave set nice guy who's always trying to help you but he only smiles when you tip him:)). My room was on 4th floor, standard room, small but very clean with small twin bed, looked like the room was recently renovated, flat screen tv was good but i could only find 4 English channels & the rest were Spanish. The internet speed was decent as well, no refrigerator in standard rooms!! The only bad news about this floor or maybe all floors is the loud noise from next door club in which continues until 2 or sometimes 3:00 am almost every single night, i hardly got any sleep at night, so be prepared with some ear plugs...LOL The free breakfast is one of the best in town & people working at the restaurant are also great. The bar & restaurant on 2nd floor serves really cold beers & delicious hot meals all day long and at reasonable price, i really liked their touchdown tacos & chicken sandwich with excellent fries... This hotel is adult only and in central location close to all the museums , parks & other adult bars. I don't know if I'd be back at this hotel again(Because Of loud night noise) but i'd definitely be back at their restaurant for the cold beer & some good food....

Comfortable jr suite, reasonable price. Elevator is not safe and needs update on door sensors.

I was first given the wrong room, but was moved to the room I requested and promised after about 6 days. It was a much better room.

Room needs improvement and new furniture. Over all the appearance is adequate.

I was promised room 503, a junio suite, but when I arrived I was assigned room 504. Room 503 was given to someone without a reservation a day after I arrived. Room 504 is infested with cockroaches. I've told the maid several times. The maintenance staff put some powder down, but the roaches come out every night. The toilet runs all night because the flap. In the water reservoir doesn't seat properly. It was broken when I stayed here in June earlier this year.

Staff very helpful and professional Owner very friendly I like the place, and I stay there whenever I come to San Jose

1st avenue and 7th Street San Jose San Jose

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Gold Museum (Museo de Oro) and Morazan Park
  • Free cooked-to-order breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Morazán Hotel & Casino is adjacent to popular attractions such as Gold Museum (Museo de Oro) and Morazan Park. This 35-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like a casino and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free cooked-to-order breakfast, served each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a TV with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and the bathroom offers free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a safe, a phone, and a desk.


Property features

Guests of Morazán Hotel & Casino enjoy features like a casino, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Airport transportation is made easy with an airport shuttle (available on request) for CRC 17000 per person one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a computer station, and express check-out.

Room options

Superior Room, Balcony or View

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Morazán Hotel & Casino

Everyone (23) Business (5) Couples (3) Other (31) Friends (4)
4
Friends

Rooms need to be upgraded. This is the electronic age with computer notebooks and cell phone. There few electrical outlets in the rooms. Most outlets are hidden behind furniture or used by the tv or fans. They need more outlets for chargers in each room.

By on Jun 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 17, 2019

Hello Mr. Thanks for your feedback and the time you took to write it. We will take your suggestion in count for our future improvements. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards.

4
Everyone

It was nice to have a balcony, not very big but it's nice to have just sucks there is super loud traffic noise. The casino is small and caters to only pai gow tables. Such a waste inplayed everyday at a Colonial casono next to Hotel del rey just down the street. So there are losing business there. Also you can only get bottled beer on the 2nd floor, however you can carry it down into the casino? It seems like an easy fix, offer bottles downstairs. Also elevator works good, over all it is clean, breakfast was good etc. Bed wasnt that great, towels not so great and furniture is really outdated. Great services by all workers encountered so keep that up!!

By , from Springfield M9 on May 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2019

Hello, thanks for your feedback and the time you took to write it. First we would like to thank your preference. We are so glad that you had have found good our balcony, that's true the traffic noise is so loud in San José, maybe in a next reservation you could try a room on the inside which has less noise. Also we are so pleased that you had played in our casino, we not only have Pai Gow tables, we hace Rummy and Three Card tables too. About the beer bottle we are going to take your opinion in count in order to improve our service at the casino. We are so happy that you had have found our elevator good, it has been recently upgrade with the best security and mechanism. Constantly we are making some upgrades in our service, maintenance and decor, so we invite you to come soon! Kind regards.

5
Everyone

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Hello! Thanks for score us! We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan! See you soon! Kind regards

4
Everyone

Nice staff always helpfull with any questions good security

By on Apr 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

Hello, thanks for your comments! We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan. Our premise is to make feel our guests safe and comfortable. Hope to see you soon!

3
Everyone

I liked the location. I was somewhat disappointed in the room. I stayed in one of the best rooms available but several problems existed with maintenance even. There was not enough lighting in the room..There was only one lamp next to the bed and the lamp switch was broken. Hot water came out of the cold water tap in the shower after it ran for a while.. I was burned by the excessively hat water..

By on Mar 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 14, 2019

Hello, thanks for your comments and the time you took to write them. We are so sorry that your experience in Morazan had not been the best. We would like to know in which room you were sleeping in order to fix the problem with the hot water and the lamp switch, you can send us a private mail on this site. We extend you our most sincere apologies.

4
Everyone

Very simple hotel. Yes it's located in a congested area with cars and pedestrians but for the price , worth it. Would definitely use Hotel Morazan again !

By on Mar 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2019

Hello! Thanks for your comments and the time you took to write them. We are so happy that you liked your experience in Morazan. We hope to see you soon, you will be very welcome!

1
Everyone

By on Nov 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2018

Hello! Thanks for score us. We are so sorry that your experience in Morazan wouldn't have been good. We would like to know more about your experience, our guests feedback is very important for us, so we would like you to send us an e-mail at marketing@hotelmorazan.com telling us your experience. Regards

4
Everyone

By on Nov 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2018

Hello! Thanks for score us! We are so happy that your experience in Morazan had been good and satisfying. We hope to see you soon, you will be very welcome!

2

bait and switch

Everyone

I wanted to reserve a specific jr suite and was given the suite but when I arrived they said I needed to Pay more. Woman clerk was rude, requested to.meet with manager but manager did not cme to meet with me as promised by staff.

By , from sacramento on Jun 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2018

Hello! We apologize about the misunderstanding with the room you booked, we are going to research what happend. Thanks for your feedback which help us improve every day, we hope to see you soon.

4
Everyone

This hotel is good for the price, is centrally located, and has a good breakfast included. They have done some remodeling recently which is nice. My husband and I were given a smaller room this last time. It didn't really matter because it was just for one night and we arrived very late due to flight delay. During check-out the employee explained that my reservation was showing for 1 person and not 2 which is why we were given a smaller room. I showed her my reservation confirmation for 2 people and e-mailed it to her for their records.

By , from CA on Jun 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2018

Hello Liz! Thanks for your comments and the time you took to make them. We are so happy that have noticed the remodelations that we have been doing to the hotel. Also, we are so sorry about the reservation issue, we are going to work to avoid this kind of situations in the future, and we apologize with you and your husband. We hope to see you soon, you'll be very welcome!

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.