Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I've been staying here few times in the past years, It's still a good place to stay as far as being close to everything in central San Jose and the price. However don't expect too much, this place was renovated about 3 years ago and now is ready for another renovation. the bathroom was clean but stinking really bad, i think the smell coming off the toilet or vent close to the sewer, little things like toilet holder and hand towel holder were missing, in which they could easily replace them!! Beds are Ok but there are lots of noise coming from out side bars & cars beeping at late night and early morning, so don't forget to bring your earplugs:)). The bar on 2nd floor is very good, drinks are cheaper than the next door bar in Del Ray!! Also the food is very good and their kitchen is open till late night, breakfast is very good too. Jackie at the bar makes sure your beer is cold. The front desk people are also nice & attentive to your needs, specially Carlos and Johnathan who speak good English:)). The casino is small and overall you'll get what you paid for. I'll be back:))

Near places and central close to the catedral museum

The property could use some improvement... I see that some improvements have been made... but, it is conveniently located...and has a good breakfast...

Great location right in the middle of everything. And the wifi worked very well.

Great location feeling safe and secure great restarants near bye

best deal for singles -- well located, with casino, refurbished rooms and a very nice staff

Rooms need to be upgraded. This is the electronic age with computer notebooks and cell phone. There few electrical outlets in the rooms. Most outlets are hidden behind furniture or used by the tv or fans. They need more outlets for chargers in each room.

It was nice to have a balcony, not very big but it's nice to have just sucks there is super loud traffic noise. The casino is small and caters to only pai gow tables. Such a waste inplayed everyday at a Colonial casono next to Hotel del rey just down the street. So there are losing business there. Also you can only get bottled beer on the 2nd floor, however you can carry it down into the casino? It seems like an easy fix, offer bottles downstairs. Also elevator works good, over all it is clean, breakfast was good etc. Bed wasnt that great, towels not so great and furniture is really outdated. Great services by all workers encountered so keep that up!!

Nice staff always helpfull with any questions good security

I liked the location. I was somewhat disappointed in the room. I stayed in one of the best rooms available but several problems existed with maintenance even. There was not enough lighting in the room..There was only one lamp next to the bed and the lamp switch was broken. Hot water came out of the cold water tap in the shower after it ran for a while.. I was burned by the excessively hat water..

Very simple hotel. Yes it's located in a congested area with cars and pedestrians but for the price , worth it. Would definitely use Hotel Morazan again !

I wanted to reserve a specific jr suite and was given the suite but when I arrived they said I needed to Pay more. Woman clerk was rude, requested to.meet with manager but manager did not cme to meet with me as promised by staff.

This hotel is good for the price, is centrally located, and has a good breakfast included. They have done some remodeling recently which is nice. My husband and I were given a smaller room this last time. It didn't really matter because it was just for one night and we arrived very late due to flight delay. During check-out the employee explained that my reservation was showing for 1 person and not 2 which is why we were given a smaller room. I showed her my reservation confirmation for 2 people and e-mailed it to her for their records.

I've been a Morazán Hotel customer for about 8 years and always my experience about the Hotel has been the best. I think that the combination LOCATION, STAFF and PRICE, it's hard to beat. I've never has an issue, if you are before the check-in time and they have the room ready they don't hesitate to install you in the room without any charge; the restaurant has nice activities the better in Fridays; clean rooms and very nice Casino. You don't have to go out to eat because they have excellent food at low price. Morazán is an excellent choice, close to many interesting places. The new Operations Manager Mr. Douglas I think have been a very good acquisition, very dynamic and young guy!

Nice comfortable room with a nice bed and good air condition.The room was a nice size with a good shower with plenty of room.I got a inside room because of thee noise on the streets,this place has a nice bar and a great breakfast with a friendly staff.This is a great place to stay.

The hotel is nice and clean, staff very friendly and very accommodating. Hotel is centrally located.

1st avenue and 7th Street San Jose San Jose

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Morazan Park and National Park
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Morazán Hotel & Casino places you next to Morazan Park and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like National Park. This 35-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a casino, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or meet other guests at the free daily manager's reception.


Rooms

Morazán Hotel & Casino's 35 rooms are air-conditioned and provide safes, phones, and desks. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Morazán Hotel & Casino enjoy features like a casino, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available on request) for CRC 17000 per person one way. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a computer station, and a banquet hall.

Room options

Superior Room, Balcony or View

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Morazán Hotel & Casino

Everyone (29) Couples (3) Business (5) Other (31) Friends (4)
4
Everyone

By on Mar 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2020

Hello, thanks for your review. We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazán. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.

4
Everyone

I've been staying here few times in the past years, It's still a good place to stay as far as being close to everything in central San Jose and the price. However don't expect too much, this place was renovated about 3 years ago and now is ready for another renovation. the bathroom was clean but stinking really bad, i think the smell coming off the toilet or vent close to the sewer, little things like toilet holder and hand towel holder were missing, in which they could easily replace them!! Beds are Ok but there are lots of noise coming from out side bars & cars beeping at late night and early morning, so don't forget to bring your earplugs:)). The bar on 2nd floor is very good, drinks are cheaper than the next door bar in Del Ray!! Also the food is very good and their kitchen is open till late night, breakfast is very good too. Jackie at the bar makes sure your beer is cold. The front desk people are also nice & attentive to your needs, specially Carlos and Johnathan who speak good English:)). The casino is small and overall you'll get what you paid for. I'll be back:))

By , from Texas on Mar 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 12, 2020

Thank you for your comment, for sure you can come back any time did you want. Hope to see you so soon Bless and regards.

4
Everyone

Near places and central close to the catedral museum

By on Feb 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 3, 2020

Hello, thanks for your review! We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazán. We hope to see you soon! Best regards.

4
Everyone

The property could use some improvement... I see that some improvements have been made... but, it is conveniently located...and has a good breakfast...

By on Jan 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2020

Hello, thanks for your review. We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan, we are so pleased that you had have notice the recent improvements that we are doing, we are planning to do more. We hope to see you soon. Best regards,

5
Everyone

Great location right in the middle of everything. And the wifi worked very well.

By , from Hillside on Nov 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 14, 2019

Hello, thanks for your review. We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan. We hope to see you soon, you'll be very welcome! Kind regards.

4
Business Business

Great location feeling safe and secure great restarants near bye

By on Nov 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2019

Hello, thanks for your review. We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan, our premise is to make feel our guests safe and comfortable as home. We hope to have you here soon. Kind regards.

5
Everyone

best deal for singles -- well located, with casino, refurbished rooms and a very nice staff

By on Sep 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2019

Hello, thanks for your review and the time you took to made it. We feel so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazán, our premise is to make feel our guests safe and comfortable as home. We hope that you visit us soon. Kind regards.

4
Friends

Rooms need to be upgraded. This is the electronic age with computer notebooks and cell phone. There few electrical outlets in the rooms. Most outlets are hidden behind furniture or used by the tv or fans. They need more outlets for chargers in each room.

By on Jun 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 17, 2019

Hello Mr. Thanks for your feedback and the time you took to write it. We will take your suggestion in count for our future improvements. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards.

4
Everyone

It was nice to have a balcony, not very big but it's nice to have just sucks there is super loud traffic noise. The casino is small and caters to only pai gow tables. Such a waste inplayed everyday at a Colonial casono next to Hotel del rey just down the street. So there are losing business there. Also you can only get bottled beer on the 2nd floor, however you can carry it down into the casino? It seems like an easy fix, offer bottles downstairs. Also elevator works good, over all it is clean, breakfast was good etc. Bed wasnt that great, towels not so great and furniture is really outdated. Great services by all workers encountered so keep that up!!

By , from Springfield M9 on May 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2019

Hello, thanks for your feedback and the time you took to write it. First we would like to thank your preference. We are so glad that you had have found good our balcony, that's true the traffic noise is so loud in San José, maybe in a next reservation you could try a room on the inside which has less noise. Also we are so pleased that you had played in our casino, we not only have Pai Gow tables, we hace Rummy and Three Card tables too. About the beer bottle we are going to take your opinion in count in order to improve our service at the casino. We are so happy that you had have found our elevator good, it has been recently upgrade with the best security and mechanism. Constantly we are making some upgrades in our service, maintenance and decor, so we invite you to come soon! Kind regards.

5
Everyone

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Hello! Thanks for score us! We are so glad that you had have enjoyed your experience in Morazan! See you soon! Kind regards

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Morazán-Hotel-&-Casino.h3974680-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Jose-Hotels-Morazán-Hotel-&-Casino.h3974680-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "http://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Morazán-Hotel-&-Casino.h3974680-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.IOException: Server returned HTTP response code: 400 for URL: http://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-Morazán-Hotel-&-Casino.h3974680-p2.Hotel-Reviews