Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

AC does not work in the rooms, the food is awful, and some of the staff is extremely rude. Would not recommend staying here.

Really fun! Great for kids! Felt safe and people all had face coverings

The beautiful and lush tropical grounds were well maintained and the parrots turtles and koi were mesmerizing. They managed to pull off a reopening after COVID-19 restrictions had eased and that was much appreciated. It was great. Will return. It was a bit sheltered from the rest of San Diego As it is located on what is known as shelter island. Not a bad spot though. One way in, one way out.

Only 2 stories. Great pool and hot tub. Loved the open spaces.

Cute hotel by the marina. I enjoyed my stay for the most part. They do charge $18 a night for parking. Not sure why. I also notice they don't have a way to contact guest services in the room. There are no phones. Main office is a walks away they are not close to walking distance if you stay in building A. They also don't provide complementary bottled water for the room. They do have tea and coffee you can make. Room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely try and stay here again in the future.

Ac didn’t work in our room 259, then charged for discounts that we never got $17.a day? And parking $19 they did take that off. If you charge for discounts it’s not a discount!

Well maintained with beautiful landscaping. Great pool and hot tub and the restaurant was excellent. Overall the staff was terrific. Great place to stay!

Very good !! Good location , stuff qnd reasonable price

Great hotel only complaint was a old smell in room but open the sliding door get some fresh air and the smell left. Clean great location and walking distance to restaurants marina bay.

When I checked in I found a huge dead cockroach in my closet. I called the front desk and asked for someone to come take care of it and they said they would send someone. 20 minutes later, still no one came. I went outside and found a maid, she looked at it and said she would call someone else. An hour later I called the front desk again because still no one had shown up and she said she would send someone. 10 minutes later someone finally came, he made a joke and took the giant bug in a washcloth. EW! The bed skirt was stained, the toilet tank lid didn't fit right and you could see the staining on the rim, the tub has rust stains... not at all what I expected based on this hotels reputation. Then in the morning I went to breakfast in the restaurant with my daughter and my table had a dirty coffee mug set at my place. Not that the last person had used it and left it behind, as in, they actually set the table with this dirty mug. The waitress was very short with us and annoyed that she couldn't hear my little girl over the noise of the other guests. Well, if she stood nearer the table & not on the opposite side, maybe she wouldn't have this trouble and get irritated with us. They also couldn't find a kids menu so she just quickly listed off a few items and wanted my daughter to decide on the spot. I had high hopes for this hotel, but was shocked at the state of the place. Some of the staff was polite, some were just plain cranky. Everything needs a refresh here. Disappointing!

This was my second stay, it was great. I was in building A and when there were concerts, it felt like I was being inconvenienced. I had to walk around the building to get in during concerts, I had to walk around the front to get into the pool. It wasn’t bad, but it was annoying as that wasn’t really clear upon checking in. It’s no fun having to look for where you can get into your hotel room.

The grounds are lush with winding paths where you encounter parrots and ducks and there is an outside stage where shows are performed during the summer.

The service was the best I have had in a long time , they made my boyfriends surprise bday getaway the best ever

Absolutely LOVED this property and the friendly staff! So much going on at the property you don't need to go anywhere! Beautiful walks around, yummy food! Felt like we were at a tropical oasis!

Shelter Island Dr San Diego CA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Shelter Island
  • Onsite dining
  • Marina
  • Nightclub

Located in Point Loma, Humphreys Half Moon Inn is adjacent to Shelter Island with other popular attractions like Marine Corps Recruit Depot within a within a few miles (5 km). This 182-room, 3.5-star hotel has a marina along with an outdoor pool and a fitness center.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 11:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 182 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 42-inch LCD TVs are available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Safes, ironing boards, and desks are also standard.


Property features

Humphreys Half Moon Inn features a marina, a nightclub, and an outdoor pool. Self parking is available for USD 18 per night. The front desk has multilingual staff standing by 24 hours a day to assist with tours/tickets and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and conference space.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Luxury Junior Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Tropical Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Humphreys Half Moon Inn

Everyone (41) Couples (9) Family (10)
4
Everyone

By on Oct 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2020

We appreciate your gracious rating about your stay at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. It means a lot for us to learn that we met all of your expectations. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to a future visit. Sergio Davies, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Sep 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. Our top priority is for you to have an enjoyable stay, and from your five-star rating, we are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sergio Davies, General Manager

1
Family

AC does not work in the rooms, the food is awful, and some of the staff is extremely rude. Would not recommend staying here.

By on Aug 24, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2020

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for the maintenance issue you encountered in your room. Please be assured that we have shared your feedback with the appropriate department to fix the problem with the HVAC unit. We also regret your disappointment with the food we serve; moreover, we are sorry for the impudent behavior of our associates. We have discussed your concerns with our team to be more diligent going forward. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in San Diego. Sergio Davies, General Manager

5
Family

Really fun! Great for kids! Felt safe and people all had face coverings

By , from Chicago on Jul 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 29, 2020

Kelly, thank you for posting a review of your stay with us at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. We are delighted to know you found us to be a kid-friendly hotel and that you were impressed with the extra care we are taking to keep our staff and guests safe during these unprecedented times. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sergio Davies General Manager

5
Partner Couples

The beautiful and lush tropical grounds were well maintained and the parrots turtles and koi were mesmerizing. They managed to pull off a reopening after COVID-19 restrictions had eased and that was much appreciated. It was great. Will return. It was a bit sheltered from the rest of San Diego As it is located on what is known as shelter island. Not a bad spot though. One way in, one way out.

By , from Santa Rosa. on Jun 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2020

Shayne, thank you for the five-star review of Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our beautiful property. With lush, manicured grounds on our intimate resort-style property, it's hard to believe we are just moments from San Diego's best attractions. We work hard to deliver an excellent experience to all of our guests, so we celebrate reviews such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Sergio Davies, General Manager

5
Partner Couples

Only 2 stories. Great pool and hot tub. Loved the open spaces.

By on Mar 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2020

Thank you for being our guest and for writing such a great review. We are delighted that our service and accommodations exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed our beautiful pool. We love helping our guests feel worlds away in the best Shelter Island San Diego hotel, and kept secret! We are also thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our beautiful property. With lush, manicured grounds on our intimate resort-style property, it's hard to believe we are just moments from San Diego's best attractions. We work hard to deliver an excellent experience to all of our guests, so we celebrate reviews such as yours. Thanks again for choosing Humphrey's Half Moon Inn! Sergio Davies, General Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2020

Thank you for being our guest. Our top priority is for you to have an enjoyable stay, and from your five-star rating, we are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sergio Davies, General Manager

4
Partner Couples Family

Cute hotel by the marina. I enjoyed my stay for the most part. They do charge $18 a night for parking. Not sure why. I also notice they don't have a way to contact guest services in the room. There are no phones. Main office is a walks away they are not close to walking distance if you stay in building A. They also don't provide complementary bottled water for the room. They do have tea and coffee you can make. Room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitely try and stay here again in the future.

By on Mar 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2020

Good morning, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. Can you please verify what room number you stayed in? All of our rooms have phones, or should have. If you don't mind letting me know the name on your reservation so I can find out what happened to the phone and have it replaced immediately. Thank you again for choosing Humphreys and for sharing your comments. We hope to see you again.

4
Family Family

Ac didn’t work in our room 259, then charged for discounts that we never got $17.a day? And parking $19 they did take that off. If you charge for discounts it’s not a discount!

By , from Iowa park TX on Mar 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2020

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We appreciate your rating and are glad that you had a pleasant visit. However, we are sorry you were disappointed with some of the changes. If you have financial queries, please reach out to our front desk, and they will assist you further with your charges. We value your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. Sergio Davies, General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Feb 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 29, 2020

Thank you for being our guest at Humphrey's Half Moon Inn. We take great pride in providing our guests with a comfortable stay, and a rating like yours serves as encouragement to all of us. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sergio Davies, General Manager

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Humphreys-Half-Moon-Inn.h36183-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Diego-Hotels-Humphreys-Half-Moon-Inn.h36183-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Diego-Hotels-Humphreys-Half-Moon-Inn.h36183-p2.Hotel-Reviews