Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Camino Real Saltillo

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I've spent a little over a month in multiple stays at this hotel, and I will stay here again if I return in the future. Sure, there are newer, higher-end hotels in the area that my work would have approved. I came back to this hotel intentionally. It's the staff here. They do everything possible to make sure you're satisfied. I had a glitchy room when I first checked in, and they put me into another one immediately. It's the smiles and warm greetings when I return from work every day. All of the staff have been so friendly and made my extended stays here very comfortable. I recommend the Patio rooms. Many on the outer perimeter offer a view of the mountains surrounding the city. The rooms are clean. Yes, there is some noticeable plaster repair work in places, but this is an old hotel. To me, it adds to the charm of the place. I feel like I'm getting an authentic Mexican experience, not just a standard hotel room that could be anywhere. Almost all of the rooms are large and at groud-level. Parking space right outside the door if you're driving. The grounds have lots of shady areas and attractive landscaping. The outdoor pool is a good size and is clean. La Huerta Restaurant on-site has a free buffet breakfast. Fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, baked goods, a variety of hot foods and omelettes cooked to order. Lunch and Dinner menus have a nice variety too. I've eaten most of them. No disappointments. One thing I do miss is a coffee maker in the room. Their wesite says they have them, but they don't. Room service will deliver a carafe to your room, but you're charged for it. Free coffee at the breakfast buffet, but I really like a cup or two when I first wake up. There is a stocked mini-bar, but no microwave. The WiFi is ok, I was able to stream TV on my laptop with only a couple buffering incidents. Other reviewers have noted noisy AC units. Personally, it doesn't bother me. Once it's been on awhile, it's white noise. I don't even notice it. However it is a bit difficult to get the setting just right. I had to keep adjusting it. Area - this hotel is on the edge of town, closer to the industrial center, so it's convenient if you're here for work. There is a Soriana store nearby (similar to a Walmart) and several convenience stores in the area. Very nice museums and other attractions about 10 minutes minutes away. The hotel does offer a driver, if you need one. So there you go, if you prefer a pristine hotel environment, maybe you should look elsewhere. If you want a place that feels authentic & homey, maybe even a little quirky - with a great staff, I think you'll enjoy it here.

It´s an old hotel with rooms distributed all around the terrain with a regular meal, but good enough towards city according to good price range, we went to a weeding and had a party at the bar and was very joyful night with live music

I stayed here for 3 nights on a trip for work. The property is full of pleasant green spaces not often found in urban Mexican hotels. I slept very well here as the rooms are quiet and relaxing. I ate several meals in the onsite Huerta restaurant which were excellent. Unfortunately many other reviews are correct about service and general upkeep. A few doors down from me a room service tray with dirty dishes sat on the ground outside a room for 3 days untouched! No one bothered to pick it up. Also, upon checkout I had an early 3 am pickup for my flight. I tried to take a shower but I guess they don't do hot water at 2:30 am.

the hotel is old but they worked hard to update the room, cleaning was good, is actually a large room although I will complain about the cooling system still old, and keeps doing a lot of noise when is on, overall it is good to stay, breakfast is quite nice actually but I was there for a week, maybe they should consider having more variety, after a few days having the same well is not good, staff was great.

The room is large and a bit confortable. The bathroom is absolutely horrible and the shower was not working properly. The air conditioning system can operate on/off only and is quite noisy, especially overnight. Nice garden and nice pool, instead the Gym is really small without any service like water or tissues available. The food was nice (perhpas the menu was agree with the company) but it was clear that this hotel was selected for the price and the availability of the conference room, not for the overall quality. Sometime happened to find dirty plates and food outside the room and nobady from the staff remove for hours.... The wifi was free and it worked properly.

It's hard to judge this hotel, the building is nice. The location very convenient... But... Man, the service is Meh - dirty plates left for days outside rooms. The room is Meh - AC and toilet both broke the last night there. The WiFi is borderline unusable, any work I tried to do after hours was at a snail's pace. If you can afford a nice hotel, do it... If like me you're stuck to the location for work... Well good luck!

Just for one night I was looking for some pool relaxation and comfort along with nice hospitality and food. This is what I found instead: * At the pool, not one person helping guests with chairs, umbrellas, drinks or even emptying the trash bins that were so full that people had to put their garbage next to them. * On the way to the room, the stairs were really dirty, including used q-tips and even an empty condom pack. * Inside the room, the air conditioning had a terrible smell, sometimes cigarrettes, sometimes sewer. * In the shower, I found two razors that could've been left behind by two different guests at different stays. * No HBO or Cinemax, just basic cable TV. * Breakfast was so terrible we just got our stuff from the table before they served coffee and went driving somewhere else in the city. "Camino Real" is a known brand with very good reputation for quality service and in some cases luxury accommodations in Mexico. However, this facility in Saltillo, Coahuila really leaves a lot to be desired. My suggestion to the hotel is to hire more personnel and start a maintenance program ASAP; because it sure wasn't this way a couple of years ago.

I stayed for 3 nights, it's a very quiet hotel, the rooms are confortables and clean. The buffet was really good and with a lot of options, it was free because it was included in the night rate. No complaints I'll come back to this hotel. My only concern was with the gym equipment most of them were not working.

They offered as a luxury hotel and even more than 4 stars and various levels of room. I went to a convention of medical tourism and was the venue for participants 30 countries. I was sad and embarrased as Mexican Lamentable, broken curtains, fleas, musty smell, floors with nails on the carpet. By claiming the manager replied "that he had bad room" For $ 5 more per night I switched to Hotel QuintaReal and that it deserve 5 stars

Large rooms, parking on one side, small terrace at the other end. Not near the center, so you have to drive to any restaurants outside the hotel. Shower water was lukewarm. Buffet breakfast not very good. No refrigerator or coffee maker in room, WI-FI spotty. Not horrible but not terrific either.

Boulevard Los Fundadores 2000 Saltillo COAH

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

Located 2.9 mi (4.6 km) from Museum of the Desert, Camino Real Saltillo is within a 15-minute drive of Plaza la Nogalera Shopping Center. This 164-room, 4-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and free self parking. Santiago Cathedral and Alameda Zaragoza Park are also within a 15-minute drive.


Dining

Enjoy dining at La Huerta, one of 2 onsite restaurants. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge. For your convenience, breakfast is available for a fee.


Rooms

All of Camino Real Saltillo's 164 air-conditioned rooms provide minibars, free newspapers, and free bottled water. Plasma TVs come with satellite channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and slippers. Safes and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Camino Real Saltillo, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available on request). A multilingual staff is on hand to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include 10 meeting rooms, conference space, and a business center.

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

54.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 140 reviews