Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Magnuson Hotel Birch Run

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was very dingy and dirty. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom was filthy. The biggest issue is that the picture used for the hotel on orbitz is not the magnuson. I was mislead as to the type of hotel I would be staying at. Had the information on orbitz been accurate I would had never booked this hotel in the first place.

The staff was excellent! Helpful, and super nice. I loved that you have so many different dog runs!

This is a budget hotel that does what it supposed to, with a little extra added in. Rooms are basic but the buffet breakfast is a nice touch.

Price should be lower for what it is. Our nonsmoking room had obviously been smoked in by the previous guests. When we walked in they had an air purifier plugged in and going in a vain attempt to rid the room of the odor. The towels in the bathroom smelled like an ashtray, and I found crumbs, hair ties, and coins on the floor, leading me to believe the room hadn’t been vacuumed. Our door stuck badly, so if you shut it all the way after you used the key card and got the green light to open it, you had to literally throw your whole body at it to get in. If I had paid $75-$80 for it, I wouldn’t be complaining, but this was definitely not a $125 room.

Room was ok. Breakfast wasnt that great. Wasnt worth the cost for one night.

convenient location. Hard to find sign at road best Western hotel booking was under another name

Room was good for sleeping. Older heaters/ac units. Hard to get a comfortable room temp. It was either stuffy and warm or too cold. Location was a bit confusing. It’s tucked behind the Best Western. You have to check in at the best western was was a bit different. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast!

Bunk beds were perfect for the kids! Their own TV was also helpful. Nice pool.

Hotel was nice. Food was good. Would stay there again.

Facility and experience was very good, only complaint is very small bathrooms and uncomfortable bed.

The hotel was great. The only problem was the room we were given was already occupied. So you can imagine our surprise when we unlocked the door and someone was already in the room. We went back to the desk and were assigned a new room.

Hotel was close to the outlets and close to frankenmuth, but it could use some major updates. The pillows were the size of a throw pillow, sheets only on the bed. Fan didn’t work so it was hard to temp control the room. Breakfast was wonderful and staff was great.

A portion of the hotel is really a motel. Open your door and there are smokers everywhere sitting outside of your room smoking. The breakfast staff is top notch. They really work hard but the breakfast layout isn’t the best.

Place needs work. Could spend a little to fix things correctly.

The only issue that I had was that the room I reserved was 1 queen bed and I ended up in a room with 2 beds. It wasn't that big of a deal I was just expecting the other. The Breakfast and breakfast staff was great.

9035 Birch Run Rd Birch Run MI

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Lake Huron
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Magnuson Hotel Birch Run places you next to Lake Huron and within a mile (2 km) of other popular attractions like Birch Run Premium Outlets. This hotel has 66 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:30 AM. In addition to a restaurant onsite, there is also a bar where you can enjoy a drink.


Rooms

A TV comes with cable channels and first-run movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, a hair dryer, and an ironing board.


Property features

At Magnuson Hotel Birch Run, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Private Bathroom

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Honeymoon Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Fireplace

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Family Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Private Bathroom

Queen 1 | Sleeps 6

Family Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Private Bathroom

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Magnuson Hotel Birch Run

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (1)
1
Family with small children

The hotel was very dingy and dirty. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom was filthy. The biggest issue is that the picture used for the hotel on orbitz is not the magnuson. I was mislead as to the type of hotel I would be staying at. Had the information on orbitz been accurate I would had never booked this hotel in the first place.

By on Jun 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2019

Thank you for your response. We advertise the amenities not attached to the Magnuson because guests have access to these. However the pictures and descriptions of rooms are authentic. We are the only 1 star hotel in the area to offer the amenities of a 3 star hotel. We will use your review to improve for your next stay.

5
Families

The staff was excellent! Helpful, and super nice. I loved that you have so many different dog runs!

By on Jun 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback!

4
Friends

This is a budget hotel that does what it supposed to, with a little extra added in. Rooms are basic but the buffet breakfast is a nice touch.

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 22, 2019

Thank you for your feedback, we will use it to improve your next stay!

3
Family with small children Business Business Travelers

Price should be lower for what it is. Our nonsmoking room had obviously been smoked in by the previous guests. When we walked in they had an air purifier plugged in and going in a vain attempt to rid the room of the odor. The towels in the bathroom smelled like an ashtray, and I found crumbs, hair ties, and coins on the floor, leading me to believe the room hadn’t been vacuumed. Our door stuck badly, so if you shut it all the way after you used the key card and got the green light to open it, you had to literally throw your whole body at it to get in. If I had paid $75-$80 for it, I wouldn’t be complaining, but this was definitely not a $125 room.

By , from Ferndale, MI on May 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 24, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that your room didn't live up to your expectations. The machine you saw in your room in not an air purifier, it is a ozone machine and it takes care of odor by removing the oxygen in the air. Cleanliness of is a top priority here and we would have been more than happy to move you rooms or service the room, but we never knew of the issues. We will use this as a training opportunity for our housekeepers. The door has been fixed and we can't wait to show you the improvements when you return.

3
Partner Couples

Room was ok. Breakfast wasnt that great. Wasnt worth the cost for one night.

By on Apr 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 3, 2019

Thank you for completing the survey. We appreciate your business. We will use this feedback to improve your future stay.

3
Business Business Travelers

convenient location. Hard to find sign at road best Western hotel booking was under another name

By on Mar 29, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you for completing the survey. We appreciate your business. We will use this feedback to improve your future stay.

4
Everyone

Room was good for sleeping. Older heaters/ac units. Hard to get a comfortable room temp. It was either stuffy and warm or too cold. Location was a bit confusing. It’s tucked behind the Best Western. You have to check in at the best western was was a bit different. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast!

By on Jan 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2019

Thank You for completing the survey. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. We will use this review to improve all future stays

5
Everyone

Bunk beds were perfect for the kids! Their own TV was also helpful. Nice pool.

By on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2019

Thank You for completing the survey. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. We will use this review to improve all future stays

5
Everyone

Hotel was nice. Food was good. Would stay there again.

By on Jan 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2019

Thank You for completing the survey. We appreciate your feedback as well as your business. We will use this review to improve all future stays

4
Everyone

Facility and experience was very good, only complaint is very small bathrooms and uncomfortable bed.

By on Dec 15, 2018

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.