Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Isa Design Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is in a great location with many stores / restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean and offer great views. Biggest issues include: no valet or parking - you have to try and find street parking which is an absolute mess. The front desk offers absolutely no help with this. Stairs - you have to walk up stairs to get to the tiny elevator (maybe 3 people without luggage can fit). If you have a lot of luggage, plan on multiple trips...and there is no bellman (if you don't have parking close, this really sucks). Tiny bathroom - expect a sliding bathroom door with no lock and your knees to be knocking the wall / cabinet as you go. Also - we did the prepaid rate, and came a night late. They wouldn't refund the day we missed (that's fine - it was clear in the policy when we paid). One would have expected at least some level of service, though.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. Would definitely stay here again. The rooftop bar was incredible with views of the Vatican at night that were amazing!

A lovely place to stay! The proximity to the Vatican and also Hadrian's Mausoleum was a plus! Great views from the top floor too

We truly did not know what to expect. The location was perfect for having access to the sites that we wanted to see. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was awesome and carried us through the day. When we come back to Rome we will defintly stay at Isa Hotel. It has every thing that we would expect!

The hotel was wonderful. Great staff and clean rooms. Excellent morning Italian breakfast with and overview of the Vatican. Because it was centrally located, easy access to the sites and restaurants

The hotel is very well located, near restaurants and near the piazza and tourist bus routes. The food at the restaurant is great. And the restaurant staff and cleanning staff are extremely kind and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay, highly recommend it and will definitely stay there on our next trip. The restaurant is on the terrace and you have a great view. And, there is a tourist bus that runs one or two blocks from the hotel.

The room was spacious and very clean. The free breakfast was excellent. Omlettes and Capucino or Espresso to order, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, and I think wine (but we didn't try it). Breakfast area had a view of the Vatican. Awesome. It does not have restaurant or room service. I read a review that said couple arranged a birthday treat with Willie, the barman, who was wonderful. So evenings you can get fairly priced drinks and lots of free snacks while overlooking the Vatican. I am over 65 and I was able to walk to Vatican, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, and Metro. We were amazed to feel safe even at night while walking.

What a wonderful hotel and experience! We had four quests and ended up getting two separate rooms--perfect for my sister and me and our parents! The staff was great as far as helping us with directions and sightseeing! My birthday was during our stay and the staff sent up a bottle of champagne and candy! Very nice touch! Rooms were nice and clean, nice bathrooms. We loved the rooftop bar and beautiful view of the Vatican. The free breakfast was delicious with rons of options! Loved it and would stay again in a heartbeat!

First and foremost, the hotel was proximal to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican museum and the adjacent attractions which were our main focus. However, it was also close to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and a whole host of other museums and monuments. Most of them were within 15 minutes walk. The colosseum was a bit further, so, we took a cab. The hotel amenities were outstanding, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel special. Breakfast on the terrace was grand (I haven't seen so much variety for a meal that should be the smallest of the day). There are a myriad of restaurants, close by, for lunch and dinner specials.

Perfect boutique hotel near the vatican. Extremely friendly and welcoming. Spa quality rooms and service

Very Good short stay on a short business trip, to bad that I did not have more time.

I would definitely recommend this hotel IF you can get a room on the second floor on the inside courtyard. The second floor rooms have been entirely redone and are modern and well lit. We had originally been assigned a room on the third floor where the lighting and design were not as advertised on their website at all and they were kind of depressing After two days, they finally were able to move us into a lovely room with a small balcony. From that point on we totally enjoyed our stay there. They have a terrific roof garden where breakfasts and evening drinks are served. Breakfasts were great with lots of options including omelets and cappacinos made to order. We were there for New Year's Eve and we were able to view the city's fireworks from roof's fabulous vantage point. This hotel is very well located, slightly away from the crazy crowds but within very easy walking distance of all the wonderful Rome attractions. The staff is friendly and helpful, particularly the people who clean the rooms and provide breakfast and drinks on the roof garden. Enjoy!

The room was nice, very close to the Vatican and the center of Rome. It was very clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was great. The only thing that is difficult to find in the neighborhood is a good restaurant. It would be so much more exciting if it had its own restaurant. But unfortunately you have to look around the area for a good one. The bar is pricey but its convenient. Everything was very comfy.

Excellent location merged with incredible value, sums up Rome's hotel Isa. A friendly and attentive staff are ready to respond to any questions you may have (their English is very good), and have a delicious breakfast buffet prepared every morning for you on their beautiful roof garden. If you're on a budget, this is an unbeatable deal. You are blocks from the Vatican, and in a part of downtown Rome that is pretty quiet (also very safe).

The Hotel staff were superb! The room was always keep clean and was very quiet and the air conditioning always worked well (which is needed in Rome in the summer). The buffet breakfast in the morning was something to look forward to every day. The location is perfect, within walking distance to most everything and about 10 mins to St. Peters. The staff all spoke English well and went out of there way to help you out. I really didnt want to leave and would stay there again without question. There are many good restaurant around the area to eat in the evening as well and the hotel staff were always good for a recommendation. The metro (subway system) is about a 5 min walk from the hotel. The buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop restaurant and the view of ST Peters is superb. Make sure to have evening drinks on the rooftop and enjoy the view of Rome at night!

Our stay at the Hotel Isa couldn't have been better. The bed was comfortable and the room attractive. We loved the location close to Castel Sant'Angelo and the Vatican. The Metro was a quick walk up the road.

Definitely a good spot to see the sites of Rome from; very central location, friendly English speaking staff, and amazing view from the rooftop bar/garden.

Great location, friendly staff, perfect room. Will stay here again next time I'm in Rome.

Reserved least expensive room. Size was tiny barely room for wife and luggage and on 2nd floor. Upgrade was available, well worth 20 extra euros. Big room, balcony to the courtyard off the bedroom and bath. Breakfast was very good. Location very good near the river. View of St. Peter from rooftop dining and lounge area. Would stay hear next time in room. Elevator was an adventure in itself - fun to talk about. Bad only if your in a hurry or 3 in party with luggage. Walked the neighborhood a lot. Many locations walkable distance. We save time by taxi too and hike back.

We ate dinner there two of the three nights we were there. The food was excellent. Many of the staff remembered us from our last stay. I will definately stay there again

Via Cicerone 39 Rome RM

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Piazza del Popolo and Castel Sant'Angelo
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge

Located in Prati, Isa Design Hotel is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Piazza del Popolo and Castel Sant'Angelo. This 53-room, 4-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and a rooftop terrace. Located in central Rome, the hotel is also near St. Peter's Basilica and Piazza Navona.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning from 7 AM to 10:30 AM. Entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 53 rooms are soundproofed and have an array of amenities, including minibars, free newspapers, and safes. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Phones are also available.


Property features

Guests of Isa Design Hotel enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and a meeting room. Airport transportation is made easy with a shuttle from the airport to the hotel (available 24 hours) for EUR 50-60 per vehicle. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include express check-in, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Superior Double or Twin Room

Full 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 3

Triple Room

Full 1 | Twin 1 | Sleeps 3

Double Room Single Use

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Family Room, Connecting Rooms

Full 1 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Isa Design Hotel

Everyone (1) Couples (26) Business (1) Family (9) Other (2) Friends (5)
3

ok hotel, but missing key (and expected) perks.

Everyone

The hotel is in a great location with many stores / restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are clean and offer great views. Biggest issues include: no valet or parking - you have to try and find street parking which is an absolute mess. The front desk offers absolutely no help with this. Stairs - you have to walk up stairs to get to the tiny elevator (maybe 3 people without luggage can fit). If you have a lot of luggage, plan on multiple trips...and there is no bellman (if you don't have parking close, this really sucks). Tiny bathroom - expect a sliding bathroom door with no lock and your knees to be knocking the wall / cabinet as you go. Also - we did the prepaid rate, and came a night late. They wouldn't refund the day we missed (that's fine - it was clear in the policy when we paid). One would have expected at least some level of service, though.

By , from San Juan, PR on Jul 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2017

Dear Brian thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We always take seriously guests' suggestions trying to better understand expectations and how to improve our service. We'd like to thank you for giving the opportunity to clarify some points, too: - as we don't have a parking place we don't provide parking valet service. Usually it's not a problem, as the guest can arrive with the car in front of the hotel, leave the luggage here and park at the garage in the square, end of the street (3 minutes walking from the hotel), dealing directly with the garage for the payment. Otherwise there are blu stripes parking places on the streets, payble at the parking machines. - we do have a bellman and once the guest leaves the luggage at the hotel we store it for free and deliver it into the room with pleasure when room is ready and cleaned :) - each bathroom has a different size (depending on room cathegory booked, but always accomplishing the law directions in this matter) and yes the bathrooms have no lock for security reasons - last but not least we'd like to clarify that our level of service is not affected by anything other than being our guest. We really love our guests and since 1961 what we try to do is pamper each single guest with our innate love for hospitality. We are sorry you had not a completely positive perception of yous stay, we look forward to welcoming you back for a second (better) chance :)

5

very nice hotel close to everything you want to se

Families

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice and clean. Would definitely stay here again. The rooftop bar was incredible with views of the Vatican at night that were amazing!

By on Jun 30, 2017

4

great stay!

Couples

A lovely place to stay! The proximity to the Vatican and also Hadrian's Mausoleum was a plus! Great views from the top floor too

By on Nov 14, 2015

5

our first trip to rome!

Couples

We truly did not know what to expect. The location was perfect for having access to the sites that we wanted to see. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast was awesome and carried us through the day. When we come back to Rome we will defintly stay at Isa Hotel. It has every thing that we would expect!

By on Sep 19, 2015

4

awesome family trip

Families

The hotel was wonderful. Great staff and clean rooms. Excellent morning Italian breakfast with and overview of the Vatican. Because it was centrally located, easy access to the sites and restaurants

By on Jul 28, 2015

5

excellent hotel - great for travel

Couples

The hotel is very well located, near restaurants and near the piazza and tourist bus routes. The food at the restaurant is great. And the restaurant staff and cleanning staff are extremely kind and courteous. We really enjoyed our stay, highly recommend it and will definitely stay there on our next trip. The restaurant is on the terrace and you have a great view. And, there is a tourist bus that runs one or two blocks from the hotel.

By on May 30, 2015

5

everything you would wish for.

Couples

The room was spacious and very clean. The free breakfast was excellent. Omlettes and Capucino or Espresso to order, fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, and I think wine (but we didn't try it). Breakfast area had a view of the Vatican. Awesome. It does not have restaurant or room service. I read a review that said couple arranged a birthday treat with Willie, the barman, who was wonderful. So evenings you can get fairly priced drinks and lots of free snacks while overlooking the Vatican. I am over 65 and I was able to walk to Vatican, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, and Metro. We were amazed to feel safe even at night while walking.

By on Apr 22, 2015

5

amazing first time in rome

Families

What a wonderful hotel and experience! We had four quests and ended up getting two separate rooms--perfect for my sister and me and our parents! The staff was great as far as helping us with directions and sightseeing! My birthday was during our stay and the staff sent up a bottle of champagne and candy! Very nice touch! Rooms were nice and clean, nice bathrooms. We loved the rooftop bar and beautiful view of the Vatican. The free breakfast was delicious with rons of options! Loved it and would stay again in a heartbeat!

By on Jan 14, 2015

5

perfect location perfect vacation

Families

First and foremost, the hotel was proximal to St. Peter's Basilica, the Vatican museum and the adjacent attractions which were our main focus. However, it was also close to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona and a whole host of other museums and monuments. Most of them were within 15 minutes walk. The colosseum was a bit further, so, we took a cab. The hotel amenities were outstanding, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make us feel special. Breakfast on the terrace was grand (I haven't seen so much variety for a meal that should be the smallest of the day). There are a myriad of restaurants, close by, for lunch and dinner specials.

By on Nov 30, 2014

5

hotel isa

Families

Perfect boutique hotel near the vatican. Extremely friendly and welcoming. Spa quality rooms and service

By on Aug 23, 2014