Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Was dissapointed. Felt it did not meet Raddisson standards, due to renovations.

The hotel was currently under renovation and we stayed in a room that wasn't renovated. But the staff was great and they tried to do everything they could to make our stay comfortable. It was a very nice convenient location to downtown Reykjavík.

Hairs in the shower and stays there even after the room was cleaned the next day. We had to clean some and get the hotel to remove others. Room just not very clean. We decided to book a different hotel for the next night even though we will not get a refund from Radisson.

The Reykjavik metro area is very easy to drive around in, and this hotel is well located if you have a car. The harbor and downtown areas are an easy walk if you don't feel like driving and parking downtown.

This Radison Blue is below the standard for this brand yet it was way over-priced for what you get. Granted, they sre renovating. I recommend potential guests wait until the much needed renovation is complete.

Hotel is about a ten minute walk from city center - totally doable. Views from the room were amazing. Rooms are clean and updated, but the building's general areas need some help. The gym is in the basement, small, and dark (no windows)... not inviting at all. The Tourist Info desk is great! They do currency exchange there, answer questions about the city/excursions, and give you maps. Overall I would definitely recommend Blu Saga and would stay there again if I get the pleasure to return to Iceland!

Breakfast is NOT free, $26 pp!!! Our floor had dirt stains when we first walked in, 6 days stay never got cleaned.

This hotel has great, friendly staff, very helpful for new visitors to Iceland. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and would meet the expectations of any international traveller. The only minor inconvenience is the lack of blackout curtains in rooms during the Icelandic summer means that the room is still lighted from the windows at 2300.

Staff very friendly and willing to help out. Construction going on May 2017 to add Bistro in Lobby area. Great windows in room - can see the sea. We were 2 people - cot for third removed to give us lots of room.

We had a perfect view of the mountains across from the harbor.

Very disappointed in room care. There was hair on the floor of bathroom that did not belong to either of the inhabitants...daily! There were glitter and sparkles from New Years Eve on the floor of bathroom for 3 days after. The first day, the room was not cleaned at all. Each consecutive day, there were towel changes and toilet cleanings as well bed making but little else. Very disappointing. The breakfast buffet was very nice and well done. The hotel desk staff was mostly very efficient. Some of the buffet restaurant staff had attitude that should be corrected. The bar staff was very nice.

Very friendly staff, but hotel is outdated. Even though some renovations are underway. Spa was closed for renovations and was never told anytime in the 6 months prior to my arrival. Breakfast was not very filling. Business room cost more to have which should have included more than it did. Yet standard rooms appeared larger and were very nice. Walk to downtown was only 15 minutes. Alas i would try another hotel than the radisson next time. I just didnt feel comfortable like i should have.

It was great, however the spa was broken at the Time of our stay. We were given badges the local public pool is high was also a great experience!

Great hotel. 8th floor restaurant was best ever. First floor restaurant was so so. Breakfasts were reasonable but uninspired. 15 minute walk to downtown. Lots of taxicabs. I'd stay there again.

The hotel is well located within walking distance of the city center and with easy access to all tours and excursions. Rooms are large and spacious and easily accommodate a family of 4, as we were.

The disappointment I felt in Iceland had nothing to do with the hotel. Roads were closed for the day so all day and night tours were canceled. We had to talk with the travel guide lady at the hotel and her knowledge was lacking. I do wish I stayed in a hotel closer to town where there were more choices to eat. I felt the breakfast was too expensive. It was just breakfast. nothing so grand.

Wonderful, kind patient staff. Room lovely. Amenities excellent. Restaurant with very tasty food. Nice selection and professional, friendly service. Location very convenient for my purposes.

Friendly. Good location if you like a 20 min walk downtown

I am impressed at how knowledgeable the staff are in this hotel. They took their time to answer all the guest questions and informed them of all the facilities available for use. The location is also good. Just a short walk to the downtown area. I just didn't like the rooms much. The room I stayed in was outdated, some paint is peeling and the bed kinda smells bad. For the most part, I didn't bothered to complain as I just wanted to rest after all the hiking that I did in Iceland.

An adequate place to stay, certainly not a "4-star" hotel. Some good things about the hotel: Free parking Free Wi-Fi Close enough to city centre (about a 5 minute drive, short bus ride) Now for the not so good: We had a couple of issues that we reported to desk staff - (Door to large parking lot is locked after 8pm. No notice that this would happen. Room telephone had no labels or instructions. No phone book in room). Desk staff didn't seem to care. Attitude was generally "Who cares?". Room hair dryer didn't work. They did provide a replacement. Housekeeping didn't provide more toilet paper or tissues until we asked. Bath towels were thin and worn. Bed consisted of 2 twin beds pushed together. This seems to be typical of Iceland, I've heard. Shower water temperature varied a lot during use.

Hagatorg Reykjavik

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to National Museum of Iceland and Reykjavik City Hall
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik places you in Vesturbær, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as National Museum of Iceland and Reykjavik City Hall. This 236-room, 4-star hotel has conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a fitness center. It's in central Reykjavik and also close to Hallgrimskirkja and Perlan.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik's 236 rooms provide refrigerators, safes, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. In-room massages are available, and rooms also include desks.


Property features

At Radisson Blu Saga Hotel, Reykjavik, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 8 meeting rooms. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for EUR 25 per person one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-in.

Room options

Business Class

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Superior Room

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Radisson Blu Saga Hotel

Everyone (15) Business (1) Couples (4) Friends (2) Other (2)
3

hotel was under renovations.

Everyone

Was dissapointed. Felt it did not meet Raddisson standards, due to renovations.

By , from Lansdale, PA on Oct 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2017

Dear Mala, thank you for your feedback. We regret to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We appreciate letting us know. Warmest regards, Team Saga

4

iceland convenient location.

Everyone

The hotel was currently under renovation and we stayed in a room that wasn't renovated. But the staff was great and they tried to do everything they could to make our stay comfortable. It was a very nice convenient location to downtown Reykjavík.

By on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review despite the hotel being in the midst of renovations. We are very happy to hear you found the staff accommodating and hospitable. We certainly look forward to inviting you again to the hotel the next time you are in Reykjavik. Warmest Regards,

3

dirty bathroom

Everyone

Hairs in the shower and stays there even after the room was cleaned the next day. We had to clean some and get the hotel to remove others. Room just not very clean. We decided to book a different hotel for the next night even though we will not get a refund from Radisson.

By on Sep 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2017

Dear Guest, we thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience.This is not our standard and I apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope still that we are able to welcome you back. With kind regards, Daniela R, Guest Relations

4

nice hotel, excellent location if you have car.

Everyone

The Reykjavik metro area is very easy to drive around in, and this hotel is well located if you have a car. The harbor and downtown areas are an easy walk if you don't feel like driving and parking downtown.

By on Aug 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you gave enjoyed your stay and especially the room you have stayed in. We hope to see you see you again, with kind regards, Daniela R, Guest Relations

2

dissapointing

Everyone

This Radison Blue is below the standard for this brand yet it was way over-priced for what you get. Granted, they sre renovating. I recommend potential guests wait until the much needed renovation is complete.

By , from Orange County California. on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Dear Bruce, we thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently undergoing a major renovation and it would be lovely to welcome you back and show you the results. Warm regards, Daniela R, Guest Relations

4

great views

Everyone

Hotel is about a ten minute walk from city center - totally doable. Views from the room were amazing. Rooms are clean and updated, but the building's general areas need some help. The gym is in the basement, small, and dark (no windows)... not inviting at all. The Tourist Info desk is great! They do currency exchange there, answer questions about the city/excursions, and give you maps. Overall I would definitely recommend Blu Saga and would stay there again if I get the pleasure to return to Iceland!

By on Jun 29, 2017

3
Everyone

Breakfast is NOT free, $26 pp!!! Our floor had dirt stains when we first walked in, 6 days stay never got cleaned.

By , from CA on Jun 25, 2017

4

great hotel and fantastic staff!

Everyone

This hotel has great, friendly staff, very helpful for new visitors to Iceland. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and would meet the expectations of any international traveller. The only minor inconvenience is the lack of blackout curtains in rooms during the Icelandic summer means that the room is still lighted from the windows at 2300.

By on Jun 6, 2017

4

nice hotel - a little far from town center

Everyone

Staff very friendly and willing to help out. Construction going on May 2017 to add Bistro in Lobby area. Great windows in room - can see the sea. We were 2 people - cot for third removed to give us lots of room.

By on Jun 2, 2017

5
Everyone

We had a perfect view of the mountains across from the harbor.

By on Mar 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you for the feedback.