Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

A beautiful and historic site. Definitely worthwhile!

This hotel seems more like a tourist attraction than a high quality property. We paid ~$400/night for 5 days during winter carnival to stay on the gold floor. We didn't get any sleep the entire time - in 4 nights we had 3 different people move in and out of the room next door. Once it was 2 couples packed in there partying all night (how can you even fit 4 people these rooms are small) another time was young children who were up past midnight then up again early in the morning making a ton of noise. The hotel has adjoining rooms, so the noise sounds as if it's in your room through the poorly sealed door. Another set of neighbors evidently never encountered adjoining rooms before and repeatedly tried to open the door to enter our room. Once you wake up to someone trying to get into your room its hard to fall back asleep. All that money and I wish I stayed at cheap hotel down the street instead. Service was ok - no one went out of their way to be friendly or helpful. The bellman didn't direct us to check in on the gold floor even after we said that's where we were staying - I guess we should just know to go directly to the 14th floor but it was our first time staying here so we waited in the line surrounded by a peewee hockey convention for 15 minutes. When I asked the concierge how to get to the carnival she acted like it was really odd for me to not already know - I just got here, how would I know? I wouldn't stay here again. Views were nice, the only positive.

Beautiful hotel (exterior) with outstanding views.

Everything at this property was first class. From the lobby to the restaurants, to the pool, everything was great. Really enjoyed staying here.

Location was ideal and picturesque in the snow and wintertime

The staff here were very helpful...an but this trip was a let down for us. This is the most expensive hotel in Quebec and highly rated so we expected an exceptional experience. But here are the low points....lines to check in, lines to speak to concierge, lines to get an elevator, lines to eat buffet breakfast, a pool packed with kids and rendered unusable, a 30 minute wait for a cocktail in the bar after we were seated and finally, an insane wait to get cards in and out of the hotel. We felt like we were cattle in times square. I would not consider this a luxury hotel and frankly would not recommend it for a luxury and high touch experience. There are others in the area that we wish we would have tried.

great location, best bars and restaurants, room was very nice. price was fair

Beautifully decorated for Christmas. A bit too pricey for the spa activities.

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the Chateau Frontenac! Our classic room was lovely, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Every request we had...extra tea bags, robes, a makeup mirror was met in minutes by a cheerful staff member. Quebec City is magical at Christmas and it starts with this hotel and it’s amazing staff!

Customer service very friendly, close to restaurants and shopping.

The property is in the center of everything. You never have to leave for dining, but wonderful options are sure steps out your door.

The location and view is fabulous. The feel is old world with new world updates.

From check in to check out and everything in between this was just a fantastic stay! It truly felt like everyone was going out of their way to ensure our visit was wonderful.

historic Hotel, very expensive and worth the once-in-a-lifetime experience.

1 rue des Carrieres Quebec QC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Quebec City Town Hall and Quartier Petit Champlain
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Ski-in/ski-out access

Located in Old Quebec, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac is adjacent to Quartier Petit Champlain and within a 5-minute walk of other popular sights like Quebec City Town Hall. This 611-room, 4.5-star hotel has ski-in/ski-out access, a full-service spa, and 3 restaurants.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 3 restaurants, including The Champlain, which specializes in French cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac's 611 rooms are heated and have an array of amenities, including minibars, coffee makers, and free newspapers. LCD TVs come with pay movies, and guests can stay connected with WiFi and wired Internet. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are also available.


Property features

A local mainstay since 1893, Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac offers ski-in/ski-out access, a full-service spa, and an indoor pool. Parking is available for CAD 40 per day (CAD 40.00 per day for valet parking), and there's also an airport shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this ski hotel include a children's pool, a 24-hour health club, and a spa tub.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed (Celine Dion Suite)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, City View (Fairmont)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, Multiple Beds (Suite Trudeau Trudeau)

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, City View

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

Everyone (58) Couples (20) Family (17)
5
Family Partner Couples

A beautiful and historic site. Definitely worthwhile!

By , from Buffalo, NY on Jul 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 13, 2020

We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us. Thank you for this wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you again in a near future for your next trip in Quebec City.

5
Everyone

By on Mar 6, 2020

2
Partner Couples

This hotel seems more like a tourist attraction than a high quality property. We paid ~$400/night for 5 days during winter carnival to stay on the gold floor. We didn't get any sleep the entire time - in 4 nights we had 3 different people move in and out of the room next door. Once it was 2 couples packed in there partying all night (how can you even fit 4 people these rooms are small) another time was young children who were up past midnight then up again early in the morning making a ton of noise. The hotel has adjoining rooms, so the noise sounds as if it's in your room through the poorly sealed door. Another set of neighbors evidently never encountered adjoining rooms before and repeatedly tried to open the door to enter our room. Once you wake up to someone trying to get into your room its hard to fall back asleep. All that money and I wish I stayed at cheap hotel down the street instead. Service was ok - no one went out of their way to be friendly or helpful. The bellman didn't direct us to check in on the gold floor even after we said that's where we were staying - I guess we should just know to go directly to the 14th floor but it was our first time staying here so we waited in the line surrounded by a peewee hockey convention for 15 minutes. When I asked the concierge how to get to the carnival she acted like it was really odd for me to not already know - I just got here, how would I know? I wouldn't stay here again. Views were nice, the only positive.

By on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. Our guest feedback is both valued and welcome, and I thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the areas that require improvement. I was most concerned to learn that you were disappointed with your stay with us and I cannot apologize enough for the inconveniences you experienced. It was obviously not up to the standards you have come to expect from our brand and I am truly sorry we have failed to meet your expectations. We are looking at actions to correct the situation and ensure what you have been through will not occur again.

3
Family Business Business

Beautiful hotel (exterior) with outstanding views.

By on Feb 10, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 10, 2020

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay. I was disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations perhaps with your room?

5
Everyone

By on Feb 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 10, 2020

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

3
Partner Couples

By on Jan 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay or experience of Quebec City.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for this wonderful feedback.

5
Family Friends

Everything at this property was first class. From the lobby to the restaurants, to the pool, everything was great. Really enjoyed staying here.

By on Jan 21, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

Thank you for this great review of your recent stay at the Chateau. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Fairmont experience and hope that you will choose Fairmont again in a near future. Thank you for taking time to post a review, we sincerely appreciate it.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

We are so delighted you enjoyed your recent stay

5
Family

Location was ideal and picturesque in the snow and wintertime

By on Jan 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 28, 2020

Thank you for choosing the Château Frontenac. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the many delights and charms of Quebec City. We look forward to your next visit

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

1 rue des Carrieres, Quebec, QC G1R 4P5
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Quebec-Hotels-Fairmont-Le-Chateau-Frontenac.h12522-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Quebec-Hotels-Fairmont-Le-Chateau-Frontenac.h12522-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Quebec-Hotels-Fairmont-Le-Chateau-Frontenac.h12522-p2.Hotel-Reviews