Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The hotel is situated in the heart of Zona Romantica, it’s a perfect location for all the fine restaurants, bars and beach in the area. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and your four legged family member is welcome as well. Would definitely stay at this hotel again! The only downside is the pool; more attention wouldn’t hurt.

Location is very good, one block from beach and in Zona ROmantica. The breakfast is as described, a continental breakfast. Rooftop terrace is nice and relaxing. Rooms are fairly basic. But overall good value for money.

Terrible experience and waiting to hear back from orbitz customer service about a full refund. We arrived at 4 pm and were told out room was unavailable because of a leak (also non functioning AC). We were moved to another property 2 miles away that unfortunately was not adequate and not in the same hotel class. Very basic and with 2 double beds instead of a king, basic shower. Also the walk in price was $110/night and we had paid $160 for this property. We left and made a new reservation. Waiting to be contacted about a refund. Not anyone’s fault but we should have been offered a cancellation from the beginning. Felt like we were getting suckered and I know they have seen enough tourists to know which hotels are comparable.

We actually missed our reserved night at Petit Mercedes because of a canceled flight, but they welcomed us warmly the next morning, fed us breakfast and gave us our room until late check out time.

Amazing location! I enjoy that it's adults-only, but the location is what makes it best.

Great staff good location near the beach and Restaurants. A great value, the room size good

Quiet, no kids, well maintain and in an ideal location.

A block from the beach. Near amazing restaurants. Everything in Old Town is walkable. Cute, but no frills. Doesn't feel overly touristy. Yes, it's loud at night, but that's because it's near everything. I'll definitely be back.

This is NOT a super fancy, high frills, ultra-modern, stark and sterile type of hotel (which was exactly what I was wanting to avoid - those places make you feel like everything is designed to be a box). This place was very quaint, pleasant, and homey. Room was clean and well kept. It appears that the photos were taken with a wide-angle lense - the courtyard is a little smaller than the impression you get with the photos (not bad at all, just giving my observation). The only reason my "Facilities Condition" rating is less than a five is because the hotel's restaurant is currently closed for remodeling (which is good, because when they are done, they will have an onsite restaurant). The absence of the onsite restaurant wasn't a problem, though - there are so many places to eat within walking distance. If you are someone that likes to go to bed early, you may have a problem staying here, though. There is lots of automobile traffic, and one or two night clubs close by (stay open way past midnight and the music is pretty loud). If you're a nightowl, and like to party 'til dawn (like me) - no problem here. The beach is just a short walk away (roughly, about 100 yards). All in all, I enjoyed my stay and will definitely stay here again, when I come back to PV.

Really wanted to like this hotel . Great location. However room was extremely small. Noisy street noise . Window opened to face wall with graffiti. Room smelled moldy and musty combined with string cleaning ng agents , so much as to leave my clothes smelling of the odor. Hotel is worn , pictures do not look like the hotel. Checked out early even though room paid for and got a beautiful room elsewhere. First time ever doing that. Staff is pleasant . Stay in PV 4-5 times a year , much better choices elsewhere. Don’t understand the high ratings given this place .

Nice Little hotel in the center of everything. Has a nice interior pool and they serve free continental breakfast in the morning. Staff is very friendly from the time I arrive to the time I leave you left. I I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody.

Good location close to Beach. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was the same thing every day, so that got a little bit old. There was construction going on behind the hotel so there was a lot of noise which made it hard to really relax at the pool or during breakfast. Internet connection was very spotty and went out frequently. Rooms are clean but nothing to write home about. No dressers so I lived out of my suitcase.

Great place. Friendly staff. Perfect location. Only complaint is that the beds are too firm. Otherwise I loved it. Will definitely be back!

Staff was nice and bed was comfortable but the hotel condition was horrible. Many things in disrepair: broken shutters on window, sloppily painted walls, etc. I had two friends in town that found much nicer places for the same price just blocks away.

Arrived on a Wednesday. Bernardo checked me in and made the process quick and easy. The room was spacious with a king-size bed, a little bench, a comfy chair, and a table with two chairs. It also had a microwave, sink, and mini fridge. They didn't have my key for the safe ready so I coul not use that for most of my stay. The bathroom wasn't glamorous but it was spacious and did its job. The continental breakfast was just toast, fruit, juice, and coffee from 9am-11am. The only negative thing I can really think of about my stay was the noise at night. It's pretty close to Blondies, a nearby bar. My room was facing the main street and there was a lot of music, people talking, and car sounds at night. I turned on the fan in my room to help drown out the noise. Betsy helped check me out. Very nice lady. They always had clean towels daily for the beach. Housekeeping came in daily to clean and make the bed. I usually tipped 50-100 pesos daily (at the time of my stay, one US dollar was 20-21 pesos).

Came here for a holiday getaway and loved the area. The beach was a block away and the hotel was very central to a lot of restaurants. The hotel itself was fine. My complaint is that their water heater stopped working during my second day there so we had to take cold showers, which isn't very pleasant for my gf. I went to the front desk to let them know and they kept telling me it'll be two hours before it gets fixed. Three days went by and there was still no warm water. Very disappointed.

After walking by this hotel on several trips, I decided to finally give the property a try! I'm so glad I did! Tucked just two streets up from Los Muertos Beach, Villa Mercedes is a gem. An updated design, hints at Mexican inspired interiors with a hip reference to mid-century. The pool area is lush, pool very clean and staff are fantastic! They offer a lite breakfast, which is ideal based on all the food available off-property. Fresh fruit, coffee, granola and juice, served poolside. I give this quaint, boutique inspired hotel 5 stars! Staff is always SMILING and helpful! Also, I recommend their laundry service, just around the corner, for 185.00 pesos, they'll wash and deliver back to hotel same day! Great while traveling for extended stays. Room safe is small, so laptops will not fit, I felt fine leaving it out, but just a heads up! I'll be back in November!

Great small hotel in the heart of the Romantic Zone. For those that have been to PV before you know what 4 stars mean for those who have not you must know the Romantic Zone is the old original section of town. It has an actual cultural feel to it unlike the hotel zone which is the typical tourist thing of mega resorts with everything revolving around visitors. There are no big name hotels nor mega resorts in the old section so a 3 or 4 star there is not the same as a 3 or 4 star in the states nor the Hotel Zone. Everything is older but with that comes more charm. If you want a comparison to the states then ideally subtract one star from what you see. For what you pay the rooms are large have a bathtub which can be rare for a Mexican hotel. For those that go to bed early there is a nightclub across the street so maybe not the best for people who like to call it an early night. The other thing about old town is there always seems to be construction, it would never keep me away but i wouldn't want it to be a total surprise either on my first trip so only fyi.

Amapas 175, Zona Romantica Puerto Vallarta JAL

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Playa de los Muertos
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Romantic Zone, Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel is adjacent to Playa de los Muertos and within a mile (2 km) of other popular sights like Malecon. This 17-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

Enjoy dining at the hotel's 2 onsite restaurants: Eclecticos offers relaxing pool views; 116 Pulpito specializes in fusion cuisine. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge. Start each morning with continental breakfast, available for a fee from 8:00 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in pillow menus and down comforters, and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a minibar, a coffee maker, and a ceiling fan.


Property features

Guests staying at Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel enjoy an outdoor pool, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas. Airport transportation is made easy with a shuttle from the airport to the hotel (available 24 hours) for MXN 750 per vehicle one-way. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide concierge services. Other amenities at this adults-only hotel include wedding services and a picnic area.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Villa Mercedes Petit Hotel

Everyone (17) Couples (10) Family (1) Friends (3) Other (5)
4
Partner Couples

The hotel is situated in the heart of Zona Romantica, it’s a perfect location for all the fine restaurants, bars and beach in the area. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and your four legged family member is welcome as well. Would definitely stay at this hotel again! The only downside is the pool; more attention wouldn’t hurt.

By , from Ensenada on Aug 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2019

Thanks for staying with us, we really appreciate your feedback!

4
Everyone

By on Jun 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments.

4
Friends

Location is very good, one block from beach and in Zona ROmantica. The breakfast is as described, a continental breakfast. Rooftop terrace is nice and relaxing. Rooms are fairly basic. But overall good value for money.

By on May 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your comments!

1
Partner Couples

Terrible experience and waiting to hear back from orbitz customer service about a full refund. We arrived at 4 pm and were told out room was unavailable because of a leak (also non functioning AC). We were moved to another property 2 miles away that unfortunately was not adequate and not in the same hotel class. Very basic and with 2 double beds instead of a king, basic shower. Also the walk in price was $110/night and we had paid $160 for this property. We left and made a new reservation. Waiting to be contacted about a refund. Not anyone’s fault but we should have been offered a cancellation from the beginning. Felt like we were getting suckered and I know they have seen enough tourists to know which hotels are comparable.

By on Feb 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2019

Thank you for your feedback and we are really sorry that your experience was not a pleasant one. We were in direct communication with the other property to make sure you got a comparable room. But if they gave you a room with two double beds then that was not what we arranged for you. We were told it was a suite with an ocean view. I am truly very sorry for the inconvenience. And I agree with you that we should have reached out about a cancelation in the first place. That particular weekend most of the hotels in town were booked, which is no excuse but finding a room for relocating your reservation was a challenge. At this point what I think we could offer you is a two night credit with the hotel, directly (Petit Mercedes) if you were to book again on a future trip. You can contact us and redeem that. As for any reimbursement through Orbitz at this point is not possible. But consider the offer and again my most sincere apologies. Should you want to discuss this further by all means you can contact us at our email or telephone number directly. Thank you and best regards, Oscar Moran (Proprietor/General Manager)

1
Everyone

By on Feb 25, 2019

5
Everyone

We actually missed our reserved night at Petit Mercedes because of a canceled flight, but they welcomed us warmly the next morning, fed us breakfast and gave us our room until late check out time.

By on Feb 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2019

Thanks for staying with us, we really appreciate your feedback!

4
Everyone

Amazing location! I enjoy that it's adults-only, but the location is what makes it best.

By on Feb 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2019

Thanks for stay with us, we really appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

Great staff good location near the beach and Restaurants. A great value, the room size good

By on Jan 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

5
Everyone

Quiet, no kids, well maintain and in an ideal location.

By on Jun 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback!

4

cute, great location

Everyone

A block from the beach. Near amazing restaurants. Everything in Old Town is walkable. Cute, but no frills. Doesn't feel overly touristy. Yes, it's loud at night, but that's because it's near everything. I'll definitely be back.

By , from San Francisco CA on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2018

Dear Rachel Thank you for your comment we hope to see you again soon!

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Vallarta-Hotels-Villa-Mercedes-Petit-Hotel.h3124967-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.