Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

excellent service. Go for the all inclusive is fantastic and well worth the additional expense.

We arrived on a Sunday and unfortunately for us the check in took about 30 minutes in line and there were only 2 families ahead of us. I reserved a king size bed a ended up a with a double suite. Other than that it was pleasant stay.

We arrived on a Monday and were given a room with two double beds with a view of the front street. We expected a king bed with a garden or partial ocean view. The hotel was able to change our room the next day but this was an inconvenience that could have been avoided. The second room was great though, so we are glad we made the effort to move. The hotel restaurants were very good. We tended to go out to other restaurants but soon realized that the hotel restaurants were better than the ones we ate at. If we return, we would plan to eat at the hotel for all of our breakfasts and dinners. I am concerned about the billing. We had a charge on our room of $5018.96 pesos when we left which is about $255.00 American. We have been home for 5 days and there is still an additional charge of about $257. on my card. It says it is pending and I am not sure why I have been charged two times. I would like you to contact me to explain this.

Our biggest complaint is you had to pay at the restaurants either by card or charge to your room. We like to pay with pesos it's easy to keep track of our spending. Some may find it convenient. We did not like the policy at all. We left the resort to eat on most occasions. We probably would have spent more money there if we could have paid in the manner we wanted. Also no ATM on site just a lousy exchange rate window. The rooms were clean. The resort was beautiful. High pressure for condo tour as well.

5th time that we've stayed here & go back because it's close to everything. Friendly staff, clean room and you become friends with others who stay at the same time every year. NO free WiFi, but if you purchase something from the deli, just ask 4 the password of the day. They're cracking down on those people who go down in early am to put their towels on chaises by poolside and then go back to their rooms.Finally.

Very clean resort, friendly staff, excellent food, would highly recommend! We will definitely be going back to this resort! It's a good price too!

I stayed here for ten days and it was a good experience. There was one incident I did not like when someone came to visit me, and they limited me to sitting in the lobby,. I wanted to show this person around and they told me I couldn't. I thought that was strange. Other than that, the cleanliness was very good, and that is important in Mexico. Another time I ordered hot soup and it was not very hot. You can only use the hot tub until 10 P.M.

The resort is very comfortable and next to la isla mall. It is also close to pick up for day tours zip line, rhythms of night etc. Another mall Galerias and cineplex is 10 mins cab ride from here. Location is very central and has its own grocery market. It is only 15 mins ride from airport on one side and downtown on another. Resort has its private beach fully equipped with launcher chairs, umbrella and towels and provides all inclusive service. It has two swimming pools and three multi-cuisine restaurants. The staff was friendly and bell boys helpful getting cab and keeping luggage. The tour desk was good and gave 20% discount on all available tours. Overall, very satisfied and would come back.

When book they said it was ocean view didn't get what I wanted also the staff didn't bother asking if we wanted drink because we where white

Well maintained older hotel with kitchenette on great beach. I have stayed here @5 times and keep coming back for the beach location & closeness to town. The facility is very clean and the activities offered are fun. Alfonso was especially friendly and inspiring. Myra and Cristian were great water aerobics instructors! Make sure to have the room you paid for literally written on itinerary. When you arrive bypass the time share folks and go directly to counter for check in.

I love this hotel. My family and I have been coming to this hotel for the las 6 years.

It's was a great stay at this hotel and resort. It shows it age, but it's has a romantic vibe. Over all, you get what you pay for, but you get good service!

We had a great time staying at this hotel. It is close enough to downtown and right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and though we got the invitation to go to their time-share presentation, we declined politely and they did not mention it again during our stay. Their nightly shows were good. Specially their Mexican Night with a really talented mariachi. I got the opportunity to be on stage with the cast and have fun. Feel like going to Malecon? Walk to the bus stop right outside the hotel and pay only $7 pesos for an enjoyable 15 minute ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The beach was great to play with the kids as well as their pool. Food at their restaurant was very good too and they allowed us to take some food our kid didn't finish to our room. Rooms are very clean and you have a full kitchenette to prepare quick breakfast or late meals. Do yourself a favor and walk to the supermarket down the street and get some milk, cereal, juice and fruit for a quick grab when you get up. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will plan to be back soon.

Our first time in Puerto Vallarta was a very nice experience we are definitely coming back. Pros - Fast check in, very nice staff , rooms are very nice ,excellent food at the restaurant hotel , big pools , beach just next to your room, we order room service ,portions are big , food came fast . Cons- While checking, front desk agent was on the phone while we were checking in, not very professional, NO WIFI , if you order a Margarita , they already have it made in a 5 gallon . Make sure you ask for NUBIA when you get there , she would not rob your money like other agents , she was very nice , very staright , she gave us food discounts , activities discounts , she made our trip much easier.

We have stayed here before and loved it. This time however there had been a hotel manager change and many employees walked off their jobs. This left them staff short and long periods of wait for service such as a 2 hour wait for check in, 30 minute wait for food and beverage, our room was not cleaned one day because a maid walked off the job in the middle of her shift. The Villa group needs to get their act together. These types of problems follow their company. Villa Del Palmar is a quaint place with an excellent location. They just need to pay attention to their customers.

Our Stay at this Hotel was nice , comfortable , location , staff was great , one thing did not agree on was on high pressure sales, yes sales. Before check in we were invited and given lots of incentives for our time to hear a sales pitch that we were told would be a 90 minute presentation turnes out to be a half a day of marketing pitch to buy a membership. We received discounts , a free breakfast & a free massage, perhaps if we were aware of all this we wouldn't have waisted the time , yes all the incentives were nice & appreciated them but we did leave our son out of the loop for the day, he had to deal with & our time, we felt more guilty in accepting our incentives, of course we did not buy the membership, its was interesting but not for us. We came on Vacation on limited time & not to buy membership. Another set buy NO INTERNET we had to buy the service, we didn't of course , why should we everywhere else its free.

We've stayed at villa del Palmar on 4 separate occasions and we like going back every time. Service is great, rooms are clean with beautiful views. We also like the location as you can easily get to the Malecon but also the Marina in the opposite direction. We often shop at Soriana across the street (yummy pastries), but the pizza they are making on site is great, too.

Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa is not the newest hotel (kid) on the block but it has everything that you need. Beach front (go out EARLY to make sure that you get chairs and an umbrella), friendly staff, clean room. We don't spend much time in our room...we prefer to be pool side or beach side. The hotel employees are VERY friendly and are attentive to your needs. We do not buy all inclusive as we love to experience all the different restaurants in town. This hotel is located sort of in the middle of hotel strip which makes it nice when you want to go somewhere.

wonderful time, great value for the money. ideal location. would recommend

Stayed at Villa Del Palmar Beach Resort & spa January 12th-29th, 2015. This was a vacation getaway with three other couples. We're all on the senior side, but active. This resort is ideally located on the beach in the hotel zone about three miles north of the downtown/centro. Its on the bus line so getting downtown is easy. The hotel is still older Mexican style and that is really one of its charms. The rooms go from studio to two bedroom. All of the rooms have kitchenettes with 2 burner range tops, toaster, blender, microwave, place settings for 4, mixing bowls, pots/pans, many misc. utensils, kitchen sink. The room in the tower building face either the pool/ocean or the newly restyled garden/resort entry area. The grounds are unbelievably neat and clean. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. This time here as in the past we were able to switch rooms to a room we felt had a better view or better fit our need/wants. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. The pool and beach service is commendable. The hotels restaurants food and service is very good. This hotels offers the option of All Inclusive or European plan and I believe they also offer a plan that may include a breakfast only. I definitely recommend this resort, it is good for families with kids and older persons. It's not a party hotel so if you want a serene friendly atmosphere this is the place. I think once you try it you'll want to com back.

Blvd Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Puerto Vallarta JAL

Located in Las Glorias within a short walk of La Isla, Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta is within a mile (2 km) of Cruise Ship Terminal. This 395-room, 3.5-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 4 restaurants. On the beach, it's also near Malecon and Bay of Banderas.


Dining

Get your fill of seafood for breakfast, lunch, or dinner at The Market, one of 4 onsite restaurants, or enjoy the garden views at El Patron. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or explore the resort and get a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


The 395 rooms are individually decorated and have an array of amenities, including furnished balconies or patios, microwaves, and refrigerators. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Other amenities include stovetops, coffee makers, and ceiling fans.

Rooms


Guests of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta have access to a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a children's pool. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 240.00 per vehicle one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include a fitness center, 2 spa tubs, and a sauna.

Property features

Room options

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 8

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite All Inclusive

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa

Everyone (12) Couples (79) Business (2) Family (65) Friends (29) Other (14)
5

nice hotel but the check in process is slow

Everyone

excellent service. Go for the all inclusive is fantastic and well worth the additional expense.

By , from North Hollywood on May 11, 2017

4

pleasant vacation

Everyone

We arrived on a Sunday and unfortunately for us the check in took about 30 minutes in line and there were only 2 families ahead of us. I reserved a king size bed a ended up a with a double suite. Other than that it was pleasant stay.

By , from California on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Dear Andi We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

3

additional charges on my visa card

Couples

We arrived on a Monday and were given a room with two double beds with a view of the front street. We expected a king bed with a garden or partial ocean view. The hotel was able to change our room the next day but this was an inconvenience that could have been avoided. The second room was great though, so we are glad we made the effort to move. The hotel restaurants were very good. We tended to go out to other restaurants but soon realized that the hotel restaurants were better than the ones we ate at. If we return, we would plan to eat at the hotel for all of our breakfasts and dinners. I am concerned about the billing. We had a charge on our room of $5018.96 pesos when we left which is about $255.00 American. We have been home for 5 days and there is still an additional charge of about $257. on my card. It says it is pending and I am not sure why I have been charged two times. I would like you to contact me to explain this.

By on Mar 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

2

payment policy

Everyone

Our biggest complaint is you had to pay at the restaurants either by card or charge to your room. We like to pay with pesos it's easy to keep track of our spending. Some may find it convenient. We did not like the policy at all. We left the resort to eat on most occasions. We probably would have spent more money there if we could have paid in the manner we wanted. Also no ATM on site just a lousy exchange rate window. The rooms were clean. The resort was beautiful. High pressure for condo tour as well.

By , from IL on Mar 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Dear James We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

family oriented resort

Everyone

5th time that we've stayed here & go back because it's close to everything. Friendly staff, clean room and you become friends with others who stay at the same time every year. NO free WiFi, but if you purchase something from the deli, just ask 4 the password of the day. They're cracking down on those people who go down in early am to put their towels on chaises by poolside and then go back to their rooms.Finally.

By , from Michigan on Feb 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2017

Dear Family. I would like to use this communication to express the gratitude of Villa del Palmar Vallarta’ staff, for your preference in selecting us as the official site of your visit. Our biggest hopes are that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed our resort and premises, as well as our friendly and warm hospitality. I hope that you don’t forget that in Villa del Palmar Vallarta you will find a great resort and that our reciprocal customers will take with them the best of the impressions, because this is our first priority. We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - rdm Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

5

great hotel!

Everyone

Very clean resort, friendly staff, excellent food, would highly recommend! We will definitely be going back to this resort! It's a good price too!

By , from Iowa on Jan 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2017

Dear Pat Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

very classy hotel, great pools, great beach access

Everyone

I stayed here for ten days and it was a good experience. There was one incident I did not like when someone came to visit me, and they limited me to sitting in the lobby,. I wanted to show this person around and they told me I couldn't. I thought that was strange. Other than that, the cleanliness was very good, and that is important in Mexico. Another time I ordered hot soup and it was not very hot. You can only use the hot tub until 10 P.M.

By , from Santa Cruz, Ca. on Jan 4, 2017

4

nice resort close to downtown with private beach.

Everyone

The resort is very comfortable and next to la isla mall. It is also close to pick up for day tours zip line, rhythms of night etc. Another mall Galerias and cineplex is 10 mins cab ride from here. Location is very central and has its own grocery market. It is only 15 mins ride from airport on one side and downtown on another. Resort has its private beach fully equipped with launcher chairs, umbrella and towels and provides all inclusive service. It has two swimming pools and three multi-cuisine restaurants. The staff was friendly and bell boys helpful getting cab and keeping luggage. The tour desk was good and gave 20% discount on all available tours. Overall, very satisfied and would come back.

By , from San Jose on Jan 3, 2017

2
Everyone

When book they said it was ocean view didn't get what I wanted also the staff didn't bother asking if we wanted drink because we where white

By on Dec 22, 2016

4

well maintained older hotel near beach

Everyone

Well maintained older hotel with kitchenette on great beach. I have stayed here @5 times and keep coming back for the beach location & closeness to town. The facility is very clean and the activities offered are fun. Alfonso was especially friendly and inspiring. Myra and Cristian were great water aerobics instructors! Make sure to have the room you paid for literally written on itinerary. When you arrive bypass the time share folks and go directly to counter for check in.

By on Dec 22, 2016