Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Yes, you get the time share pressure. Definitely an older clientele, most of whom seemed to be time share owners. Beach was ok. A fair amount of vendors hawking their stuff to you constantly at the beach. Getting any kind of a chair at the beach or pool was a hassle unless you wanted to get up very early. Very clean rooms and premise. Staff was very nice and helpful. Small market on site was nice to have. It’s Mexico.

Nice birthday get away Made everything memorable

Staff treat us great - room service excellent we definitely go back

Stayed there for 7 days and four of those days they didn’t clean my room. And when they did it was late in the evening.

It was pleasing, but nothing great. We will stay there again. Staff is good. We spent most of our time on the beach and enjoyed happy-hour

Everyone made you feel at home. Very nice people great hotel and staff would definitely stay again

Would use again....great access to the beach and close enough to downtown

excellent service. Go for the all inclusive is fantastic and well worth the additional expense.

We arrived on a Sunday and unfortunately for us the check in took about 30 minutes in line and there were only 2 families ahead of us. I reserved a king size bed a ended up a with a double suite. Other than that it was pleasant stay.

We arrived on a Monday and were given a room with two double beds with a view of the front street. We expected a king bed with a garden or partial ocean view. The hotel was able to change our room the next day but this was an inconvenience that could have been avoided. The second room was great though, so we are glad we made the effort to move. The hotel restaurants were very good. We tended to go out to other restaurants but soon realized that the hotel restaurants were better than the ones we ate at. If we return, we would plan to eat at the hotel for all of our breakfasts and dinners. I am concerned about the billing. We had a charge on our room of $5018.96 pesos when we left which is about $255.00 American. We have been home for 5 days and there is still an additional charge of about $257. on my card. It says it is pending and I am not sure why I have been charged two times. I would like you to contact me to explain this.

Our biggest complaint is you had to pay at the restaurants either by card or charge to your room. We like to pay with pesos it's easy to keep track of our spending. Some may find it convenient. We did not like the policy at all. We left the resort to eat on most occasions. We probably would have spent more money there if we could have paid in the manner we wanted. Also no ATM on site just a lousy exchange rate window. The rooms were clean. The resort was beautiful. High pressure for condo tour as well.

5th time that we've stayed here & go back because it's close to everything. Friendly staff, clean room and you become friends with others who stay at the same time every year. NO free WiFi, but if you purchase something from the deli, just ask 4 the password of the day. They're cracking down on those people who go down in early am to put their towels on chaises by poolside and then go back to their rooms.Finally.

Very clean resort, friendly staff, excellent food, would highly recommend! We will definitely be going back to this resort! It's a good price too!

I stayed here for ten days and it was a good experience. There was one incident I did not like when someone came to visit me, and they limited me to sitting in the lobby,. I wanted to show this person around and they told me I couldn't. I thought that was strange. Other than that, the cleanliness was very good, and that is important in Mexico. Another time I ordered hot soup and it was not very hot. You can only use the hot tub until 10 P.M.

The resort is very comfortable and next to la isla mall. It is also close to pick up for day tours zip line, rhythms of night etc. Another mall Galerias and cineplex is 10 mins cab ride from here. Location is very central and has its own grocery market. It is only 15 mins ride from airport on one side and downtown on another. Resort has its private beach fully equipped with launcher chairs, umbrella and towels and provides all inclusive service. It has two swimming pools and three multi-cuisine restaurants. The staff was friendly and bell boys helpful getting cab and keeping luggage. The tour desk was good and gave 20% discount on all available tours. Overall, very satisfied and would come back.

When book they said it was ocean view didn't get what I wanted also the staff didn't bother asking if we wanted drink because we where white

Well maintained older hotel with kitchenette on great beach. I have stayed here @5 times and keep coming back for the beach location & closeness to town. The facility is very clean and the activities offered are fun. Alfonso was especially friendly and inspiring. Myra and Cristian were great water aerobics instructors! Make sure to have the room you paid for literally written on itinerary. When you arrive bypass the time share folks and go directly to counter for check in.

I love this hotel. My family and I have been coming to this hotel for the las 6 years.

It's was a great stay at this hotel and resort. It shows it age, but it's has a romantic vibe. Over all, you get what you pay for, but you get good service!

We had a great time staying at this hotel. It is close enough to downtown and right on the beach. The staff was very friendly and though we got the invitation to go to their time-share presentation, we declined politely and they did not mention it again during our stay. Their nightly shows were good. Specially their Mexican Night with a really talented mariachi. I got the opportunity to be on stage with the cast and have fun. Feel like going to Malecon? Walk to the bus stop right outside the hotel and pay only $7 pesos for an enjoyable 15 minute ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta. The beach was great to play with the kids as well as their pool. Food at their restaurant was very good too and they allowed us to take some food our kid didn't finish to our room. Rooms are very clean and you have a full kitchenette to prepare quick breakfast or late meals. Do yourself a favor and walk to the supermarket down the street and get some milk, cereal, juice and fruit for a quick grab when you get up. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will plan to be back soon.

Blvd Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5 Puerto Vallarta JAL

Hotel highlights

  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • 2 outdoor pools

Located in Las Glorias within a short walk of La Isla, Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta is within a mile (2 km) of Cruise Ship Terminal. This 395-room, 3.5-star resort has 2 outdoor pools along with a full-service spa and 4 restaurants. On the beach, it's also near Malecon and Bay of Banderas.


Dining

Get your fill of seafood for breakfast, lunch, or dinner at The Market, one of 4 onsite restaurants, or enjoy the garden views at El Patron. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or explore the resort and get a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 395 rooms are individually decorated and have an array of amenities, including furnished balconies or patios, microwaves, and refrigerators. 32-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Other amenities include stovetops, coffee makers, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Guests of Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta have access to a full-service spa, 2 outdoor pools, and a children's pool. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 240.00 per vehicle one way. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include a fitness center, 2 spa tubs, and a sauna.

Room options

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

King 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 8

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite All Inclusive

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Villa del Palmar Beach Resort and Spa

Everyone (18) Couples (79) Business (2) Family (65) Friends (29) Other (14)
4
Everyone

Nice birthday get away Made everything memorable

By on Jan 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2018

thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference.

4

location

Everyone

Staff treat us great - room service excellent we definitely go back

By , from Iowa on Jan 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 15, 2018

Hola Lamar, thank you for your review, we really apreciate your preference.

3
Everyone

Stayed there for 7 days and four of those days they didn’t clean my room. And when they did it was late in the evening.

By on Dec 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2017

Please receive an apology for all inconvenience. We really appreciate your feedback.

4
Everyone

It was pleasing, but nothing great. We will stay there again. Staff is good. We spent most of our time on the beach and enjoyed happy-hour

By , from Las Vegas NV on Oct 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 30, 2017

Hola Harry, thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference.

5

all employees were delightful very courteous

Everyone

Everyone made you feel at home. Very nice people great hotel and staff would definitely stay again

By on Aug 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2017

muchas gracias.

4
Everyone

Would use again....great access to the beach and close enough to downtown

By on Jul 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2017

Thank you for your comment and preference.

5

nice hotel but the check in process is slow

Everyone

excellent service. Go for the all inclusive is fantastic and well worth the additional expense.

By , from North Hollywood on May 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2017

Hola Richard, thank you for your visit and comments, we are working in some improvements for our check in process, we area sure you will see a diferencie in your next visit, we really appreciate your preference.

4

pleasant vacation

Everyone

We arrived on a Sunday and unfortunately for us the check in took about 30 minutes in line and there were only 2 families ahead of us. I reserved a king size bed a ended up a with a double suite. Other than that it was pleasant stay.

By , from California on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Dear Andi We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

3

additional charges on my visa card

Couples

We arrived on a Monday and were given a room with two double beds with a view of the front street. We expected a king bed with a garden or partial ocean view. The hotel was able to change our room the next day but this was an inconvenience that could have been avoided. The second room was great though, so we are glad we made the effort to move. The hotel restaurants were very good. We tended to go out to other restaurants but soon realized that the hotel restaurants were better than the ones we ate at. If we return, we would plan to eat at the hotel for all of our breakfasts and dinners. I am concerned about the billing. We had a charge on our room of $5018.96 pesos when we left which is about $255.00 American. We have been home for 5 days and there is still an additional charge of about $257. on my card. It says it is pending and I am not sure why I have been charged two times. I would like you to contact me to explain this.

By on Mar 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

2

payment policy

Everyone

Our biggest complaint is you had to pay at the restaurants either by card or charge to your room. We like to pay with pesos it's easy to keep track of our spending. Some may find it convenient. We did not like the policy at all. We left the resort to eat on most occasions. We probably would have spent more money there if we could have paid in the manner we wanted. Also no ATM on site just a lousy exchange rate window. The rooms were clean. The resort was beautiful. High pressure for condo tour as well.

By , from IL on Mar 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Dear James We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta