Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

the hotel was ok however it was too much noise for equipment on the area where we were

We booked this hotel specifically because it was close to the airport. After a long day, we arrived at the hotel for our one night stay just to be told that they did not have a room available for us. They said that they were going to pay for a taxi (which we didn't need since we had a rental car) to take us to another hotel that was 30 minutes away in Nuevo Vallarta. This was absolutely not acceptable to us. We were not here for a vacation and simply wanted to rest before our flight early the next day. The people at the front desk laughed at us and our predicament and refused to offer any way to resolve our problem. We ended up going to the Holiday Inn Express nearby.

We have chosen this resort several times because it has several features we enjoy. The swimming pools and hot tubs are good. We enjoy the beach access and beach volleyball and activities. The Bocce Ball is fun, but should be leveled better. Rooms have a partial kitchen that we enjoy. The beds are comfortable. Good romantic getaway.

I would not stay in the same room. To much noise. But it was great.

staff all friendly and helpful. Not a word about time shares. The Villa del mar is the quiet side of this resort. Nice to have busy side right there too. Kinda missed wifi as I felt $10/day was kinda high. $3-4 cab ride to everything. Airport a bit more. Didn't get the first floor room we had requested. We got by.

1. 2 hours to get checked in between problems with them not having the whole reservation. Then get sales pitched like I'm at a time share. 2. The room, villa del Mar must mean the old building or the Villa Del Pal Mar group 3. All inclusive and get charged for internet in 2016. 4. The tub is tiled which has a certain ick factor in the grout lines. 5. The food is really good.

The hotel is a three star and the rating is justified. Good location and friendly staff. Caters to mass travel and membership clients. Good for budget travelers.

Good facility with kitchenettes. Activities and beach. Safe feeling. Some rooms are noisy if near road terrible. Change rooms if you get one.

They were still renovating the hotel. But we have been there before and we know that usely everything is clean and staff are nice. If you want an hotel to have good Time and the Liberty to cook your own food, it's a good chiite for you.

My girlfriend and I went on a vacation with 2 other couples and had a great time! For our budget we got exactly what we wanted. If you are going for more upscale and fancy then this is not necessarily the best place for that, but if you are going for a nice place that has a great staff and you are somewhat budget conscious then this is a great place! We did the all inclusive deal and the food was great! Overall, I would definitely go back and do it all over again!

It was average. We've been to Puerto Vallarta 4 times before, and compared to other resorts this was just okay. It did not mention in the package deal that they would basically force you to attend a sales presentation for "90 minutes" that took 6 hours despite emphatic refusal to purchase.

Our stay in this hotel was wonderful. The hotel itself is located within its sister hotel, which is the more expensive resort. The difference is that this hotel does not provide you an ocean vies as opposed to its sister hotel. However the absolute great thing is that you have access to all the luxuries of both hotels which means you are literally in a beach front and get to enjoy all the perks that come with it. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the great food that the restaurants in the hotel had (Absolutely delicious Salsa for those of you who enjoy a spicy meal). we also really emjoyed the entertainment ath ther resort offered, every night there was a different show with a different theme for guests to enjoy. We were able to walk other ocean fronts in other hotels and I have to say that this hotel is located in one of the best locations as far as enjoying the beache. Other hotles unfortunately have very rocky beaches and cannot enjoy the full quality of the sand and water. This hotel is perfect in that regard. The rooms are top notch and very clean. We also enjoyed using its gym that has good equipment to give you a great full body workout for the duration of your trip. The staff there was also very good and catered to all of our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel for the experince and the value of the hotel itself.

Blvd Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5-A Puerto Vallarta JAL

Hotel highlights

  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Las Glorias within a short walk of La Isla, Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta is within a mile (2 km) of Cruise Ship Terminal. This 116-room, 3.5-star resort has 4 restaurants along with conveniences like a full-service spa and an outdoor pool. On the waterfront, it's also near Malecon and Bay of Banderas.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 4 onsite restaurants, including El Patron, which specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves lunch and dinner, and La Trattoria with pleasing pool views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta's 116 individually decorated rooms provide furnished balconies or patios, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include stovetops, coffee makers, and ceiling fans.


Property features

Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta features a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 240 per vehicle one way. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach resort include 2 spa tubs, a sauna, and an outdoor tennis court.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Full 1 | Sleeps 8

Guest reviews for Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Everyone (6) Couples (5) Friends (1)
4
Everyone

the hotel was ok however it was too much noise for equipment on the area where we were

By on Jun 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2017

Thank you for your comments and preference.

1

absolutely terrible experience

Everyone

We booked this hotel specifically because it was close to the airport. After a long day, we arrived at the hotel for our one night stay just to be told that they did not have a room available for us. They said that they were going to pay for a taxi (which we didn't need since we had a rental car) to take us to another hotel that was 30 minutes away in Nuevo Vallarta. This was absolutely not acceptable to us. We were not here for a vacation and simply wanted to rest before our flight early the next day. The people at the front desk laughed at us and our predicament and refused to offer any way to resolve our problem. We ended up going to the Holiday Inn Express nearby.

By on Feb 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

we keep coming back

Everyone

We have chosen this resort several times because it has several features we enjoy. The swimming pools and hot tubs are good. We enjoy the beach access and beach volleyball and activities. The Bocce Ball is fun, but should be leveled better. Rooms have a partial kitchen that we enjoy. The beds are comfortable. Good romantic getaway.

By , from Oregon on Jan 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Dear Bev Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

it was a little noisey, i would say there again

Everyone

I would not stay in the same room. To much noise. But it was great.

By on Jan 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Dear Guest Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your feedback! We thank you again, and we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

laid back week on the laid back side of resort

Everyone

staff all friendly and helpful. Not a word about time shares. The Villa del mar is the quiet side of this resort. Nice to have busy side right there too. Kinda missed wifi as I felt $10/day was kinda high. $3-4 cab ride to everything. Airport a bit more. Didn't get the first floor room we had requested. We got by.

By , from Wisc. on Dec 15, 2016

2

one day in will be looking for another place today

Everyone

1. 2 hours to get checked in between problems with them not having the whole reservation. Then get sales pitched like I'm at a time share. 2. The room, villa del Mar must mean the old building or the Villa Del Pal Mar group 3. All inclusive and get charged for internet in 2016. 4. The tub is tiled which has a certain ick factor in the grout lines. 5. The food is really good.

By , from Texas on Feb 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Mar 4, 2016

Thank you Tex for your comment, we ask you to give us the opportunity to improve your vacation experience, please contact us with Claudia at guests service desk. Thank you.

3

day trip

Couples

The hotel is a three star and the rating is justified. Good location and friendly staff. Caters to mass travel and membership clients. Good for budget travelers.

By on Dec 3, 2015

4

senior getaway

Couples

Good facility with kitchenettes. Activities and beach. Safe feeling. Some rooms are noisy if near road terrible. Change rooms if you get one.

By on Jan 23, 2015

4

great hotel!

Couples

They were still renovating the hotel. But we have been there before and we know that usely everything is clean and staff are nice. If you want an hotel to have good Time and the Liberty to cook your own food, it's a good chiite for you.

By on Oct 28, 2014

4

trip with friends

GetawayWithFriends

My girlfriend and I went on a vacation with 2 other couples and had a great time! For our budget we got exactly what we wanted. If you are going for more upscale and fancy then this is not necessarily the best place for that, but if you are going for a nice place that has a great staff and you are somewhat budget conscious then this is a great place! We did the all inclusive deal and the food was great! Overall, I would definitely go back and do it all over again!

By on Apr 11, 2014