Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This property is operated by villa del palmar. The hotel was was nice however when we arrived we got asked to go to a timeshare presentation. After we declined that’s when it all changed. The were rude from there on. We asked if we could buy the all inclusive and they said we had to pay $100 per person per day when on their website it’s advertised for $49 and free for kids. I asked if I could change my reservation to get the price from orbitz and they said that they didn’t have a problem with me changing it but orbits might charge me cancellation fees but that they didn’t since I had booked thru orbitz... I decided to call orbitz and explained the situation they agreed to help but had to check with the hotel to make sure they didn’t have a problem or extra fees. After all this work the hotel told orbits that if I canceled or made any change I would have to pay for the the remaining days. These people are just shady and will try to squeeze every dollar out of you. This was our second time staying here and it will be our last.

Easy access and nice paths for walking. It should have more space reserved for the older on the beach are such chairs and shade. Maybe, they do but I didn’t know. Everything else great!

This property is great, close to everything you want... Mall, restaurants, grocery, stores, etc... you walk out and enjoy the city of Puerto Vallarta.

I liked that this property is close to shopping stores and the bus stop to the Malecon is right in front of the property (only $10 pesos vs the $100+ taxi or uber charges). The maintenance staff were super friendly but the check in staff I found them to be a little rude. They ask for every adult’s ID, so when my mom and sister checked in, they asked mom why her last name was different to hers. Then when I checked in I was asked if my boyfriend was my husband and the father to my baby...WTH? What my family and I didn’t like was that we were asked our room number every single time we entered the resort, kinda annoying. My room in particular didn’t have hot water. The food was not that great and overpriced. Overall, it’s an OK resort to me.

Bed bugs, undisclosed charges for maid service and internet access, per device, and a complete lack of customer concern.

Very nice facility , coming here for almost 20 years . Will return .

Hotel with very small beach attached to it. Room had water leakage from AC unit, but technician fixed it quickly. Mattress and linens were having a musty odor maybe due to humid conditions. But, it was unpleasant to sleep in the night. Food, entertainment and hotel/restaurant staff were very good.

We enjoyed our stay at this location. They had great beach area with three pools. The food was great ,peple were very friendly and it was a few minutes ride to the boardwalk. We did NOT like that they charged us $10 for WiFi for each line per day. Also when we checked in they didn’t informed us that they will add 12.5% gratitude automatically for all the food we ordered so we end up paying tips & 12.5 additional. That was really upsetting for us.

the hotel was ok however it was too much noise for equipment on the area where we were

We booked this hotel specifically because it was close to the airport. After a long day, we arrived at the hotel for our one night stay just to be told that they did not have a room available for us. They said that they were going to pay for a taxi (which we didn't need since we had a rental car) to take us to another hotel that was 30 minutes away in Nuevo Vallarta. This was absolutely not acceptable to us. We were not here for a vacation and simply wanted to rest before our flight early the next day. The people at the front desk laughed at us and our predicament and refused to offer any way to resolve our problem. We ended up going to the Holiday Inn Express nearby.

We have chosen this resort several times because it has several features we enjoy. The swimming pools and hot tubs are good. We enjoy the beach access and beach volleyball and activities. The Bocce Ball is fun, but should be leveled better. Rooms have a partial kitchen that we enjoy. The beds are comfortable. Good romantic getaway.

I would not stay in the same room. To much noise. But it was great.

staff all friendly and helpful. Not a word about time shares. The Villa del mar is the quiet side of this resort. Nice to have busy side right there too. Kinda missed wifi as I felt $10/day was kinda high. $3-4 cab ride to everything. Airport a bit more. Didn't get the first floor room we had requested. We got by.

1. 2 hours to get checked in between problems with them not having the whole reservation. Then get sales pitched like I'm at a time share. 2. The room, villa del Mar must mean the old building or the Villa Del Pal Mar group 3. All inclusive and get charged for internet in 2016. 4. The tub is tiled which has a certain ick factor in the grout lines. 5. The food is really good.

The hotel is a three star and the rating is justified. Good location and friendly staff. Caters to mass travel and membership clients. Good for budget travelers.

Good facility with kitchenettes. Activities and beach. Safe feeling. Some rooms are noisy if near road terrible. Change rooms if you get one.

They were still renovating the hotel. But we have been there before and we know that usely everything is clean and staff are nice. If you want an hotel to have good Time and the Liberty to cook your own food, it's a good chiite for you.

My girlfriend and I went on a vacation with 2 other couples and had a great time! For our budget we got exactly what we wanted. If you are going for more upscale and fancy then this is not necessarily the best place for that, but if you are going for a nice place that has a great staff and you are somewhat budget conscious then this is a great place! We did the all inclusive deal and the food was great! Overall, I would definitely go back and do it all over again!

It was average. We've been to Puerto Vallarta 4 times before, and compared to other resorts this was just okay. It did not mention in the package deal that they would basically force you to attend a sales presentation for "90 minutes" that took 6 hours despite emphatic refusal to purchase.

Our stay in this hotel was wonderful. The hotel itself is located within its sister hotel, which is the more expensive resort. The difference is that this hotel does not provide you an ocean vies as opposed to its sister hotel. However the absolute great thing is that you have access to all the luxuries of both hotels which means you are literally in a beach front and get to enjoy all the perks that come with it. My girlfriend and I really enjoyed the great food that the restaurants in the hotel had (Absolutely delicious Salsa for those of you who enjoy a spicy meal). we also really emjoyed the entertainment ath ther resort offered, every night there was a different show with a different theme for guests to enjoy. We were able to walk other ocean fronts in other hotels and I have to say that this hotel is located in one of the best locations as far as enjoying the beache. Other hotles unfortunately have very rocky beaches and cannot enjoy the full quality of the sand and water. This hotel is perfect in that regard. The rooms are top notch and very clean. We also enjoyed using its gym that has good equipment to give you a great full body workout for the duration of your trip. The staff there was also very good and catered to all of our needs. I would highly recommend this hotel for the experince and the value of the hotel itself.

Blvd Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5-A Puerto Vallarta JAL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Cruise Ship Terminal
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa

Located in Las Glorias within a mile (2 km) of Cruise Ship Terminal, Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Malecon. This 116-room, 3.5-star resort has 4 restaurants along with conveniences like a full-service spa and an outdoor pool.


Dining

There are ample dining options with 4 onsite restaurants, including El Patron, which specializes in Mexican cuisine and serves lunch and dinner, and La Trattoria with pleasing pool views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or entertain your taste buds with a beverage at the bar/lounge or coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 116 individually decorated rooms feature kitchens and furnished balconies or patios. Guests can expect WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, ceiling fans, and safes are also standard.


Property features

Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta features a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a fitness center. There's free parking, and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for MXN 240 per vehicle one way. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa resort include a spa tub, an outdoor tennis court, and WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Junior Family Suite

Full 2 | Sleeps 5

Suite, 2 Bedrooms

Full 1 | Sleeps 6

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Everyone (11) Couples (5) Family (1) Friends (1)
1
Families Family with small children

This property is operated by villa del palmar. The hotel was was nice however when we arrived we got asked to go to a timeshare presentation. After we declined that’s when it all changed. The were rude from there on. We asked if we could buy the all inclusive and they said we had to pay $100 per person per day when on their website it’s advertised for $49 and free for kids. I asked if I could change my reservation to get the price from orbitz and they said that they didn’t have a problem with me changing it but orbits might charge me cancellation fees but that they didn’t since I had booked thru orbitz... I decided to call orbitz and explained the situation they agreed to help but had to check with the hotel to make sure they didn’t have a problem or extra fees. After all this work the hotel told orbits that if I canceled or made any change I would have to pay for the the remaining days. These people are just shady and will try to squeeze every dollar out of you. This was our second time staying here and it will be our last.

By on Jul 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2019

Dear Guest, I appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us. I am very sorry that your recent visit didn´t go as expected. Your feedback is highly important to us. Without hesitation we will take into consideration your comments to improve our service and prevent a recurrence of such an event. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again so that we may serve you with the warmth and hospitality for wich we are recognized. Kind regards, The Management Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4
Everyone

Easy access and nice paths for walking. It should have more space reserved for the older on the beach are such chairs and shade. Maybe, they do but I didn’t know. Everything else great!

By on Jul 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your comments and feedback. Warm regards, Luis Quintero General Manager

4
Friends

This property is great, close to everything you want... Mall, restaurants, grocery, stores, etc... you walk out and enjoy the city of Puerto Vallarta.

By , from Los Angeles, Ca on Jul 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 10, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Luis Quintero GM

3
Family with small children

I liked that this property is close to shopping stores and the bus stop to the Malecon is right in front of the property (only $10 pesos vs the $100+ taxi or uber charges). The maintenance staff were super friendly but the check in staff I found them to be a little rude. They ask for every adult’s ID, so when my mom and sister checked in, they asked mom why her last name was different to hers. Then when I checked in I was asked if my boyfriend was my husband and the father to my baby...WTH? What my family and I didn’t like was that we were asked our room number every single time we entered the resort, kinda annoying. My room in particular didn’t have hot water. The food was not that great and overpriced. Overall, it’s an OK resort to me.

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your comments and feedback; they are very important for us on the way to keep improving. Warm regards, Luis Quintero General Manager,

1
Everyone

Bed bugs, undisclosed charges for maid service and internet access, per device, and a complete lack of customer concern.

By on Jan 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out our Satisfaction Survey. Yours comments, help us continuously to improve our processes and service levels. We understand that the standards and facilities in this hotel weren´t for you full satisfaction. We sincerely apologize for all inconveniences caused during your stay in Puerto Vallarta and hope you can let us make this up. We believe your experience was the exception rather than the rule and please be assured we are taking corrective action to prevent such things from happening in the future. Your letter has gotten into the proper hands. Our staff should put a little more effort to provide a better service, this isn´t an excuse. We assure you that your feedback has been heard, and we are doing everything possible to prevent situations like this from occurring in the future. We promise you that we do not take these matters lightly and we are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to returning again soon at our beautiful hotel. Sincerely, Luis Quintero General Manager

5
Everyone

Very nice facility , coming here for almost 20 years . Will return .

By on Dec 21, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for expressing your great satisfaction with Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta and for sharing the details of your stay with us. I am very glad to learn that our team has contributed greatly to making your stay memorable. We are committed to offering outstanding service. I am thankful for your kind words which I will personally share with the team members. On behalf to our Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta team, we look forward to your next visit! Kind regards, The management Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

3
Everyone

Hotel with very small beach attached to it. Room had water leakage from AC unit, but technician fixed it quickly. Mattress and linens were having a musty odor maybe due to humid conditions. But, it was unpleasant to sleep in the night. Food, entertainment and hotel/restaurant staff were very good.

By on Jul 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2018

Dear Guest, I appreciate the time you took to share your experience with us. I am very sorry that your recent visit didn´t go as expected. Your feedback is highly important to us. Without hesitation we will take into consideration your comments to improve our service and prevent a recurrence of such an event. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again so that we may serve you with the warmth and hospitality for wich we are recognized. Kind regards, The Management Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

4

excellent location with beach & three pool

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay at this location. They had great beach area with three pools. The food was great ,peple were very friendly and it was a few minutes ride to the boardwalk. We did NOT like that they charged us $10 for WiFi for each line per day. Also when we checked in they didn’t informed us that they will add 12.5% gratitude automatically for all the food we ordered so we end up paying tips & 12.5 additional. That was really upsetting for us.

By , from chcago on Dec 29, 2017

4
Everyone

the hotel was ok however it was too much noise for equipment on the area where we were

By on Jun 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2017

Thank you for your comments and preference.

1

absolutely terrible experience

Everyone

We booked this hotel specifically because it was close to the airport. After a long day, we arrived at the hotel for our one night stay just to be told that they did not have a room available for us. They said that they were going to pay for a taxi (which we didn't need since we had a rental car) to take us to another hotel that was 30 minutes away in Nuevo Vallarta. This was absolutely not acceptable to us. We were not here for a vacation and simply wanted to rest before our flight early the next day. The people at the front desk laughed at us and our predicament and refused to offer any way to resolve our problem. We ended up going to the Holiday Inn Express nearby.

By on Feb 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Dear Guest We sincerely apologize that your recent stay was not exactly what you hoped it would be. We want to assure you that we do not take these matters lightly and are doing what we can to make improvements. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our beautiful resort. Sincerely yours, Alejandro Rodríguez - RDM Villa del Palmar Puerto Vallarta

Villa del Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Blvd Francisco Medina Ascencio Km 2.5-A, Puerto Vallarta, JAL 48333
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Puerto-Vallarta-Hotels-Villa-del-Mar-Beach-Resort-&-Spa-Puerto-Vallarta.h5234201-p2.Hotel-Reviews