Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Pretty old hotel. The room was not bad. But it is next to freeway and it was noisy. The hotel is on the river itself, but there are no trails or access to the river. It could've been better.

Wouldn't stay there again!

Nice being on the Columbia River

The rooms were not made up each day. The food was good. The Staff were friendly and helpful. I think there is a lot of potential in this property. They may be suffering capital or staff shortages. I would stay there again.

I don't even know what to say, I've never had a hotel experience liked this. Called ahead TWICE to confirm that a Pack N' Play crib would be available for our use since we were flying in from Chicago with 2 babies. On the phone I was told they had plenty available and would add a note to our reservation about needing it. When we arrived, we again asked the front desk and were told "I don't think we have those anymore." My husband mentioned how we had called and been told they were available, and the front desk agent said he would look into it. Much later someone knocked on our door and dropped one off, of course plenty after our kids bedtime. We also asked the front desk upon arrival to our room if we could switch to a room with a bathtub since we have two babies and showers are really not ideal. We were told "I don't know if we have any, we're phasing out tubs with the renovation." Followed by silence. So I then asked the agent if they could check. He said yes, I will call you back. We never received a call back the entire week we were there. And two friends of ours who had also reserved a room for that weekend informed us they had a tub in their room!! In addition to this blatantly poor customer service and lack of family-friendliness, we also never received ANY housekeeping services the whole week we were there. In the middle of a pandemic nonetheless. Not to mention vending machines were completely empty, and construction going on the whole time we were there.

Fridge in room became very loud in middle of night and woke us up several times. We ordered breakfast in morning with my husband ordering biskits n gravy and he didnt get the gravy. Also, we thought there was suppose to be a continental breakfast that was part of our hotel price.

The Staff are very accomdating. BEDS!!! Comfy!! They are remodeling so don't mind that its a awesome place that we have been to time after time.

The hotel was very clean & workers were very professional & helpful.

Very nice view and very good price for the view we had!!!

Awesome view. Would be so much fun if the pool is open for use. The staff are amazing. The food at the bar were great.

it was close to restaurants and activities and shopping area, close to what we needed as we were in Portland for a medical appointment. Nice and clean and the desk staff was friendly and pleasant.

Great place for price. Nice helpful staff Pretty location

We arrived not knowing, even though I called ahead of time, that the hotel was under new renovations. The pool and hot tub jacuzzi are both closed, due to COVID. The room wasn’t the view we had in mind, especially with me requesting a top floor room in advance. You can hear all other guests as they walk by, not much of sound proofing down on walls or the front door. Basically, a dated room, with dirty vents, but overall not that bad. We ordered to get food, but I had to walk a far distance to the front desk area where the restaurant is TWICE, because they got our order room; did not include all the food I paid for. We’ll still be fine returning to the Red Lion hotel though. :)

Why in the web show the pool and hot tub went isn’t available plus look like is abandoned

It is a beautiful stay right on the water and great walking distance and enjoyed fishing.

My Aunt and I had a great time until we visited the DJ/Dance club in the hotel.... we got roofied in the club (after only having 2 glasses of wine) we made it to our room but key wouldn’t work for the door and had to get assistance (we had to show ID to get in room) the roofie drip hit us at that point we were helped in our room by security at which time we have no memory until 9am when we found our wallets gone and all there contents (money, credit cards, id’s) which we had on us to show security at our door to identify ourselves. Our wallets were turned into the front desk empty and said to have been found in downstairs bathroom. Ladies need to be careful we are both in our 50’s and it happened to us very very disheartening to say the least and scary. Would not recommend Portland or this hotel to anyone.

N Hayden Island Dr Portland OR

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Jantzen Beach Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located 1.1 mi (1.7 km) from Portland Expo Center, Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach is within a 10-minute drive of other popular attractions like Veterans Memorial Coliseum. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 320 rooms and conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

The 320 rooms are recently renovated and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 55-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free long-distance calls, free local calls, and safes.


Property features

At Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach, guests have access to a 24-hour fitness center, a spa tub, and outdoor tennis courts. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free area shuttle. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Roll in Shower)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Premium Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach

Everyone (43) Couples (10) Family (24)
2
Family

Pretty old hotel. The room was not bad. But it is next to freeway and it was noisy. The hotel is on the river itself, but there are no trails or access to the river. It could've been better.

By on Jun 14, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2021

Thank you for the feedback. We recognize the opportunity for improvement and will work to address you concerns.

2
Family with small children

Wouldn't stay there again!

By on Jun 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2021

We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity.

5
Partner Couples

Nice being on the Columbia River

By on May 17, 2021

Review comment responded on May 18, 2021

Thank you for the kinds feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed you stay.

5
Everyone

By on May 3, 2021

Review comment responded on May 13, 2021

Hello, Thank you for your perfect review! We are glad you enjoyed your time here at Red Lion Jantzen Beach and hope to see you return in the near future. Thank you,

3
Family Family

The rooms were not made up each day. The food was good. The Staff were friendly and helpful. I think there is a lot of potential in this property. They may be suffering capital or staff shortages. I would stay there again.

By on Apr 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2021

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are glad you saw the hard work our staff puts in and enjoyed our restaurant. During the time of COVID we have change our cleaning services procedure. We apologize if this was not explained at check in. We hope to see you return in the near future. Thank you,

1
Family Family with small children Family

I don't even know what to say, I've never had a hotel experience liked this. Called ahead TWICE to confirm that a Pack N' Play crib would be available for our use since we were flying in from Chicago with 2 babies. On the phone I was told they had plenty available and would add a note to our reservation about needing it. When we arrived, we again asked the front desk and were told "I don't think we have those anymore." My husband mentioned how we had called and been told they were available, and the front desk agent said he would look into it. Much later someone knocked on our door and dropped one off, of course plenty after our kids bedtime. We also asked the front desk upon arrival to our room if we could switch to a room with a bathtub since we have two babies and showers are really not ideal. We were told "I don't know if we have any, we're phasing out tubs with the renovation." Followed by silence. So I then asked the agent if they could check. He said yes, I will call you back. We never received a call back the entire week we were there. And two friends of ours who had also reserved a room for that weekend informed us they had a tub in their room!! In addition to this blatantly poor customer service and lack of family-friendliness, we also never received ANY housekeeping services the whole week we were there. In the middle of a pandemic nonetheless. Not to mention vending machines were completely empty, and construction going on the whole time we were there.

By on Apr 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 17, 2021

Hello, Thank you for your review. I have reached out to you directly and look forward to you response. Thank you,

4
Family Family

Fridge in room became very loud in middle of night and woke us up several times. We ordered breakfast in morning with my husband ordering biskits n gravy and he didnt get the gravy. Also, we thought there was suppose to be a continental breakfast that was part of our hotel price.

By on Feb 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2021

Hello, Thank you for your review. We have sent your concerns to the correct departments. We hope to see you return in the future. Thank you,

5
Family with small children

The Staff are very accomdating. BEDS!!! Comfy!! They are remodeling so don't mind that its a awesome place that we have been to time after time.

By , from Oregon on Oct 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2020

Hello! Thank you for choosing Red Lion Jantzen Beach! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Thank you,

5
Partner Couples Family

The hotel was very clean & workers were very professional & helpful.

By , from Woodburn on Oct 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2020

Hello! Thank you for choosing Red Lion Jantzen Beach! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again! Thank you,

5
Partner Couples

Very nice view and very good price for the view we had!!!

By , from Tacoma on Oct 13, 2020

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2020

Hello! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again shortly! Thank you,

Red Lion Hotel on the River Jantzen Beach

909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-Red-Lion-Hotel-on-the-River-Jantzen-Beach.h63-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portland-Hotels-Red-Lion-Hotel-on-the-River-Jantzen-Beach.h63-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-Red-Lion-Hotel-on-the-River-Jantzen-Beach.h63-p2.Hotel-Reviews