Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Good customer service nice clean rooms restaurant and bar are great

I stay regularly at the Clarendon when in Phoenix on business. It is very conveniently located, the amenities are nice, and the staff very helpful and friendly. It is a good value for the price. I recommend it highly.

We were in Phoenix visiting our daughter; we were going to stay one night and we found it to be so nice that we decided to stay an extra night!

My room was on the first floor facing the pool. All day long and up to 10:30 at night, incredibly loud music was playing at the pool. Even with my air conditioning running full blast, I could still hear it. I will never stay here, again.

Booked last minute, great price. Only downside, pool was closed for the next 3 days, and housekeeping missed a pair of someone's underwear in the closet. Aside from that, can't wait to go back

The photos provided on he website or very falsely advertised. Way too overly priced for location and for presentation of the hotel. Definitely was not what we were expecting unfortunately. The staff was very nice and helpful. Just need to be more truthful with the photos. Pretty glamorized. Thank you

come see for yourself, unlimited things to do! dine, happy hour, live bad on the roof, good time to relax in the pool.

Food Awesome, staff went out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for the guest.

I recently spent 2 nights at the clarendon hotel. I was not exactly aware what environment or vibe in the area & hotel, just trusted reviews. I was a little culture shocked walking up to the vertically mirrored facade. The smell of lemongrass is a clean, fresh scent that permeates the lobby. I was told the restaurant, Cafe Tranquilo, has been a more recent addition. It was for sure a highlight. Not just because of the excellent food & artfully crafted drinks, but because of a few people who were amazing there to visit with. Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They did not hesitate to help in anyway possible and were very polite. The room was clean. I was disappointed because I did not realize the hotel itself was quite old, consequently the room (particularly the bathroom) was not modern. The bathroom was very small, with a small tub. The room was not well lit, no overhead light, only bed lamps and a lamp close to the door, and on the desk. I personally like a bright room; the room was dimly lit. It was too cold to swim, however, the pool looked very clean and was nicely situated in a center courtyard. The hotel restaurant was excellent. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and attentive.

Nice hotel. Old trying to be young. Not a bad effort I will say that I'm use to the best. I live in las vegas

Nice place. Food is ok, they often have "run out" of certain things on the menu: bread one day, bacon the next. Otherwise great stay. Would stay again.

We checked in for the night, hotel is close to PHX so was a great stay.

The hotel is fun w music playing at pool and rooftop. Staff is helpful but gives the impression that your bothering them when calling or going to the desk. Sofa bed was non existent, its simply a sofa full of stains. Tried pulling the top out and the inside piece was missing. Carpet full of stains and very worn looking. However the location is great and breakfast vouchers made it bearable.

We like the hotel, smart design. The rooms seem a little stark in some places, lighting could be better.

Love the hotel theme and the night time atmosphere.

We got in Saturday afternoon & after driving all morning, we really wanted a nap. It was impossible due to a VERY LOUD pool party at the hotel. Besides that and thin walls, this hotel was nice. Comfortable bed, clean room and nice decor. I would recommend this hotel as long as there's no party going on. It was close to downtown but not in the major downtown area.

This is a great hotel for the value. Staff is awesome and the restaurant is awesome. Also very pet friendly. The pool area is amazing.

Nice hotel. The pool was a bit warm with weird tasting water everytime you even splashed a tiny amount of water on your face. It seemed like it had a lot of chemicals and was salty. Great snacks and friendly staff. breakfast is not free! Orbitz lied about it. However, depending on what you get the prices vary. Beds were super comfy.

Room options

Deluxe Room

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Poolside

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Junior Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Junior Suite, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for The Clarendon Hotel and Spa

Everyone (25) Couples (48) Business (33) Family (18) Other (15) Friends (6)
4

always on my list

Everyone

Good customer service nice clean rooms restaurant and bar are great

By , from cave creek on Nov 1, 2017

5

phoenix trip

Business Travelers

I stay regularly at the Clarendon when in Phoenix on business. It is very conveniently located, the amenities are nice, and the staff very helpful and friendly. It is a good value for the price. I recommend it highly.

By on Oct 7, 2017

4

very nice hotel

Everyone

We were in Phoenix visiting our daughter; we were going to stay one night and we found it to be so nice that we decided to stay an extra night!

By , from Tampa, Fl on Oct 4, 2017

2

incredibly loud music by the pool for hours!

Everyone

My room was on the first floor facing the pool. All day long and up to 10:30 at night, incredibly loud music was playing at the pool. Even with my air conditioning running full blast, I could still hear it. I will never stay here, again.

By , from Las Vegas, NV on Jul 15, 2017

5

great hotel, great midweek price

Everyone

Booked last minute, great price. Only downside, pool was closed for the next 3 days, and housekeeping missed a pair of someone's underwear in the closet. Aside from that, can't wait to go back

By , from ca on Jun 2, 2017

3

it was okay.

Everyone

The photos provided on he website or very falsely advertised. Way too overly priced for location and for presentation of the hotel. Definitely was not what we were expecting unfortunately. The staff was very nice and helpful. Just need to be more truthful with the photos. Pretty glamorized. Thank you

By on May 4, 2017

Review comment responded on May 12, 2017

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to review your recent stay at The Clarendon Hotel & Spa. We're sorry to hear your experience wasn't what you were expecting & we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. Our desire is to always deliver a refreshing experience where every guest feels cared for, valued & respected. Thanks again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

5

gret in town getaway wine dine pool comfortable

Everyone

come see for yourself, unlimited things to do! dine, happy hour, live bad on the roof, good time to relax in the pool.

By , from Wickenburg on Apr 25, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Russ, thank you for the five-star review of our property! We are extremely proud of our staff, and are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of our awesome amenities. We can't wait for your next visit!

5

great getaway

Everyone

Food Awesome, staff went out of their way to ensure everything is perfect for the guest.

By , from Wickenburg on Apr 25, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Russ, thank you for the five-star review! I already responded to your other one, but I will be sure to forward your feedback about the pool to the proper departments. Thank you for taking the time to let us know!

5

a good time all around

Everyone

I recently spent 2 nights at the clarendon hotel. I was not exactly aware what environment or vibe in the area & hotel, just trusted reviews. I was a little culture shocked walking up to the vertically mirrored facade. The smell of lemongrass is a clean, fresh scent that permeates the lobby. I was told the restaurant, Cafe Tranquilo, has been a more recent addition. It was for sure a highlight. Not just because of the excellent food & artfully crafted drinks, but because of a few people who were amazing there to visit with. Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

By , from Kansas City on Feb 9, 2017

3

friendly staff, older hotel

Everyone

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They did not hesitate to help in anyway possible and were very polite. The room was clean. I was disappointed because I did not realize the hotel itself was quite old, consequently the room (particularly the bathroom) was not modern. The bathroom was very small, with a small tub. The room was not well lit, no overhead light, only bed lamps and a lamp close to the door, and on the desk. I personally like a bright room; the room was dimly lit. It was too cold to swim, however, the pool looked very clean and was nicely situated in a center courtyard. The hotel restaurant was excellent. Food was excellent and staff very friendly and attentive.

By on Jan 11, 2017