Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Property is run down and dirty

I was told the policy was no one could be checked in until 4:00pm - this was very upsetting. I told the front desk person at 1:30pm I needed to get into the room she kept insisting "this is our policy" which was infuriating. I got into the room at 3:00pm but I was not happy she was so rigid. I think there should be more energy put into exceptions to the "policy." I can't believe I paid so much with no coffee in the room.

dirty smoky hotel

The first floor was flooded, so all the sheets, linens, and pillowcase were soaking wet. No warning or comment from the front desk. Never go to this Motel 6.

Please see photos. Trash on floor, dog waste on side walks, transients with their possessions in garbage bags camped out in the lobby, so smoky in a non-smoking room it was impossible to fall asleep, you get the idea. Do not stay here!!

Property is in shambles. Fire alarm went off and stayed on all night. Dirty lobby.

This place is absolutely disgusting! The rooms are not locked, all the vacant rooms had the slide locks open to keep the doors open. The bed wasn’t made and you could see where someone was clearly laying on the gross sheets. When we walked in it smelled like someone just took a s*it. The front desk said while we were checking in, that if we don’t like the room we had 15 minutes to come back down and get a refund, we weren’t even in the room longer than 5 minutes, almost 2 months later and we haven’t received it after multiple attempts but they literally don’t answer the phones! If you want bed bugs, lice, drugs or a prostitute then this is your place!! SO GROSS!

When arrived no one at front desk for 25 min, lobby locked, no bell. Door to room wouldn’t open, maintenance guy had to drop kick it twice to get us in our room. Key lock door to parking left open and broken. Literally had a shopping cart someone had used for recycling in ground floor hallway. Main light did not turn on in room. Bathroom towel had disgusting stains. Trash strewn all over hallway, looked like hadn’t been cleaned for months. Previous customers toothpaste spital in the uncleared sink. There are so many things wrong on so many levels with this location, thus shouldn’t be associated with orbits or an option for someone traveling through and unaware of area. If stayed at a lot of dingy hotels for a lot of years, I’ve never complained. This one takes the cake.

Filthy rooms and hallways. Trash everywhere outside. Guests definitely doing a ton of drugs. Staff was extremely rude. 0 stars.

Would not recommend. Property is NOT appealing.

great location, but homeless people roaming around, weed smell in entire hotel and room, no toiletries in room

The worst hotel I've ever stayed at. If you're in the area and this is your only option, sleep outside; you'd be safer. It's a trap house with multiple families living full time in there. We heard the woman next to us tell her kids shes leaving to go find weed so she can 'f***ing stand them" and didnt come back for like 5 hours. We had no toilet paper or trowels in our room, we were told to come get them in the lobby. They also wont refund me when wr left at 11pm because someone kept calling our room and hanging up and we didnt feel safe. One of the little boys that lived there drove a remote control car up and down the hall all night.

Very Stinky smell all the time and stuff never cleaning even if you request.

This property has gone down. Upon arriving we noticed an abandoned car with smashed windows right next to the motel entrance. The bed was very old and creaking. The heat didn’t work in the room. Had to remind housekeeping to make up the room. STAY AWAY!

I requested a smoking room, and I mentioned that when checking in, but there was a no smoking symbol on the door. Confusing. Big spill on the floor that hadn't been cleaned. Two bugs were crawling around. The room didn't appear to have bern cleaned. Gross. Stay away.

It is good location and friendly staff, but the room was not clean.

Was the cheapest thing in the area for 4th of July weekend. Had very low expectations but was still disappointed. Sheets were stained, one look like someone had stepped on it. There were large noticeable strands of hair in the bed and on the tables. Asked front desk to replace the sheets twice, but became clear that it wasn't going to happen. Walmart is close by, so we bought blankets and put them on top to sleep on. Whatever your expectations are, set them lower. We had to be in the area for a event and this was basically it for under $200 a night. The other choices are to stay further away and drive in.

The floor was very damp, not slippery, there was obviously water on the floor in the morning, there was no toiletries on the first day, and it was only the next day. Other is ok

Jt Connell Hwy Newport RI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Within a short walk of Newport Playhouse, Motel 6 Newport, RI is within a mile (2 km) of Naval War College Museum. This 76-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and laundry facilities.


Rooms

TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Free local calls are also available.


Property features

Guests staying at Motel 6 Newport, RI enjoy free WiFi in public areas, laundry facilities, and a vending machine. Free parking is included with your stay. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests.

Room options

Standard Quadruple Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Motel 6 Newport, RI

Everyone (18) Couples (4) Family (9)
2
Partner Couples

Property is run down and dirty

By on Jul 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2022

Hello Matt, I am so sorry to hear about the unusual situation that you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please know that guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we take what you have shared very seriously. Your review has been shared with management so that appropriate measured can be taken.,

4
Everyone

I was told the policy was no one could be checked in until 4:00pm - this was very upsetting. I told the front desk person at 1:30pm I needed to get into the room she kept insisting "this is our policy" which was infuriating. I got into the room at 3:00pm but I was not happy she was so rigid. I think there should be more energy put into exceptions to the "policy." I can't believe I paid so much with no coffee in the room.

By on Jul 25, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2022

Hello Natalie, Thank you for sharing your experience. We truly appreciate the insight regarding our front desk and comments about our room. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

1
Family

dirty smoky hotel

By on Jul 25, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2022

Hello Yuriy, I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such an unusual circumstance and inconvenience during your most recent stay with us. We would like you to know that guest satisfaction is of extreme importance to us and your feedback has been forwarded to management. We truly thank you again for sharing your feedback and for your valuable business.,

1
Everyone

The first floor was flooded, so all the sheets, linens, and pillowcase were soaking wet. No warning or comment from the front desk. Never go to this Motel 6.

By on Jul 13, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2022

Hello Leo, Thank you for taking the time to share. We appreciate your feedback regarding our front desk and your comments about our sheets. We hope to see you again to deliver you with a 5 star experience.

1
Partner Couples

Please see photos. Trash on floor, dog waste on side walks, transients with their possessions in garbage bags camped out in the lobby, so smoky in a non-smoking room it was impossible to fall asleep, you get the idea. Do not stay here!!

By on Jun 7, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2022

Hello Gregg, We appreciate the time you have taken to give your feedback on your recent experience, especially with regards to our room. We appreciate you for sharing your feedback as we continue to improve conveniences of our hotel for all of our guests.

1
Family

Property is in shambles. Fire alarm went off and stayed on all night. Dirty lobby.

By on Sep 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2021

Guest satisfaction is top priority at our hotel; for that reason we truly appreciate your comments regarding our property. Guest comments such as yours help us to continuously improve. Thank you for your business.

1
Everyone

By on Sep 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2021

Thank you for sharing your rating of our Hotel. The biggest compliment we can receive is to earn your business again so please consider us on your next trip.,

1
Partner Couples

This place is absolutely disgusting! The rooms are not locked, all the vacant rooms had the slide locks open to keep the doors open. The bed wasn’t made and you could see where someone was clearly laying on the gross sheets. When we walked in it smelled like someone just took a s*it. The front desk said while we were checking in, that if we don’t like the room we had 15 minutes to come back down and get a refund, we weren’t even in the room longer than 5 minutes, almost 2 months later and we haven’t received it after multiple attempts but they literally don’t answer the phones! If you want bed bugs, lice, drugs or a prostitute then this is your place!! SO GROSS!

By on Aug 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 23, 2021

"We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your recent experience and find this very distressing. Our primary goal is always to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. For that reason we're sincerely sorry to have failed to meet your needs. Please keep us in mind for a future stay, so we may show you how we are continuously working to improve in these areas.", we certainly take this very seriously and have forwarded it to management. We appreciate that you've taken the time to leave advice for our future guests.

1
Partner Couples

When arrived no one at front desk for 25 min, lobby locked, no bell. Door to room wouldn’t open, maintenance guy had to drop kick it twice to get us in our room. Key lock door to parking left open and broken. Literally had a shopping cart someone had used for recycling in ground floor hallway. Main light did not turn on in room. Bathroom towel had disgusting stains. Trash strewn all over hallway, looked like hadn’t been cleaned for months. Previous customers toothpaste spital in the uncleared sink. There are so many things wrong on so many levels with this location, thus shouldn’t be associated with orbits or an option for someone traveling through and unaware of area. If stayed at a lot of dingy hotels for a lot of years, I’ve never complained. This one takes the cake.

By on Jun 30, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2021

Through feedback like yours we are able to address our weaknesses and to improve upon them and we thank you for taking the time to write. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience. We hope that you will change your mind about giving us a second chance and that you will someday return to be impressed by the changes we've made.

1
Family

Filthy rooms and hallways. Trash everywhere outside. Guests definitely doing a ton of drugs. Staff was extremely rude. 0 stars.

By on Jun 4, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2021

It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Through guest feedback like yours, we are better able to address such issues quickly and to thus improve the guest experience for future visitors and for your own future visits.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Newport-Hotels-Motel-6-Newport,-RI.h1046248-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions