Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Pennsylvania

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This hotel needs to be urgently refurbished and upgraded. It’s a shame the place is in such poor and dilapidated condition because it has much history, is in a really unbeatable location, and could have much to offer. It seems the owners think they can get away with offering poor quality and a subpar experience because of location.

Hotel is centrally located, right across from the Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. It is surrounded by an array of shops and restaurants. It has a sixties feel to it and needs a much needed upgrade and overhaul to its facilities.

Dirty, old, heat was blasted, walls thin, looked like from a horror movie.

We were given a different room than the one we paid for. As we walked in we noticed it had not been cleaned. Stained sheets and a musty smell. So we went back down to complain and realized they had a dedicated line for complaints and I was about the 14th person in the back. The staff did nothing but roll their eyes at everyone. As we re-entered the room after it was “cleaned”, I noticed all they did was flip the sheets over. They were the same stained sheets from earlier! Not even new pillow cases. Never again. There are no pleasant surprises here. You really do get what you paid for.

I arrived, it took an hour to get a room, the room had no heat, i called front desk no one ever came to check it. I went to get another room the second room had no heat plus an open window that wouldnt close, the temperature in new york that night was freezing, as result i now have a bad cold. It totally ruined my trip and experience...really dissapointed...and the hotel managers are so overwhelmed with already a line of complaining guests, not worth complaining,,,this hotel is beyond terrible a $20 a night motel by the highway would have been a luxury compared to this garbage.

I booked my room via Orbitz. The day of travel I called the hotel to request late check in (after midnight) and was told by the person I spoke with that this would be noted in my reservation with no problem. Upon arriving at 12:45 a.m., the front desk was understaffed to deal with the long line. It turns out, they had cancelled my reservation AND the reservations of dozens of others, and were ill-equipped to explain the cancellations. When I told them that I had requested late check in, they told me that my credit card had been denied, so they cancelled my reservation. I used the same credit card all day for gas, meals and tickets to NYC sites, without any denials, so that didn't hold water. Finally, I called Orbitz, and the night manager confirmed that I was they made a mistake and would pay to transfer me to another hotel. Orbitz found us a room at the Skylne Hotel in midtown. The Orbitz personnel was AWESOME and Lino at the Skyline was also amazing, I'd recommend Skyline wholeheartedy, but NEVER the Hotel Pennsylvania. Ever.

There were over a hundred people in line at the front desk, trying to get their money back because the rooms were dirty, had mold on the bathrooms and vermin. DO NOT take any reservations for this hotel. It is a DUMP.

Don't go there. Ever. No towels. Bathtub hasn't been cleaned in decades. Dirty room. Terrible bed. Staff is the rudest.

Great location, need a lot of upgrading with rooms, bed, bathroom .....

If you like smelly rooms, a slow check in process and dirty amenities, then stay here. If not, go elsewhere.

The room was shabby and dingy, but mostly clean. Good enough to sleep in.

Old, run downed and dilapidated. Staff was fairly good but room and facility was in poor condition and smelly would not recommend.

Two words - Shabby and grimy. Very disappointed the pictures are edited. The review asks for pictures. I wish I had pictures. The hotel should on Gordon Ramsey reality show “Hotel Hell”

Seen happier faces it's a furneal Could not get any assistance from an staff Saving grace close to station

Musty rumpled carpet. Could not regulate water temperature in the shower. Water went from cold to scalding hot then back to cold. Dangerous. Also room was not ready until 5pm.

Horrible had to check out. However Orbid representative was amazing.

good value hotel. directly across 7th avenue from Penn Station, meaning that if you get a train from JFK or Newark airport, you arrive basically at your hotel room - what could be better? on site 24 hour coffee shop is a big bonus

Bit old but great place to stay, I will stay here again

This place is old and you would think given the location it would be pretty nice. The lobby is very nice and feels like a real hotel as you check in. But once you take the elevators up to your floor things start to drastically change. The walls and doors have paint chipped off and scuffs everywhere which has clearly received no attention in years. The rooms are a disaster. There is literally nothing on the walls, just sort of white old paint job. The only things in the room were a tiny desk table (with a missing drawer) a tiny bedside table and two chairs. The carpet is so old and that brown color with many stains everywhere. The beds had no blankets on them, just sheets and each bed has only two pillows which are the most paper thin pillows I have ever seen. Additionally there was a weird empty room attached to the room that had nothing in it, very odd. Bathroom had a weird smell and you could see a permanent brown stain in the toilet bowl. Embarrassing to even bring any friends back to. Intention was to be close to MSG, however this place is a dump. Very obvious they havnt invested any money into this place in many many years and honestly it was similarly priced as neighboring hotels. Check out the Hilton Garden two blocks away which many friends were staying at for cheaper and its a modernized hotel. Similarly right next door the Stewart was recently renovated and is very nice and similarly priced. Will never stay here again no matter how cheap.

Over priced for the hotel, but I get it old, tourist- location location. The overhead and up keep must be real cheap and for charging what they do that bottom line must be amazing. I ain't gonna lie, I would own that hotel knowing I can charge that and keep it those conditions.. but hey got the real New York experience, surprised I didnt see a ghost. But the roach crawling on me in the middle of the night was a plus

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds (Penn 5000)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Classic Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Classic Room, 1 Double Bed

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Classic Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Everyone (130) Couples (255) Business (170) Family (190) Other (152) Friends (138)
2

the hotel dissapoints

Everyone

This hotel needs to be urgently refurbished and upgraded. It’s a shame the place is in such poor and dilapidated condition because it has much history, is in a really unbeatable location, and could have much to offer. It seems the owners think they can get away with offering poor quality and a subpar experience because of location.

By , from Washington, D.C. on Nov 20, 2017

2

centrally located hotel

Everyone

Hotel is centrally located, right across from the Madison Square Garden and Penn Station. It is surrounded by an array of shops and restaurants. It has a sixties feel to it and needs a much needed upgrade and overhaul to its facilities.

By on Nov 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 21, 2017

Dear Vin, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Pennsylvania. We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our perfect location in the heart of New York City! We hope you had a great time, and look forward to your next visit to Hotel Penn NYC.

2

close to train station

Everyone

Dirty, old, heat was blasted, walls thin, looked like from a horror movie.

By on Nov 13, 2017

1

dirty sheets and awful staff

Everyone

We were given a different room than the one we paid for. As we walked in we noticed it had not been cleaned. Stained sheets and a musty smell. So we went back down to complain and realized they had a dedicated line for complaints and I was about the 14th person in the back. The staff did nothing but roll their eyes at everyone. As we re-entered the room after it was “cleaned”, I noticed all they did was flip the sheets over. They were the same stained sheets from earlier! Not even new pillow cases. Never again. There are no pleasant surprises here. You really do get what you paid for.

By , from ma. on Nov 9, 2017

1

worse hotel ive ever been

Everyone

I arrived, it took an hour to get a room, the room had no heat, i called front desk no one ever came to check it. I went to get another room the second room had no heat plus an open window that wouldnt close, the temperature in new york that night was freezing, as result i now have a bad cold. It totally ruined my trip and experience...really dissapointed...and the hotel managers are so overwhelmed with already a line of complaining guests, not worth complaining,,,this hotel is beyond terrible a $20 a night motel by the highway would have been a luxury compared to this garbage.

By , from CT on Nov 8, 2017

1

bad bad bad

Everyone

I booked my room via Orbitz. The day of travel I called the hotel to request late check in (after midnight) and was told by the person I spoke with that this would be noted in my reservation with no problem. Upon arriving at 12:45 a.m., the front desk was understaffed to deal with the long line. It turns out, they had cancelled my reservation AND the reservations of dozens of others, and were ill-equipped to explain the cancellations. When I told them that I had requested late check in, they told me that my credit card had been denied, so they cancelled my reservation. I used the same credit card all day for gas, meals and tickets to NYC sites, without any denials, so that didn't hold water. Finally, I called Orbitz, and the night manager confirmed that I was they made a mistake and would pay to transfer me to another hotel. Orbitz found us a room at the Skylne Hotel in midtown. The Orbitz personnel was AWESOME and Lino at the Skyline was also amazing, I'd recommend Skyline wholeheartedy, but NEVER the Hotel Pennsylvania. Ever.

By , from Vermont on Oct 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2017

Dear Sara, Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of The Pennsylvania Hotel. These lapses are certainly not indicative of our hotel. We pride ourselves on kind, proactive and reliable service. This issue with not having your reservation at check in time will be addressed with the Manager to ensure that it will never happen again. Again, we welcome your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience! Hotel Pennsylvania

1

thid hotel stinks!!!!

Everyone

There were over a hundred people in line at the front desk, trying to get their money back because the rooms were dirty, had mold on the bathrooms and vermin. DO NOT take any reservations for this hotel. It is a DUMP.

By , from los angeles on Oct 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2017

Dear Peter, Your experience is not in line with the level of service we provide our guests daily. We have reported these concerns with the proper department heads and assure they will deal with promptly. Hotel Pennsylvania

1

hotel pennsylvania

Everyone

Don't go there. Ever. No towels. Bathtub hasn't been cleaned in decades. Dirty room. Terrible bed. Staff is the rudest.

By , from DC on Oct 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2017

Dear CC, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us regarding your previous stay at New York’s Hotel Pennsylvania. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. We are deeply saddened to hear our staff was not accommodating. We strive to make sure each guests has everything they need. We apologize you did not feel this way. Once again we apologize for any inconvenience.

2
Everyone

Great location, need a lot of upgrading with rooms, bed, bathroom .....

By on Oct 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, We are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our prime location in the heart of Manhattan. We are happy to announce the refurbishment of three floors and moving forward with many upgrades. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

1

flipping awful

Everyone

If you like smelly rooms, a slow check in process and dirty amenities, then stay here. If not, go elsewhere.

By on Oct 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 1, 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback with us regarding your previous stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced. Please be advised our housekeeping management team has been notified of your review and are taking the necessary steps to address your concerns. We are happy to announce we have installed self-check in kiosks to speed up the check in process. Once again we apologize for any inconvenience. Warm regards, Hotel Pennsylvania