Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hotel Pennsylvania

2.5 out of 5.0

Hotel Pennsylvania

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Nice big hotel very long front desk line though. Nice job.

This hotel was by far one of the absolute worst places I’ve ever laid my eyes on! We didn’t even stay because it was so disgusting. The hotel lobby was disgusting the rooms probably haven’t been cleaned or updated in probably decades. We complained and they upgraded our room which was a bigger version of the first s****y room we were given. The facility had rodents, the bathroom was horrendous. We were refunded our money, the manager was nice. But, I think it’s an everyday thing so she didn’t really ask many questions she already knew. Wouldn’t even give this room to a homeless person to sleep in it’s that nasty.

Great location directly across the street from Penn Station. Room was really cold and the heater only put out mildly warm air. A very thin blanket on the bed was not sufficient to keep warm through the night. Shower handles were not working properly so the shower water would go back and forth from ice cold to scalding hot. The staff was very helpful and friendly and even upgraded our room from a double to a king size at check in for no additional charge.

We waited in line to check in for an hour and a half. We arrived at the hotel at 11:15 PM to check in and finally checked in at 12:45. The next morning, my wife had to walk down 15 flights of stairs after waiting 30 minutes for an elevator. Either of these issues are unacceptible. Together, they were exponentially unacceptible and constitute grounds for full reimbursement of hotel charges.

It was a horrible experience. It was like a Horror house. Everywhere I went from Checking into Check out, there was a long line and no help from any employee. I have wasted my first day just to checking in. It was an horrible experience.

The hotel looks nice enough on the outside, but it was dirty and run down on the inside. It took over an hour to check in and about an hour to drop by bag off before I checked into the hotel.

We’ve stayed at this hotel a few times, and although it’s nowhere close to being a five star hotel, the location is great and that’s what has kept us coming back. After the experience this trip, we will never stay at this hotel again. To start off with, when we checked in, they didn’t have the room type we booked available. They put us in a different room and that evening while we were preparing to go to bed, we had a mouse run across our floor. We called down about it and they put us in another room. After moving into the new room, we went to use the bathroom sink and the water was brown and full of dirt. We let it run for a couple minutes, no change. We then tried the shower and had the same result...brown dirt water. These issues were brought to the attention of the manager who seemed indifferent to the problems. A robotic apology and no attempt to do anything to compensate or try to make things right. Not to mention, there was a line of about 8 people waiting just to file complaints with the manager. This obviously is nothing new for this hotel.

The best location! Staff was great the room was plenty big but there were no extra blankets and no way to adjust the room temp so I woke up a little chilly. But overall it was nice I would/will definitely go back!

I cannot believe that this Hotel is allowed to function as a Hotel in NYC. I booked three rooms for me and two other staff members and I was embarrassed by the deplorable condition of the Hotel's ceiling falling off as we waited to check in at the Lobby, rooms were dirty and looked abandoned. One of the rooms did not even have a bed cover, it looked like a motel rented by the hour. The worst experience yet. They also made fun of the President of pur association by telling her that she had the surprise room which was the worst of the three. nnacceptable behavior.

The lobby is beautiful but there always seemed to be a long line at check in. The rooms however looked like they haven’t been updated since the 60s or 70s. Room 502 had a hole in the sink and the finish on the tub was so bad we would use it. Finally we were awakened at 9:00 by house keeping reminding us the check out was at 11:00. They didn’t seem very happy we were still there.

Great location. But the room needs repair and cleaning.

Very possibly the worst hotel room I’ve stayed in...ever..the room was not very clean, was supposed to have a no smoking king but when I checked in they gave me a smoking room..when I wouldn’t take that I got a two twin bed room...like the beds 12 year olds sleep in and honestly I’m not sure there was a mattress..it might have been two box springs on top of each other..the hardest bed I have ever been on...it’s an awe full place...don’t go

Excellent location, customer service, and rooms. .

Horrible hotel, not sure how it is even in business. Tiny room, everything in the room is old and shabby, carpet is dirty.

401 7th Ave New York NY

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Macy's
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Located in Midtown, Hotel Pennsylvania is adjacent to Madison Square Garden and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Macy's. This 1705-room hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a fitness center and a 24-hour business center. Centrally located in New York, the hotel is also a short walk from Empire State Building and Times Square.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Statler Grill, the hotel's onsite restaurant. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


Rooms

A TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Hotel Pennsylvania features a fitness center, WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. Valet parking is available for USD 53 per day. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds (Penn 5000)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Classic Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Double Bed (Penn 5000)

Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Classic Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hotel Pennsylvania

Everyone (267) Couples (218) Business (138) Family (148) Other (136) Friends (106)
4
Everyone

Nice big hotel very long front desk line though. Nice job.

By on Jan 6, 2019

1
Everyone

This hotel was by far one of the absolute worst places I’ve ever laid my eyes on! We didn’t even stay because it was so disgusting. The hotel lobby was disgusting the rooms probably haven’t been cleaned or updated in probably decades. We complained and they upgraded our room which was a bigger version of the first s****y room we were given. The facility had rodents, the bathroom was horrendous. We were refunded our money, the manager was nice. But, I think it’s an everyday thing so she didn’t really ask many questions she already knew. Wouldn’t even give this room to a homeless person to sleep in it’s that nasty.

By on Jan 1, 2019

2
Everyone

By on Dec 31, 2018

4
Everyone

Great location directly across the street from Penn Station. Room was really cold and the heater only put out mildly warm air. A very thin blanket on the bed was not sufficient to keep warm through the night. Shower handles were not working properly so the shower water would go back and forth from ice cold to scalding hot. The staff was very helpful and friendly and even upgraded our room from a double to a king size at check in for no additional charge.

By on Dec 30, 2018

1
Everyone

We waited in line to check in for an hour and a half. We arrived at the hotel at 11:15 PM to check in and finally checked in at 12:45. The next morning, my wife had to walk down 15 flights of stairs after waiting 30 minutes for an elevator. Either of these issues are unacceptible. Together, they were exponentially unacceptible and constitute grounds for full reimbursement of hotel charges.

By on Dec 25, 2018

2
Everyone

By on Dec 25, 2018

1
Everyone

It was a horrible experience. It was like a Horror house. Everywhere I went from Checking into Check out, there was a long line and no help from any employee. I have wasted my first day just to checking in. It was an horrible experience.

By on Dec 23, 2018

1
Everyone

The hotel looks nice enough on the outside, but it was dirty and run down on the inside. It took over an hour to check in and about an hour to drop by bag off before I checked into the hotel.

By on Dec 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that your stay was not up to par. We appreciate the feedback and will utilize this to better the experience of our future guests. Thank you for your time and have a great day!

2
Everyone

We’ve stayed at this hotel a few times, and although it’s nowhere close to being a five star hotel, the location is great and that’s what has kept us coming back. After the experience this trip, we will never stay at this hotel again. To start off with, when we checked in, they didn’t have the room type we booked available. They put us in a different room and that evening while we were preparing to go to bed, we had a mouse run across our floor. We called down about it and they put us in another room. After moving into the new room, we went to use the bathroom sink and the water was brown and full of dirt. We let it run for a couple minutes, no change. We then tried the shower and had the same result...brown dirt water. These issues were brought to the attention of the manager who seemed indifferent to the problems. A robotic apology and no attempt to do anything to compensate or try to make things right. Not to mention, there was a line of about 8 people waiting just to file complaints with the manager. This obviously is nothing new for this hotel.

By , from Phoenix on Dec 13, 2018

1
Everyone

By on Dec 13, 2018