Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Days Inn-New Haven

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Very nice soft, but supportive king size bed, would recommend. Clean and quiet.

Hotel was reasonable, easy to access and nice. Could have added more protein choices to breakfast (hard boiled eggs). Ice machine broke down and water heater was not sufficient for a full hotel.

Instead of helping you, he will tell that your wrong. It's an independent business. If you try to call corporate he sees it as a threat and sends confrontational email. DO NOT STAY HERE. STAFF IS BEYOND RUDE!!!!!!

I've stayed at this hotel for probably 10 times over the past six years, visiting family in New Haven. Physically the hotel is the same, as is the ownership. Breakfast has been downgraded, but I think the entire chain did this. The bed this time was superb, as good as any "expensive hotel". The only sour note was a guy pounding on the door across the hall at 4am, demanding the occupant (a woman) open the door. How he got into the hotel is beyond me. If that had not happened I would give the hotel a 4 for overall value.

I had a small birthday party there, across from Walmart which came in handy, walking distance to 10 fast food spots. Staff was friendly, breakfast in the morning. Had fun. Will visit again.

I was charged $30 for checking in at 1pm instead of 3pm. Is this a new trend???

I needed an inexpensive room fast to attend a relative's funeral. I booked this the night before, and I arrived after travelling a really complicated itinerary. Nothing in the room worked. The non-smoking room smelled of smoke, the refrigerator ticked loudly like a clock until I unplugged it, the room keys didn't stay magnetized, the hairdryer didn't work, the cold water was warm and the warm water was cold, the tv had one channel, you couldn't use the coffee maker to make hot water for tea, and the wifi just whimpered and died. The staff were cool with this -- they weren't the Marriot, and this was just the way things were at economy motels, and what did I expect? My brother found out they don't refund your money if you check out a night early, but you can write the manager. People write the manager all the time, it seems, and that's ok with the staff, too. I say it beats sleeping in the train station because you can't lay on the benches in the train station, and at the Days Inn the beds were comfortable and the pillows were plentiful.

Good price for a great room. Close to Walmart liquor store beach and gas stations. Very clean rooms. Staff was very approachable and welcoming.

The hotel provided easy access to where I was going. That was the good news. The heater didn't work, the bathroom fan cover was not attached and hanging down and it was a smoking room even though I requested nonsmoking. The chairs were also not comfortable.

I travel to New Haven often for work and have stayed in many hotels in the area. This one is probably the worst in terms of overall experience. Old, worn-looking, rooms that smell of smoke, burn marks everywhere, etc. The lobby was undergoing renovation and was completely torn apart. My shoes stuck to the plastic sheeting while checking in, and I inhaled paint or drywall dust twice when I had to pass through the live construction. This was at 6pm. Could have been done in stages to lessen the inconvenience for guests? Staff seemed indifferent towards their jobs and made me feel like an inconvenience. They also informed me that breakfast would not be served due to the lobby construction. Understandable, but a customer-focused establishment would have given out vouchers for a local Dunkin Donuts or similar. Being a regular biz traveler to the area, I've come to rely on a quick breakfast at these types of hotels, so this was disappointing. Only plus was the location- just off I 91 at exit 8 and then a straight shot to downtown New Haven.

reasonable price and sleep one night without planning trip. Just it ok .

very good for the money you pay, recommended,*** I will stay again.

Clean hotel. We didn't spend much time there but it was a quick enough drive to campus.

the location is great because it has all the stores around it with walmart but the hotel needs work it has no consistency,i don't think the employees respet the manager either,the only reason why i go there is because it a lower rate then some others and its near walmart other then that i don't have much reason to stay there, as soon as i got there i was hit with a early $36 check in fee because i was an hour or two early i was with my daughter in the cold so of course i paid the fee i got into the room and it was terrible the refrigerator had raw meat inside with blood everywhere inside and it didnt work properly,the bathroom vent cover was off and it was so dusty and filthy inside the vent,there was mole in the bathroom as well, the bed was comfy but the sheets on the bed are real wore with holes ever when they changed it,i brought a sheet from walmart to put over the beds,everytime we go there the manager say there renovating and it will take about 3 months well he told me that a about a year ago so obviously thats not happening,i feel like this if i was in charge of a hotel i would never want to have someone sleep somewhere i wouldnt sleep myself,i can't believe these people there near walmart why wouldnt you want to take advantage of that,by having the best rooms you can provide.

Stayed one night. Price was great. Room seemed clean enough; some poorly made repairs to sheet rock. Bed comfortable. No obvious tv channel list & no facial tissue (oversight or ?the plan). No protein besides yogurt in breakfast choices. Drapes could not be closed tight for AM light blocking.

The hotel is nothing fancy, however the price is a bargain if you just need a room to crash at for the night. The room comes with basic amenities and also comes with free wifi, at better than average speeds. The hotel is right next to a Dunkin' Donuts and gas station, if you need to pick up anything or go for a coffee run. It's about a 10 minute drive away from tourist attractions in Yale/New Haven, so the location is also convenient.

Good location and friendly staff. Not anything fancy

This Hotel is a bit outdated in decor but it does provide a comfortable bed and all the basic necessities. The bathroom is small and shows signs of wear but the shower and toilet were clean and worked fine. The management is warm and friendly and very helpful. I did not partake in the free breakfast as I had an early appointment to attend. For the price I would come back again.

We booked a non smoking room and the staff gave us a smoking room then argued about the room just had a wrong label. The fact of the matter is that we could smell smoke in the room. Very reluctantly he finally gave us a non smoking room. The breakfast was disappointed as well. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Days Inn-New Haven

Everyone (10) Business (8) Couples (10) Family (11) Friends (4) Other (8)
4
Everyone

Very nice soft, but supportive king size bed, would recommend. Clean and quiet.

By on Jul 16, 2017

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Hotel was reasonable, easy to access and nice. Could have added more protein choices to breakfast (hard boiled eggs). Ice machine broke down and water heater was not sufficient for a full hotel.

By , from MO on May 29, 2017

1

district manager is an awful person.

Everyone

Instead of helping you, he will tell that your wrong. It's an independent business. If you try to call corporate he sees it as a threat and sends confrontational email. DO NOT STAY HERE. STAFF IS BEYOND RUDE!!!!!!

By , from new haven ct on Apr 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2017

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you feel that way, but we did our best to explain to you that all the rooms in the back upstairs are non-smoking and you wanted a smoking room. Which we provided you. We can not guarantee the location of the room, we can only guarantee the type of room. in your case you asked for a smoking room which we provided you with.

3

convenient access, good value for new haven area

Everyone

I've stayed at this hotel for probably 10 times over the past six years, visiting family in New Haven. Physically the hotel is the same, as is the ownership. Breakfast has been downgraded, but I think the entire chain did this. The bed this time was superb, as good as any "expensive hotel". The only sour note was a guy pounding on the door across the hall at 4am, demanding the occupant (a woman) open the door. How he got into the hotel is beyond me. If that had not happened I would give the hotel a 4 for overall value.

By , from Novato, CA on Feb 6, 2017

5

convenient location, clean room

Everyone

I had a small birthday party there, across from Walmart which came in handy, walking distance to 10 fast food spots. Staff was friendly, breakfast in the morning. Had fun. Will visit again.

By on Feb 5, 2017

3

early checkin fee beware!

Everyone

I was charged $30 for checking in at 1pm instead of 3pm. Is this a new trend???

By , from New haven on Dec 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2017

Dear Guest, We do charge early check in fee if its before 3pm because housekeepers have to rush to get that room clean. Also your check in was before 1pm that's why.

2

avoid if at all possible!

Everyone

By on Oct 30, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 10, 2016

Dear Guest, We did check and the chair had no wheels missing and the ac unit was brand new also checked the video footage if the door has a do not disturb sign we do not service room. Please in future remove the sign.

3

beats sleeping in the train station

Everyone

I needed an inexpensive room fast to attend a relative's funeral. I booked this the night before, and I arrived after travelling a really complicated itinerary. Nothing in the room worked. The non-smoking room smelled of smoke, the refrigerator ticked loudly like a clock until I unplugged it, the room keys didn't stay magnetized, the hairdryer didn't work, the cold water was warm and the warm water was cold, the tv had one channel, you couldn't use the coffee maker to make hot water for tea, and the wifi just whimpered and died. The staff were cool with this -- they weren't the Marriot, and this was just the way things were at economy motels, and what did I expect? My brother found out they don't refund your money if you check out a night early, but you can write the manager. People write the manager all the time, it seems, and that's ok with the staff, too. I say it beats sleeping in the train station because you can't lay on the benches in the train station, and at the Days Inn the beds were comfortable and the pillows were plentiful.

By on Jul 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Dear Guest, I am sorry for the way you feel, however you have to undertand this is an economy chain hotel. Your room was booked for a smoking, we have more the one channel and the coffee maker does work in the room. All off our rooms have a new coffee maker, and we have hot water at the front lobby.

5

great and cheap

Everyone

Good price for a great room. Close to Walmart liquor store beach and gas stations. Very clean rooms. Staff was very approachable and welcoming.

By , from NY, NY on Jun 25, 2016

2
Everyone

The hotel provided easy access to where I was going. That was the good news. The heater didn't work, the bathroom fan cover was not attached and hanging down and it was a smoking room even though I requested nonsmoking. The chairs were also not comfortable.

By on Feb 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2016

Dear guest your reservation was through expedia we can not control what they placed you in. We are currently in process of a major renvotion and hope you return.