Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Jonathan Harbour

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Rooms need updated,shower drain didn't work, rooms are big but needs cleaned up and updated and pool area isn't to bad needs some updating there also just dirty around hot tubs and water in hot tub was greenish something wasn't right. Great location and beach front I don't think I would return there until it would be cleaned up more and updated

I stayed in one two room unit. It was dirty and messy without sheet and blanket for a pull-up bed. It smells dirty in the lobby and elevator.

Well when I got there I was disappointed because it did not look nothing like the internet pictures. There was a woman in the lobby and she was complaining about her room that the air condition was not working and no hot water. That were I call an complain about this resort. Well our room was OK, but the maid was suppose to bring us some trowels but we never got them. and then we asked them if we can get some pillows. They told us that they were locked up and did not have the key. Then I asked the manager the next day and he told me that they did not have any. Then I told him that the air condition in the front room did not work. so I will not be staying there again.

[...]

The hotel was nice and clean. I plan to take my 2 kids and their friends on the next trip.

Hotel is a little run down. Parking across the street is not ideal. Even for the money there isn't much to recommend it. Not terrible, no single thing really poor, just doesn't add up to much.

I booked this hotel knowing it was an older one. However, it wasn't the age of this hotel that bothered me on our trip. The room was very spacious and had a nice side ocean view. The location is awesome. Most of the major attractions in Myrtle Beach are 10-20 minutes away. The housekeeper was HORRIBLE and completely lazy. Our first day, we asked for towels at 9:00 AM. We did not get towels till after 6 PM that night. She did not clean the room either, even though my wife and I were gone a majority of the day. The second day, she cleaned the room-kind of. Crumbs were left on the living room floor, a new roll of toilet paper was placed on the floors, not on the empty roll. I think all she did was make the bed and give us new towels. The third day, she did not clean the room again (again, my wife and I were gone most of the day. She had the chance). She did come around 6 PM and ask if we needed her to do anything. Um yes, to do your job, lazy! One of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the internet access. The internet access worked maybe 50 percent of the time, and half of this time it was insanely slow, taking 3 minutes to load one web page. Very annoying for us, since my wife needed the internet for a contract she is working on. The pool was an indoor/outdoor pool. The indoor portion was large, the outdoor portion was insanely small. There was two tiny hot tubs, one of which was never hot. The walls appear to be very thin here, as we could hear music one night, stomping and jumping one night, and a TV blaring the other night. Parking is across the street, which wasn't too bad. The roads were not extremely busy when we were there. While there was a full kitchen, the stove had uneven heating, which resulted in burnt food. There was only one fork in the silverware drawer. I didn't expect a full aresenal of kitchen ware, but the basics would have been nice. We won't be staying here again.

close to beach and I enjoyed having two rooms so as not to be confined to one room and full kitchen to cook if you did not feel like going out for one of your meals even though I do not like to cook when I am on vacation

The room was ok for the money. You get what you pay for. The room was clean but did smell funny. The towels smelled of bleach which was reassuring. We loved the little kitchen. That saved us money on breakfast and lunch. I do think the rooms should have brooms to sweep up the sand that is tracked across the the tile floor. The parking across the street I did not like. I would recommend this to a friend if they were on a budget.

There was nothing to do because it was Horrible place

The location is good , however the rooms are sparsely furnished . You only get whatever the unit owner wants to furnish and they apparently are not required to supply a minimum in anything. We didn't even have chairs for our ocean view balcony .Exterior maintenance is non-existent; If you stay here,ity should be because the price is worth it . The pools are so small that it only takes a few kids in them and they are full .

This was a quick weekend vacation. The room was really disgusting. We didn't unpack, sit on the sofa, or walk without our shoes on. There was mold on the lights and bathroom fixtures. There were stains on the outside of the boxsprings, the carpets and sofas were scary dirty. I was very disappointed with the room. It did not look like the photos and it was way too expensive for the quality provided. The manager[...], and the staff were very professional and accomidating.

The room was very spacious and the layout was great. But it was in need of some repairs. The air conditioning did not work well. The linens were not very clean looking; carpets were very stained. Has a good location, close to the beach. Staff was friendly.

The location was good. I really did not like the fact that there was soo much chlorine in the hot tub that it turned my swim suit cover up brown and it was black. It was destroyed and that was my second time geting to wear it. I do not think the room was worth the price that we paid because the room needs some upgrades done to it. The staff were great and the air was cold enough to freeze you. LOL! But it was a good view from the side and other than the room and pool area needing an upgrade everything else was good.

Here is a review from someone that actually stayed there. Pros: They allowed a very early check-in time. Housekeeping was prompt and courteous. Beautiful ocean front views. Cons: Huge water leak in bathroom ceiling the first day. Flooded the sinks. It took over an hour for anyone to respond and then they just offered towels to allow US to clean up water. There excuse was it was an old building and sometimes the pipes leak...hmmm. TV went out the second day and it was over 24 hours before anyone came to fix it. Walls are super thin and fellow vacationers were not courteous. Constant slamming of doors, loud TV's and running of upstairs neighbors until 0200. Front desk was not helpful and stated they could not do anything about it. Parking is across road, unsecured and next to a run down establishment with all the problems that includes. Hotel is adjacent to beach access with people coming and going all hours. Beach access from hotel is limited from 8am til 10pm when they padlock the gates. If you want to go to the beach early in the morning you have to walk around the hotel, through the beach access parking lot to get to the beach. Gym equipment was outdated and substandard. Pool and jacuzzis were always overcrowded with children and children's pool was dirty in appearance. We have stayed in MB many times and this was one of the worst experiences. I queried other hotels in same area and rates were 20-40 dollars less a night for much better room.

I was a little concerned that I didn't have ocean front view, but the view from the side of the building was spectacular. I also was expecting a 'room' and got an apartment--quite a pleasant surprise. I actually booked another night because I didn't want to leave--even though the paint was chipping on the balcony; and, dishes were random--not matching glasses, etc. Great pool and access to the beach.

Great rooms for the price, nothing fancy but clean, quiet and great access to the beach.

the room was spacious and the location was excellent

We traveled in Early April and the pool was well kept and at a nice warm tempurature for the cool spring weather.

Wasn't sure what to expect at first, since this is a smaller and older hotel than some of the bigger, fancier ones. Check in was smooth, and the room was fantastic. Most spacious balcony I have ever seen. 2 room comfortable suite was perfect. Will return.

Room options

Double Room, Kitchen

Full 2 | Full 1 | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Jonathan Harbour

Everyone (3) Couples (9) Family (15) Other (2) Friends (2)
2

close to the beach

Everyone

Rooms need updated,shower drain didn't work, rooms are big but needs cleaned up and updated and pool area isn't to bad needs some updating there also just dirty around hot tubs and water in hot tub was greenish something wasn't right. Great location and beach front I don't think I would return there until it would be cleaned up more and updated

By on Jul 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are currently working on upgrades to our rooms and building. The painting of the building is almost completed and we will begin some upgrades on our rental units. We hope your vacation plans will include Myrtle Beach.

1

very disappointed!

Everyone

I stayed in one two room unit. It was dirty and messy without sheet and blanket for a pull-up bed. It smells dirty in the lobby and elevator.

By , from South Carolina on Jun 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2017

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We strive to provide each and every guest with a clean room and friendly service. Our public areas are cleaned throughout the day, as well as our elevators. Our streetside elevator has just been recently renovated. I have spoken to our staff and we will continue to work on these issues. Thank you for your comments.

1

not good

Everyone

Well when I got there I was disappointed because it did not look nothing like the internet pictures. There was a woman in the lobby and she was complaining about her room that the air condition was not working and no hot water. That were I call an complain about this resort. Well our room was OK, but the maid was suppose to bring us some trowels but we never got them. and then we asked them if we can get some pillows. They told us that they were locked up and did not have the key. Then I asked the manager the next day and he told me that they did not have any. Then I told him that the air condition in the front room did not work. so I will not be staying there again.

By on Sep 12, 2016

4

[...]

Singles

[...]

By on Oct 10, 2010

3

confirmation but not booked

Couples

The hotel was nice and clean. I plan to take my 2 kids and their friends on the next trip.

By on Sep 26, 2010

2

marginal

Couples

Hotel is a little run down. Parking across the street is not ideal. Even for the money there isn't much to recommend it. Not terrible, no single thing really poor, just doesn't add up to much.

By on Sep 25, 2010

1

a little good, and a lot bad

Couples

I booked this hotel knowing it was an older one. However, it wasn't the age of this hotel that bothered me on our trip. The room was very spacious and had a nice side ocean view. The location is awesome. Most of the major attractions in Myrtle Beach are 10-20 minutes away. The housekeeper was HORRIBLE and completely lazy. Our first day, we asked for towels at 9:00 AM. We did not get towels till after 6 PM that night. She did not clean the room either, even though my wife and I were gone a majority of the day. The second day, she cleaned the room-kind of. Crumbs were left on the living room floor, a new roll of toilet paper was placed on the floors, not on the empty roll. I think all she did was make the bed and give us new towels. The third day, she did not clean the room again (again, my wife and I were gone most of the day. She had the chance). She did come around 6 PM and ask if we needed her to do anything. Um yes, to do your job, lazy! One of the reasons we booked this hotel was for the internet access. The internet access worked maybe 50 percent of the time, and half of this time it was insanely slow, taking 3 minutes to load one web page. Very annoying for us, since my wife needed the internet for a contract she is working on. The pool was an indoor/outdoor pool. The indoor portion was large, the outdoor portion was insanely small. There was two tiny hot tubs, one of which was never hot. The walls appear to be very thin here, as we could hear music one night, stomping and jumping one night, and a TV blaring the other night. Parking is across the street, which wasn't too bad. The roads were not extremely busy when we were there. While there was a full kitchen, the stove had uneven heating, which resulted in burnt food. There was only one fork in the silverware drawer. I didn't expect a full aresenal of kitchen ware, but the basics would have been nice. We won't be staying here again.

By on Aug 25, 2010

3

nice having two rooms to spreadout

Couples

close to beach and I enjoyed having two rooms so as not to be confined to one room and full kitchen to cook if you did not feel like going out for one of your meals even though I do not like to cook when I am on vacation

By on Aug 24, 2010

2

wasn't too bad...ok for the money

Families

The room was ok for the money. You get what you pay for. The room was clean but did smell funny. The towels smelled of bleach which was reassuring. We loved the little kitchen. That saved us money on breakfast and lunch. I do think the rooms should have brooms to sweep up the sand that is tracked across the the tile floor. The parking across the street I did not like. I would recommend this to a friend if they were on a budget.

By on Aug 17, 2010

1

bad

Families

There was nothing to do because it was Horrible place

By on Jul 26, 2010