Holiday Inn Manchester West3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
I've stayed at this hotel a few times over the past year due to working in the area. Location is good and a free car park, although this does get busy so not sure what would happen if it was full. The rooms are in need of an update - there are stains on the often threadbare carpets, cracks in the bathroom and the furniture is past its best. However, the bed and pillows can't be faulted and do result in a good night's sleep. I would recommend asking for a room upstairs - those on the ground floor are noisy from the bar area and back onto the beer garden which I imagine would be worse in Summer months. Other rooms have been fine and quiet. Reception staff are helpful and knowledgeable about the area and when I had a problem with the room (broken hairdryer) they got it sorted quickly. Avoid the restaurant! The food is awful - every meal I have had has been burnt, sometimes beyond recognition (I'm still not sure what is in the Indian starter) and I have been left feeling sick from their meals more than once. I've tried different things but all have been overcooked and awful. If I stay here, I tend to grab a McDonalds or similar on my way back which even that is a vast improvement in quality. Service in the restaurant is also poor. I have had to approach the bar to get any service as other staff have walked past the table and ignored me. If you do risk the food, go up and pay at the bar as you'll wait forever for the bill otherwise.
This place is the most poorly run establishment I have ever visited. My partner and I booked in for Friday and Saturday night on the weekend of the 26th of January. The hotel seemed perfect for a city break as it had parking and was in a 5 min tax drive from the city centre. First night we stayed on the first floor which was extremely noisey due to traffic and what seemed to be music coming from another room. I went down to reception to complain as we had been kept up for hours at the point and couldn't get any sleep. The night porter told us that it was another room and they had spoken to that room. I went back up to my room and the noise continued. after another 15 mins I went down stairs and spoke to another of the night porters a young lad, I think his name was Scott, who was actually interested unlike the other 'senior' he came up and investigated. It turned out that it was the music from the hotel reception making the noise. He apologised and recommended that I asked for another room tomorrow and was empathic to the fact we had lost hours of sleep due to the hotel. After Scott had turned the music down My partner and I finally got to sleep as the music wasn't reverbing round our room. 30 mins later once we had finally got to sleep the phone rang waking us up with the 'senior' night porter on the phone asking if the music was ok. This was at 4.30 in morning and waking us from our already sleepless night was beyond a joke. I told him to leave us to get some sleep but he proceeded to ramble on saying it wasn't the lobby music although his colleague had confirmed it was and had fixed the problem. I ended up having to put the phone down on him as he was just adamant that it wasn't the hotels fault for the noise and all I wanted to do was to salvage some sleep ahead of a busy day. The next day we went down to the reception for a room change. This was sorted and there was no apology for the shocking night we had. We left our bags in our car as they changed the room for us, we were already running hours behind our planned schedule for the day after a sleepless night. We asked to see the Manager but were told they were too busy. When we returned in the evening to get changed before heading out for dinner we were greeted by a chef sat on reception in mucky whites (blacks to be precise) and when we explained we had a room change a voice from the back room shouted 208. He gave us our keycard. We went up to our room and opened it with the keycard. When we opened 208 there was other peoples baggage and belongings in the room to our disbelief. We looked in the inset on the card and saw it said 218 the room across. We dropped our bags off in our room and headed down to reception to let them know that we had access to 2 different rooms. A receptionist was there now and said the door must have been on latch although I had to try twice to open the door with the key card. She assured me that I would not have access to 208 anymore. The really disappointing element about the catalogue of errors was the staffs attitude bar Scott who was very professional. On arriving home we realised that we had been charged an additional £67 although we had paid in advance. My partner called up the hotel and they said they had made 'an honest mistake' and that it would be refunded to our account. This was really adding insult to injury as I felt like we deserved a full refund never mind being charged extra for a woeful stay. There is a clear lack of care and integrity in this site. The management don't give a toss and it is blatant that there is little or no training which lead to the errors that we came across. I would be very interested to hear a reply from the management as they went out their way to avoid seeing me in person or at least that's what we were told
I have never stayed in a Holiday Inn before and probably won't again. Gave the poor review as opposed to terrible as the bed and 1 member of staff were great. I chose it because it was 3 minutes from where I needed to be the next day and there was on-site free parking and I assumed it would be similar to the other usual corporate places, so I didn't mind the location - I have Google street view so was well aware where it was. The bed was really comfy and I slept well once I had shut the bathroom door to block out the noise of the extractor fan that stayed on all night, but there were so few creature comforts like the toiletries you would normally expect (they provided soap - whoopdidoo) and the tea/coffee allowance was beyond minimal (with just 4 little milk things and one of them was open) and not a pre-packed biscuit in sight. Sometimes its the little things. But then, sometimes its the bigger things. As part of an overnight stay with breakfast package, the breakfast was beyond awful... and when you're paying around £84 in all, with bad room facilities taken into account, it surely should be ok as a minimum. No plates, rock hard eggs (and I mean inedible - I have never been unable to eat an egg until this morning) and generally cheap, nasty food. Turned out to be a dirty table too. I suppose I could have moved... but it was just left as it was rather than cleaned once vacated previously. And others were left the same for the duration I sat there - not one table was cleaned. Yuck. The main highlight was the young bloke on reception the night I arrived (29/01/18). I didn't see his name badge but he was fab.... really lovely and seriously beyond helpful and made the only really good impression on the stay really (the bed was inanimate... but to be fair it had more life in it than the breakfast, even though some of that once lived). He absolutely needs a gold star for his customer service skills - if you need to track him down, he told me he's about as old as the building - but I would guess younger than the black pudding and the mushrooms. (Pssstttt.... awesome customer service young man... if you are reading this, take my top tip....... RUN AWAAAAY!)
Nice functional rooms and good location for the University. The hotel is in the middle of an industrial site, so It feels a bit out of the way. The staff were friendly, but had difficulty identifying who was staff at times. We had a problem with our room and the receptionist helped us out very quickly. The front door was stuck open and so the bar was a bit drafty that night. But breakfast was very nice, and plenty of it. I think if I was to visit this area again, I'm sure I would stay here again.
My partner and I have a busy home life so every 2-3 months we book a few hours in a hotel for some time out, a day date:-:-) We stayed here for a few hours, the food was lovely, staff were lovely, our initial room was freezing and the heating didn't work for some reason but staff had no problem moving us to another room. Highly recommend :-)
5-night business trip in December. Check in was pretty efficient. The room was standard size, a little smaller than I am used to but functional with a desk to work. The bathroom was also functional if a little tired. Housekeeping adequate. The breakfast is a small hot and cold offering but adequate for my needs. The staff were very pleasant. Personally, I thought the room rates were a little steep. I'd stay here again if there was a room available at a decent price and I needed a hotel in the area
A group of friends and I opted to stay here when seeing the Steps concert. The hotel was so much cheaper than Manchester central and only took 10 minutes in a taxi to the arena! Rooms were big and clean! The bar was also good! The staff were helpful and friendly. Brilliant stay.
The staff at this hotel are fantastic! the receptionist, chelsey was really knowledgeable about things to do in Manchester. you can order taxis from the hotel. We didn't eat at the restaurant, breakfast was okay. The room was tired but it was clean, could do with an update. the hotel is slightly out of the centre but still a convenient location with free parking which is a plus. The bar is open late and the lounge was very festive. Would stay again.
My boyfriend and I stayed here in order to go to a gig in Manchester, the price of the hotel was £145 which we found pricey for the service we received. Firstly the air conditioning in our room was set at 22 degrees on arriving in the room which made the whole room feel like a sauna. There were no instructions on how to work the air con meaning we could not manage to turn it off and despite dropping the temperature to as low as possible it still remained extremely hot meaning we had a terrible sleep. After having to guess what time breakfast was as we were not told by a member of staff, nor did the phone work to call reception, we came downstairs between 9:30/10 to find out it finishes at 11. There were no eggs left despite there being over an hour left of breakfast and all the 'hot counter' food was cold. The most shocking thing of all was restaurant staff agreeing with us that this service was rubbish and recommending we complain!! Despite that the breakfast staff were the friendliest staff at the whole hotel and continued to apologise for the state of the breakfast and offered us plenty of tea. On checking out I wanted to complain about the air conditioning and disappointing breakfast for such an expensive nights stay however the receptionist did not even ask how our stay was and simply took our room card and said 'thanks' ...very poor customer service! The hotel overall was clean but I would certainly recommend going elsewhere for breakfast.
Stayed here when on business in Manchester, a nice enough HI with a really nice bar and restaurant area, staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a nice bar meal in the lounge which was good value for pie piri chicken and chips and salad for £11 and a fish cake starter @ £5. Breakfast was a good choice of hot and cold selections. Room was nice and modern the only downside was it was facing the road and was a little noisy in the morning. Certainly stay again, only downside you would need a taxi to go anywhere as there was nothing nice nearby for a drink or food.
- Close to Museum of Science and Industry and People's History Museum
- Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
- Free parking
- Onsite dining
Holiday Inn Manchester West places you within a mile (2 km) of popular attractions like Museum of Science and Industry and People's History Museum. This 82-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Also close to this Salford hotel are Old Trafford and Manchester Opera House.
This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, breakfast is available for a fee.
The 82 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in pillow menus. Safes, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities.
Holiday Inn Manchester West features free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a business center. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, express check-in, and free newspapers.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
62% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 476 reviews