Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was a good place to stay to feel like you are one of the locals

Quirky eclectic decor and atmosphere. Staff on our arrival seemed tired and disinterested but new stsff the next day were extra helpful. Only concerns were re electrical safety. Would recommend and would return ☺

Gas leak in first room, lack of cleanliness in the other room. Neither room was modernized, or as attractive as the picture to the left. The stove was gas and needed matches to light and they did not provide match. When I complained about the strong smell of gas the desk person said she would ask the night maintainance person to turn the gas off-as if that was ok! It was only later that I realized the reason a fun was going in the room and all the windows were open, on a cold evening in LA, was because there was a gas leak! And they put us in that room! Appalling!

I loved it! The building had an authentic Venice Beach vibes. Alot of charecter. The room was clean and a full size refridgerator. The breakfast was served on rooftop with an excellent view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only drawback, must go up 1 flight of stairs. Not wheelchair accesible.

Property would be really cool with some renovations. Bathrooms was tiny. Actually had to sit on toilet sideways because there was a wall 5-6" from the front edge of the toilet. The parking sucks!!! Didn't mind we had to walk a couple of blocks. What really sucked was you can't park on Pacific Ave until after 8pm which means you either need to pay $30 at a local lot or wait on a side street until someone leaves. I would give it a 2.7/5

Rooftop breakfast was unique. Like the studio style apt. feel. Pretty slow internet speed though. Convenient location to the beach.

As soon as we entered a room they ( cockroaches) were waiting us on the kitchen countertop. Did not take picture at that time. We complained to front desk and asked to change rooms. That probably did not matter as cockroaches were unlikely to live only in one room. Hotels sent a guy with some poison for cockroaches but did not changed the room. We bought different types of poison ( liquid, baits and glue board) and places all over the kitchen and bathroom hoping to take care of the problem. A day latter we found one cockroach on the bed and took some pictures. This hotel we will remember forever. Never again.

The building and room was very run down. I don't know how this place has 3 stars... Not worth the price once you factor in the $50 cleaning fee!

Paloma Ave Venice CA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Venice Beach Boardwalk and Venice Beach
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Rooftop terrace

Ellison Suites is adjacent to popular attractions such as Venice Beach Boardwalk and Venice Beach. This 45-room, 3-star apartment building welcomes guests with free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Each apartment is heated and features a kitchen with a refrigerator, an oven, a microwave, and a stovetop. Guests can enjoy a flat-screen TV and stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, a ceiling fan, and a safe. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Ellison Suites enjoy a rooftop terrace, free WiFi in public areas, and a garden. You can put free offsite parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the area. This beach apartment building also has a water dispenser.

Room options

Premium Ocean View Suite

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Panoramic Ocean View Suite

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Grand Corner Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Morrison Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ellison Suites

Everyone (6) Family (7)
4
Families Families

It was a good place to stay to feel like you are one of the locals

By on Jun 16, 2019

3
Everyone

By on Apr 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2019

Hello! If you would like to leave additional feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us.

4
Everyone

By on Apr 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2019

Hello! If you would like to leave additional feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us.

4
Everyone

Quirky eclectic decor and atmosphere. Staff on our arrival seemed tired and disinterested but new stsff the next day were extra helpful. Only concerns were re electrical safety. Would recommend and would return ☺

By on Feb 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! Yes, we take great pride in the unique decor of our suites. Many guests have had wonderful things to say about our cozy accommodations. Our building does have a lot of history as it is over 100-years-old and it was built in 1913 with its original owners being comedy duo, Laurel & Hardy. For a brief period, Jim Morrison called these very premises “home.” We apologize if you had any concerns with any part of our infrastructure. We have made note of your concern and it will be addressed.

1
Families Families

Gas leak in first room, lack of cleanliness in the other room. Neither room was modernized, or as attractive as the picture to the left. The stove was gas and needed matches to light and they did not provide match. When I complained about the strong smell of gas the desk person said she would ask the night maintainance person to turn the gas off-as if that was ok! It was only later that I realized the reason a fun was going in the room and all the windows were open, on a cold evening in LA, was because there was a gas leak! And they put us in that room! Appalling!

By on Feb 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2019

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and if we fell short of our goal this time, we offer our sincerest apologies. We apologize if you did not enjoy our accommodations. All guest issues are taken seriously. Your concern has been received and it has been discussed at length during the quality review process of our guest relations team. We would like to assure you that the issue that you have mentioned has been addressed. Again, our apologies if there was any breakdown in communication between yourself and our staff. I hope that you can forgive this inconvenience and not let it stop you from staying with us again in the future.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If you'd like to leave additional feedback, do not hesitate to contact us.

5
Families

I loved it! The building had an authentic Venice Beach vibes. Alot of charecter. The room was clean and a full size refridgerator. The breakfast was served on rooftop with an excellent view. The staff was friendly and helpful. Only drawback, must go up 1 flight of stairs. Not wheelchair accesible.

By on Jan 29, 2019

3
Friends

Property would be really cool with some renovations. Bathrooms was tiny. Actually had to sit on toilet sideways because there was a wall 5-6" from the front edge of the toilet. The parking sucks!!! Didn't mind we had to walk a couple of blocks. What really sucked was you can't park on Pacific Ave until after 8pm which means you either need to pay $30 at a local lot or wait on a side street until someone leaves. I would give it a 2.7/5

By on Jan 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 19, 2019

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We truly appreciate your review and we going to work on the points that you mention. Best regards, The Ellison Suites

4
Families Families

Rooftop breakfast was unique. Like the studio style apt. feel. Pretty slow internet speed though. Convenient location to the beach.

By , from Long Island on Jan 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2019

Thanks for your review. We truly appreciate your honest feedback. Best regards, The Ellison Suites

1
Everyone

As soon as we entered a room they ( cockroaches) were waiting us on the kitchen countertop. Did not take picture at that time. We complained to front desk and asked to change rooms. That probably did not matter as cockroaches were unlikely to live only in one room. Hotels sent a guy with some poison for cockroaches but did not changed the room. We bought different types of poison ( liquid, baits and glue board) and places all over the kitchen and bathroom hoping to take care of the problem. A day latter we found one cockroach on the bed and took some pictures. This hotel we will remember forever. Never again.

By on Oct 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 26, 2018

Hello! I am extremely sorry to see this! We assure you that the establishment does everything possible to never see these types of issues occur. We will make sure you and any future guests never have to deal with a problem like this again. Again let me extend my apologies from the deepest part our Ellison Family. We hope you will reconsider our service as we strive for excellence, we assure this will never be a problem again. Yours Truly, The Ellison Suites

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Los-Angeles-Hotels-Ellison-Suites.h13278617-p2.Hotel-Reviews