Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We went for Dickens on the Strand and to see A Christmas Carol at The Grand Opera House. They valet park your vehicle parking runs about $20 a day. The rooms are nice spacious and the beds have very comfortable mattresses. Roof Top Bar is fun and beautiful lounge in lobby with piano, brass band and Christmas Carolers. The only thing that could use improvement is in room tv, very limited but you could rent a movie for $19 plus tax etc... over all beautiful Hotel!

Pampered, luxurious, fabulous-Tremont House never disappoints!

We had a tough time deciding on a hotel in Galveston since we had never been before. I saw this one and read the reviews. All seemed like it would be a great place to stay, and it was! My wife and I loved it. Great location. I had back surgery not too long ago and have a hard time finding good mattresses when I am away from home. My bed was perfect! Loved the historic building and area around it. We just wish we could have stayed much longer...and we will next time!

Enjoyed our stay. The Tremont is in an ideal location for people to take a walking tour of Galveston. Our room was comfortable. Had hoped there would be a mini fridge. There was an ugly stain on the wall, almost behind the curtains. Reddish in color.

The room was so elegant and sophisticated....definitely for those with discerning taste. It was a block from the strand and the hotel offers shuttle service to local restaurants and attractioms. It was wonderful

Could smell burnt toast in our room all day the Monday we checked out. Two capped off cooper pipes sticking out of bathroom wall about 6 inches, an extreme trip hazard. Most likely from a old hot water heating system. Would have been easy to cap off at the wall. Floor mount door stop for closet door was to for off wall. One in our party tripped on it several times. Did not think to take pictures.

Popular with both locals & out of towners. Famous bar built in 1888. Place recently upgraded.

Great location to walk the historic district and to shops, restaurants and the bay. Great rooftop bar, cafe and classic lobby bar!

Nice staff, clean, good and cheap food. Room was great, comfy. Quiet enviroment. Nice bars and they have a rooftop bar. Although i didnt get to use it. Always on time with the food schedule, great chef, and she was quick

This hotel is in the historical Stand District of Galveston and an easy drive to the beach.

I choose this place for my wife and I as a get away. I am in the Navy and we don't see each other much. The check in process was great. Staff was very friendly. The room was nice, but the shower didn't work. We reported it but no one came by to look at it. I would not stay here again.

The valet & curbside parking service was exceptional. The music in the lobby on Saturday night was so very nice and generally speaking the staff were great. But then we come to the room. The bed needs help and mattress needs to be replaced. It was terrible and we spent three back aching nights on it. The sheets are not fitted, so you felt like you would be sleeping on a bare mattress if you turned over. Sheets were nice but just felt the bed was not comfortable because of bare mattress showing and having to pull sheet back over the edge. The wicker chairs in the room were dirty, worn and not comfortable to set in. The bathroom and room needs a detailed cleaning around the edges. It's very worn and looks like they just do a light cleaning each time someone new comes. The carpet in the halls was not vacuumed the whole time we were there and it just felt dirty. At times it was difficult to get through the maid carts in the hall to get to your room and then out again. They were parked in middle of hall or two together and a person had to wedge themselves between to walk down hall. Once both my husband and I ended up with a dust mop in our face trying to get by. Staff also park ugly big rolling containers in hall to collect laundry and what ever else. It sure doesn't look and feel nice for a hotel. We were disappointed and would not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

Very friendly staff. Room was clean and comfy. Only cons are the parking and our bathtub. The bathtub had a pipe leaking water into it.....so odd. Parking is valet or street parking. Also, there is no pool, but there is a sister hotel (The Galvez) that has a pool you can use and a shuttle is provided or if you valet that is also valid there too. There is a coffee shop in lobby that serves Starbucks!

Great hotel awesome bars in and around the hotel as well as plenty of stores and things to go do within walking distance.

This was a ok. A 300 person conference let out as we were in line for valet parking. Caused about a 30 minute delay.other than this it was relaxing and perfect.

Great Staff I enjoyed the experience. The band was great and the view.

Second time there for girlfriend and I. Love the hardwoods, crown moldings and high ceilings. Nice rooftop bar and you can't beat the location for walking back to your hotel.

We love the stay! Great service and such a unique experience.

Great place to stay centrally located, staff was super customer focused!

best experience,i was really impresssed by the friendly staff,got my moneys worth

2300 Ships Mechanic Row Galveston TX

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Ashton Villa
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Galveston Island Railroad Museum is within a 5-minute walk of The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel while other popular sites like Ashton Villa are within a 15-minute stroll. This 4-star hotel has 119 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. Texas Seaport Museum and Grand 1894 Opera House are also a short walk from this Galveston hotel.


Dining

Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant.


Rooms

The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel's 119 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and ceiling fans. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels and pay movies. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include video-game consoles, safes, and phones.


Property features

At The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and 11 meeting rooms. Valet parking is available for USD 18 per night. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and express check-out.

Room options

Suite

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Room, Accessible

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Tremont House

Everyone (13) Couples (28) Business (4) Family (10) Friends (2) Other (2)
4

convenient walk to shops, restaurants, grand opera

Everyone

We went for Dickens on the Strand and to see A Christmas Carol at The Grand Opera House. They valet park your vehicle parking runs about $20 a day. The rooms are nice spacious and the beds have very comfortable mattresses. Roof Top Bar is fun and beautiful lounge in lobby with piano, brass band and Christmas Carolers. The only thing that could use improvement is in room tv, very limited but you could rent a movie for $19 plus tax etc... over all beautiful Hotel!

By on Dec 9, 2017

5

wonderful in every way!

Everyone

Pampered, luxurious, fabulous-Tremont House never disappoints!

By , from Huntsville, TX on Nov 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2017

Dear Lisa, Thank you for the fabulous review! We're so pleased you felt pampered during your stay as that is our goal with all our guests. Please come stay with us at The Tremont House again soon.

5

overnight stay

Everyone

We had a tough time deciding on a hotel in Galveston since we had never been before. I saw this one and read the reviews. All seemed like it would be a great place to stay, and it was! My wife and I loved it. Great location. I had back surgery not too long ago and have a hard time finding good mattresses when I am away from home. My bed was perfect! Loved the historic building and area around it. We just wish we could have stayed much longer...and we will next time!

By , from Cleburne, TX on Nov 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2017

Dear Lee, We understand that Galveston offers many lodging options, and we are so pleased you chose The Tremont House during your first trip to the area! We are equally delighted that we held our end of the bargain, offering you a great place to stay in our prime location. We hope your back-surgery recovery is going as well as possible and love knowing that our quality mattresses helped offer you great comfort. Thanks for choosing us and exploring our historic area. We hope to host you again next time you visit!

4

hotel was convenient for our needs.

Everyone

Enjoyed our stay. The Tremont is in an ideal location for people to take a walking tour of Galveston. Our room was comfortable. Had hoped there would be a mini fridge. There was an ugly stain on the wall, almost behind the curtains. Reddish in color.

By , from Hudson, WI on Sep 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 15, 2017

Dear Kathy, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Tremont House, A Wyndham Grand Hotel. We loved having you as our guest and appreciate your valuable feedback. It brings us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We hope you had a memorable experience at Toujouse Bar -- we love the jazz band, too -- and during your time in and around the Galveston area. We are sorry to read that you found a stain on the wall. Our staff understands the importance of a clean room, so we will make sure to address this matter right away. We thank you, again, for taking a moment to provide your review and hope to see you next time you are in the area.

5

romantic and elegant

Everyone

The room was so elegant and sophisticated....definitely for those with discerning taste. It was a block from the strand and the hotel offers shuttle service to local restaurants and attractioms. It was wonderful

By on Aug 23, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 25, 2017

We're honored to have been a part of your romantic getaway. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your room. It's also great to see that our shuttle service was helpful for you and that you enjoyed the local dining and other attractions. Please come stay with us at The Tremont House again soon.

3

over priced

Everyone

Could smell burnt toast in our room all day the Monday we checked out. Two capped off cooper pipes sticking out of bathroom wall about 6 inches, an extreme trip hazard. Most likely from a old hot water heating system. Would have been easy to cap off at the wall. Floor mount door stop for closet door was to for off wall. One in our party tripped on it several times. Did not think to take pictures.

By on Mar 19, 2017

5

nice downtown hotel. been there for > 100 years.

Everyone

Popular with both locals & out of towners. Famous bar built in 1888. Place recently upgraded.

By , from CCTX on Feb 26, 2017

4
Everyone

Great location to walk the historic district and to shops, restaurants and the bay. Great rooftop bar, cafe and classic lobby bar!

By on Jan 25, 2017

5

excellent service and food

Everyone

Nice staff, clean, good and cheap food. Room was great, comfy. Quiet enviroment. Nice bars and they have a rooftop bar. Although i didnt get to use it. Always on time with the food schedule, great chef, and she was quick

By , from . on Jan 19, 2017

5

beautiful, historic hotel

Everyone

This hotel is in the historical Stand District of Galveston and an easy drive to the beach.

By on Jan 17, 2017