Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We stayed in unit which is a small apartment and the unit itself was clean and decorated nice. The bathroom needs updated as the shower is like going in a small closet, but other than that we would stay here again. Was really just steps away from the beach.

I like the way we checked in. I hated that there was no parking

I liked the location. The internet was very slow so I used my phone for a hot spot. The information book needs to be updated on some items.

Decent location on the island. Within walking distance of restaurants, the beach, the library, a gas station, a bank, and other businesses.

Really close to the beach, loved the fact that they provided beach chairs and beach towels.

We checked in and were taken to a room that you had to step down from ground level to enter. All the walls were cement and it had a musty smell. We were unaware that a room of this type was available from the pictures. The ceiling was less than 6 high. We tried to use the dehumidifier provided but it didn't work. Taking a shower my head hit the ceiling and was hard to wash my hair. When we requested a different room - they didn't have any. When we requested a refund they said only if they re- rent it. We ended up checking out and forfeiting our 2nd night. The rooms above ground looked very nice. Not sure what the selection process is to get the room that smells like a basement. If you are over 5'10 or want a room like in the pictures hope you don't get the short straw.

We stayed 2 nights in July and selected this hotel for price and location. I like to have a place to prepare breakfast/lunch and this place had a full size kitchen with table and chairs. New owners have recently taken over but we couldn't see evidence of improvement at this tired old property. Staff was friendly and the place is roomy and well located at the Southern end of Ft. Myers Beach about 1/2 block walk to the beach via a beach access down the street. Our room had a separate kitchen with full size fridge, cooktop and microwave. The coffee maker did not work and the replacement did not work either. The fridge blew a circuit on the second day. The bed was the hardest I've ever slept on. Bedroom walls had chipped paint. Worn carpet was covered with an old area rug. Bathroom was decent sized and clean but had missing grout areas along the floor. A small outside patio off our kitchen had dirty mis-matched chairs and was used by a neighboring room as a smoking area. I could not recommend this place even though the location was good. There is too much deferred maintenance.

Estero Blvd Fort Myers Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Close to Times Square
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Times Square is within a mile (2 km) of Sandy Beach, and other popular sites like Fishing Pier Fort Myers Beach are within a couple of miles (3 km). Each of the 8 rooms at this motel includes a balcony, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Rooms

Sandy Beach's 8 rooms are individually decorated and provide balconies or patios, microwaves, and refrigerators. 40-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers and ironing boards are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Sandy Beach enjoy free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and express check-out. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Helpful staff is there to provide luggage storage, as well as offer insight about the area. Other amenities at this beach motel include a terrace, barbecue grills, and a picnic area.

Room options

Double Room, 1 Queen Bed, Ground Floor (Low Ceiling)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 1 King Bed (Low Ceiling)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Double Room, 1 Queen Bed, Balcony

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Double Room, 1 Queen Bed, Balcony

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sandy Beach

Everyone (4) Couples (1) Family (2)
3
Family

We stayed in unit which is a small apartment and the unit itself was clean and decorated nice. The bathroom needs updated as the shower is like going in a small closet, but other than that we would stay here again. Was really just steps away from the beach.

By on Jan 29, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 17, 2020

Thank you Brenda! We appreciate your feedback!

4
Partner Couples

I like the way we checked in. I hated that there was no parking

By on May 19, 2019

4
Business Business

I liked the location. The internet was very slow so I used my phone for a hot spot. The information book needs to be updated on some items.

By on Apr 8, 2019

2
Family

Decent location on the island. Within walking distance of restaurants, the beach, the library, a gas station, a bank, and other businesses.

By on Mar 24, 2019

4
Everyone

Really close to the beach, loved the fact that they provided beach chairs and beach towels.

By on Jan 17, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Dec 28, 2018

2

basement type room musty smell up

Everyone

We checked in and were taken to a room that you had to step down from ground level to enter. All the walls were cement and it had a musty smell. We were unaware that a room of this type was available from the pictures. The ceiling was less than 6 high. We tried to use the dehumidifier provided but it didn't work. Taking a shower my head hit the ceiling and was hard to wash my hair. When we requested a different room - they didn't have any. When we requested a refund they said only if they re- rent it. We ended up checking out and forfeiting our 2nd night. The rooms above ground looked very nice. Not sure what the selection process is to get the room that smells like a basement. If you are over 5'10 or want a room like in the pictures hope you don't get the short straw.

By on Feb 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2018

Hello, you were put in the room that you booked. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay but that is an inaccurate description of room 17. We have had many guests stay in room 17 with no mention of smell and the ceilings are 6'2" as described in the room description. The walls are not "cemented" and all our photos of that room are up to date so you would know exactly what you are booking.

2

deferred maintenance and a hard bed

Everyone

We stayed 2 nights in July and selected this hotel for price and location. I like to have a place to prepare breakfast/lunch and this place had a full size kitchen with table and chairs. New owners have recently taken over but we couldn't see evidence of improvement at this tired old property. Staff was friendly and the place is roomy and well located at the Southern end of Ft. Myers Beach about 1/2 block walk to the beach via a beach access down the street. Our room had a separate kitchen with full size fridge, cooktop and microwave. The coffee maker did not work and the replacement did not work either. The fridge blew a circuit on the second day. The bed was the hardest I've ever slept on. Bedroom walls had chipped paint. Worn carpet was covered with an old area rug. Bathroom was decent sized and clean but had missing grout areas along the floor. A small outside patio off our kitchen had dirty mis-matched chairs and was used by a neighboring room as a smoking area. I could not recommend this place even though the location was good. There is too much deferred maintenance.

By , from Clearwater FL on Aug 23, 2017

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Fort-Myers-Hotels-Sandy-Beach.h18918426-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Fort-Myers-Hotels-Sandy-Beach.h18918426-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Fort-Myers-Hotels-Sandy-Beach.h18918426-p2.Hotel-Reviews