Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

They are NOT, I repeat, are NOT practicing good Covid measures. The staff often weren't wearing masks or had to be told to pull their masks up. I saw one womyn, no masks, carrying towels on her arms across her chests. Do you want to use those towels?They were noisy in the hallways, talking to ea. other while cleaning or on their cells. I wiped EVERYTHING down when I got to the room & refused rm service for my entire stay. No frig, no micro - no carpet on 2nd flr, so ppl above walking was noisy. Good dog policy & the place was in fair condition. Overall, all the dogs folks were quiet & courteous. The staff was polite but clueless concerning Covid. This place is a Covid hot spot!

The key card access on our room door was broken. There was a specific way you had to open it which was a hassle. If you did not close the door in a certain way, the door would not close fully. The young lady at front desk was nice enough to try and help us open it but there was not much she could do.

Staff wasn't very friendly, except when we asked if we could get some extra blankets as our room only had one measly thin blanket, we were cold on the first night. We asked twice for them, once in person and the 2nd time on the phone. Both times staff said very nicely they were on their way. The blankets were never delivered, so that leads me to believe the staff were just lying to us the whole time. To their credit, the very next day we asked for the blankets a third time and house keeping finally delivered them and made our beds with them. Breakfast was terrible: A bowl of cheerios and coffee is not continental breakfast as advertised by the hotel. The hotel was a mess: Construction material and debris was all over the hotel from a recent re-model project. Hotel was very pet friendly which we liked.

The common areas were dirty as all get out. And, the key cards for our rooms and other doors kept failing.

All of the common areas were very dirty. Old spit on doors. Lots of trash and stains in the halls. Faulty tv in my room.

Needs a complete renovation. Checked out as soon as we saw the rooms.

The complimentary breakfast was a joke - bagels and waffles in an air-sealed bag - no juice. What's worse, they are going through some renovation, at least on the ground floor. I could see a toilet sitting on the floor in one of the rooms. The place wreaks of faeces - wonder if the drain was plugged after the toilets were removed. The whole place is eerie quiet and has patches on the walls. The landscaping looks like the place has been abandoned with the shrubs overgrown and weeds pushing into the sidewalk. It should not be open for business until it's been fixed up.

Dirty loud. Found left over bathroom soap and hair products from last guest

Scethcy place. I will never go back and stay there

Run away...and fast. Whomever owns this property should have their franchise removed and they should stay OUT of the hotel business.

Room didn’t seem to have been vacuumed. Stains on the comforter and walls. Odd smell.

Door locks wore out, carpets dirty stained, must not have a vacume cleaner. Needs a good makeover.

We wanted 2 queen beds, they did not save us one even though we booked way in advance. Employee at front desk didn’t help us because he said that there was nothing he can do. He was very rude and not helpful to communicate our issue to management, and we got there late and asked for late checkout and employee said no, even after the room issue.

Two out of three nights the room was not cleaned. One night they gave clean towels and nothing else. Pool has been out of order for some time. Stains on shower curtain, hole in bedspread and drap and missing one side of shade/see through curtain. Said they would give back a 10% discount through Orbitz but I have not seen anything come through. Kind staff but not cared for or inviting establishment. Could never recommend it. Wished to leave after first night but didn’t know how to get out of Orbitz reservations.

Valley West Blvd Arcata CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk

Located in Pacific, Red Roof Inn Arcata is within a 5-minute drive of Azalea State Natural Reserve and Humboldt State University Natural History Museum. This 78-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and coffee/tea in a common area.


Rooms

Red Roof Inn Arcata's 78 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free long-distance calls, and free local calls. 43-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include ironing boards and desks.


Property features

Guests of Red Roof Inn Arcata enjoy free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and a ballroom. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. This motel also has a vending machine.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Red Roof Inn Arcata

Everyone (25) Couples (2) Family (10)
2
Everyone

They are NOT, I repeat, are NOT practicing good Covid measures. The staff often weren't wearing masks or had to be told to pull their masks up. I saw one womyn, no masks, carrying towels on her arms across her chests. Do you want to use those towels?They were noisy in the hallways, talking to ea. other while cleaning or on their cells. I wiped EVERYTHING down when I got to the room & refused rm service for my entire stay. No frig, no micro - no carpet on 2nd flr, so ppl above walking was noisy. Good dog policy & the place was in fair condition. Overall, all the dogs folks were quiet & courteous. The staff was polite but clueless concerning Covid. This place is a Covid hot spot!

By , from San Francisco on Aug 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2020

Dear Guest: Thanks for the candid feedback. I am extremely disappointed to hear that you did not feel safe while staying with us. However, we are following COVID-19 guidelines provided by local and national health authorities. Still, if we could not make you feel safe, then there must be a breakdown that we need to figure out. I ensure that your feedback will be given to all, and we will pay extra attention to the safety measures in our hotel. We would really appreciate it if you give us another chance to serve you so that we can turn around your 'bitter' experience into a 'better' one! Once again, I am sorry for the poor stay. Take care, and stay safe!

3
Everyone

By on Aug 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2020

Dear Guest: Thanks for rating your stay. I am glad to know that your overall stay with us was good. I hope you have enjoyed all of our on-site amenities thoroughly. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Arcata! Take care, stay safe!

2
Family Family

The key card access on our room door was broken. There was a specific way you had to open it which was a hassle. If you did not close the door in a certain way, the door would not close fully. The young lady at front desk was nice enough to try and help us open it but there was not much she could do.

By on Feb 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2020

Dear Guest: I am very sorry to hear about the difficulty you experienced during your stay with us. It is extremely uncommon for our guests not to enjoy their time here. Please note that we will definitely resolve the door lock issue before your next visit. I understand that this was an inconvenience, but hats off to our dedicated front desk lady who helped you during this situation. I do hope you give us another chance to earn your loyalty. We’d love to have another opportunity to impress you.

3
Family Family

Staff wasn't very friendly, except when we asked if we could get some extra blankets as our room only had one measly thin blanket, we were cold on the first night. We asked twice for them, once in person and the 2nd time on the phone. Both times staff said very nicely they were on their way. The blankets were never delivered, so that leads me to believe the staff were just lying to us the whole time. To their credit, the very next day we asked for the blankets a third time and house keeping finally delivered them and made our beds with them. Breakfast was terrible: A bowl of cheerios and coffee is not continental breakfast as advertised by the hotel. The hotel was a mess: Construction material and debris was all over the hotel from a recent re-model project. Hotel was very pet friendly which we liked.

By , from LA on Dec 4, 2019

1
Everyone

By on Dec 2, 2019

1
Family

The common areas were dirty as all get out. And, the key cards for our rooms and other doors kept failing.

By on Nov 14, 2019

2
Everyone

All of the common areas were very dirty. Old spit on doors. Lots of trash and stains in the halls. Faulty tv in my room.

By on Nov 3, 2019

1
Everyone

Needs a complete renovation. Checked out as soon as we saw the rooms.

By on Jul 31, 2019

3
Everyone

By on Jul 30, 2019

2
Everyone

By on Jun 18, 2019

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Eureka-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Arcata.h1106669-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Eureka-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Arcata.h1106669-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Eureka-Hotels-Red-Roof-Inn-Arcata.h1106669-p2.Hotel-Reviews