Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Ive stayed here 3 times before with no issues but this visit wasn't great. The room had a funny smell to it, the fridge was very dirty, patches all over the walls and 1 bed was unsturdy and eventually broke. When we asked about changing rooms there were no other rooms available. So then i asked about someone cleaning the fridge, we got a bunch of excuses and was going to leave a note for someone to do the next day. After explaining that we needed to use the fridge he told US to look for someone who would do it for us. The kid did an excellent job. The next morning we were woken up by the cleaning staff who were being very loud. As well as other people with dogs. The other issue i had was upon checking in, without asking they charged the card i used to reserve the room. My friend who was checking in was going to pay and when she asked the guy dont you need payment? He responded that it was already paid for online. I may or may not give this property another chance.

The room was very noisy. The heater rattled like an old freight train. Also there must have been water pipes in the walls cause it made noise every time somebody turned on water. Loud noise. Also the tv did not work properly couldn’t change the channel. Did not sleep well.

The employee was not helpful and appeared to be on drugs. There was trash piled 3 feet high outside some of the rooms, including ours. In our room, the bolt lock didn't work, the toilet wasnt secured to the floor so it moved when you sat on it, there was no drain in the shower, just a big hole, the walls were disgustingly dirty, the toilet seat was dirty and there was diarrhea or vomit down the side of the toilet, which I had to clean due to unhelpful employee (thank god I travel with lysol wipes to wipe down rooms). The floors were nasty with hair balls everywhere. It was late, we were tired and just needed rest. Then I got up to use the restroom and saw 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. We packed up and left right then.

Good value affordable hotel! It was clean and nice very close to gas, food and most important coffee. The room have a fridge but not a microwave oven. For one night was a good choice and staff was friendly and diligent.

Good, not bad.

The property itself is disgusting. There is trash, stains and signs of wear & tear everywhere you look. My first room was literally uncleaned. There were stains and long, gross hairs all over both beds and in the shower. The toilet and the shower were clearly untouched by housekeeping since the prior guest. I requested a room change and the 2nd room was a bit better. However there was an ant problem and old soap and trash left in the shower. The property is also very loud. The lighthouse horn down the street literally goes over every 10 seconds almost 24 hours a day. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

The motel did not have enough parking spaces for the amount of rooms. We got in after 6 and there was no parking. The gentleman at the front desk told us to park on the street around the motel. Our hotel room was gross. The door to bathroom had a hole in it like someone punched it and it was never fixed. There were lights in our room that were burnt out and not replaced. The window to check in was between two vending machines. If you can, stay ANYWHERE else in town. Horrible experience.

.

Staff was very friendly. We just needed a place to slewp during our trip to the Redwoods and this hotel worked fine. The upstairs neighbors were quite loud, but that isn't a fault of the establishment.

Key not working, but fixed; then AC not working, need to book another hotel, due to fully booked, but got full refund. Not a lucky night, but got a room somewhere else.

There is a nearby foghorn that sounded all night long! Not a quiet place, being right off the road.

Dirty sheets, room smelled like smoke, no microwave as promised, sketchy characters in the parking lot. Asked for a refund and left.

If you want cheap this is the place but the room was gross and dirty,they except dogs but have no where for them to go potty.the bathroom was nasty and the shower was horrible.the bed was so bad you can feel the springs.

Property is not well maintained, bathroom not clean sink broken, hole on the bathroom door..its sad we used to enjoy coming here ...

Loud heater. Worn bedding. Neighborhood doesn’t feel safe at night

Convenient location. However, this Motel 6 has the nastiest and rudest staff I have EVER encountered. They DON'T want your business and will gladly let you know it.

I was told there was a fridge in the room ,no fridge no coffe pot,there was dirty towles so we could not take a shower and bugs in and around the bed.I will never stay there again and the person ckeaning rooms was not whereing gloves so no protection of spreading the corna.

L St Crescent City CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk

Motel 6 Crescent City, CA places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Redwood National and State Parks and Jedediah Smith Redwoods State Park. This 48-room motel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a 24-hour front desk.


Rooms

Motel 6 Crescent City, CA's 48 rooms provide free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels.


Property features

Guests of Motel 6 Crescent City, CA have access to free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Kitchenette

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Motel 6 Crescent City, CA

Everyone (18) Couples (4) Family (9)
2
Friends

Ive stayed here 3 times before with no issues but this visit wasn't great. The room had a funny smell to it, the fridge was very dirty, patches all over the walls and 1 bed was unsturdy and eventually broke. When we asked about changing rooms there were no other rooms available. So then i asked about someone cleaning the fridge, we got a bunch of excuses and was going to leave a note for someone to do the next day. After explaining that we needed to use the fridge he told US to look for someone who would do it for us. The kid did an excellent job. The next morning we were woken up by the cleaning staff who were being very loud. As well as other people with dogs. The other issue i had was upon checking in, without asking they charged the card i used to reserve the room. My friend who was checking in was going to pay and when she asked the guy dont you need payment? He responded that it was already paid for online. I may or may not give this property another chance.

By on Dec 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2021

Dear Debra, Thanks for the stay. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit. I am extremely disappointed that you had an unfavorable experience due to all the reasons you have mentioned. Please be assured that I have taken this up very strongly and the concerned team has been told to ensure that such an incident is not repeated in the future. In particular, I have made a note of your concerns regarding the issues you had and such customer feedback from valued guests as yourself will be monitored from my office. Though it is our endeavor to provide the highest levels of product and service to our discerning guests, this is an unusual happening and we seem to have fallen short in this instance. Please do let me know when you plan to visit our hotel so that we can ensure your next experience is very special. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.

2
Everyone

The room was very noisy. The heater rattled like an old freight train. Also there must have been water pipes in the walls cause it made noise every time somebody turned on water. Loud noise. Also the tv did not work properly couldn’t change the channel. Did not sleep well.

By on Dec 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2021

Thank you for providing feedback. Your experience is important to us and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. Nancy Y. #Team6

1
Family

The employee was not helpful and appeared to be on drugs. There was trash piled 3 feet high outside some of the rooms, including ours. In our room, the bolt lock didn't work, the toilet wasnt secured to the floor so it moved when you sat on it, there was no drain in the shower, just a big hole, the walls were disgustingly dirty, the toilet seat was dirty and there was diarrhea or vomit down the side of the toilet, which I had to clean due to unhelpful employee (thank god I travel with lysol wipes to wipe down rooms). The floors were nasty with hair balls everywhere. It was late, we were tired and just needed rest. Then I got up to use the restroom and saw 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. We packed up and left right then.

By on Nov 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 2, 2021

Dear Anne, I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in a several areas. My apologies for all the inconveniences. We take our guest comments very seriously. Our team have taken note of the issues and are working to improve the problems areas mentioned by you. Despite your disappointment, we hope you will return to stay with us again. You can be assured of our very best attention. Sincerely Hotel Manager.

4
Family Partner Couples

Good value affordable hotel! It was clean and nice very close to gas, food and most important coffee. The room have a fridge but not a microwave oven. For one night was a good choice and staff was friendly and diligent.

By , from Coral Springs on Oct 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 27, 2021

Dear Guest, Thanks for the stay and great feedback. It is really encouraging. We feel proud when we get such reviews and motivate us to serve better. Look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

4
Family

Good, not bad.

By on Oct 8, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review about your stay at our hotel. We would like to know what we can improve to earn a 5 Star Review on your next stay. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

1
Everyone

The property itself is disgusting. There is trash, stains and signs of wear & tear everywhere you look. My first room was literally uncleaned. There were stains and long, gross hairs all over both beds and in the shower. The toilet and the shower were clearly untouched by housekeeping since the prior guest. I requested a room change and the 2nd room was a bit better. However there was an ant problem and old soap and trash left in the shower. The property is also very loud. The lighthouse horn down the street literally goes over every 10 seconds almost 24 hours a day. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

By on Sep 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 15, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We work very hard to provide the highest level of service for all of our guests which is why we cannot apologize enough for your stay being so disappointing. Please know, your feedback is very important to us and we would welcome an opportunity to learn more about the particulars of your situation, which is critical to helping us understand where we went wrong. With this in mind, if you would be kind enough to contact us, discuss and sort it out for the betterment of our services. Please reconsider and visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

4
Everyone

By on Aug 25, 2021

1
Partner Couples

The motel did not have enough parking spaces for the amount of rooms. We got in after 6 and there was no parking. The gentleman at the front desk told us to park on the street around the motel. Our hotel room was gross. The door to bathroom had a hole in it like someone punched it and it was never fixed. There were lights in our room that were burnt out and not replaced. The window to check in was between two vending machines. If you can, stay ANYWHERE else in town. Horrible experience.

By on Jul 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2021

Dear Guest,Thank you for taking the time to give us your experience. Please accept our sincere apologies on the experience that you had while staying at our property. While we never like to hear that a guest had a bad experience we are always receptive to feedback. We will review your comments with our management team to find areas of opportunity. While you mention you will not stay again, we hope you would so we can leave you with a more positive lasting impression. Sincerely,Hotel Manager

2
Family

.

By on Jul 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We work very hard to provide the highest level of service for all of our guests which is why we cannot apologize enough for your stay being so disappointing. Please know, your feedback is very important to us and we would welcome an opportunity to learn more about the particulars of your situation, which is critical to helping us understand where we went wrong. With this in mind, if you would be kind enough to contact us, discuss and sort it out for the betterment of our services. Please reconsider and visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

4
Family

Staff was very friendly. We just needed a place to slewp during our trip to the Redwoods and this hotel worked fine. The upstairs neighbors were quite loud, but that isn't a fault of the establishment.

By on Jul 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 14, 2021

Dear Guest, Thanks for the stay and great feedback. It is really encouraging. We feel proud when we get such reviews and motivate us to serve better. Look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Motel 6 Crescent City, CA

119 L St, Crescent City, CA 95531
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Crescent-City-Hotels-Motel-6-Crescent-City,-CA.h18634-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Crescent-City-Hotels-Motel-6-Crescent-City,-CA.h18634-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Crescent-City-Hotels-Motel-6-Crescent-City,-CA.h18634-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions