Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Entry door to our room did not fit tight so there was loss of heat. We ended up putting a pillow next to door to prevent outside air from coming in. Staff was just okay. Friendly, but not real friendly.

Staff was good about letting us switch rooms when first one was heavily smoked in Location is central Seems pricey for the quality, though Duluth does fill up on weekends

We were told our check-in time would be an hour later than what was posted on Orbitz. The comforter was definitely dirty. and the keycard reader on our room barely worked, had to swipe several times and say a prayer. The breakfast area was in good, clean shape though.

Close to Lake Walk and downtown resturant. Quit area.

Easy to find, location was downtown, breakfast was decent. The room smelled bad, pillows were uncomfortable(invest in queen size pillows or king, can’t sleep with their hard pillows), bathroom had mold around tiles and bathtub and we had to clean the tub up a little finding hair in it still.

I never checked in. I came to the desk asked to see a room. The front desk man showed me a room 102 next to his office. He said that would be my room. He didn’t do anything wrong. I Was traveling alone and felt uncomfortable in the hotel being open concept. The male manager was polite and kind. He didn’t say or do anything inappropriate. He was courteous, respectful and accommodating. He was handsome and I just felt an attraction from both sides. I felt it was better to not stay there. That’s the truth.

Location and room good, a little annoyed at fees I didn't realize would be tagged on and couldn't find posted anywhere on Orbitz, so my $160 room was $190 once there.

Cleaning crew smoking right outside of rooms that they are cleaning so the rooms smell like smoke.

exterior is a little run down and the location is in a questionable area. Older structure and some things seemed pretty dated.

We enjoyed our stay, yet the mattress was horrible stained which made us very interested about the cleanliness of everything else. The water pressure was low but the shower was hot. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Good location, but could have been cleaner, and not smell musty.

You couldn't pay me to stay at this facility. pictures on website are misleading.

An overnight stay in Duluth .. Late night arrival .. No problem with our paperwork .. Staff was friendly

We stayed on the second floor and there were people in the room right next to us who were very loud so we called the front desk and Michelle from front desk came and tried to stop what was going on in the room next to us the cops came at 2 at night it was 2pm to 4pm for two hours something was going on we had two little kids in the room and it was terrible yes the staff was great the hotel was good but the kind of people who were staying on the same floor either doing a bachelor party or doing some kind of drugs made the trip really terrible for us and the rest of the people for Thanksgiving weekend

Nice place to stay with a great location in downtown. Nothing too fancy but very clean and everything that you'd expect for the price. Just a few blocks from the heart of downtown and we even walked all the way down to Canal Park and the lift bridge in the snow! I would stay here again, for sure.

For the price the room could be a little better/cleaner. The woman at the front desk was friendly enough. Location is close to downtown but the parking lot is tiny so we had to park around the block which was an annoyance.

Overall we had a nice stay. Our only complaint is that the beds were too hard and seemed more like a full size than a queen size.

Decent stay & convenient location. A good value for the price.

We got there at 6:15. The clerk was totally awesome and accommodating. The room was very clean. Called down for an extra blanket, the young man came practically before I hung up the phone.

W 2nd St Duluth MN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Duluth Entertainment Convention Center and AMSOIL Arena
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Business center

Located in Downtown Duluth, The Downtown Duluth Inn is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Duluth Entertainment Convention Center and AMSOIL Arena. This 45-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a business center.


Rooms

The Downtown Duluth Inn's 45 air-conditioned rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Other standard amenities include hair dryers and desks.


Property features

The Downtown Duluth Inn features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and express check-out. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include free newspapers and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 1 Double Bed

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Downtown Duluth Inn

Everyone (12) Couples (2) Family (4)
4
Partner Couples

Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Entry door to our room did not fit tight so there was loss of heat. We ended up putting a pillow next to door to prevent outside air from coming in. Staff was just okay. Friendly, but not real friendly.

By , from Midwest on Mar 2, 2020

3
Family

Staff was good about letting us switch rooms when first one was heavily smoked in Location is central Seems pricey for the quality, though Duluth does fill up on weekends

By on Dec 13, 2019

3
Friends Business Business

We were told our check-in time would be an hour later than what was posted on Orbitz. The comforter was definitely dirty. and the keycard reader on our room barely worked, had to swipe several times and say a prayer. The breakfast area was in good, clean shape though.

By on Oct 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

I am truly sorry for the disappointment and discomfort you experienced here and offer my sincere apologies that we didn't do a better job of demonstrating our commitment to guest satisfaction.

3
Friends

Close to Lake Walk and downtown resturant. Quit area.

By on Oct 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to see you again in the future.

2
Family

Easy to find, location was downtown, breakfast was decent. The room smelled bad, pillows were uncomfortable(invest in queen size pillows or king, can’t sleep with their hard pillows), bathroom had mold around tiles and bathtub and we had to clean the tub up a little finding hair in it still.

By , from Wisconsin on Aug 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay and we will look into the issues you experienced.

3
Everyone

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry you were not happy with your stay and we will look into the issues you experienced.

1
Business Business

I never checked in. I came to the desk asked to see a room. The front desk man showed me a room 102 next to his office. He said that would be my room. He didn’t do anything wrong. I Was traveling alone and felt uncomfortable in the hotel being open concept. The male manager was polite and kind. He didn’t say or do anything inappropriate. He was courteous, respectful and accommodating. He was handsome and I just felt an attraction from both sides. I felt it was better to not stay there. That’s the truth.

By on Aug 9, 2019

4
Partner Couples

Location and room good, a little annoyed at fees I didn't realize would be tagged on and couldn't find posted anywhere on Orbitz, so my $160 room was $190 once there.

By on Jul 15, 2019

1
Family with small children Family

Cleaning crew smoking right outside of rooms that they are cleaning so the rooms smell like smoke.

By on Jul 14, 2019

3
Family

exterior is a little run down and the location is in a questionable area. Older structure and some things seemed pretty dated.

By on May 17, 2019

The Downtown Duluth Inn

131 W 2nd St, Duluth, MN 55802
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Duluth-Hotels-The-Downtown-Duluth-Inn.h23290-p2.Hotel-Reviews