Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The property was horrible . I wasn't clean outside or inside. The room they gave me had stains everywhere. I stayed in the room for 3 mins before I left to get my refund. Don't stay there. You might get a rash.

Although my room had been paid for I was offered a room with no TV or no working toilet or one where the door lock was broken. I ended up at another location where the stove did not work.

The room i booked was dirty nit disinfected knowing this virus going on i had to down grade me room and the next room was also dirty with ants i called front desk they told me to raid and sweep it myself. Da fuk Never will i return

Clean room clean bathroom the kitchen was good bonus for me

I didn't like the fact that the rooms are cleaned every 7 days. It should say that on the website and when you call. The hotel overall was unkempt. The staff was courteous.

Afforable, clean, great location, safe. Not the most fancy place in the world, but great value.

I DIDNT LIKE IT AT ALL GOT THERE GUY HANGIN OUTSIDE IN FRONT SO I WENT INSIDE THE HOTEL TO CANCEL THE LADY SAID SEE CANCELED MY RESERVATIONS BUT STILL CHARGED MY CARD, I never stayed there never even looked that ybe room and was charged full price!!!!!😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

No glasses for water available and couldn’t work the tv correctly

Quite place, close to the highway, kitchen Slow check in

The staff was friendly! There are no dishes cookware etc! Told us when I called it was all there. Got there could not get any of it! Bought food so had to go buy pots pans paper products unexpected expense. Bring ur own stuff! Key cards didn’t work in main doors waited to get in no one at front desk at night

With all due respect our stay was extremely unprofessional, disrespectful, and an experience we can do without ever again.

I liked the cost and area of my visit to an assisted living facility.

Very small bed, no drinking glasses in the room, no desk chair at the desk.. dirty wash cloths in bathroom, window wouldn’t close blew cold air in all night. No remote for the television. Overall horrible experience

horrible, poor services, loud hotel and very dirty

No front desk person most of the time. Bedbugs. Heavy smoke smell in my non smoking room. Free breckfast is grab and go, coffee, mini muffins, granola bars, instant oatmeal. No tv remote when I checked in, had to go to front desk and ask for one. Dissatisfied

The hotel was alright. Right off the highway so it was easy to find, and the small kitchenette that came with the room was a neat feature. But the bed was super hard. I felt like i was sleeping on hardwood floors. And there was some peeling and discoloration on quite a few surfaces in the room. Very friendly polite staff and the price wasnt bad either. Wish they had a little more for 'breakfast' but theres a dunkin donuts less than a mile away or you can bring groceries and cook your own (but who wants to do that...)

American Drive Southfield MI

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

Located 1.8 mi (3 km) from International Auto Components Headquarters, Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield is within a 5-minute drive of Holocaust Memorial Center. This 122-room hotel welcomes guests with in-room amenities like kitchens, refrigerators, and microwaves.


Rooms

The 122 rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Coffee makers, phones, and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and laundry facilities. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations.

Room options

Studio, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio 1 King Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield

Everyone (7) Couples (7) Business (7) Family (12) Other (3) Friends (1)
1
Family with small children Family

The property was horrible . I wasn't clean outside or inside. The room they gave me had stains everywhere. I stayed in the room for 3 mins before I left to get my refund. Don't stay there. You might get a rash.

By on Apr 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2021

Thank you for sharing your evaluation of our hotel. We work hard to provide the best and cleanest environment for all of our guests, and we sincerely apologize to have let you down. We will revisit our deep cleaning program to see where we can make improvements, so future guests are not similarly impacted. While we know that this stay did not meet all of your expectations, we are hopeful for another opportunity to welcome you back for the flawless experience you deserve. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

By on Mar 15, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Jun 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2020

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America and for the five-star rating. We are thrilled to know we met all your expectations and you had a great stay. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family

Although my room had been paid for I was offered a room with no TV or no working toilet or one where the door lock was broken. I ended up at another location where the stove did not work.

By on May 4, 2020

Review comment responded on May 5, 2020

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are truly sorry that the condition of your room was not up to par, and we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we want to let you know we are already working to address the problems you mentioned. Our maintenance team conducts routine maintenance throughout the hotel on a regular structured program basis. Your review highlights where we need to refocus our efforts, and I assure you we will. We hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance so we can leave you with a much better impression on your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

The room i booked was dirty nit disinfected knowing this virus going on i had to down grade me room and the next room was also dirty with ants i called front desk they told me to raid and sweep it myself. Da fuk Never will i return

By , from Southfield, MI on Apr 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2020

Brandy, thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the condition of your room when you arrived. We work diligently to make sure all of our rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable upon check-in, and we obviously fell short in your case. Your feedback has been shared with the team so appropriate measures can be taken to keep such mistakes from happening again. We encourage you to try us again in the near future, and we are confident you will enjoy a better stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Family with small children Partner Couples

Clean room clean bathroom the kitchen was good bonus for me

By , from Detroit mi on Mar 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2020

Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We are pleased to know how much you liked your well-equipped, clean room! We want your stay with us to feel like home and be as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Family

I didn't like the fact that the rooms are cleaned every 7 days. It should say that on the website and when you call. The hotel overall was unkempt. The staff was courteous.

By on Jan 3, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2020

Thank you for your review. We are sorry for your disappointment with our hotel policy and regret knowing the information on our website pertaining to our housekeeping policy went unseen by you. Please note the website mentions, For 8 or more night stays: One "full service" housekeeping is provided each week. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. We will also ensure our front desk staff clearly communicates our services to all guests going forward. We understand the frustration and sincerely hope you will provide us another opportunity to serve you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Business Business

Afforable, clean, great location, safe. Not the most fancy place in the world, but great value.

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 6, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay at Extended Stay America. We are delighted to know you had a great time with us and that you were impressed with our ideal location, well-kept property, as well as the value we offer. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you again for another memorable experience! Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Family Family

I DIDNT LIKE IT AT ALL GOT THERE GUY HANGIN OUTSIDE IN FRONT SO I WENT INSIDE THE HOTEL TO CANCEL THE LADY SAID SEE CANCELED MY RESERVATIONS BUT STILL CHARGED MY CARD, I never stayed there never even looked that ybe room and was charged full price!!!!!😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡😡

By on Nov 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 18, 2019

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family Family

No glasses for water available and couldn’t work the tv correctly

By on Oct 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 26, 2019

Tash, thank you for your review. We apologize for the difficulties you faced and for your disappointment during your stay. Please note, to ensure the cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites, and our team gladly delivers them to your suite. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will remind our front desk to communicate this more clearly going forward. We hope you will consider a return visit as we would love the opportunity to make it up to you. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America - Detroit - Southfield

26250 American Drive, Southfield, MI 48034
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Detroit---Southfield.h906548-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Detroit-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Detroit---Southfield.h906548-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Detroit-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Detroit---Southfield.h906548-p2.Hotel-Reviews