Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Ramada Hotel Des Moines Airport

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

It was an okay hotel, had the things you needed. Could stay there again.

Wonderful, friendly desk staff, clean comfortable room and nice breakfast. Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed at the Ramada as part of a Sleep, Park, and Fly package. Some areas of the hotel are being remodeled, so it was a bit of a maze to find our room. The room was overall OK but stuffy. On our way back from our family vacation, we called the hotel shuttle and after confirm the pick-up they left us waiting for at least an hour. Called the hotel again and their driver had left for the day. We ended up taking a cab; they reimbursed the expense. Next morning, we attempted to contact the front desk from our room; phone was not working, the internet was not working. Asked a hotel employee about these issues and his reply was: "Well, the phone system is crap. We are changing all of it. Don't you have a cellphone?" Not exactly the response I was expecting; there was not timeline for the internet service to be reinstated. The front desk and sales staff were helpful and apologetic. Their sales manager even drove to the restaurant we had breakfast in and paid our bill. So, overall 50/50. Not my 1st choice, would only go back if nothing else was available.

The 1st night was great. We had our dog and staff was great and treated as well as greeted our dog. Unforseen circumstances required us to stay a 2nd night. Understandable that the suite we had the previous night was taken. Plus we did not have our dog. The room was awful, bathroom still had hair from previous tenant. A cargo van parked sideways prevented us from parking close to our room. In turned , got soaked walking all the way around building. The staff working desk basically called me a liar about pubic hair left in shower and had to "check" before believing.

Bathroom needs repainted, can see wall patches...other than that was nice.

Hotel under construction, I tried to cancel my room and they wouldn't allow it. Upon checking in, they offer a measly coupon for 1/2 an appetizer or a drink due to the construction and lack of pool and restaurant.

I normally stay at 4+ star hotels but due to a event at that hotel o had to stay there. I was scared of dirty rundown hotel but better than I expected. Walked into room and pulled sheets up. Clean. Pulled matress up-clean. Pool area nice and big. Rooms comfy. Didn't try restaurant. Staff was a little snotty. Locked us out of our room at 11am even though we had late check out till 1. So that unconvieienced us. Tub had mold in it and a bug rolled out of shower curtain when I opened it. Gross. But what do you expect from a ramada.? I was very surprised staff spoke English.

The hotel met my expectations. There were a couple minor maintenance issues with the room like a non-functional desk lamp and loose wall outlet, but they did not affect my comfort or work needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

We checked in , go our room, went to check it out. It was 95 outside and about 80 in the hotel hallway. We got to our room on the second floor, opened the door, air conditioner was running, but the room was not cool. Went to the front desk and got our room switched, problem solved. Went to check out the restaurant and it was just as warm as the hallways. Didn't eat there. Decided to go check out the pool and couldn't get pasted the door. The temperature was over 100. It looks as if making it an indoor pool was an after though as all the rooms around the pool had their a/c units pumping their hot air into the pool area, so the first room we had was pulling the hot air into it's outside air from the pool area. I mention the pool to the front desk and was told that many guest had complained about the a/c & pool area. I would not recommend this hotel until those areas were fixed. Good thing, it is next to the airport and is it very well sound proof.

We were in Des Moines visiting friends. The Ramada at the airport proved to be a perfect place to stay. It was clean and comfortable And the staff were friendly and accommodating. We will be certain to stay there the next time that we are in town.

dropped in for an overnight stay on a long trip - great comfortable room...

The location is excellent! I had a peaceful night's rest and the staff was very friendly.

The room was clean and comfortable - great bed and lots of pillows! The pool was open and newly re-done. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. WiFi was good for checking email and simple surfing. Breakfast was good, too - just wish it stayed open until 10:00 - especially on the weekend. It was nice to have Bennigan's in the hotel, but again, wish it was open later (at least the bar). Overall - wonderful experience and I will definitely stay there again!

Nothing fancy, good enough for a business trip and somewhere to sleep.

This hotel looks nicer In pics than it actually is. The reason I booked here was because they advertised a pool and hot tub but when I got there and checked in, there was a sign that said the pool, gym, and hot tub were closed for renovations. I was upset once I saw that.

I picked the hotel because the website mentioned that they had both a pool and a hot tub to use during my stay. When I got there though, I was informed that they were both down for remodeling even though it was not mentioned on the hotels site. Also had issues with the free wifi that I should have had in my room. Only worked part if the time. When I asked the desk person about it she said that they have issues where it only works part time and the best place to use it would be the lobby. Was disappointed and would prob stay at a different hotel next time.

Room was old nothing like the photo on line, no flat screen tv no wifi in our room... Bed was great! I'll check this place out again once all the updates are done.

This was a last minute weather related hotel reservation that I wanted to keep <$100, but better than a cheep cheep hotel. The hotel was generally nice. Overall, it could use some renovation. Hallway carpet is faded and worn. Shower needs replacement or at least a floor mat - it actually had spots of rust in its damage bottom. And I really think there's no excuse in 2013 for a hotel to still have CRT televisions. But the room was clean and quite spacious. It certainly met my last minute needs. The staff was very nive, and very apologetic over a room assignment snafu.

If all you need is a place to sleep then this is it. Although the rooms look into the pool so if you need to go to bed before the pool closes (if it does) then you're out of luck with all the screaming and splashing. Room is small and dated. Half the rooms are under construction. We waited in line for an half hour to check in. Close to airport, but that's it.

Nothing but good things to say. I wasn't much the fan of Bennigans but they have one attached to the Hotel for dining and a certificate was given from the Hotel for a small buffet breakfast at that restaurant for the morning.

1810 Army Post Road Des Moines IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Free airport shuttle

Ramada Hotel Des Moines Airport places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Blank Park Zoo and Fort Des Moines Museum. This 140-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an indoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's near the airport and also close to A. H. Blank Golf Course and Southridge Mall.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM.


Rooms

The 140 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of Ramada Hotel Des Moines Airport have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available on request). Helpful staff can provide dry cleaning/laundry services, concierge services, and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Additional amenities include 7 meeting rooms, a conference center, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Ramada Hotel Des Moines Airport

Everyone (7) Business (4) Couples (7) Family (5) Other (5)
3
Everyone

It was an okay hotel, had the things you needed. Could stay there again.

By on Feb 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2017

Thank you for your review of our property! We are glad you liked the room. Please come back and stay with us again.

4

very nice hotel near airport

Everyone

Wonderful, friendly desk staff, clean comfortable room and nice breakfast. Will definitely stay there again!

By on Feb 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2017

Thank you for your review of our hotel! We are glad you will be back to stay again!

2

a 50/50 experience

Everyone

Stayed at the Ramada as part of a Sleep, Park, and Fly package. Some areas of the hotel are being remodeled, so it was a bit of a maze to find our room. The room was overall OK but stuffy. On our way back from our family vacation, we called the hotel shuttle and after confirm the pick-up they left us waiting for at least an hour. Called the hotel again and their driver had left for the day. We ended up taking a cab; they reimbursed the expense. Next morning, we attempted to contact the front desk from our room; phone was not working, the internet was not working. Asked a hotel employee about these issues and his reply was: "Well, the phone system is crap. We are changing all of it. Don't you have a cellphone?" Not exactly the response I was expecting; there was not timeline for the internet service to be reinstated. The front desk and sales staff were helpful and apologetic. Their sales manager even drove to the restaurant we had breakfast in and paid our bill. So, overall 50/50. Not my 1st choice, would only go back if nothing else was available.

By on Jan 12, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 16, 2017

Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are in the process of updating our phone systems and I apologize that you did not have a working phone. I also apologize for the way that you were spoken to and we will most certainly address that. I also apologize for the wait on the shuttle driver that is not how we want to treat our guests. Glad our sales team was helpful and took care of your breakfast. Please come back and give us another chance once the remodel is completed. Thank you again for the review, we do read all of them and grow and learn from them as well.

2

the 1st nite great, 2nd nite awful

Everyone

The 1st night was great. We had our dog and staff was great and treated as well as greeted our dog. Unforseen circumstances required us to stay a 2nd night. Understandable that the suite we had the previous night was taken. Plus we did not have our dog. The room was awful, bathroom still had hair from previous tenant. A cargo van parked sideways prevented us from parking close to our room. In turned , got soaked walking all the way around building. The staff working desk basically called me a liar about pubic hair left in shower and had to "check" before believing.

By on Nov 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2016

Thank you for your review of our property! We will address the housekeeping and guest service issue. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return.

3
Everyone

Bathroom needs repainted, can see wall patches...other than that was nice.

By on Oct 3, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 18, 2016

Thank you for your review! We are working through a punch list now on all the completed rooms so we can make sure everything is perfect in them.

1
Everyone

Hotel under construction, I tried to cancel my room and they wouldn't allow it. Upon checking in, they offer a measly coupon for 1/2 an appetizer or a drink due to the construction and lack of pool and restaurant.

By , from Iowa on May 13, 2016

4

better than i expected.

Everyone

I normally stay at 4+ star hotels but due to a event at that hotel o had to stay there. I was scared of dirty rundown hotel but better than I expected. Walked into room and pulled sheets up. Clean. Pulled matress up-clean. Pool area nice and big. Rooms comfy. Didn't try restaurant. Staff was a little snotty. Locked us out of our room at 11am even though we had late check out till 1. So that unconvieienced us. Tub had mold in it and a bug rolled out of shower curtain when I opened it. Gross. But what do you expect from a ramada.? I was very surprised staff spoke English.

By , from iowa on Mar 6, 2016

4

basic business trip

BusinessTravelers

The hotel met my expectations. There were a couple minor maintenance issues with the room like a non-functional desk lamp and loose wall outlet, but they did not affect my comfort or work needs. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

By on Aug 6, 2015

1

not what we expected from a ramada

Couples

We checked in , go our room, went to check it out. It was 95 outside and about 80 in the hotel hallway. We got to our room on the second floor, opened the door, air conditioner was running, but the room was not cool. Went to the front desk and got our room switched, problem solved. Went to check out the restaurant and it was just as warm as the hallways. Didn't eat there. Decided to go check out the pool and couldn't get pasted the door. The temperature was over 100. It looks as if making it an indoor pool was an after though as all the rooms around the pool had their a/c units pumping their hot air into the pool area, so the first room we had was pulling the hot air into it's outside air from the pool area. I mention the pool to the front desk and was told that many guest had complained about the a/c & pool area. I would not recommend this hotel until those areas were fixed. Good thing, it is next to the airport and is it very well sound proof.

By on Jul 21, 2015

5

enjoyed our stay.

Couples

We were in Des Moines visiting friends. The Ramada at the airport proved to be a perfect place to stay. It was clean and comfortable And the staff were friendly and accommodating. We will be certain to stay there the next time that we are in town.

By on Jan 24, 2015