Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Pool was not available, no breakfast and poor communication by staff at this facility.

Attentive and friendly staff, nice hot tub in our suite, clean room, great breakfast buffet

Nice pool. Terrible room due to bathroom and other area of room.

Just a bed for the night and breakfast in the morning which was an epic fail no OJ. Also they did not like that I had booked though Orbitz.

The hotel was nice, typical major chain hotel. Free buffet breakfast was Ok, but nothing great.

Check in process was fast. Front desk employee was very nice. Room was clean, only issue is not enough lighting in room. Pretty dark. Went to pool on second night checked to make sure there were towels in area which there wasn't. Asked front desk girl for some her response was we dont have any. You dont have any towels? No they're all dirty and it will take 40 minutes to wash and 30 to dry. I said then i suggest you start washing some. Can we have room towels instead? Yes and 15 minutes she brought them out to pool. When we left the pool 3hrs later still no towels

Everything and everyone was great, I had a wonderful time. I only wish that children where monitored while in the hotel, there were loud children running up and down the hallway and stairs till very late and then again very early in the morning.

Have no complaints except for the shower. It was a handicapped access shower which meant water was all over floor after my shower. The was also no exhaust fan to help remove moisture buildup for the hot shower. Other then that, this hotel was excellent! Friendly staff, exceptionally room and a better then average hot breakfast buffet.

Great hotel - clean & comfortable room. Great breakfast. Pool & pool area very clean. Staff very nice & helpful. Excellent for family trips.

Fantastic, reasonably priced, no complaints, room was clean, this was one of, if not the best motel I have ever stayed in. Employees were outstanding, very accomodating. I was in town for a job interview & travel arrangements were done about 1 week prior to my arrival. I would recommend this motel to anyone who asks.....

We had a great time and although the room was a smoking room the smell was okay and breakfast was terrific. Quiet room with everything that we needed.

Stayed overnight while looking at RV's. Enjoyed the pool and hottub. Friendly people at front counter. Chips Resterant and Bar delivered great pizza to the room and it was delicious. Will look for more of these Motels as we travel.

SE Oralabor Road Ankeny IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

AmericInn by Wyndham Ankeny/Des Moines is located 2 mi (3.3 km) from Des Moines Area Community College and within a 10-minute drive of Otter Creek Golf Course. This 57-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

49-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

AmericInn by Wyndham Ankeny/Des Moines offers an indoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a business center, a microwave in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Superior Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 5

Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Deluxe Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (Deluxe Efficiency)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for AmericInn by Wyndham Ankeny/Des Moines

Everyone (9) Couples (1) Family (7) Other (1) Friends (1)
3
Everyone

By on May 8, 2022

5
Everyone

By on Apr 4, 2022

5
Everyone

By on Aug 10, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Mar 25, 2021

1
Family Friends Business Business

Pool was not available, no breakfast and poor communication by staff at this facility.

By , from Ankeny IA on Jul 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2020

We apologize that you did not have a great stay. Though our pool may have been close do to Governer orders, we do have "Grab and Go" Breakfasts at the front desk for all of our guests. We understand that it is not the great breakfast that you have come to love from us, and hope that the restrictions will be lifted soon so that we may provide that same great breakfast every morning.

4
Everyone

By on Sep 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

4
Family

Attentive and friendly staff, nice hot tub in our suite, clean room, great breakfast buffet

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our provided amenities and the staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope to see you again when returning to the area.

2
Partner Couples Family

Nice pool. Terrible room due to bathroom and other area of room.

By on Aug 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room and bathroom during your stay at our property, but am pleased to hear you got a chance to enjoy our pool area during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you when returning to the area.

2
Everyone

Just a bed for the night and breakfast in the morning which was an epic fail no OJ. Also they did not like that I had booked though Orbitz.

By on Jun 24, 2019

3
Family Family

The hotel was nice, typical major chain hotel. Free buffet breakfast was Ok, but nothing great.

By on Jun 3, 2019

AmericInn by Wyndham Ankeny/Des Moines

1610 SE Oralabor Road, Ankeny, IA 50021
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Ankeny/Des-Moines.h861837-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Ankeny/Des-Moines.h861837-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Ankeny/Des-Moines.h861837-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions