Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Did not like the room, a lot of Noise. Internet not working, there was nobody to help. The hotel said breakfast provided but only bread provided there was no tea. The orange/grape drink was 90% water and 10% juice. For me it was a waste of money staying at the hotel.

It's trying really hard to be nice, but the bed was literally 4 inches lower in the middle than it was on the sides - and yes, I know the meaning of literally. The furniture is old and beat up and everything just feels flat and environment free. There was no hair dryer in the bathroom. Lots of road noise on the IH35 side, but that doesn't both us personally, it provides a nice white noise for sleeping. Internet was fine. Check in too way longer than it should have considering they had all of our information and we were the only ones there. Took 7-8 minutes. I can't imagine what it'd be like if it was busy. Plenty of parking that felt fairly safe. Close to a Waffle House though they did give us breakfast tickets, which we did not use. This could be a nice property, but it just lacked character. The prescense of an accounting/tax office in the lobby seemed very odd and out of place. The room was fairly clean beyond the shabby appointments. Ice machine on our floor didn't work, so we had to go down one level. We're not hotel snobs by any stretch of the imagination, and the price was fairly low for this one. Just know that you get what you pay for and you'll be OK. You'll feel safe, and if you enjoy taco shaped beds - you'll love it.

The air conditions are very loud and obnoxious and the ceiling tiles in the room are coming down and there is PVC Pipe running through the room. There was hair & nails left in the bed and in the bathroom. The hall ways smelled of Marijuana the first floor hallway was flooded with water when you walked through it water would splash from the carpet. The pictures that they have posted on here are the true meaning of FALSE ADVERTISEMENT! I will NEVER stay at or recommend this place again!

It was tbe best hotel. I think its the best hotel i think it was the best hotel

Location was important. The carpet needed replacement. The sheets didn't fit the bed, and came off. The chairs were dirty, needed replacement. Sink in bathroom leaked when turned on, toilet took about 10 minutes to refill. Water damage in the bathroom.

I asked for small towels and never got them. I asked 3 times. And there was a roach in the bathroom.

wasn't too impressed with this hotel..check-in took awhile, its located right by an inside club, so people are constantly walking in and out or hanging out in lobby..the hotel looks nice but is not well maintained..the elevator buttons did not work properly and took awhile.the ice machine was broke .also the lock for the outside door was broke, so i felt anyone could just walk in..there were people outside in parking lot just hanging out.the inside of hotel is large, pretty, clean, and well kept..i like that they have an indoor swimming pool and a jungle gym for kids .our rooms were clean and comfortable, no complaints there.

The hotel was awful. I'm confident that they have a bed bug infestation...

Checking in was good, the young lady was helpful but seemed anxious and unsure of herself, in checking in a guest with a prepaid reservation. My room was good and clean as was the bathroom. The television did not work nor did the coffee maker or room phone. Being late not a worry, thought I could remedy the problem in the morning. Went to the restaurant, ordered a Cheese burger and fries, was good, as was the staff. Then went to the lounge, the bar tender as friendly as he was was not accommodating to a hotel guest but more for the normal clientele that was there, also the seating was limited around the bar area and in the lounge. The bar tender required a CC told for my drinks as I was running a tab, no problem, except he left my card in the open on top of a register until my second order, 20 minuets later, then he concealed my card, great security and ID theft potential, to which he was oblivious to. The next morning went to the desk to resolve my TV, Coffee maker and phone problems, the middle aged/early elderly person behind the counter was initially helpful, but 30 minuets later was most disrespectful, when I inquired about the arrival of the maintenance person who was to remedy my problems. I asked when the maintenance person would be coming, and the person started to kneel and placed his fingers on his head and said "2:10 sec". I left. Still did not get a working coffee maker. Pools and Spa were COLD and dirty with debris. Not a Good pace to stay, unless last resort.

Mildew in shower, ceiling tiles falling, carpet in hall with big rips, tub and bathroom floor nasty, hallway smelled horrible and the room was worse. Pool closed because of unrelated event without notice, which sucked because we only stayed another night so the kids could swim and rest before driving home. Would rather make the 3 hour drive on the day of the event rather than rent a room here again.

loud,staff tried to enter our room at 1 am said we called about ac we didnt. Knocked only once used staff key to enter stop by chain...Not happy....

The room was clean and comfortable. After a hard day of public speaking I really needed to relax. This hotel provided a quiet atmosphere. I was able to really wind down with a swim before retiring for the night. I'll definitely come here again.

I was very displeased with the cleanliness of our room. There was a piece of tissue on the bathroom floor, by the trash can, that had blood on it. When we were checking out, I looked under the sofa to see if anything had been pushed under there and there was trash under it. I just hope the sheets were clean............ As far as the room, it was just okay. The bed was comfy, but I don't get why they have a pull out sofa bed if they don't have extra linens available in the room? That was kind of frustrating! The TV said there is an online checkout process, which we tried to use. I called the front desk to inquire and she said there isn't one, that we'll have to check out at the desk.

The hotel has great customer service and good breakfast. All staff members was very polite and the children really enjoyed themselves as well as the parents. My only complaint was the first room the A/C was linking and blowing out hot air but after we inform the desk we was moved to another immediately.

love this place. great family fun. pool. food. comfy. yay

From the outside this hotel is deceiving. It's actually nice inside. Lounge couches everywhere are uber comfy leather. Love the free cocktail hour.1/2. The breakfast buffet is better than decent. The pool is heated. The kids love the pool, hot tub, an play area. Play ping ping and foos ball (leave your room key with the front dear to borrow the balls. Room is comfy. Bathrooms prob need an update. Staff is nice if your nice to them. So be nice just to be nice. Have fun!

N I 35 E DeSoto TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Magnuson Grand Desoto places you within a 15-minute drive of popular attractions such as Dallas Zoo and Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center. This 149-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM. In addition to a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, there's also a sports bar. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or meet other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

All 149 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding and down comforters ensure a restful night. Other standard amenities include free weekday newspapers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Magnuson Grand Desoto features a nightclub, an indoor pool, and a 24-hour fitness center. Free parking is available if you drive. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and concierge services. Other amenities at this family-friendly hotel include a spa tub, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space.

Room options

Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 10

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Magnuson Grand Desoto

Everyone (11) Couples (3) Business (3) Family (8) Friends (2) Other (1)
1
Partner Couples Families

Did not like the room, a lot of Noise. Internet not working, there was nobody to help. The hotel said breakfast provided but only bread provided there was no tea. The orange/grape drink was 90% water and 10% juice. For me it was a waste of money staying at the hotel.

By on Sep 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto we do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and hope you have a better stay if you choose to stay with us again

4
Everyone

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and hope you have a better stay if you choose to stay with us again

2
Families Business Business Travelers

It's trying really hard to be nice, but the bed was literally 4 inches lower in the middle than it was on the sides - and yes, I know the meaning of literally. The furniture is old and beat up and everything just feels flat and environment free. There was no hair dryer in the bathroom. Lots of road noise on the IH35 side, but that doesn't both us personally, it provides a nice white noise for sleeping. Internet was fine. Check in too way longer than it should have considering they had all of our information and we were the only ones there. Took 7-8 minutes. I can't imagine what it'd be like if it was busy. Plenty of parking that felt fairly safe. Close to a Waffle House though they did give us breakfast tickets, which we did not use. This could be a nice property, but it just lacked character. The prescense of an accounting/tax office in the lobby seemed very odd and out of place. The room was fairly clean beyond the shabby appointments. Ice machine on our floor didn't work, so we had to go down one level. We're not hotel snobs by any stretch of the imagination, and the price was fairly low for this one. Just know that you get what you pay for and you'll be OK. You'll feel safe, and if you enjoy taco shaped beds - you'll love it.

By , from Liberty Hill, TX on May 22, 2019

Review comment responded on May 23, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto we do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and hope you have a better stay if you choose to stay with us again

1
Everyone

By on Apr 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto we do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and hope you have a better stay if you choose to stay with us again

1
Family with small children

The air conditions are very loud and obnoxious and the ceiling tiles in the room are coming down and there is PVC Pipe running through the room. There was hair & nails left in the bed and in the bathroom. The hall ways smelled of Marijuana the first floor hallway was flooded with water when you walked through it water would splash from the carpet. The pictures that they have posted on here are the true meaning of FALSE ADVERTISEMENT! I will NEVER stay at or recommend this place again!

By on Apr 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto we do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where we can improve and hope you have a better stay if you choose to stay with us again

4
Everyone

By on Mar 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2019

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto and we thank you for your feedback and we hope we can make your stay even better next time

4
Everyone

It was tbe best hotel. I think its the best hotel i think it was the best hotel

By on Dec 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2018

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto and we thank you for your feedback and we hope we can make your stay even better next time

5
Everyone

By on Dec 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2018

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto and we thank you for your feedback and we hope we can make your stay even better next time

2

close to my sister's house.

Everyone

Location was important. The carpet needed replacement. The sheets didn't fit the bed, and came off. The chairs were dirty, needed replacement. Sink in bathroom leaked when turned on, toilet took about 10 minutes to refill. Water damage in the bathroom.

By , from Colorado Springs on Aug 24, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2018

We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Magnuson Grand Desoto and we thank you for your feedback and we hope we can make your stay even better next time

1
Everyone

I asked for small towels and never got them. I asked 3 times. And there was a roach in the bathroom.

By on Mar 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2018

Thank you for your recent feedback we will work to address best way appropriate thank you again

Magnuson Grand Desoto

1515 N I 35 E, DeSoto, TX 75115
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Dallas-Hotels-Magnuson-Grand-Desoto.h92-p2.Hotel-Reviews