Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We got in the room about 2A.M. and around 3:30 the police was knocking on all the doors looking for someone. People fighting in the halls and no parking near the room. The facility needs to be updated.

I was sooo disappointed. I had stayed there before in a regular room and wasn't impressed. For the convenience I thought I would try again. This time I selected one of the train cars. It was beyond horrible. Stains on the carpet. The bedding on the day bed was OLD and possibly from the 70's, the sheet and blanket were showing from underneath. THE WORST part was I froze!!! I had the heat up as high as it would go and had to get two blankets down to resemble anything like warmth. The mattress was sooo uncomfortable. I wouldn't speculate on how old it was. It reminded me of high school spring break and the quality of the rooms at Panama City. The hot water was non existent, it was cold after filling the tub 3 inches. There was a small heater in the bathroom THANKFULLY, and I had to turn it on for 15 minutes before I could consider bathing. The entire experience was unfortunate, A train car, how absolutely romantic and different or so I thought. I will NEVER stay there again.

This is a great experience for kids to be able to spend the night in a train car. The hotel is a Construction work of art. If your into old buildings this place is for you.

I love this hotel because of its history and location. The hotel and property needs a little bit of love but nothing that would really concern me. The location is perfection because it's next to the carta bus and around a lot of great restaurants that are easily with in walking distance. Will definitely be back.

We did not stay room was terrible, hole in door filled with putty, this place should be condemned!

In a supposedly renovated room where the toilet rocks back and forth. No parking near the restaurant. Watch out for glass walls..No warning stickers.

My room was clean and updated. The outside is a little more outdated, but staff was wonderful! Close to everything downtown.

We booked a room on the train. When we checked in we were told it wasn't available. At checkout, they thought we were on train and wondered why. But no apology. Restaurants were terrific though

It was a fun 1 night trip. All you need is right on site. Love the history

Spent half the day just wondering around the hotel ...lots to see and do

Easy access to all attractions especially downtown with quik shuttle system

Was not very nice. Rooms old. Wouldn't go back. Front desk staff nice. Time to renovate.

The main building and the part of the lobby that wasn't under construction (surprise!) were beautiful. The bar and bathrooms in the lobby are clean and nice. Out back they have an adorable giant games set-up wth chess and checkers next to the train cars. Further back than that is the dreaded building 3. This throwback from decades ago needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The odd Asian theme has no relation to trains or the lobby at all. The rooms were as clean as the housekeeping staff could keep them. The carpet on our balcony (why?) was stained and the patio furniture was ragged. The door to the balcony made loud screeching noises every time we moved it, which was no small feat. The room curtains were stained with who knows what, as was the shower curtain. While showering, please be aware the water goes from warm to boiling to cold all on its own. When I complained to the front desk about the above list of issues, they kindly refunded the $10 parking fee which was ridiculous considering how much I paid for 3 king suites. If we were in town for more than 16 hours, I would've changed to another hotel. Even the neon lights were missing from the iconic sign. It's a shame this historic place isn't maintaining the integrity it once had.

The main lobby is nice, though we were not notified of construction in half of it. It's historic looking and clean. Beautiful bar and bathrooms in the lobby too. The train set up outside and the games looked family friendly. We stayed in building 3 in the far back lot, furthest from the train station lobby main building. This building did not feel anything like Chattanooga or a train theme. The bottom floor looked like renovations had begun, but the 4th floor was gross. While the bed and bathroom were clean enough (housekeeping doing their job well) the curtains and carpet were stained. The markers on the room doors were Aisan themed (?) and the sliding glass doors were very hard to slide and made a loud screech every time you moved them. The building needs to be totally gutted. Also, for the money we spent to stay there, it's ridiculous that they had an additional parking fee. The lot was huge and the hotel was certainly not full during off season (April). When I complained to the front desk they offered to refund the $10 parking fee. I honestly expected more since I had booked 3 king suites. Idle we were in town for more than 15 hours I would've changed hotels.

Terrible place, run down rooms awful and way overpriced

Great place to stay, next time I think we'll stay in one of those train cars

We were seeing The Infamous Stringdusters at Track 29 and knew it would be a late night. We decided to go ahead and stay in Downtown Chattanooga, and booked the Choo Choo since it was close. We told the front desk staff that we would be going to Track 29, so she put us in the building that was closest to the venue (I think she knew it would be really cold by the time the show was over). Boy was I glad that I had a short walk back to the room! Brrrrrr! The room was clean and one of the largest ones I've ever had for the price. It had a great balcony that overlooked the pool with waterfall. Wish it would have been warmer, I may have stayed another day! Great value for the money, great friendly staff! The hotel is older, but I think that adds charm! Highly recommended!

We hade the worst night of our lives, the room was so old, the smell was so bad, the bad and pillow was so old.

This hotel has many historical features, but is rather run down and in a poor location.

We've stayed here twice because our toddler LOVES trains. The property is very cool - old and historic. The rooms definitely show their age, though.

1400 Market Street Chattanooga TN

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Indoor pool

Located in Downtown Chattanooga, Chattanooga Choo Choo is adjacent to Songbirds Guitar Museum and within a 10-minute stroll of Hart Gallery. This 145-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 3 restaurants, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. It's in central Chattanooga and also a short walk from Coker Tire Museum and Miller Plaza.


Dining

This hotel is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to noon.


Rooms

All of Chattanooga Choo Choo's 145 rooms are recently renovated and have an array of amenities, including coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and ironing boards. TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Desks and free toiletries are also standard.


Property features

Renovated in 2015, Chattanooga Choo Choo offers an indoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and 10 meeting rooms. If you drive, self parking is USD 7 per night, or you can take advantage of the free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and concierge services. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include conference space, a business center, and express check-out.

Guest reviews for Chattanooga Choo Choo

Everyone (15) Couples (43) Business (5) Family (45) Friends (5) Other (3)
1
Everyone

We got in the room about 2A.M. and around 3:30 the police was knocking on all the doors looking for someone. People fighting in the halls and no parking near the room. The facility needs to be updated.

By on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We're so very sorry that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are currently in the renovation process and are work diligently.

1

the worst "best" hotel.

Everyone

I was sooo disappointed. I had stayed there before in a regular room and wasn't impressed. For the convenience I thought I would try again. This time I selected one of the train cars. It was beyond horrible. Stains on the carpet. The bedding on the day bed was OLD and possibly from the 70's, the sheet and blanket were showing from underneath. THE WORST part was I froze!!! I had the heat up as high as it would go and had to get two blankets down to resemble anything like warmth. The mattress was sooo uncomfortable. I wouldn't speculate on how old it was. It reminded me of high school spring break and the quality of the rooms at Panama City. The hot water was non existent, it was cold after filling the tub 3 inches. There was a small heater in the bathroom THANKFULLY, and I had to turn it on for 15 minutes before I could consider bathing. The entire experience was unfortunate, A train car, how absolutely romantic and different or so I thought. I will NEVER stay there again.

By , from Knoxville, TN on Mar 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2018

We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had while staying with us, and that your stay was unsatisfactory.

5

kids loved it!!!

Everyone

This is a great experience for kids to be able to spend the night in a train car. The hotel is a Construction work of art. If your into old buildings this place is for you.

By , from Eureka Illinois on Mar 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 8, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us!

4

great location. needs tlc

Everyone

I love this hotel because of its history and location. The hotel and property needs a little bit of love but nothing that would really concern me. The location is perfection because it's next to the carta bus and around a lot of great restaurants that are easily with in walking distance. Will definitely be back.

By , from Tampa, Fl on Mar 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the middle of renovations with plans to bring the property back to its full potential.

1

never again!!!

Everyone

We did not stay room was terrible, hole in door filled with putty, this place should be condemned!

By , from raleigh NC on Dec 25, 2017

3

not renovated

Everyone

In a supposedly renovated room where the toilet rocks back and forth. No parking near the restaurant. Watch out for glass walls..No warning stickers.

By on Dec 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 19, 2017

We're so very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. We will share this information with our staff. If at some time you could contact the hotel directly and let us know what room you were in so we can get the issues resolved, it would be greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had while staying with us.

4

super-friendly staff, close to great restaurants.

Everyone

My room was clean and updated. The outside is a little more outdated, but staff was wonderful! Close to everything downtown.

By , from nc on Nov 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 23, 2017

Thank you for staying with us, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We are currently still under renovations, so there are still improvements to be made. Thank you for your feedback!

3

didappoinyed

Everyone

We booked a room on the train. When we checked in we were told it wasn't available. At checkout, they thought we were on train and wondered why. But no apology. Restaurants were terrific though

By on May 2, 2017

4
Everyone

It was a fun 1 night trip. All you need is right on site. Love the history

By on Jan 31, 2017

5

lots to see

Everyone

Spent half the day just wondering around the hotel ...lots to see and do

By on Sep 29, 2016