Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I liked how the layout of the hotel, it felt more like an apartment style. I disliked how small the area (of grass) was to walk my dog.

Conveniently located near UNC Charlotte Campus. Safe location.

The location is close to many food places and to where I needed to go. What I didn't like was that it is right by the train crossing so you hear the dinging bells early in the morning, it is not a good walking location but handy if you want to use the metro system,

Plenty of space for a family of 4. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The worst thing about the hotel was not enough parking, at least on our side of the property. After a long evening with family we got back to the hotel only to find that every parking space was taken. We had to park at the opposite end of the compound. This is not a big enough problem to remove a star but just something to keep in mind. It shouldn’t be a deal breaker.. we will definitely stay here again.

The location was perfect for our stay, and the room was spacious and comfortable. There was an issue with the boiler for our room and we were without hot water the first morning, but the staff had people working on it late the night before and early that morning, and were very supportive of getting us a new room as quickly as was convenient for us. I was very pleased with my interactions with the hotel staff and was very satisfied with my stay.

Always excellent been there 4 times never dissatisfied always clean and bright friendly staff plenty of parking.

I was pleasantly surprised, great kitchen with all the tools needed to eat in, I didn't have to go to a restaurant. I ate in everynight. I was very pleased with the hotel overall.

Enjoyed stay. However, the first two nights we had to deal with stomping and running over top of our heads. Had to stay on bottom level because the facility has no elevator. Not a good choice for lder or handicapped guests because of not having control over who checks in on top of your assigned unit.

We loved the room. The host was great. They were very polite. The checking in was quick and checking out was even faster! Great location...Enjoyed my stay.

Easy access to the expressway but difficult to find hotel because the sign is behind a tree. The breakfast was good and the location offers a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance or a quick drive. The room was clean and nicely equipped.

This was a quick trip for volunteer purposes. Accomodations were just right for the situation.

N Tryon St Charlotte NC

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in University Place within a short walk of Shoppes at University Place, Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park is within 2 miles (3 km) of University of North Carolina at Charlotte. This 3-star hotel has 91 guestrooms and offers conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 9:30 AM. For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

The 91 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Sofa beds, coffee makers, and free newspapers are also standard.


Property features

Guests staying at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | 1 Queen Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park

Everyone (2) Couples (3) Family (7) Other (1)
4
Partner Couples

I liked how the layout of the hotel, it felt more like an apartment style. I disliked how small the area (of grass) was to walk my dog.

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for choosing Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. We are dedicated to providing an inspiring and relaxing atmosphere for all of our guests, and we appreciate you mentioning our accomplishments. It was our pleasure serving you, and we look forward to our next opportunity to make your trip a great one. Sincerely, Eric Knesel, General Manager

4
Families Families

Conveniently located near UNC Charlotte Campus. Safe location.

By on Aug 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for your review of Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. We are delighted you had a great time here and that our location worked well for you. Thank you once more, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Eric Knesel, General Manager

4
Partner Couples

The location is close to many food places and to where I needed to go. What I didn't like was that it is right by the train crossing so you hear the dinging bells early in the morning, it is not a good walking location but handy if you want to use the metro system,

By on Jul 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for the kind review of the Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. We are glad to know you enjoyed our convenient location. With that said, we regret the train noise you experienced early in the morning. We have rooms located in different areas of the hotel that might be better suited for light sleepers, and we will be happy to accommodate you with one of these rooms should it be available. Just let us know upon arrival, and we will check for you. We value your business and look forward o seeing you again on your next visit. Sincerely, Eric Knesel, General Manager

5
Families Family with small children Families

Plenty of space for a family of 4. Breakfast was good and the staff was friendly. The worst thing about the hotel was not enough parking, at least on our side of the property. After a long evening with family we got back to the hotel only to find that every parking space was taken. We had to park at the opposite end of the compound. This is not a big enough problem to remove a star but just something to keep in mind. It shouldn’t be a deal breaker.. we will definitely stay here again.

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 13, 2019

Dear Guest, thank you for sharing about your stay at Residence Inn Charlotte University Research Park. We are glad you loved our attentive staff and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast offerings. However, we are sorry you had trouble finding a parking space. Please alert our front desk on your next visit and we will be happy to assist you with this situation. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Sincerely, Eric Knesel, General Manager

4
Everyone

The location was perfect for our stay, and the room was spacious and comfortable. There was an issue with the boiler for our room and we were without hot water the first morning, but the staff had people working on it late the night before and early that morning, and were very supportive of getting us a new room as quickly as was convenient for us. I was very pleased with my interactions with the hotel staff and was very satisfied with my stay.

By on May 21, 2018

Review comment responded on May 22, 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. I do apologize about the issue with the boiler you experienced. I am pleased that our staffed addressed the issue to your satisfaction. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again when your travels return you to Charlotte.

5
Everyone

Always excellent been there 4 times never dissatisfied always clean and bright friendly staff plenty of parking.

By on Apr 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Charlotte.

4

family weekend

Families

I was pleasantly surprised, great kitchen with all the tools needed to eat in, I didn't have to go to a restaurant. I ate in everynight. I was very pleased with the hotel overall.

By on Jul 29, 2014

4

our weekend stay

Families

Enjoyed stay. However, the first two nights we had to deal with stomping and running over top of our heads. Had to stay on bottom level because the facility has no elevator. Not a good choice for lder or handicapped guests because of not having control over who checks in on top of your assigned unit.

By on Jun 19, 2012

4

concert at the theatre

Couples

We loved the room. The host was great. They were very polite. The checking in was quick and checking out was even faster! Great location...Enjoyed my stay.

By on May 21, 2012

4

good location

Singles

Easy access to the expressway but difficult to find hotel because the sign is behind a tree. The breakfast was good and the location offers a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance or a quick drive. The room was clean and nicely equipped.

By on Jul 19, 2011

Residence Inn by Marriott Charlotte University Research Park

8503 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28262
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Charlotte-Hotels-Residence-Inn-by-Marriott-Charlotte-University-Research-Park.h22164-p2.Hotel-Reviews