Holiday Inn Cannes4.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Ordinarily, I wouldn’t bother writing a review on a negative experience as sometime things just happen for a number of reasons but, after seeing this hotels managers response to my colleagues review, I feel compelled to clear up a few facts. As my colleague stated, 9 of us booked to stay at this hotel as we were over working at the film festival. We all arrived at the hotel at approximately 10:15 am. After standing waiting for a considerable time, 1 guest being attended to at a reception with 3 staff members, we were handed our documents and advised that our rooms wouldn’t be ready until check in at 2pm. Not one single member of our team expected to be checked in at that point, our intention had been to see if we could leave our bags and head off in to town. We were immediately handed paperwork to fill in, we assumed this was normal procedure so obliged. While we were waiting a couple of us had a look around and when we entered a conservatory type area we were confronted by an obviously angry member of staff who told us to leave immediately. Turns out it was the dining area and looking out the window wasn’t an option. Back at reception, its now past 11:30, another member of our team had gone to the dining area, unaware of the previous encounter, to enquire about LUNCH. She too was spoken to by the same member of staff in a very abrupt manner and returned to the reception quite taken aback. She was telling us what had happened and one of the reception staff over heard, apologised and made off towards the dining area. I was the last to be seen and finally left the reception at 11:55. I joined the rest of our party, who had been sat outside. My colleague had been asked how many of us there was and she replied that there was nine of us, assuming they were asking to find us suitable seating arrangements. All communication was in French and broken English, which is absolutely fine but to then have breakfast items brought to our table and having not requested breakfast at any point, (we had enquired about lunch and were previously informed we could order lunch at 12, which by this time it was after 12), we assumed that the lady who had left reception after hearing what had happened had perhaps arranged some patisseries for the inconvenience. We were grateful for this as we had had a particularly long morning by this point. We would have preferred to order some lunch but were grateful none the less at the apparent kindness. We were then handed a bill for 15 euros each and told that we had in fact ordered breakfast. The most confusing part of all of this is that the person who had apparently ordered on our behalf was the very person that had been asked how many of us there was looking to be seated AND the very same person who, herself, has a number of food intolerance's who couldn’t in a million years enjoy a dairy, wheat, gluten etc etc laden breakfast?!?!?! By this time there was no point heading in to town as we were close to the 2pm check in time and we were all exhausted. So 2pm arrives and I go to the reception on behalf of us all to see if the rooms were accessible as yet, I was told yes, 10 mins more and we would be good to go. We finally got into our rooms at 3:30pm. When we asked what had happened regarding the expensive breakfast, no one wanted to take responsibility, we were passed from one member of staff to the other. Eventually we were informed that because of the confusion we would only be charged 9 euros per head for the food as a way of apology. Only to find out that in actual fact a full continental breakfast, which included a vast amount more than offer to us, was offered to guests by the hotel at 9 euros anyway and a full cooked breakfast was 15 euros. The word chancers come to mind! The entire experience at this hotel was a shambles. As an IHG member I have stayed with this group all over the world and I have NEVER experienced anything like this!! Now in response to the delightful Thierry I would say this, if you are going to deny your staffs rudeness and refute our concerns then I would perhaps suggest you do not do so in such a pedantic manner. You have single handedly proven to all who will read this that there is a fair chance that you and your staff have the ability to be rude to your guests. You say you were given the facts, suggesting that you were not actually present so you have absolutely no room to comment on anything as fact. At no point were your staff “harassed” and as a professional team who work very closely with a huge range of people daily we are deeply offended by that remark. At no point did we wish to check in at 10:30 am and if we had been asked your staff would have known this. We would have been happy to leave our bags, go on our way and return to fill in our paperwork at check in time. We were never given this option. So before you feel the need to correct my version of the story, as you have my colleagues, I would strongly advise that you be absolutely 100% confident that your version is correct and judging by the reviews of others on your hotel perhaps your time would be better suited managing and training your team and making the obviously needed improvements to your level of customer service than replying to reviews which you have absolutely no chance of justifying. Regards, Jackie
We were given a lovely room on the front of the hotel with a balcony which got the sun all day. The staff were all lovely especially Natalie in the restaurant and the manager Thierry, both pleasant ladies who deserve praise. The hotel was very quiet and not intrusive at all. No issues at all, everyone was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.
A group of 9 of us stayed here while working at Cannes Film Festival. On arrival we stood for 45 minutes before asking if they could help at reception even though there were 3 staff on and only 1 dealing with another customer. We then asked for lunch which we were told we couldn't have yet, they sat us down at a table and brought croissants, juice and coffee out to us. They didn't ask us whether we wanted it.. we all presumed it was complimentary for our 45 minute wait at reception as well as not asking if we wanted it. G They then charged us 15 euros each. Which we later found out that they over charged for a continental breakfast, which 1 we didn't order and 2, didn't have anymore than croissants. It wasn't until the last day they said they would refund all of us 6 euros each for charging us the wrong price. This is only because we kept complaining about them just bringing this food to the table without us asking for it and from tweeting The wifi is absolutely awful! The staff, particularly the breakfast staff are very rude. I don't think I would stay here again.
superb service , good size room, very clean, excellent balcony facing the sea, very quite , good size bed,super size bathroom,the location of the hotel was the best part as it is at the end of the center so it is only a walk away from it
Hotel is old but partly renovated. NO FREE parking despite the fact that they have three garage that are empty all the time! ridiculous !! Most disapointing fact was that the room was half ready when we arrived late in the night !! one of the beds was without blanket !!!!!! UNACCEPTABLE !!! The reception staff was rude at the check in ! Terrible experience! never again !!
I decided to go for 3 nights to the south of France, I found a promo in Groupon that seemed reasonable for a 4-star hotel (over 300€...) My partner and I arrived around midnight a Friday to a Saturday after long 5h road in the car. From the outside the hotel looks big and quite fancy, it is located really close to the sea which gives a nice feeling. Once in there, a lady in reception was nice although she seemed to be new, she was completely alone in the night as every night. We got out room (N 210), which according to the information on the website is a 230€ per night room, is not the basic one but one of the nicest ones. It has a balcony with a pretty view to the pool and the sea. Our first impression going through the old elevator and walking the room halls is that doesn't seem a 4-star hotel since the beginning, the installations are a bit old, seems at some point it was a 4-star, but not anymore. When we entered the room it looked nice, small details like the windows were not really clean, but nothing to make a big fuzz about (I'm not that kind of clients anyway). Then I went to the toilet and got a huge horrible surprise, there was a big black cockroach on the floor. I am an animal lover, including insects but cockroaches take my cool out. I called the lady in reception who didn't know much how to react. Two nights after the morning reception guy gave me a "free cocktail" ticket... (wich ended up being just a glass of wine, or beer...). That same last night, when I went to the room and used the toilet once again, I found myself surprised again to see ANOTHER cockroach... this time it didn't seem like an exception. The hotel is not a 4 star for sure, the place is nice anyway and the breakfast is good, although it shouldn't keep using the "4-star" symbol on their name.
This hotel is well located just in front of the sea. The restaurant is wonderful with original and tasty food. The staff is charming and helpful. The rooms are trendy and clean. I would definitely recommend it.
Had read the reviews on here so my expectations were not high. Booked for a congress in town but most decent places were 200 euro plus, this was 140 including breakfast. Its a 20 minute walk from the airport shuttle in a quiet area. On check in Francois was great with a nice welcome and as a platinum member a good upgrade. The pool looked inviting but too cold, the beach is a few minutes across a bridge over the railway (great idea that building a railway along a seafront!!!!). A bit odd not allowing you to have an iron but have to take your stuff to an ironing room , like a youth hostel! All the staff very nice, breakfast was a good spread through the bacon and eggs , like others have said were cold and looked as if no one was touching them so I guess they just go to waste.The bread and cheese and pastries were good though. 6 euros for half a pint of beer (1/3 froth) is crazy until we met some pals in town and it was 13 euros for half. Overall enjoyed my stay at the holiday inn, Cannes.
I just stayed at the Holiday Inn hotel in Cannes...even though they claim to be a 4* hotel it's barely a 2* Cleanliness wise no problem the hotel is clean! But the breakfast is very poor! They tell you the breakfast is until 10;30 so i got down at 9:50! 10:05 they come and ask me if i will eat anything else because they will remove everything??? By everything i mean the Croissant and eggs which are the only things available!!! Is this what you call 4*??? I requested some cucumbers and tomatoes since you have no vegetables in the morning and the person serving there told me sure they will bring right away! After 20 minutes of waiting i left and that same person just smiled knowing that she didnt serve me the vegetables i asked for and brought a check of 15 euros for 1 croissant and 2 eggs! What a disaster...i didnt say anything to the hotel because i dont like such situations but if youre looking for a 2* hotel maximum this would be ur choice..but dont expect to see anything of a 4*!
Last time I stayed I made some fairly swingeing comments about the dining. Well we were not going to take the risk again so we did not eat in the hotel. When I asked about breakfast the receptionist said it was now €20 a head. This is a ridiculous price and when I told her that at one Crowne Plaza where we stay it is €8.80 a head, she just would not believe me. I do not believe €20 a head is justifiable anywhere for breakfast - there is only so much you can eat and I have had better IHG breakfasts at other hotels that I had at this one on the previous occasion. If we had a room upgrade it was certainly not obvious. The room was just about the same rather small room we had the previous time. It had a nice outlook but was certainly cramped. The bathroom and toilet were again separate and not what I would advocate but we were able to have a cup of tea in the room before we left in the morning. Parking at the hotel is dire. There were about 4 spaces only. One facet of interest to me about this hotel is that I am almost 100% certain it has been built on the very site of a large family mansion which I stayed in over 50 years before for a summer holiday on a French exchange visit. We used to play croquet on the lawn!
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
- Onsite dining
- Outdoor pool
- 24-hour business center
Holiday Inn Cannes places you within 2 miles (3 km) of popular sights like Palace of Festivals and Congress Hall and La Croisette. This 4-star hotel has 100 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center. Notre Dame d'Esperance Church and Castre Museum are also near this Cannes hotel.
This hotel is home to a restaurant and a bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room. Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7:30 AM to 10:30 AM.
All 100 soundproofed rooms provide coffee makers, safes, and phones. Guests can expect free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Desks are also available.
Guests of Holiday Inn Cannes have access to an outdoor pool, a children's pool, and an outdoor tennis court. If you drive, self parking is EUR 15 per day, or you can take advantage of the airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for EUR 90.00 per person. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, 2 meeting rooms, and a 24-hour business center.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
35% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 197 reviews