Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Staff very rude upon check in ...rooms is outdated and breakfast was a joke

staff

The highway next to property was very difficult to negotiate. Will not stay at this Hyatt again because of it.

My wife and I had a confirmed reservation at this hotel and when we arrived, we were told that no rooms were available.

We like the South Birmingham location, but the highway it is located on is high traffic and difficult to access and negotiate. Had to make two U turns to get the hotel,

My overall stay was very pleasing. the property was clean, the rooms were very nice and the service was excellent. The only issue I did occur which is why I did not rate it as excellent stay. When I arrived and had booked for a king bed, the service representative on site said they only had a double with queen beds available. Well, since it was queen beds I accepted but once in the room, those were not queen beds not at all. They had to be only full size beds. That was a little disappointing because this weekend was our 1st Anniversary and the bed size was important. However, we did not complain we made the best of it.

Great room, great stay

The beds were very small. Asked for bedding for fold out couch, was given a baby blanket! Breakfast was horrible, staff not helpful, whole place smelled like weed, blood on the bathroom floor. No coffee in lobby.

I adored the entire staff at this property BUT the room was not cleaned properly. I was actually very disappointed in the level of cleanliness. I was provided with anything but conditioner (thankfully I packed my own toiletries). The ice bucket has brown stains all over the outside. The coffee pot still had the coffee pod and tray insert in it. The couch was covered in some sort of pet hair because my black leggings and clothes had fur all over it. I didn’t complain bc I was only there for one night but if I were to stay longer I would had asked for another room properly cleaned. Rooms should be properly cleaned due to covid especially since the cleaning staff isn’t cleaning every room each day. Although I adored your staff I don’t think I would stay at this property bc cleanliness is much more important to me and I didn’t feel like I stayed in a throughly cleaned room.

Very friendly and accommodating staff!

Very nice hotel

My husband and I have always loved staying at the Hyatt in Inverness, when we visit our family . It’s always a pleasant stay. This visit was not satisfactory . When getting off the elevator to our floor we were hit with smell of a STRONG WEED smell. Your guest on the 2bd floor were smithing .As we open the door to the room the smell of old ness hit us. I’m sure because the air wasn’t on .the air condition was missing the grill that goes on it so it was open hole where the sir was flowing out of it. We sprayed air freshener near it to help the smell of the room. The corners of each floor wall you could see the carpet dust bill up. It’s almost like the quite place that we once loved, is starting to go down . We will not be staying no time soon.

The property was close to everything we needed to access. The room was very clean and spacious.The staff was friendly and helpful. Infact one staff member went above and beyond offering suggestions of great restaurants in the area. I really appreciated the hospitality!

Be aware that they charge you $20 to check in early! $20 for an hour and a half early check in. If I had known that, I never would have booked.

The room are very nice and clean, it is a very nice place to stay. The problem I have is the they asked for a credit card to be put on file and now they have two 50.00 charges pending, two 35.34 charges pending and 84.43 charge pending why I do not know. I have called twice nothing has been done to date.

Nice shower but no microwave in room. Also no ice on our floor.

People smoking weed in the elevators and no small towels! Wall paper torn off walls and room attendant was very rude after I asked for towels.

The rooms have that mildew smell. Front desk was great. Staff needs to wear their masks.

Highway 280 E Birmingham AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Bar/lounge

Located within a mile (2 km) of Cahaba River, Hyatt Place Birmingham/Inverness is within 3 miles (5 km) of The Summit. This 126-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast offered each morning. Get an energy boost at the coffee shop/cafe, or grab a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

42-inch flat-screen TVs come with pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Sofa beds, sitting areas, and refrigerators are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Hyatt Place Birmingham/Inverness, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking and a free area shuttle. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and concierge services. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers an off-leash area. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Guest Room, Room, 2 Double Beds

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 6

Room, 1 King Bed (Specialty)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, Multiple Beds (Specialty)

2 Double Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Guest Room, Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Hyatt Place Birmingham/Inverness

Everyone (13) Couples (6) Family (12)
1
Business Business

Staff very rude upon check in ...rooms is outdated and breakfast was a joke

By on Jun 15, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 16, 2022

Thank you for the feedback, Darnell. We are always working our hardest to provide a high-quality experience for all of our guests. We regret to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. We will share your concerns regarding our service, rooms, and breakfast offerings with our team moving forward. We would love to have you back so that we can share a better experience with you. We are looking forward to that chance.

5
Family with small children

staff

By on May 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2022

Thanks for the fantastic review, Larry! It's excellent you had such an amazing stay at Hyatt Place Birmingham Inverness! We're delighted our team made you feel so welcome and valued during your time in our hotel. We endeavor to go above and beyond to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. That's what we like to see! We can't wait until your next visit so we can share another fantastic experience with you soon!

4
Family

The highway next to property was very difficult to negotiate. Will not stay at this Hyatt again because of it.

By on May 30, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 13, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Terry. From your 4/5 rating we are glad to see that overall you enjoyed your time at our hotel, however, we're disappointed that accessing the highway presented difficulties for you. If you ever need anything in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.

1
Family

My wife and I had a confirmed reservation at this hotel and when we arrived, we were told that no rooms were available.

By on May 26, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our property, William. I apologize that your stay was less than excellent. It is my hope that you will give our property and Hyatt Place another chance to provide you with excellence in services for future stays.

5
Family

We like the South Birmingham location, but the highway it is located on is high traffic and difficult to access and negotiate. Had to make two U turns to get the hotel,

By on May 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 10, 2022

Thank you for the 5/5 review, Terry! It's excellent you enjoyed your time with us so much! We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address your concerns regarding our location with our team moving forward. We strive for excellence so we look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon!

4
Partner Couples

My overall stay was very pleasing. the property was clean, the rooms were very nice and the service was excellent. The only issue I did occur which is why I did not rate it as excellent stay. When I arrived and had booked for a king bed, the service representative on site said they only had a double with queen beds available. Well, since it was queen beds I accepted but once in the room, those were not queen beds not at all. They had to be only full size beds. That was a little disappointing because this weekend was our 1st Anniversary and the bed size was important. However, we did not complain we made the best of it.

By on Apr 4, 2022

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2022

Thanks for the nice rating, Beverly! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy that you loved our clean rooms and attentive service. We strive to provide our guests with warm hospitality, efficient service, and clean rooms. Regarding your concerns with our reservation system and bed sizes, we will bring those to the attention of our team as we continue to improve for the future. We'd love to share a more positive experience with you next time.

5
Partner Couples

Great room, great stay

By on Feb 16, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2022

Thanks for the fantastic rating, Kenneth! It's outstanding we could exceed your expectations during your stay at Hyatt Place Birmingham Inverness. We're all looking forward to your next stay with us.

2
Family with small children

The beds were very small. Asked for bedding for fold out couch, was given a baby blanket! Breakfast was horrible, staff not helpful, whole place smelled like weed, blood on the bathroom floor. No coffee in lobby.

By on Jan 31, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2022

Thank you for completing our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, please contact me directly. Best regards, Delphine Gaines General Manager

2
Business Business

I adored the entire staff at this property BUT the room was not cleaned properly. I was actually very disappointed in the level of cleanliness. I was provided with anything but conditioner (thankfully I packed my own toiletries). The ice bucket has brown stains all over the outside. The coffee pot still had the coffee pod and tray insert in it. The couch was covered in some sort of pet hair because my black leggings and clothes had fur all over it. I didn’t complain bc I was only there for one night but if I were to stay longer I would had asked for another room properly cleaned. Rooms should be properly cleaned due to covid especially since the cleaning staff isn’t cleaning every room each day. Although I adored your staff I don’t think I would stay at this property bc cleanliness is much more important to me and I didn’t feel like I stayed in a throughly cleaned room.

By on Jan 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 21, 2022

We appreciate the feedback, Ani. It's unfortunate your time with us was anything less than ideal. We strive to offer quality service and convenience for all of our guests. We're happy you enjoyed our kind staff despite the problems you had with our cleanliness. We endeavor to offer the best experience possible and your feedback will help. Thank you. We do hope to see you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you.

5
Family

Very friendly and accommodating staff!

By on Aug 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2021

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Hyatt Place Birmingham/Inverness

4686 Highway 280 E, Birmingham, AL 35242
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Birmingham-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Birmingham/Inverness.h60022-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Birmingham-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Birmingham/Inverness.h60022-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Birmingham-Hotels-Hyatt-Place-Birmingham/Inverness.h60022-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions