Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Disappointed

Staff was nice and helpful. Room units were ok.

This is a great value. Nice place. Will run. Simple.

Room temperature is controlled by office. You have to call them from your room to adjust it. Unfortunately, the phone in my room didn’t work.

A nice convenient property. The room was clean. The beds were super comfortable. Its a bit dated in a retro kind of way but well kept. I'd stay again and recommend to others.

We love the Mountaineer and have stayed there several times. Rooms are large and quiet, bed was comfy. Staff is always friendly and helpful. It’s a wonderful old roadside motel.

Staff was rude and came up to us yelling. We were standing outside talking and had music on our phone playing. Was not loud. Phone was in my back pocket. We will not be going back.

Mature fig trees made this “throwback” property to the motor court days a nice plus. Great location with all types of retail and services at your doorstep.

did not like there was no temp control in the room

I don’t know why they will ask for $100 cash for deposit money

This place was very disappointing. Dirty, old, uncomfortable and extremely noisy. Sounded like we were on a speedway.

All good

Location is great! Peaceful surroundings

Close to town, and economical, pleasant staff, Bus stop in front of facility.

Rundown. Needs many updates. Staff was nice but property was rough. Difficult spot with steep entrance.

Close to everything with a fun vibe. Old style motel that’s great during a Covid pandemic.

Tunnel Road Asheville NC

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities
  • 24-hour front desk

The Mountaineer Inn is a short stroll from Innsbruck Mall and Asheville Mall. This 76-room motel has in-room conveniences like refrigerators, coffee makers, and TVs.


Rooms

TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Refrigerators, coffee makers, and phones are also standard.


Property features

Guests of The Mountaineer Inn enjoy free WiFi in public areas, a seasonal outdoor pool, and free newspapers. Free parking is included with your stay. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a terrace, laundry facilities, and barbecue grills.

Room options

Double Room, 2 Double Beds (Wide Bay)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed (Appalachian)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Mountaineer Inn

Everyone (26) Couples (4) Family (10)
2
Everyone

Disappointed

By on Apr 22, 2022

Review comment responded on May 5, 2022

Thank you, Taras, for leaving us a review. Upon reviewing your reservation, it seems as though you made no service requests and made no complaints during your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and if you have any specific feedback as to why you were disappointed please do not hesitate to reach out to us at the front desk.

2
Everyone

By on Apr 11, 2022

3
Family with small children

Staff was nice and helpful. Room units were ok.

By on Feb 21, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2022

Thank you, Mr. Shane, for leaving us a review! We are so happy that you had a good experience with our staff; here at the Mountaineer Inn, we take great pride in providing exceptional hospitality. If you have any specific feedback regarding our rooms or anything we could do to improve your next stay with us please do not hesitate to call the office. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

4
Family

This is a great value. Nice place. Will run. Simple.

By on Jan 1, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2022

Thank you so much, William, for leaving us a good review! We are so glad that you had a good experience here with us, we take great pride in having friendly and helpful staff and a price that you can't beat. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

4
Everyone

Room temperature is controlled by office. You have to call them from your room to adjust it. Unfortunately, the phone in my room didn’t work.

By on Dec 31, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2022

Thank you so much for leaving us a good review! The only rooms that have the temperature controlled by the office are our Appalachian Kings, as they are a part of the original 1939 building which was built on a trunk system. The office is right in the middle of the building, just a few doors down from all of our App. King rooms. We apologize that the phone in your room was out of order, we will do everything we can to get it back up and working! We look forward to having you stay with us again, and happy new year!

5
Family

A nice convenient property. The room was clean. The beds were super comfortable. Its a bit dated in a retro kind of way but well kept. I'd stay again and recommend to others.

By , from Bellbrook on Nov 19, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2021

Thank you, Tim, for taking the time to leave us a great review! We love receiving guest feedback, and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. There are a lot of great things happening here at the Mountaineer Inn, such as the new curtains we just installed in every room! We hope you decide to stay with us again soon!

5
Partner Couples

We love the Mountaineer and have stayed there several times. Rooms are large and quiet, bed was comfy. Staff is always friendly and helpful. It’s a wonderful old roadside motel.

By on Nov 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 2, 2021

Thank you Catherine for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy to hear you were satisfied with your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

2
Family

Staff was rude and came up to us yelling. We were standing outside talking and had music on our phone playing. Was not loud. Phone was in my back pocket. We will not be going back.

By on Oct 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2021

Hi Tracey, We received numerous complaints from rooms on your floor and downstairs about loud music and men between 1 and 3 am. After 10pm, all guests are expected to be considerate of others and observe quiet hours like every other hotel in the country. A staff member asked you numerous times to turn your music down, to which you responded that it was coming from the guests below you. At one point, our staff member was even cursed out by a member of your party-- which we DO NOT tolerate whatsoever. Quite frankly, you should be counting your lucky stars that we did not hold you financially responsible for the first night stay of the guests who complained, as it is our policy to do so when this situation takes place. Thank you for letting us know that you will not be returning. As of October 10, 2021 you and your party are no longer welcomed back on the property due to the events that transpired. Good Day.

5
Family

Mature fig trees made this “throwback” property to the motor court days a nice plus. Great location with all types of retail and services at your doorstep.

By on Aug 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2021

Thanks for the 5/5 review Alvin! We apperciate your business and your feedback. We hope to see you again.

3
Everyone

By on Jul 6, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. If you have any more specific feedback just let us know!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Asheville-Hotels-The-Mountaineer-Inn.h4321247-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Asheville-Hotels-The-Mountaineer-Inn.h4321247-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Asheville-Hotels-The-Mountaineer-Inn.h4321247-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions