Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It’s an okay hotel. Definitely on the cheap feel side, and you definitely pay for.

Check in staff was not super friendly or helpful. Check out staff was great. Our room smelled awful. No idea what it was but it made all of our luggage smell for the rest of the trip.

WiFi was very slow.

kitchinette

Phone didnt work. Remote didnt work. No utensils, even plastic ones or actual cups besudes tiny plastic ones. No coffee maker or coffee.

Due to COVID, pool, spa, breakfast, etc were not available. But the room was great, the staff was very pleasant. Only complaint was the "courtesy" charge they put on my account because I used my debit card. I was not even aware of this policy. While they credited it right back, it took 2 days for that money to credit on my account and caused me all kinds of problems on the remainder of my trip. I have no problems with the charge, but since I was unaware of it until I saw the charge on my account, I couldn't plan for it accordingly.

Front desk lady at check in was very nice and very patient. Nice and clean. Definitely recommend this place.

Location is prime for access to downtown Anchorage. After a long 6 hour drive, my daughter was looking forward to a warm bath. We found out through the conversation between the staff and one of the guests that there wasn't any hot water. Though disappointing, we could work with that and understood that thingsnlike this happen. However, the front staff did not address this directly during check-in, I had to ask about it. After receiving my key card, we went to park our truck in the hotel parking lot and were approached by an intoxicated man about a cigarette. Once parked, we took our bags to the assigned room and found it to partially cleaned. We had fresh towels in the bathroom and fresh bars of soap, but the kitchenette had a partially drank bottle of juice in the fridge, cabinets dirty with crumbs, the table was greasy from old food, the mirror and the windows in the main room were filthy with hand prints. We had an old sheet in one of the drawers, the lampshades were not on correctly so not covering the lightbulbs, and my bed sheets had hair and food in it. When I went to address the bedding issue the next morning, the response from the staff member was, "I will have to see if the housekeeping staff have extra sheets when they get here." There was no apology and she didn't even take down my room number. To top all of this off, my truck was broke into, stuff taken, but thankfully not trashed.

Check in take so long . Almost no breakfast which only have muffins. There is cup lips, but no cups.

The only problem was a slow drain in the tub. The staff and services were fantastic! It was all I expected and a great location as well. We will be back again.

Liked - Location to downtown, easy walking distance to restaurants & shopping. Disliked - lack of maintenance on building, leaking tub faucet in previous stay Aug. 13-17 wasn't fixed during the stay. Coffee & muffins not available one morning close to 8:30 because they hadn't been delivered to people working desk or maybe all were consumed. Housekeeping does a poor job maintaining. Sounded like they came in at 10 p.m. to clean empty rooms. Rm had clean sheets & towels but bathroom was untouched for cleaning, floor with urine around toilet, toilet dirty, sink & mirror dirty. The manager did come and personally clean the toilet, floor, sink & mirror but is NOT her job!!!! We did appreciate it and told her so. A/C didn't work in room but staff did promptly move us to another room on a different floor. Elevator door didn't want to shut on 1st floor but after ringing the bell numerous times, someone pushed the button on outside of elevator and door closed and we went up to 2nd floor and everyone promptly got off elevator and walked to other floors. We never used the elevator again. Staff at desk were as efficient as they could be but without smiles. We felt like they caught so much flack from other customers that when a courteous one came in they were prepared for the worse! I heard men chewing out the ladies at the desk.

In person the staff was friendly but the receptionist who answered the phone when I called couldn't confidently answer basic questions, including how far the location was from the airport which seems like a question anyone working in a hotel should be able to answer. The entryway smelled undeniably of marijuana and one of the beds, while properly made had indicators that someone had been sitting or laying on it before we came. The available breakfast is really just oatmeal packs and coffee, nothing fresh. It was acceptable enough for a single night stay but I wouldn't stay for a longer trip.

HORRIBLE. THEY GAVE SOMEONE ELSE OUR ROOM AS WELL AS THREE OTHER FAMILIES. HORRIBLE FACILITY AND STAFF!!!!

Orbitz FAILED 100% - we landed in Anchorage at midnight and received a message from Orbitz that they had overbooked and the two rooms we had reserved we not available! We had to drive over 2 hours with my 81 & 82 year parents to find a room. Orbitz - this is completely unacceptable!

I wanted all the other bad reviews of this property to be wrong. They weren’t. There were dirty towels on the chairs in our rooms, we were afraid to shower and without flip flops on, there was a weird red stain on our lamp. Housekeeping is $10 per visit. If you’re on a budget you can make it work but don’t expect to be pleasantly surprised.

Very bad experience, delayed checkin due to manager not available for 40 minutes and the first room checked in was not clean, strains all over the bed and bed sheets. Had to wait for another 30 minutes for getting another room and finally got the room and it is also not properly cleaned and just took it because there is no option almost midnight. Please understand the inconvenience caused and take steps to improve your service

They didn’t change the heat to ac until I complained after a night of sweating. Hair balls and crumbs all over the floor. Blood on the sheets.

E 8th Ave Anchorage AK

Hotel highlights

  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center

Located in Downtown Anchorage, Extended Stay America Suites Anchorage Downtown is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Anchorage 5th Avenue Mall and Port of Anchorage. This hotel has 90 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free on-the-go breakfast is served each morning from 6 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 90 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America Suites Anchorage Downtown have access to an indoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 10 per stay. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America Suites Anchorage Downtown

Everyone (22) Business (14) Couples (12) Family (18) Other (9) Friends (6)
3
Family with small children

It’s an okay hotel. Definitely on the cheap feel side, and you definitely pay for.

By on Aug 28, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2021

Travis, thank you for including us in your travel plan. We are happy to know you had an overall good time with us. However, we are sorry if any inconvenience you had while you were here. We hope you will come and see us again the next time you are in this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Partner Couples

Check in staff was not super friendly or helpful. Check out staff was great. Our room smelled awful. No idea what it was but it made all of our luggage smell for the rest of the trip.

By on Aug 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2021

Please accept my sincere apologies for our hotel not living up to your expectations. Cleanliness is a top priority to all of our employees, and we do not take cleanliness issues lightly. We will address this matter with our Head of Housekeeping and with the department associates in order to ensure changes are made immediately to solve these problems. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future, and we do hope to welcome you back again soon. Safe travels. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Aug 2, 2021

2
Business Business

WiFi was very slow.

By on Jul 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 2, 2021

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Please accept our apology for the Wi-Fi not working properly and for the inconvenience this may have caused. Unfortunately, maintenance issues do arise from time to time, and once identified we work as quickly as possible to get everything fully operational. We appreciate your feedback and understanding, and we hope you will choose to stay with us again.  Sincerely, Hotel Management

5
Partner Couples Business Business

kitchinette

By on Apr 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2021

Thank you for being a guest at Extended Stay America. It was a pleasure to know you had a comfortable stay and that you were happy with the addition of a kitchenette in your suite. Your rating is genuinely appreciated, and we look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Phone didnt work. Remote didnt work. No utensils, even plastic ones or actual cups besudes tiny plastic ones. No coffee maker or coffee.

By , from Anchorage Alaska on Aug 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2020

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry for the issues you encountered in your suite. We have shared your comments with the maintenance team to fix this immediately. Please know, to ensure cleanliness, kitchenware for your suite is available at the front desk, and our team delivers it to your suite upon request. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Friends Family

Due to COVID, pool, spa, breakfast, etc were not available. But the room was great, the staff was very pleasant. Only complaint was the "courtesy" charge they put on my account because I used my debit card. I was not even aware of this policy. While they credited it right back, it took 2 days for that money to credit on my account and caused me all kinds of problems on the remainder of my trip. I have no problems with the charge, but since I was unaware of it until I saw the charge on my account, I couldn't plan for it accordingly.

By , from Minneapolis on Jun 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2020

Becky, thank you for sharing the details of your stay at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you were pleased with your comfortable suite and our cordial associates. However, we regret your disappointment with some of our amenities not being available during your stay due to the current circumstances. We are also sorry you were inconvenienced by our payment policy and that our team did not provide you with a clear explanation of the charges during the check-in process. We value your feedback and will take steps to communicate this information more clearly. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Oct 20, 2019

4
Family

Front desk lady at check in was very nice and very patient. Nice and clean. Definitely recommend this place.

By on Oct 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2019

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. It is nice to know you found your suite comfortable and you were pleased with the exceptional service from our front desk staff. We will share your compliments with her. Thank you again for recommending us to future guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Friends

By on Sep 24, 2019

Extended Stay America Suites Anchorage Downtown

108 E 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Anchorage-Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Anchorage-Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America-Suites-Anchorage-Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions