Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

kitchinette

Phone didnt work. Remote didnt work. No utensils, even plastic ones or actual cups besudes tiny plastic ones. No coffee maker or coffee.

Due to COVID, pool, spa, breakfast, etc were not available. But the room was great, the staff was very pleasant. Only complaint was the "courtesy" charge they put on my account because I used my debit card. I was not even aware of this policy. While they credited it right back, it took 2 days for that money to credit on my account and caused me all kinds of problems on the remainder of my trip. I have no problems with the charge, but since I was unaware of it until I saw the charge on my account, I couldn't plan for it accordingly.

Front desk lady at check in was very nice and very patient. Nice and clean. Definitely recommend this place.

Location is prime for access to downtown Anchorage. After a long 6 hour drive, my daughter was looking forward to a warm bath. We found out through the conversation between the staff and one of the guests that there wasn't any hot water. Though disappointing, we could work with that and understood that thingsnlike this happen. However, the front staff did not address this directly during check-in, I had to ask about it. After receiving my key card, we went to park our truck in the hotel parking lot and were approached by an intoxicated man about a cigarette. Once parked, we took our bags to the assigned room and found it to partially cleaned. We had fresh towels in the bathroom and fresh bars of soap, but the kitchenette had a partially drank bottle of juice in the fridge, cabinets dirty with crumbs, the table was greasy from old food, the mirror and the windows in the main room were filthy with hand prints. We had an old sheet in one of the drawers, the lampshades were not on correctly so not covering the lightbulbs, and my bed sheets had hair and food in it. When I went to address the bedding issue the next morning, the response from the staff member was, "I will have to see if the housekeeping staff have extra sheets when they get here." There was no apology and she didn't even take down my room number. To top all of this off, my truck was broke into, stuff taken, but thankfully not trashed.

Check in take so long . Almost no breakfast which only have muffins. There is cup lips, but no cups.

The only problem was a slow drain in the tub. The staff and services were fantastic! It was all I expected and a great location as well. We will be back again.

Liked - Location to downtown, easy walking distance to restaurants & shopping. Disliked - lack of maintenance on building, leaking tub faucet in previous stay Aug. 13-17 wasn't fixed during the stay. Coffee & muffins not available one morning close to 8:30 because they hadn't been delivered to people working desk or maybe all were consumed. Housekeeping does a poor job maintaining. Sounded like they came in at 10 p.m. to clean empty rooms. Rm had clean sheets & towels but bathroom was untouched for cleaning, floor with urine around toilet, toilet dirty, sink & mirror dirty. The manager did come and personally clean the toilet, floor, sink & mirror but is NOT her job!!!! We did appreciate it and told her so. A/C didn't work in room but staff did promptly move us to another room on a different floor. Elevator door didn't want to shut on 1st floor but after ringing the bell numerous times, someone pushed the button on outside of elevator and door closed and we went up to 2nd floor and everyone promptly got off elevator and walked to other floors. We never used the elevator again. Staff at desk were as efficient as they could be but without smiles. We felt like they caught so much flack from other customers that when a courteous one came in they were prepared for the worse! I heard men chewing out the ladies at the desk.

In person the staff was friendly but the receptionist who answered the phone when I called couldn't confidently answer basic questions, including how far the location was from the airport which seems like a question anyone working in a hotel should be able to answer. The entryway smelled undeniably of marijuana and one of the beds, while properly made had indicators that someone had been sitting or laying on it before we came. The available breakfast is really just oatmeal packs and coffee, nothing fresh. It was acceptable enough for a single night stay but I wouldn't stay for a longer trip.

HORRIBLE. THEY GAVE SOMEONE ELSE OUR ROOM AS WELL AS THREE OTHER FAMILIES. HORRIBLE FACILITY AND STAFF!!!!

Orbitz FAILED 100% - we landed in Anchorage at midnight and received a message from Orbitz that they had overbooked and the two rooms we had reserved we not available! We had to drive over 2 hours with my 81 & 82 year parents to find a room. Orbitz - this is completely unacceptable!

I wanted all the other bad reviews of this property to be wrong. They weren’t. There were dirty towels on the chairs in our rooms, we were afraid to shower and without flip flops on, there was a weird red stain on our lamp. Housekeeping is $10 per visit. If you’re on a budget you can make it work but don’t expect to be pleasantly surprised.

Very bad experience, delayed checkin due to manager not available for 40 minutes and the first room checked in was not clean, strains all over the bed and bed sheets. Had to wait for another 30 minutes for getting another room and finally got the room and it is also not properly cleaned and just took it because there is no option almost midnight. Please understand the inconvenience caused and take steps to improve your service

They didn’t change the heat to ac until I complained after a night of sweating. Hair balls and crumbs all over the floor. Blood on the sheets.

Very basic facilities. No towels provided. Rooms were barely clean. Would not stay there again. Paid higher price due to advertisement “continental breakfast included”. Upon check-in we were told that there will be no breakfast and there were no alternatives either as the location is horrible. Very unprofessional staff in responding to lack of breakfast solution.

E 8th Ave Anchorage AK

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Downtown Anchorage, Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown is adjacent to Anchorage Museum and within a 10-minute stroll of SoNo District. This 90-room hotel has an indoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Rooms

The 90 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Phones, ironing boards, and desks are also standard. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for USD 10 per stay. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a fireplace in the lobby.

Room options

Deluxe Studio, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

Everyone (21) Couples (15) Business (15) Family (22) Other (9) Friends (6)
5
Partner Couples Business Business

kitchinette

By on Apr 2, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2021

Thank you for being a guest at Extended Stay America. It was a pleasure to know you had a comfortable stay and that you were happy with the addition of a kitchenette in your suite. Your rating is genuinely appreciated, and we look forward to your return visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Phone didnt work. Remote didnt work. No utensils, even plastic ones or actual cups besudes tiny plastic ones. No coffee maker or coffee.

By , from Anchorage Alaska on Aug 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2020

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry for the issues you encountered in your suite. We have shared your comments with the maintenance team to fix this immediately. Please know, to ensure cleanliness, kitchenware for your suite is available at the front desk, and our team delivers it to your suite upon request. We hope you will reconsider staying with us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Friends Family

Due to COVID, pool, spa, breakfast, etc were not available. But the room was great, the staff was very pleasant. Only complaint was the "courtesy" charge they put on my account because I used my debit card. I was not even aware of this policy. While they credited it right back, it took 2 days for that money to credit on my account and caused me all kinds of problems on the remainder of my trip. I have no problems with the charge, but since I was unaware of it until I saw the charge on my account, I couldn't plan for it accordingly.

By , from Minneapolis on Jun 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 20, 2020

Becky, thank you for sharing the details of your stay at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you were pleased with your comfortable suite and our cordial associates. However, we regret your disappointment with some of our amenities not being available during your stay due to the current circumstances. We are also sorry you were inconvenienced by our payment policy and that our team did not provide you with a clear explanation of the charges during the check-in process. We value your feedback and will take steps to communicate this information more clearly. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

2
Everyone

By on Oct 20, 2019

4
Family

Front desk lady at check in was very nice and very patient. Nice and clean. Definitely recommend this place.

By on Oct 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2019

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. It is nice to know you found your suite comfortable and you were pleased with the exceptional service from our front desk staff. We will share your compliments with her. Thank you again for recommending us to future guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Friends

By on Sep 24, 2019

1
Family Business Business

Location is prime for access to downtown Anchorage. After a long 6 hour drive, my daughter was looking forward to a warm bath. We found out through the conversation between the staff and one of the guests that there wasn't any hot water. Though disappointing, we could work with that and understood that thingsnlike this happen. However, the front staff did not address this directly during check-in, I had to ask about it. After receiving my key card, we went to park our truck in the hotel parking lot and were approached by an intoxicated man about a cigarette. Once parked, we took our bags to the assigned room and found it to partially cleaned. We had fresh towels in the bathroom and fresh bars of soap, but the kitchenette had a partially drank bottle of juice in the fridge, cabinets dirty with crumbs, the table was greasy from old food, the mirror and the windows in the main room were filthy with hand prints. We had an old sheet in one of the drawers, the lampshades were not on correctly so not covering the lightbulbs, and my bed sheets had hair and food in it. When I went to address the bedding issue the next morning, the response from the staff member was, "I will have to see if the housekeeping staff have extra sheets when they get here." There was no apology and she didn't even take down my room number. To top all of this off, my truck was broke into, stuff taken, but thankfully not trashed.

By on Sep 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed. Sincerely, Hotel Management

1
Everyone

Check in take so long . Almost no breakfast which only have muffins. There is cup lips, but no cups.

By on Sep 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 9, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry for the issue you experienced at the time of check-in and that you were unhappy with our grab-and-go breakfast. Your feedback will be shared with our brand leaders to determine new breakfast offerings. Kindly note, to ensure the cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to keep dishware at the front desk. We regret if our front desk staff did not communicate this to you at the time of arrival. It is never our intention to disappoint you in any way, and we hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management

4
Partner Couples Family

The only problem was a slow drain in the tub. The staff and services were fantastic! It was all I expected and a great location as well. We will be back again.

By , from San Diego on Aug 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 29, 2019

Raymond, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Extended Stay America. We're glad to know you were pleased with the service provided by our associates and that our location was ideal for you. However, we're sorry for the maintenance issue you encountered in your room. We have asked the appropriate team to fix the problem with the tub. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management

3
Family Family

Liked - Location to downtown, easy walking distance to restaurants & shopping. Disliked - lack of maintenance on building, leaking tub faucet in previous stay Aug. 13-17 wasn't fixed during the stay. Coffee & muffins not available one morning close to 8:30 because they hadn't been delivered to people working desk or maybe all were consumed. Housekeeping does a poor job maintaining. Sounded like they came in at 10 p.m. to clean empty rooms. Rm had clean sheets & towels but bathroom was untouched for cleaning, floor with urine around toilet, toilet dirty, sink & mirror dirty. The manager did come and personally clean the toilet, floor, sink & mirror but is NOT her job!!!! We did appreciate it and told her so. A/C didn't work in room but staff did promptly move us to another room on a different floor. Elevator door didn't want to shut on 1st floor but after ringing the bell numerous times, someone pushed the button on outside of elevator and door closed and we went up to 2nd floor and everyone promptly got off elevator and walked to other floors. We never used the elevator again. Staff at desk were as efficient as they could be but without smiles. We felt like they caught so much flack from other customers that when a courteous one came in they were prepared for the worse! I heard men chewing out the ladies at the desk.

By on Aug 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 24, 2019

We apologize for the housekeeping and maintenance issues you experienced during your visit and that we were able to resolve it to your satisfaction. Your feedback has been discussed with our appropriate team to improve our accommodations and services moving forward. We hope you will reconsider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and accommodations. Sincerely, Hotel Management

Extended Stay America - Anchorage - Downtown

108 E 8th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Anchorage---Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Anchorage---Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Anchorage-Hotels-Extended-Stay-America---Anchorage---Downtown.h859682-p2.Hotel-Reviews