Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The place is fine for a short stay. Basically an upscale motel. Nice rooms, comfy bed, but nothing special.

I highly recommend Lavender Inn by the Sea. Professional and friendly staff, HUGE comfortable rooms, within walking distance from the Pier, State Street Theaters, shopping and dining, assortment of complementary breakfast items and happy hour wine/snacks AND a bottle of champagne in chilling in our fridge. We will definitely stay at the Inn again.

We loved the comfortable feel of the property and also went in a family bike ride along the beach with the complimentary cruisers

We love the Lavender Inn, close to the beach and very well kept, love The ambiance overall.

Great comfortable, quiet room. Walkably close to basic shopping, several dining options, and the beach.

We had booked a standard room with two queen beds. We were told to call the hotel when we arrived. The manager met us at the parking lot of the Inn with our keys. We were also upgraded to a larger room with tall ceiling (Room #1). The room was spacious, there was a bottle of Champagne in the room but no biscuits, no free wine and cheese due to Covid 19. There is a fridge and a coffee maker. beds were comfy, and room is clean/updated. Inn compound is lovely and it is two blocks from the water, 4-5 blocks from downtown and train station. We enjoyed our stay, took plenty of pictures in the beautiful courtyard. We wish our stay was longer. We will definitely come back. The only negative iwas that the hot water in our room was luke warm even with the faucet turned all the way to hot.

Booked a queen bed and requested early check in for a Friday afternoon wedding. At check in and again in early afternoon the room was not ready and was a king w/twin. Moved to another ready room but not actually ready. Eventually after much frustration was given a 3rd ready room. Joel was nice but first impression disappointing and stressful.

The location and friendliness of the staff made me feel at home.

Castillo St Santa Barbara CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Santa Barbara Harbor and Santa Barbara City College
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking

Located in Santa Barbara Beach, Lavender Inn by the Sea is adjacent to Carriage and Western Art Museum and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Moreton Bay Fig Tree. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 23 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Lavender Inn by the Sea's 23 rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and free bottled water. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include ceiling fans, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests staying at Lavender Inn by the Sea enjoy an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Lavender Inn by the Sea

Everyone (5) Couples (2) Family (4)
3
Everyone

The place is fine for a short stay. Basically an upscale motel. Nice rooms, comfy bed, but nothing special.

By on May 1, 2022

Review comment responded on May 2, 2022

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

5
Family

I highly recommend Lavender Inn by the Sea. Professional and friendly staff, HUGE comfortable rooms, within walking distance from the Pier, State Street Theaters, shopping and dining, assortment of complementary breakfast items and happy hour wine/snacks AND a bottle of champagne in chilling in our fridge. We will definitely stay at the Inn again.

By on Mar 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2022

Thank you Nancy for our 5-star review. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your welcome gift and our many complimentary amenities. Thank you for taking time to share your impression with other travelers.

5
Everyone

We loved the comfortable feel of the property and also went in a family bike ride along the beach with the complimentary cruisers

By on Feb 18, 2022

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2022

How lovely to hear you and your family enjoyed exploring Santa Barbara on our complimentary bikes. Thank you for our 5-star review and your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back during your next family vacation.

5
Family

We love the Lavender Inn, close to the beach and very well kept, love The ambiance overall.

By on Aug 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2021

Thank you for your kind comments. We love hearing you loved our hotel and hope to serve you again during your next Santa Barbara getaway.

5
Everyone

Great comfortable, quiet room. Walkably close to basic shopping, several dining options, and the beach.

By on Aug 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2021

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lavender Inn. Thank you for our 5-star rating.

4
Friends

We had booked a standard room with two queen beds. We were told to call the hotel when we arrived. The manager met us at the parking lot of the Inn with our keys. We were also upgraded to a larger room with tall ceiling (Room #1). The room was spacious, there was a bottle of Champagne in the room but no biscuits, no free wine and cheese due to Covid 19. There is a fridge and a coffee maker. beds were comfy, and room is clean/updated. Inn compound is lovely and it is two blocks from the water, 4-5 blocks from downtown and train station. We enjoyed our stay, took plenty of pictures in the beautiful courtyard. We wish our stay was longer. We will definitely come back. The only negative iwas that the hot water in our room was luke warm even with the faucet turned all the way to hot.

By on May 13, 2020

Review comment responded on May 13, 2020

Greetings CJ, Thank you for your kind comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Lavender Inn. We look forward to being able to pamper our guests with our tasty treats once regulations ease again. thank you for alerting us of the hot water in your guestroom. We will be sure to have our maintenance team remedy that immediately. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager

2
Partner Couples Family

Booked a queen bed and requested early check in for a Friday afternoon wedding. At check in and again in early afternoon the room was not ready and was a king w/twin. Moved to another ready room but not actually ready. Eventually after much frustration was given a 3rd ready room. Joel was nice but first impression disappointing and stressful.

By on Sep 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2019

I’m terribly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. Our standard check in is 3PM to allow our housekeeping team to properly prepare each of our guest rooms, therefore we do not guarantee early check-ins when requested. It sounds like our team tried to accommodate you by offering you complimentary upgrades in hopes that it may be ready sooner. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Respectfully ~ Greg Broussard, Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

By on Aug 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Thank you for our 5-star review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Lavender Inn.

5
Partner Couples Family

The location and friendliness of the staff made me feel at home.

By on Aug 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

What a lovely compliment. Thank you for your kind comment regarding your recent stay with us. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we would love to welcome you back. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for our 5-star rating. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions