Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We had booked a standard room with two queen beds. We were told to call the hotel when we arrived. The manager met us at the parking lot of the Inn with our keys. We were also upgraded to a larger room with tall ceiling (Room #1). The room was spacious, there was a bottle of Champagne in the room but no biscuits, no free wine and cheese due to Covid 19. There is a fridge and a coffee maker. beds were comfy, and room is clean/updated. Inn compound is lovely and it is two blocks from the water, 4-5 blocks from downtown and train station. We enjoyed our stay, took plenty of pictures in the beautiful courtyard. We wish our stay was longer. We will definitely come back. The only negative iwas that the hot water in our room was luke warm even with the faucet turned all the way to hot.

Booked a queen bed and requested early check in for a Friday afternoon wedding. At check in and again in early afternoon the room was not ready and was a king w/twin. Moved to another ready room but not actually ready. Eventually after much frustration was given a 3rd ready room. Joel was nice but first impression disappointing and stressful.

The location and friendliness of the staff made me feel at home.

Highly recommend this hotel in Santa Barbara. The location is close to restaurants and the beach. The staff was very helpful in directing us to local places and events.

The proximity to the beach is fantastic. Everything was well maintained, clean and comfortable. And I loved the cheese and wine and cookies and milk in the lobby.

Large rooms with small details. Recommed it highly.

This two story hotel is in a great location: a few blocks from the ocean and State Street. The staff is friendly and continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are offered. Our room was old and worn. The walls had patched spots and the dark carpet was worn. This property has the potential to be really special. New flooring, shutters, and furniture would turn this worn and pricey hotel into a gem!

Amazing staff. We really felt like VIP guest. I love how warm and home like the room felt. The lavender aroma help us unwind and relax (even with kids in the room). We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour as much as the kids enjoyed the milk and cookies hour. The kids really enjoyed the pool (even if it was a little cold out). We are truly grateful for this great experience that the Lavender Inn by the Sea provided us with during our little staycation.

Great place. Centrally located and walking distance to the wharf and restaurants. Pleasant staff and very nice room. Would highly recommend it.

Charming hotel, friendly staff. Clean comfortable room. Easy two block walk to the beach, 4 blocks to the pier an lower State Street. Lots of neat places on lower state, wine tastings and hip restaurants, like the Lark. No stress hotel, recommended

Stayed here twice. Nice quaint little inn. Walk to the beach. Complimentary breakfast and wine/cheese happy hour.

Okay facility but there are better options in Santa Barbara for the price.

My son, his fiancée and my husband and I just had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel for 3 days. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. A continental breakfast is offered in the am and wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Loved th lavender sachets in the pillows! The hotel is located within walking distance to the beach as well as the main retail and restaurant hub of Santa Barbara. For a change of scenery for breakfast, You can also eat st their sister hotel across the street.

The property is within walking distance of the waterfront. The staff was exceptionally welcoming and helpful. They offer a welcome bottle of champagne, an evening happy hour, cookie hour and morning breakfast, and also have bicycles available for use. A delightful property in a great location to spend time in Santa Barbara.

I highly recommend staying here. What a gem! Since my daughter goes to UCSB we have stayed in quite a few of the motels near the water and this is definitely a favorite. The rooms are nicely decorated and the staff are helpful and friendly. We really enjoy their wine and cheese in the afternoon and cookies and milk in the evening. Great location too, only a short walk to the ocean.

Castillo St Santa Barbara CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Santa Barbara City College and Stearns Wharf
  • Free on-the-go breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking

Located in Santa Barbara Beach, Lavender Inn by the Sea is adjacent to Carriage and Western Art Museum and within a 10-minute walk of other popular attractions like Moreton Bay Fig Tree. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 23 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free on-the-go breakfast, served each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Lavender Inn by the Sea's 23 rooms provide coffee makers, free local calls, and free bottled water. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels and DVD players. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include ceiling fans, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Lavender Inn by the Sea features an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with luggage storage, concierge services, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and a garden.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Lavender Inn by the Sea

Everyone (14) Couples (3) Family (2)
4
Friends

We had booked a standard room with two queen beds. We were told to call the hotel when we arrived. The manager met us at the parking lot of the Inn with our keys. We were also upgraded to a larger room with tall ceiling (Room #1). The room was spacious, there was a bottle of Champagne in the room but no biscuits, no free wine and cheese due to Covid 19. There is a fridge and a coffee maker. beds were comfy, and room is clean/updated. Inn compound is lovely and it is two blocks from the water, 4-5 blocks from downtown and train station. We enjoyed our stay, took plenty of pictures in the beautiful courtyard. We wish our stay was longer. We will definitely come back. The only negative iwas that the hot water in our room was luke warm even with the faucet turned all the way to hot.

By on May 13, 2020

Review comment responded on May 13, 2020

Greetings CJ, Thank you for your kind comments. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Lavender Inn. We look forward to being able to pamper our guests with our tasty treats once regulations ease again. thank you for alerting us of the hot water in your guestroom. We will be sure to have our maintenance team remedy that immediately. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we hope you visit us again. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager

2
Partner Couples Family

Booked a queen bed and requested early check in for a Friday afternoon wedding. At check in and again in early afternoon the room was not ready and was a king w/twin. Moved to another ready room but not actually ready. Eventually after much frustration was given a 3rd ready room. Joel was nice but first impression disappointing and stressful.

By on Sep 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2019

I’m terribly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. Our standard check in is 3PM to allow our housekeeping team to properly prepare each of our guest rooms, therefore we do not guarantee early check-ins when requested. It sounds like our team tried to accommodate you by offering you complimentary upgrades in hopes that it may be ready sooner. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. Respectfully ~ Greg Broussard, Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

By on Aug 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2019

Thank you for our 5-star review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Lavender Inn.

5
Partner Couples Family

The location and friendliness of the staff made me feel at home.

By on Aug 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

What a lovely compliment. Thank you for your kind comment regarding your recent stay with us. Should your travels bring you back to Santa Barbara, we would love to welcome you back. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, Hotel Manager

5
Everyone

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 20, 2019

Thank you for our 5-star rating. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

5
Everyone

Highly recommend this hotel in Santa Barbara. The location is close to restaurants and the beach. The staff was very helpful in directing us to local places and events.

By on Aug 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2018

Greetings from Santa Barbara! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found us to be conveniently located and our hotel team helpful. Thank you for choosing thee Lavender Inn by the Sea. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager

4
Everyone

The proximity to the beach is fantastic. Everything was well maintained, clean and comfortable. And I loved the cheese and wine and cookies and milk in the lobby.

By on Apr 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 14, 2018

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Lavender inn by the Sea and our convenient location. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. Kind regards ~ Greg Broussard, General Manager

4

very nice

Everyone

Large rooms with small details. Recommed it highly.

By on Feb 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2018

Thank you for choosing the Lavender Inn by the Sea. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm regards, Greg Broussard General Manager

3

so much potential

Everyone

This two story hotel is in a great location: a few blocks from the ocean and State Street. The staff is friendly and continental breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are offered. Our room was old and worn. The walls had patched spots and the dark carpet was worn. This property has the potential to be really special. New flooring, shutters, and furniture would turn this worn and pricey hotel into a gem!

By , from CA on Jan 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 1, 2018

Greetings from Santa Barbara, Linda ~ We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotel, found our team friendly, and treated yourself to the little extras we offer. I’m sorry to hear you felt our flooring and furniture appears worn. Please know that based on your comments our hotel team will inspect each guest room to ensure a fresh, modern, and comfortable environment for each of our guests.

5

we really felt like vip guest

Everyone

Amazing staff. We really felt like VIP guest. I love how warm and home like the room felt. The lavender aroma help us unwind and relax (even with kids in the room). We enjoyed the wine and cheese hour as much as the kids enjoyed the milk and cookies hour. The kids really enjoyed the pool (even if it was a little cold out). We are truly grateful for this great experience that the Lavender Inn by the Sea provided us with during our little staycation.

By on Jan 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2018

Thank you for your recent stay at the Lavender Inn by the Sea. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are fortunate to have a team who truly enjoy treating everyone like VIP guests and helping them to feel like they are home away from home. When you are ready for your next stay-cation, we hope you visit us again. Kind regards Greg Broussard General Manager

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Santa-Barbara-Hotels-Lavender-Inn-by-the-Sea.h84820-p2.Hotel-Reviews