Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Construction on the main road made it hard to get around but still is a good place to stay

Staff was delightful and helpful. Our stay was good in every way.

Room was great and price was too. Just wish they had a bar and restaurant.

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints!

The pool is surrounded by pretty plants and its quiet. The room was quiet and spacious (we had a handicapped accessible room). The beds were comfortable! It is a very nicely decorated hotel with hot beverages available all day and small breakfasts to go for guest leaving early in the am. The staff were very helpful. I needed help getting my passport from the hotel I had just left that day and the manager was so helpful! He saved my day! I had to leave for airport at 5am the next morning.

We stayed there after flying infrom Houston Good selection of healthy breakfast foods. Except i prefer 100% real orange juice. Very comforable bed and room. Beautifully furnished hotel and grounds. Very pleasent staff They let us drop off our winter coats. We will be staying there before we fly out of the country also.

Very poor old conditions inside the room, the pillows stunk, ancient bathtub that felt dirty. Super convenient from the airport and the nicest people as stuff, but Hampton Inn at 170 dollars has to be way better

The room was OK. Clean enough and comfortable enough for a one night stay after a long flight. Nothing special about it.

Our flight into San Jose was cancelled due to the STATE OF EMERGENCY for hurricane Nate and the Hampton wouldn't refund our money.... HORRIBLE Customer Service

We were greeted by wonderful staff who went beyond our expectations. I have stayed in many hotels over the years but never greeted by such caring and outstanding staff.

Clean, spacious room. Nice staff. Airport shuttle as promised. Acceptable breakfast. Several restaurants in the Holiday Inn-Hampton Inn complex. Not much else around.

Friendly and fast checkin. Even packed to go breakfast bags for those of us who had to get to the airport early.

Didn't like the fact that if you try to move or cancel a reservation hotel says call Orbitz and Orbitz says call hotel. What a serious breach of customer service. I won't book like this ever again.

Have stayed here several times. Very convenient to SJO, frequent free shuttle, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, full buffet breakfast, outdoor pool.

The Hampton has everything an airport hotel should. The 24 hour van is very convenient. It is close to the airport but no noisy. There is a Denny's across the parking lot. And many car rental companies are located across the street. Stay here for late arrivals and early departures.

The free transportation to and from the airport was great. When we got in the room, I immediately discovered that the toilet was stopped up. The front desk sent someone to clear it and it seemed to work OK. Then i later came to realize that the toilet was leaking water over the bathroom floor. The front desk for the very beginning should have changed us to a different room but they really seemed reluctant to do that. The next morning at checkout I complained and told the desk that I was not satisfied with how they had handled the situation. The desk did offer me a form to request a refund on the cost of the room. So far I have heard nothing from Hampton. This is disappointing since I have always had great service from Hamptons in the past.

Good if you have a early flight. Casino close by , no restaurant but do have complimentary breakfast. Some restaurants do deliver. The gift shop is rollout for the ripoff. $9.00 for a small bottle of Listerine. GIft shop is connected to the Airport gift shop in the Airport that is way over priced! Recommend get gifts before you get to the airport.

i stayed with very very homely feelng and it was good..

Thw breakfast and the staff was a good day of introducing your self to the life style culture and food. The people of costa rica are an amazing people.

Having stayed at Hampton Inn in Costa Rica over 40 times in the last four years and having recommended to friends, family, and visitors, we are disappointed. There are the same problems, and unwelcome changes. Poor to no cell phone reception on the first floor is a big problem for CR residents (us), and less frequent airport shuttle service. A nice touch in the past was fresh baked cookies in the evening. With cost cutting measures obvious, it's no longer "home". There are better prices and much better access at other Hotels nearby - if you have ever been to this Hampton, you know that entering and leaving through the local traffic is very difficult. Sometimes 20 minutes to move 100 yards, and then the next hundred, etc. We wish them well, but won't be back.

Hwy 1 Airport Blvd Alajuela Alajuela

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Free airport shuttle

Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport places you 8.4 mi (13.6 km) from Zoo Ave and 8.9 mi (14.3 km) from Costa Rica National Stadium. This 3-star hotel has 100 guestrooms and offers an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Near the airport, the hotel is also close to City Mall.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free hot/cold buffet breakfast. Order from 24-hour room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All 100 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other standard amenities include free local calls, laptop-compatible safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport have access to an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include 2 meeting rooms, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Guest reviews for Hampton Inn and Suites San Jose Airport

Everyone (22) Couples (15) Business (2) Family (13) Friends (4) Other (3)
5
Everyone

Construction on the main road made it hard to get around but still is a good place to stay

By on Apr 22, 2018

5
Everyone

Staff was delightful and helpful. Our stay was good in every way.

By on Mar 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

Dear Anonymous, thank you for such charming comments regarding your stay with us. Nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so we are very happy that it was a total success in every way and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. We want to provide our guests with all the comforts they might need and we also want them to feel very welcome, like part of our extended global family (which they are) so that they can see the hotel as their home away from home. It was a pleasure being at your service. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Stephanie Campos. Guest Relations Manager.

5

fine hotel at the airport

Everyone

Room was great and price was too. Just wish they had a bar and restaurant.

By , from New Hampshire, USA on Mar 8, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2018

Dear Jack, thanks for sharing your magnificent review about your stay with us. Making sure that our guests have a very comfortable and satisfying hotel experience is truly important for us so it is very rewarding that your stay was so pleasant and that you really found our accommodations nothing less than great. Our location is also a big perk for those guests coming in from flights or departing because we are located less than a mile from the airport so they can get from one place to the other in about 5 minutes flat, therefore, getting more time to rest and sleep than if they were staying further away. We are sorry not to have a bar but right at the lobby there is a small store which sells beer, wine, soft drinks and snacks. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. We hope to see you back soon. Warmest regards. Stephanie Campos. Guest Relations Manager.

5

great jungle recovery hotel

Everyone

The hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very helpful and polite. No complaints!

By , from Minnesota on Feb 19, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2018

Dear Leslie, thank you so much for posting your charming comments regarding your stay at our hotel. It makes us very happy that you found it to be nothing less than great and that your stay was such a pleasant and comfortable hotel experience. Nothing is as important as our guests' total satisfaction so we strive to provide them with the best accommodations and services. Our excellent staff are always going the extra mile, complying with our guests' requests and needs, always with a big, warm smile across their faces to ensure that they can see just how happy we are of having them stay in our hotel and of being at their service. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us, we will be looking forward seeing you back soon. Warmest regards. Stephanie Campos. Guest Relations Manager.

5

nice hotel with pretty pool area

Everyone

The pool is surrounded by pretty plants and its quiet. The room was quiet and spacious (we had a handicapped accessible room). The beds were comfortable! It is a very nicely decorated hotel with hot beverages available all day and small breakfasts to go for guest leaving early in the am. The staff were very helpful. I needed help getting my passport from the hotel I had just left that day and the manager was so helpful! He saved my day! I had to leave for airport at 5am the next morning.

By , from Minnesota on Feb 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2018

Dear Colleen, thank you so much for sharing your marvelous comments about your stay with us. We are really thrilled that it was such a pleasant hotel experience, finding our accomodations very comfortable, our services so good (like our very prompt free 24 hour shuttle transportation to and from the airport and our complimentary "to go" bagged breakfast for those guests that have to depart before 6 a.m. when our complimentary breakfast is served, among others) and our staff so helpful and friendly, always going the extra mile for our guests just as you were able to see for yourself. We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so it is very rewarding knowing that your stay was so good and that our staff were able to help you with your problem making your stay as hassle free as possible. Last but not least, we are glad that you found our location so convenient since we are less than a mile from the airport and we are also just across our parking lot from several car rentals, some restaurants and from a casino. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

5

very good shuttle service from airport nice breakf

Everyone

We stayed there after flying infrom Houston Good selection of healthy breakfast foods. Except i prefer 100% real orange juice. Very comforable bed and room. Beautifully furnished hotel and grounds. Very pleasent staff They let us drop off our winter coats. We will be staying there before we fly out of the country also.

By , from MN on Feb 2, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2018

Dear Colleen, thank you so much for sharing your marvelous comments about your stay with us. We are really thrilled that it was such a pleasant hotel experience, finding our accomodations very comfortable, our services so good (especially our complimentary daily breakfast and our very prompt free 24 hour shuttle transportation to and from the airport among others) and our staff so helpful and friendly. We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so it is very rewarding knowing that your stay was so good. We are glad to inform you that the orange juice we offer is completely natural, the only thing why it might taste a little different is because it is pasteurized. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

2
Everyone

Very poor old conditions inside the room, the pillows stunk, ancient bathtub that felt dirty. Super convenient from the airport and the nicest people as stuff, but Hampton Inn at 170 dollars has to be way better

By on Jan 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay, we really appreciate our guests' feedback. We are very distressed to learn that our accommodations were not up to your expectations since you found them old and that the pillow smelled. Please accept our most sincere apologies for it, we assure you that if you had let know our front desk staff about how unhappy you were with the room you were assigned to, they would have immedaitely changed you to another one more of your liking. We are also surprised about what you mentioned because our Brand has very high and strict quality and hygiene standards which are always very closely followed and monitored. Our entire premises are always being renovated both on the outside and on the inside of the building, and our rooms are remodeled and renovated every few years. We are going to share your comments with our Management so that they can start an inquiry of the room you stayed and of our housekeeping service because as we mentioned before, our standards have to always be closely followed. Once again we ask you to please accept our apology, we are truly very distraught for not being up to your expectations because nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

3

typical hampton inn

Everyone

The room was OK. Clean enough and comfortable enough for a one night stay after a long flight. Nothing special about it.

By , from san francisco on Nov 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 30, 2017

Dear Gal, thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to learn that your stay was up to your expectations and that you were able to rest and sleep as much as you desired after such a long flight. We really do thrive on our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being, so it is very rewarding knowing how pleasant and relaxing your stay with us was. It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for choosing us. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.

1

no refund policy is horrible

Everyone

Our flight into San Jose was cancelled due to the STATE OF EMERGENCY for hurricane Nate and the Hampton wouldn't refund our money.... HORRIBLE Customer Service

By , from colorado on Oct 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 13, 2017

Greetings from Hampton Inn Costa Rica, We apologize for the inconvenience, could you please contact Guest Service Manager at Hampton to proceed with your refund. Warm regards,

5

superior staff

Everyone

We were greeted by wonderful staff who went beyond our expectations. I have stayed in many hotels over the years but never greeted by such caring and outstanding staff.

By , from ontario canada on Sep 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2017

Dear Nicole, thank you so much for sharing your superb comments. We are elated to learn that our staff was above your expectations. Our entire staff embodies our Brand's hospitality philosophy and they are totally committed to our guests. They are always going the extra mile, making sure to comply with their requests and needs and also to make them feel more than welcome and right at home. We all want to make our guests feel that this is their home away from home and to make them see that we are delighted and very proud that they chose us as their hotel. It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for choosing us; the entire team will be looking forward seeing you here with us again. Warmest regards. Marjorie Espinoza. Guest Relations Manager.