Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Nice public spaces, bartender Javier was great, cookies FABULOUS. No in-room mini-bar- or snacks what? And $6 for on-room bottle of water-' ARE YOU SERIOUS? We laughed ourselves silly-- and we're natives of and reside in San Francisco, so used to crazy stupid prices. Pillows-- soft square-- on bed were awful.

Didn’t like that I got offer free breakfast then charge after

Very minimal parking, hotel smelled old and musty, room was dilapidated and in rough shape, air conditioner didn't work well, and I had to wait 15 mins to check in at 11pm due to a line at the front desk. This facility wasn't a very good value for the price, other than being close to the airport.

Great welcoming to the guests. The room is clean and nice view. The room service is fabulous.

Staff at carport was very helpful. Noisy guests for a convention. Room service tray left in hall from previous night

There were so many things wrong with this place that I need more than 1500 characters to describe them.

Breakfast buffet very expensive. Our server needed to work on his customer service skills. Easy shuttle to airport. Overall, good experience. Very close to airport and rooms clean. Would book again for the convenience to airport.

Well maintained facility. Professional staff. Convenient location.

The hotel is a good deal and great location if you are catching a flight, HOWEVER, we purposely booked this hotel because of the park and fly which includes a free shuttle. 4:30 am rolled around and we go downstairs to catch the shuttle and the front desk told us that he didn't show up and we would have to catch a taxi. We almost missed our flight and had to spend $30 on a taxi. If the hotel messes up they should make sure their customers are given what they paid for!

Orbitz pictures are misleading. A big portion of the hotel has not been renovated. My room had musky old carpet and stunk of cigarettes. Would never stay again.

The hotel claimed they validated my parking but ended up charging me $22 for one night! This is not acceptable!

I was disappointed in the condition of the hotel. We paid a fair amount of money and I expected more. When we left our room, the elevator button to go down didn't work, so we had to carry our suitcases downstairs because we didn't want to wait for the elevator to randomly show up. Plus, the parking cost $22 and I thought that was nuts. It was frustrating when I inserted the parking ticket, it wasn't accepted so I had to find someone to help! My advice...go somewhere else!

It's difficult to pick a hotel in a safe area without ever being in that city. I was pleased when I arrived. It's location worked for us to visit relatives in Santa Clara and San Francisco. San Jose airport is the way to go. FYI: $22 a night to park at the hotel- I'm always a little sore with that added price when it's not disclosed (or maybe I didn't see the fine print).

If you don't have your car valeted your going to do some walking it was hard to figure out the parking

Gateway Pl San Jose CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool

Located in North San Jose, DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Avaya Stadium and San Jose Municipal Golf. This 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with 505 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a free airport shuttle.


Dining

This hotel is home to 3 onsite restaurants, perfect for a quick bite to eat. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the 2 coffee shops/cafés. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

All 505 soundproofed rooms provide balconies, iPod docks, and refrigerators. 37-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels and video-game consoles, and guests can stay connected with WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and pillow menus, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include coffee makers, free newspapers, and safes.


Property features

Guests staying at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose enjoy an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, self parking is USD 28 per night, or you can take advantage of the free airport shuttle (available on request). The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Club Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub (Mobility)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed, Balcony (Gateway)

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Tower (Metro Tower)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Roll-in Shower)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Everyone (19) Couples (25) Business (21) Family (24) Friends (6) Other (9)
4
Partner Couples

Nice public spaces, bartender Javier was great, cookies FABULOUS. No in-room mini-bar- or snacks what? And $6 for on-room bottle of water-' ARE YOU SERIOUS? We laughed ourselves silly-- and we're natives of and reside in San Francisco, so used to crazy stupid prices. Pillows-- soft square-- on bed were awful.

By on Oct 14, 2019

1
Families

Didn’t like that I got offer free breakfast then charge after

By on Aug 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 12, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are terribly sorry that you got offered free breakfast and then were charged. We appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve and better serve you in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Jul 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to post a rating. We are thrilled you had a 5 star experience. We hope to see you again soon.

2
Business Business Travelers

Very minimal parking, hotel smelled old and musty, room was dilapidated and in rough shape, air conditioner didn't work well, and I had to wait 15 mins to check in at 11pm due to a line at the front desk. This facility wasn't a very good value for the price, other than being close to the airport.

By , from Indianapolis on Jul 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 3, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the minimal parking on property. We are sorry you had to wait for check-in at 11pm and your AC not working properly. We appreciate your feedback so we can continue to improve and serve you better in the future.

5
Everyone

By on May 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2019

We thank you for taking the time to post a rating. We are pleased you had a 5 star experience. We hope to see you again soon.

5
Everyone

Great welcoming to the guests. The room is clean and nice view. The room service is fabulous.

By on Apr 2, 2019

4
Families

Staff at carport was very helpful. Noisy guests for a convention. Room service tray left in hall from previous night

By on Apr 2, 2019

2
Families Families

There were so many things wrong with this place that I need more than 1500 characters to describe them.

By , from Arizona on Mar 2, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Jan 22, 2019

4
Everyone

By on Dec 30, 2018

DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/San-Jose-Hotels-DoubleTree-by-Hilton-San-Jose.h11009-p2.Hotel-Reviews