Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I liked the fire pits out front.

Very noisy. We couldn’t tell if it was above us or beside us. It was just loud. Pressure washing across the street one morning for 3 hours. Breakfast was mostly all carbs/sugar/processed food. Elevators took so long Friday and Saturday.

I liked the location. It was near Pier 39 and close to bus routes and Chinatown. The price was very reasonable for San Fran.

The room smell bad and wZ to much people noise outside the room people smoking weed in yhe rooms

We were upgraded to an excellent patio location. It was absolutely perfect and convenient for us!

The hotel is OK, but the services are well bellow expectations: No real breakfast, no room cleaning, no late checkout , no luggage storage after checkout, etc. Please note: if you book through an agency, the hotel penalize you by charging extra ( in order to cover the commission they paid the agency ? ) . In short, this hotel conduct was well bellow my expectation, and the extra charge was totally unforeseen and inappropriate. 😠

Space to sit outside away from streets.

Centralized location was great. Parking fee was expensive.

So loud. People parting past midnight right below our room at the fire pits. Staff did nothing to control noise level. Terrible night. Do not stay here.

Property was close to Fisherman's wharf. Very clean and staff was great. Only downfall was that the doors are very noisy closing and people coming and going at night the doors slam shut and wake you up.

Breakfast is a bad joke. I understand challenges with COVID but still, on our trip, out of 4 hotels this was the worst. Only 2 elevators working for the entire hotel. Over crowded. No amenities in rooms, no coffee machine. You can hear all from your neighbors and corridors. Parking incredibly overpriced. Good location.

My first time here I love it the only negative thing that I have to say about this place is that they charge parking $53 dollars per night other than that I was happy

Walk to pier 39 and Fisherman’s warf. Close to restaurants and shops

Loved everything about it accept the parking fee and no balcony view i understand a fee for parking is a must but i feel if were paying for the rooms 51.00 in parking should be at least 10.00 to 15.00 since were guests but over all it is always a pleasure to stay at this hotel great distance to the pier and shops and clean rooms and great staff!!!

New and renovated, you can hear everything from the hallway and view from window is not the best.

Staff was super friendly and room was very nice, tv remote was alittle dated and no microwave in room but there is a mini fridge and safe. Perfect for our quick SF get-away. Cant beat the quality for the price.

Mason St San Francisco CA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Pier 39 and Ghirardelli Square
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Located in North Beach, Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Aquarium of the Bay and Pier 39. This 531-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. To-go breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.


Rooms

The 531 accommodations feature sitting areas. 50-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, safes, and phones are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf have access to an outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is offered for USD 51.30 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with luggage storage and concierge services. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Deluxe Room (Hotwire ROH)

2 Queen Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Superior Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf

Everyone (53) Couples (13) Family (37)
3
Everyone

I liked the fire pits out front.

By on May 12, 2021

Review comment responded on May 13, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time. It is great to read you enjoyed the fire pits outside of the hotel and we truly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Have a lovely day, Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman´s Wharf Online Reputation Manager

2
Partner Couples

Very noisy. We couldn’t tell if it was above us or beside us. It was just loud. Pressure washing across the street one morning for 3 hours. Breakfast was mostly all carbs/sugar/processed food. Elevators took so long Friday and Saturday.

By on May 2, 2021

Review comment responded on May 5, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Riu and for sharing your concerns. We are sincerely sorry to learn of the experience you described. We aim to deliver exceptional hospitality experiences and we profusely apologize for the noise disturbances from other guests and the impact this had on your experience. We are looking forward to having the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Have a lovely day, Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman´s Wharf Online Reputation Manager

4
Everyone

By on Apr 30, 2021

5
Partner Couples

I liked the location. It was near Pier 39 and close to bus routes and Chinatown. The price was very reasonable for San Fran.

By on Apr 28, 2021

2
Partner Couples

The room smell bad and wZ to much people noise outside the room people smoking weed in yhe rooms

By on Apr 27, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf. We are saddened and sorry to hear of the disappointments you mentioned. This definitely is not the wonderful experience that we strive to provide to our guests and for this reason please accept our sincere apologies. At the same time, we are very surprised to hear of people smoking at the rooms, as all our rooms are equipped with smoke detectors. It is a pity that you made no complaints until now, we only wish we had had an opportunity to assist you with anything you may need. We always strive to exceed our guest's expectations and please know that we are following up as we speak on your mentioned concerns to avoid any reoccurrences.Once more, thank you for sharing, your constructive feedback is very appreciated. It is our hope you will allow us an opportunity in the future so we can make it better. Sincerely, Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf Online Reputation Manager

5
Family Partner Couples Friends Family

We were upgraded to an excellent patio location. It was absolutely perfect and convenient for us!

By on Apr 27, 2021

3
Family

The hotel is OK, but the services are well bellow expectations: No real breakfast, no room cleaning, no late checkout , no luggage storage after checkout, etc. Please note: if you book through an agency, the hotel penalize you by charging extra ( in order to cover the commission they paid the agency ? ) . In short, this hotel conduct was well bellow my expectation, and the extra charge was totally unforeseen and inappropriate. 😠

By on Apr 24, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. First of all. we are very surprised that you write that there were unforeseen costs in your booking, as the costs are clearly displayed during the booking. Also, contrary to what you say, there is certainly no penalty if you book through an agency, as otherwise no agency would work with us. Therefore, as you have booked our house externally, we recommend you to contact your agency's customer service if you have any questions about your booking. In regards to the services, please note, on Orbitz, and anywhere you can book our hotel we do indicate that in order to meet each country’s hygiene requirements, there may be some changes to each hotel’s services or facilities and amenities that differ from what is described. We hope you can understand that all the changes that may occur are only to ensure our customers’ wellbeing and peace of mind. There is nothing more important these days. However, we strive to make an exceptional impression on all of our guests and for this reason we are upset to learn that your expectations were not exceeded with your stay. Certainly, we understand how the mentioned issues may have affected your stay, even though we hope that based on the overwhelmingly positive comments from our guests over the years, you recognize that your most recent experience is not typical of our usual high level of quality. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your comments have been passed to the involved department. We will continue to research any way to make the process on more convenient for our guests. We hope to regain your confidence and trust in order to welcome you back to us in the future. Kind regards Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf Online Reputation Manager

4
Friends

Space to sit outside away from streets.

By on Apr 19, 2021

4
Family

Centralized location was great. Parking fee was expensive.

By on Apr 18, 2021

4
Everyone

By on Apr 13, 2021

Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman's Wharf

2500 Mason St, San Francisco, CA 94133
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Hotel-Riu-Plaza-Fisherman's-Wharf.h24625-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Francisco-Hotels-Hotel-Riu-Plaza-Fisherman's-Wharf.h24625-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Francisco-Hotels-Hotel-Riu-Plaza-Fisherman's-Wharf.h24625-p2.Hotel-Reviews