Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The room did not appear to have been cleaned well prior to my check in. Dishwasher was full, coffee maker still had coffee and used packets in it. There were no coffee packets provided. Part of the bath tub was held together with tape, blow dryer did not work. Initial check in was pleasant after other staff members seem to have no answers for simple questions.

I liked the spaciousness of the rooms and the very comfortable bed. The bathroom floor needed cleaning. The corners were dirty and there was outside dirt from shoes on the floor.

A perfect location for our trip. Plenty of parking, the kitchen was well stocked, beds were extremely comfortable.

The room was wet and smelled strongly of mold. The carpet was so damp that if you pressed a piece of paper on it it would wet the paper.

Good location in Reading. Accomidations were good for the price. Close to train tracks and hospital (sirins from ambulance), so a little hard to sleep. Staff was friendly.

Business trip good location. Free parking. The orbitz requirement that I add fluff to this section make me wish I had hit delete to this request.

Everything about this place was terrible starting with the check in. Do yourself and everyone with you a favor and book a room at another hotel! Front desk people are totally disrespectful, rooms are dirty, carpets stained and worn, smells bad! This hotel deserves 0 stars.

We had a great stay. The room was great and staff was very helpful and friendly.

This hotel was very clean. The room was well stocked with everything from popcorn to pots and pans. The only complaint I could find was the shower head wasn't the best. Everything was great. They even have a lending library of movies and games.

What a find - spacious, clean, plenty of amenities, free laundry. I will definitely include Candlewood Suites into my future hotel searches.

I was in town for a funeral, and this property's location was withing walking distance of both the funeral home and the church where the burial mass was celebrated. There are also numerous restaurants on Penn Avenue, also within walking distance. There is easy access to Route 422. There was an issue with other guests using an enclosed patio near my room making noise after midnight, but a call to the front desk quickly took care of the issue. Friendly, helpful staff and my room also had a very convenient kitchenette.

the room was very nice and reasonably priced. We had a small cook top stove a full size microwave oven and a full size fridge. The bed was one of the most comfortable i have experienced in a motel. We were on the first floor and thought we might have a problem with noise but it was very quiet and we had no issues. If I am ever in the Reading area again I would definitely stay at this motel again.

overnigt stay for work-- clean and comfortable! Very friendly staff with nice bar right next door

Hotel was well stocked. Comfy. Up & coming area in West Reading

My husband and I arrived for a late check in and had no issues getting checked in right away. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles and answered any questions we had. Upon entering our room, we were very happy with the cleanliness of the room. It was a nice cozy room; my husband compared it to a studio apartment. Everything in the room was in working order and the bathroom was pretty spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and clean. We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Candlewood suites. Whenever in Reading, we will surely stay there again!

Very convenient to my work location, as well as everything in the surrounding area. Internet was slow at times; staff said they had the same issue with their business connection. I don't download movies, but I have to use the internet extensively while on business travel, so this was an annoyance. I'll stay there again.

It was very clean and offered great services such as a gym, laundry facilities, the the ability to rent board games, movies, and kitchen appliances. The staff was also very friendly and answered any questions we had.

the staff was nice and the rooms are prefect for our family love it

We stayed overnight after a wedding. Staff was courteous, hotel was nice. Only downfall was that we had specifically requested a non-smoking room on the online site but all non-smoking rooms were gone. The hotel said that this travel online company over sells rooms quite often.

S 3rd Ave West Reading PA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Candlewood Suites Reading, an IHG Hotel places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Reading Public Museum and Vanity Fair Outlet Village. This 74-room hotel has round-the-clock conveniences like a business center, a fitness center, and a front desk.


Rooms

The 74 rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, and dishwashers. 50-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Candlewood Suites Reading, an IHG Hotel features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and a picnic area.

Room options

Standard Suite

1 Double Bed | 1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Hearing)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 2 Double Beds, Accessible (Hearing, Roll-In Shower)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Candlewood Suites Reading, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (6) Couples (12) Business (6) Family (10) Friends (2) Other (1)
2
Everyone

The room did not appear to have been cleaned well prior to my check in. Dishwasher was full, coffee maker still had coffee and used packets in it. There were no coffee packets provided. Part of the bath tub was held together with tape, blow dryer did not work. Initial check in was pleasant after other staff members seem to have no answers for simple questions.

By on Apr 14, 2021

4
Family

I liked the spaciousness of the rooms and the very comfortable bed. The bathroom floor needed cleaning. The corners were dirty and there was outside dirt from shoes on the floor.

By on Feb 1, 2020

5
Family Family

A perfect location for our trip. Plenty of parking, the kitchen was well stocked, beds were extremely comfortable.

By on Aug 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2019

Thank you for the 5-star rating. We're glad that our location was perfect for your trip. We offer free parking.. and plenty of them. Our comfortable beds are sure to give you a good nights rest. See you next time you are in the area.

1
Everyone

The room was wet and smelled strongly of mold. The carpet was so damp that if you pressed a piece of paper on it it would wet the paper.

By on Jul 19, 2019

4
Partner Couples

Good location in Reading. Accomidations were good for the price. Close to train tracks and hospital (sirins from ambulance), so a little hard to sleep. Staff was friendly.

By on Feb 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 27, 2019

Thank you for sharing your experience and for staying with us. It was our pleasure to be of service to you.

4
Everyone

By on Jan 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2019

Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites.

4

nice clean facility

Everyone

Business trip good location. Free parking. The orbitz requirement that I add fluff to this section make me wish I had hit delete to this request.

By , from CT on Jan 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2018

Thank you for the review Chris. See you next time you are in the area.

1

terrible service!

Everyone

Everything about this place was terrible starting with the check in. Do yourself and everyone with you a favor and book a room at another hotel! Front desk people are totally disrespectful, rooms are dirty, carpets stained and worn, smells bad! This hotel deserves 0 stars.

By on Dec 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your recent visit to the Candlewood Suites! I'm also sorry that the staff did not live up to our service expectations as we are known for. I appreciate your feedback regarding the issues you had during your stay and I will make sure these issues are corrected. We do hope you come and visit us again during your next trip to the area. We hope to make your next visit a positive experience. Timothy Seidel General Manager

5

very nice

Everyone

We had a great stay. The room was great and staff was very helpful and friendly.

By , from w on Nov 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff works hard to provide great service and clean rooms. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy Seidel General Manager

5

great getaway

Couples

This hotel was very clean. The room was well stocked with everything from popcorn to pots and pans. The only complaint I could find was the shower head wasn't the best. Everything was great. They even have a lending library of movies and games.

By on Nov 17, 2015

Candlewood Suites Reading, an IHG Hotel

55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Reading-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Reading,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2292858-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Reading-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Reading,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2292858-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Reading-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Reading,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2292858-p2.Hotel-Reviews