Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Candlewood Suites Reading

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Everything about this place was terrible starting with the check in. Do yourself and everyone with you a favor and book a room at another hotel! Front desk people are totally disrespectful, rooms are dirty, carpets stained and worn, smells bad! This hotel deserves 0 stars.

We had a great stay. The room was great and staff was very helpful and friendly.

This hotel was very clean. The room was well stocked with everything from popcorn to pots and pans. The only complaint I could find was the shower head wasn't the best. Everything was great. They even have a lending library of movies and games.

What a find - spacious, clean, plenty of amenities, free laundry. I will definitely include Candlewood Suites into my future hotel searches.

I was in town for a funeral, and this property's location was withing walking distance of both the funeral home and the church where the burial mass was celebrated. There are also numerous restaurants on Penn Avenue, also within walking distance. There is easy access to Route 422. There was an issue with other guests using an enclosed patio near my room making noise after midnight, but a call to the front desk quickly took care of the issue. Friendly, helpful staff and my room also had a very convenient kitchenette.

the room was very nice and reasonably priced. We had a small cook top stove a full size microwave oven and a full size fridge. The bed was one of the most comfortable i have experienced in a motel. We were on the first floor and thought we might have a problem with noise but it was very quiet and we had no issues. If I am ever in the Reading area again I would definitely stay at this motel again.

overnigt stay for work-- clean and comfortable! Very friendly staff with nice bar right next door

Hotel was well stocked. Comfy. Up & coming area in West Reading

My husband and I arrived for a late check in and had no issues getting checked in right away. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles and answered any questions we had. Upon entering our room, we were very happy with the cleanliness of the room. It was a nice cozy room; my husband compared it to a studio apartment. Everything in the room was in working order and the bathroom was pretty spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and clean. We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Candlewood suites. Whenever in Reading, we will surely stay there again!

Very convenient to my work location, as well as everything in the surrounding area. Internet was slow at times; staff said they had the same issue with their business connection. I don't download movies, but I have to use the internet extensively while on business travel, so this was an annoyance. I'll stay there again.

It was very clean and offered great services such as a gym, laundry facilities, the the ability to rent board games, movies, and kitchen appliances. The staff was also very friendly and answered any questions we had.

the staff was nice and the rooms are prefect for our family love it

We stayed overnight after a wedding. Staff was courteous, hotel was nice. Only downfall was that we had specifically requested a non-smoking room on the online site but all non-smoking rooms were gone. The hotel said that this travel online company over sells rooms quite often.

Hotel was perfect, close to restaurants, our concert venue was 5 min away, staff friendly and helpful, very clean and comfortable. even the little" store " was great for a midnite snack! Would definitely stay again!

Candlewood is always a nice stay. We had a 3rd person and chose it because the rooms are so roomy, even with a cot, we had plenty of space. Wish they served breakfast, but there is a full kitchen in the room which is handy. Staff was very friendly and accommodating

We paid more than we realized was necessary. We got a similar room nearby for $10 less than your "bargain price". We were incredulous to find that the hotel did not provide breakfast ( breakfast at the other motel was fabulous).

The description on the website made it out that the room would have a full kitchen.... Didn't have a oven... They don't clean the room everyday... Some of the front desk people are great while others are bad.... Couldn't connect to the Internet on my laptop wireless and wired didn't work... Could only connect on phone and iPad... Phoned the number they supplied for help... But was after hours so no help... And got charged for the phone call lol... Other than that wasn't bad good location and the room was nice

The hotel was clean and the people were very nice always asking us if we needed anything. We will definitely go back when we visit Reading Pa. again.

Spacious, clean room, with full size refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove, desk and comfortable chair. Little store with microwavable food for meals, snacks, drinks, etc. was nice. Didn't use the gym, but it looked to be better equipped than average. Nice, safe location. Bar/restaurant next door and another one a couple blocks away were convenient and nice.

This hotel is meant for extended stays, but I spent two nights there to attend a wedding nearby. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the kitchen is a nice feature. The bathroom in my room was huge. There is tons of parking. My only complaint is that people come in late at night from the bar next door and are loud, but maybe that was just because my room was by the elevator.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Suite

Full 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Candlewood Suites Reading

Everyone (2) Couples (11) Business (6) Family (7) Other (1) Friends (2)
1

terrible service!

Everyone

Everything about this place was terrible starting with the check in. Do yourself and everyone with you a favor and book a room at another hotel! Front desk people are totally disrespectful, rooms are dirty, carpets stained and worn, smells bad! This hotel deserves 0 stars.

By on Dec 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2016

I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience during your recent visit to the Candlewood Suites! I'm also sorry that the staff did not live up to our service expectations as we are known for. I appreciate your feedback regarding the issues you had during your stay and I will make sure these issues are corrected. We do hope you come and visit us again during your next trip to the area. We hope to make your next visit a positive experience. Timothy Seidel General Manager

5

very nice

Everyone

We had a great stay. The room was great and staff was very helpful and friendly.

By , from w on Nov 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 22, 2016

I'm glad to hear that you had a great stay at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff works hard to provide great service and clean rooms. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy Seidel General Manager

5

great getaway

Couples

This hotel was very clean. The room was well stocked with everything from popcorn to pots and pans. The only complaint I could find was the shower head wasn't the best. Everything was great. They even have a lending library of movies and games.

By on Nov 17, 2015

5

soocer in reading

Families

What a find - spacious, clean, plenty of amenities, free laundry. I will definitely include Candlewood Suites into my future hotel searches.

By on Nov 10, 2015

4

convenient location

Families

I was in town for a funeral, and this property's location was withing walking distance of both the funeral home and the church where the burial mass was celebrated. There are also numerous restaurants on Penn Avenue, also within walking distance. There is easy access to Route 422. There was an issue with other guests using an enclosed patio near my room making noise after midnight, but a call to the front desk quickly took care of the issue. Friendly, helpful staff and my room also had a very convenient kitchenette.

By on Sep 20, 2015

5

over night stay

Couples

the room was very nice and reasonably priced. We had a small cook top stove a full size microwave oven and a full size fridge. The bed was one of the most comfortable i have experienced in a motel. We were on the first floor and thought we might have a problem with noise but it was very quiet and we had no issues. If I am ever in the Reading area again I would definitely stay at this motel again.

By on Sep 17, 2015

4

great stay

BusinessTravelers

overnigt stay for work-- clean and comfortable! Very friendly staff with nice bar right next door

By on Aug 23, 2015

4

up & coming area in west reading

Couples

Hotel was well stocked. Comfy. Up & coming area in West Reading

By on Jun 28, 2015

5

great stay!

Couples

My husband and I arrived for a late check in and had no issues getting checked in right away. The front desk staff greeted us with smiles and answered any questions we had. Upon entering our room, we were very happy with the cleanliness of the room. It was a nice cozy room; my husband compared it to a studio apartment. Everything in the room was in working order and the bathroom was pretty spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and clean. We very much enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Candlewood suites. Whenever in Reading, we will surely stay there again!

By on Dec 1, 2014

4

good stay

BusinessTravelers

Very convenient to my work location, as well as everything in the surrounding area. Internet was slow at times; staff said they had the same issue with their business connection. I don't download movies, but I have to use the internet extensively while on business travel, so this was an annoyance. I'll stay there again.

By on Oct 2, 2014