Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This was our first time at this resort & we loved it, we felt very welcomed by the staff here . We had excellent service from both Juan & Edwar from the bar near the lobby. They treated us like family , great service & definitely went out of their way for us along with Noel & a few others at the bar. I really enjoyed visiting Catalonia Resorts & would definitely go back..

Customer service is extremly bad. They take forever to solve an issue and they don't even have the courtesy to follow up. Rooms need to be updated and well maintained. Staff needs training of some sort, so they can be kind and courteous with guests.

I came to Punta Cana for my vacation. The hotel was very clean and the grounds were gorgeous. The food was pretty good - the buffet had a ton of selections and the restaurants were great.

Food not so great. No real authentic spanish food. Do not replace hotel towels daily. Room service sucks. However hotel is amazing.

I have stayed at many other Catalonia resorts and this is the first time that I have issues in my staying. First of all, it took about three hours to check in even though we were staying in the "junior privileged deluxe" where you have a separate checking. Room was not clean, I had to call so they can bring clean towels. Also, every time I ordered room service they missed something, I am Dominican and speak perfect Spanish so it was not a language issue. Not offense to any one, the staff (excluding the staff at privileged reception) seem to treat locals very different than foreign guests, whenever I requested something and spoke in Spanish I would get an awful service but when approaching speaking English, treatment was totally different, I have been to many many resorts and different countries and this is the very first time I go through this, was not pleasant at all. It is very disappointing to see in your own country. I also noticed at lot of employees' family member and friends that did not have a wrist band enjoying the resort premises. I will not be returning to this particular Catalonia.

I would say this is your standard run of the mill all inclusive hotel. Rooms are spacious but average (ours had a smell in the bathroom at times like sewer). Our room location was excellent (bldg 6) close to the pool (huge pool, plenty of space but get your chairs early if you want shade) and Beach (beautiful beach with clear water and pink speckled sand) but had a pretty good walk to the main buffet, lobby, main bar, and theatre area. The food was sub par. Same items every day. I didn't have anything that made me say that was delicious, however, I will say we only ate at the buffets (for the specialty restaurants you have to follow the dress code so remember to bring proper attire). I traveled with my husband and 2 children (5 & 3) everyone enjoyed themselves. I would return to punta Cana but will most likely try another resort.

Had a great time. Great food, entertainment, staff, beautiful beach. Wifi worked well. Will come back!

Me and my family enjoyed staying in Catalonia! Everything was great! The food, the stuff, drinks was wonderful! Very close to the beach! The water is beautiful! The swimming pol is big, the foam part was super! Great job!

This was our 10th trip to this resort with family/friends. Hotel staff, food, overall trip was excellent

Good room by the beach.Food was good space and not over crowded.

We were visiting this resort in October! The nicest spot was the front desk, for one minute I thought we chose the right place for our vacation to celebrate my 30th birthday! After check-in, we went to the bar to have a couple of drinks before we went to the beach. I first tried one drink, then the second one and they were both horrible. It looks like the hotel is mixing them up with the water to save their liquor expenses, all their bars were like that! After that, we went to the restaurant, gosh - there was no air conditioner! I was dying while eating my food. The next day, we went to another restaurant and there was no air conditioner there either! This was the only one Italian restaurant that was equipped with an air conditioner and of course there was a huge line because the people had no cooler place to have a nice dinner! Everybody was promising that they will fix the air conditioners at the resort, but nothing happened! The other issue was that the bathtub in my room was leaking very badly! p.s. The hotel conditions were bad, mixed alcohol felt like you were drinking sugar water, and no air conditioners in restaurants. Also, the food in cafeterias was horrible and salty! Yes it's all inclusive, But it was not worth it!!!

The hotel and facilities were great. No mosquito problems observed.

Nice short 20 minute drive from airport, got private shuttle roundtrip was $56 (dominican plus). Tried our best to stay covered w/ 20% deet repellant but still got bit up a good bit- not the prettiest beach-alot of seaweed-visit a better one Room was ok, a bit gloomy, ac would run but not really blow cold air so room was never really comfortable, we complained, they came twice, didnt get better but we just dealt with it. pool towels are a bit of a pain-most of the time they are out of towels at the towel bar and they close at 6pm so good luck finding a towel after then.-We got free massage, 24 hour rm service, 1 free photo from photo shoot, access to all restauraunts, pillow menu, romantic dinner on the beach, and $30 free vouchers for casino w/ honeymoon package. You will be booked a reservation for a sales presentation to get a free tshirt, bag, etc- you can leave if you want but its high pressured so you'll have to be aggressive and leave... resort is beautfiul, plenty of pools on the royal side-i would stay on the royal side and then visit on the family side when you get bored or tired of the quiet- you can ask for the drinks to be made stronger if you like-they make them pretty weak if you don't. FOOD IS FANTASTIC! YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE STEAKHOUSE-OH MY GOSH-BEST STEAK IN MY LIFE! new york strip i think- dont think you won't need mosquito repellant after showering for dinner-put it on! we got bit sitting inside for dinner! excursions- club in cave & aventure boogie

Very nice staff, some were rude and seemed as if they expected tips but overall very nice and generous and friendly.

This was our second summer vacation to Catalonia(May 2015, August 2016), and we would go back a third time. That said, our trip in 2015 was more enjoyable. We had almost zero complaints last year, vacation of a lifetime. This year there were a few bumps in the road. On the second night, we had a crab in our room. A crab! I trapped him with the trash can and threw him out of the room. The breakfast food at the buffets is very subpar. We could always find a few things on the lunch and dinner buffet that we enjoyed, but breakfast was lacking. Note: the speciality restaurants are great, our favorites being the Rodeo Steakhouse and Mikato. The last night at Rodeo Steakhouse(second time there this week), my Beef Tenderloin was very undercooked(ordered medium, rare at best. picture attached to this review). Just as last year, the "Market Night" at the resort is ridiculously pushy and should not be hosted at the Catalonia. Harassment may be a better term for the event. A stern no thank you did the trick, with both workers who approached us in the 15 feet that we were forced to walk through it(you must walk through to get to the buffet, lobby, two specialty restaurants, and the casino). So now you've heard the bad. Everything else at this resort is perfect. The staff was fantastic from check in, restaurants, cleaning service, bar tenders, all wonderful. The beach is beautiful. Always got a beach chair by arriving at or before 10AM. Minimal wait times at the restaurants.

Best vacation ever.... great food, facilities, people, weather. we will definitely come back.

The facilities, the food and the personal are excellent.

The hotel was nice but the air conditioning units weren't really cool but overall the stay was nice

First room we were give. Had no AC then the power went out. Housekeeping was EVEN WORSE. Bathroom was dirty and smelly, they didn't bring clean towels daily, etc. I DO NOT recommend this place.

The hotel is comfortable and large spaces. Food in restaurants should be improved and have more options

Playa Bavaro Punta Cana La Altagracia

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive places you next to Catalonia Caribe Golf Club and within a mile (2 km) of Dolphin Explorer. This 711-room, 4-star resort has a private beach, a golf course, and a full-service spa. Bavaro Lagoon is also 1.4 mi (2.3 km) from the resort, which is on the waterfront.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast. There are multiple options for onsite dining with 10 restaurants, including Gran Caribe, which specializes in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and YUCA with its golf course views. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 711 air-conditioned accommodations feature furnished balconies and afford space to spread out with separate bedrooms. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Free minibar items, coffee makers, and free bottled water are other standard amenities.


Property features

Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive features a private beach, a golf course, and a full-service spa. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the area. Other amenities at this all-inclusive resort include a casino, a nightclub, and an outdoor pool.

Room options

Junior Suite

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Privileged Superior Junior Suite

Full 2 | King 1 | Sleeps 4

Privileged Honeymoon Junior Suites

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Privileged Deluxe Junior Suite

King 1 | Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Catalonia Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Everyone (21) Couples (107) Family (50) Friends (41) Other (6)
5

experience at catalonia

Everyone

This was our first time at this resort & we loved it, we felt very welcomed by the staff here . We had excellent service from both Juan & Edwar from the bar near the lobby. They treated us like family , great service & definitely went out of their way for us along with Noel & a few others at the bar. I really enjoyed visiting Catalonia Resorts & would definitely go back..

By on May 31, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2017

Dear guest, My warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we're very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us before. Thank you very much for recommending us! We really appreciated your compliments to our awesome staff. Be assured that your presence at our resort has left a warm impression on our staff, and they are motivated by your excellent comment. We hope that you can return to visit us again, your second home Catalonia Bavaro Beach Casino Golf. Best regards,

1

i would never recommend this resort to anyone.

Everyone

Customer service is extremly bad. They take forever to solve an issue and they don't even have the courtesy to follow up. Rooms need to be updated and well maintained. Staff needs training of some sort, so they can be kind and courteous with guests.

By , from Colorado on May 23, 2017

Review comment responded on May 29, 2017

Dear guest, Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. Here at Catalonia Hotels & Resorts, we highly value our guests, and we deeply care for their safety and wellbeing, for this reason, we are always on the complete disposition to listen to their needs and opinions prior, during and after their visit. We´ll be sending all you comments about the rooms, we are conscious that these are one of the aspects that we need to improve, we already send this message to the Maintenance Department. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. Best regards,

4

great hotel! i would come back again!

Everyone

I came to Punta Cana for my vacation. The hotel was very clean and the grounds were gorgeous. The food was pretty good - the buffet had a ton of selections and the restaurants were great.

By , from Atlanta, GA on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 29, 2017

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Bávaro Resort. We are very glad to learn that you are having a wonderful vacations, it is a pleasure to read that you are enjoying our facilities, awesome staff, grounds and awesome staff. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve wherever we can. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards!!

3

love the hotel scenary.

Everyone

Food not so great. No real authentic spanish food. Do not replace hotel towels daily. Room service sucks. However hotel is amazing.

By on May 9, 2017

Review comment responded on May 22, 2017

Dear guest. Thank you for rating us. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. Please be assured that your comments and suggestions have been taken into consideration and that we will do our utmost to improve. We certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future. Best Regards.

2

nice hotel but staff need training

Everyone

I have stayed at many other Catalonia resorts and this is the first time that I have issues in my staying. First of all, it took about three hours to check in even though we were staying in the "junior privileged deluxe" where you have a separate checking. Room was not clean, I had to call so they can bring clean towels. Also, every time I ordered room service they missed something, I am Dominican and speak perfect Spanish so it was not a language issue. Not offense to any one, the staff (excluding the staff at privileged reception) seem to treat locals very different than foreign guests, whenever I requested something and spoke in Spanish I would get an awful service but when approaching speaking English, treatment was totally different, I have been to many many resorts and different countries and this is the very first time I go through this, was not pleasant at all. It is very disappointing to see in your own country. I also noticed at lot of employees' family member and friends that did not have a wrist band enjoying the resort premises. I will not be returning to this particular Catalonia.

By , from New Jersey on Apr 20, 2017

Review comment responded on May 22, 2017

Dear Guest. We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and that you felt like that. We would like to let you know that in our Resort we do not promote or allow any form of distinction whether it relates to the team of the hotel or its customers. Unfortunately, we neither didn't have information of you general dissatisfaction while you were staying in order to assist you correctly. Please, If you would give us the opportunity to host you again, contact our Guest Service directly, it will be a pleasure to serve you as you deserve. Regards.

4

nice hotel but nothing fancy

Everyone

I would say this is your standard run of the mill all inclusive hotel. Rooms are spacious but average (ours had a smell in the bathroom at times like sewer). Our room location was excellent (bldg 6) close to the pool (huge pool, plenty of space but get your chairs early if you want shade) and Beach (beautiful beach with clear water and pink speckled sand) but had a pretty good walk to the main buffet, lobby, main bar, and theatre area. The food was sub par. Same items every day. I didn't have anything that made me say that was delicious, however, I will say we only ate at the buffets (for the specialty restaurants you have to follow the dress code so remember to bring proper attire). I traveled with my husband and 2 children (5 & 3) everyone enjoyed themselves. I would return to punta Cana but will most likely try another resort.

By , from Poconos, PA on Apr 19, 2017

Review comment responded on May 22, 2017

Dear Guest. We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations and that you felt like that. We would like to let you know that in our Resort we do not promote or allow any form of distinction whether it relates to the team of the hotel or its customers. Unfortunately, we neither didn't have information of you general dissatisfaction while you were staying in order to assist you correctly. Please, If you would give us the opportunity to host you again, contact our Guest Service directly, it will be a pleasure to serve you as you deserve. Regards.

5

great experience

Everyone

Had a great time. Great food, entertainment, staff, beautiful beach. Wifi worked well. Will come back!

By on Mar 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2017

Dear guest. It is nice to know that you had a nice trip and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. The biggest compliment that our team can get is your desire to return. It will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again! Best Regards

5

very nice resort

Everyone

Me and my family enjoyed staying in Catalonia! Everything was great! The food, the stuff, drinks was wonderful! Very close to the beach! The water is beautiful! The swimming pol is big, the foam part was super! Great job!

By , from new york on Feb 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2017

Dear guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are very grateful to hear that you had a good experience with us and that you enjoyed the services and facilities. We certainly look forward to your returning trip in the near future. Regards. General Manager

5

excellent trip

Everyone

This was our 10th trip to this resort with family/friends. Hotel staff, food, overall trip was excellent

By , from Michigan on Feb 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 24, 2017

Dear guest. Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Thank you for your nice remarks about food, staff and facilities. Thank you a lot for recommending us. We'll be waiting for your return. Best Regards. General Manager

4

nice hotel close to beach

Everyone

Good room by the beach.Food was good space and not over crowded.

By on Jan 22, 2017