Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Really liked that it was attached to the restaurant. Did not like the situation with the stairs down to lobby for check in. Imagine this would be hard to less mobile people and there was no elevator or chair lift. Maybe they make accommodations some how for this. Anyway, I had a nice stay and was very happy with my room.

Overall quality good. Cost down from summer tourist when it doubled

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The facility was clean. However, the room we got, 503, had a funky smell. It smelled like dried vomit or old milk that wouldn't go away. I just didn't say anything. I brought Lysol and now and then I'd give the room a good spray.

Room was clean. Strange people hanging around the lobby and front exit. Halls dirty. Generally seedy feeling. Front desk staff very helpful.

I have a problem with the bathroom the toilet never really flush and the staff when I told him about it they sent the maintenance guy up there he changed the flapper inside the toilet and then it work for a little while but then it ran water all night long cut off and on. Other than that everything was pretty much you know really good service but never really could go to sleep even with the door to the bathroom close it just you wake up in the toilet would just be running making loud a loud noise of water running and my squealing so it kind of for the two nights I was there

Very comfy beds, very clean. I thought this was a great hotel.

The room was great. The staff was friendly and helpful- which can’t be easy these days with all the uncertainty about the Coronavirus. The only negative aspect of our trip was that the grounds really require a good cleaning of dog waste. Although there are waste bags and disposable cans readily available, unfortunately some aren’t considerate about picking up after their pets.

Despite recent renovations place still looks run down. Kudos to the house keepers. Always polite helpful and friendly.

Great price for a 2 bed in Portland. Our family of 4 slept great.

Very disappointed that the Hot Tub was not functional.. the restaurant was excellent and I had a great night sleep though!

Good location. Clean room. Comfortable bed. Accommodated my extremely early check out.

the so-called window I had in my room was it ceiling height and small would not want to stay here very long with that type of window mattress was okay but not great seem to be pretty used because was soft The furniture is dated and no sitting chair as two double beds. I was in handicap room for grab bars in the bathroom but only has one room here that has roll-in shower which I don't need.

Fair price and good proximity to downtown Portland

The person at the front desk was extremely rude. I called 3 times prior to check in to let them know we would be early because our wedding was at 4. On the phone she said the room would be ready early. When we got there it wasn't. She said because of my attitude she would make sure we wouldnt get in till 3. She scolded me infront of a roomful of people. When I spoke to the manger he was just as rude

Congress St Portland ME

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Free airport shuttle

Clarion Hotel Portland places you within a 15-minute stroll of popular sights such as Thompson's Point and Hadlock Field. This 149-room hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Pete and Larry's, the hotel's onsite restaurant. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 10:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and TVs with cable channels. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests staying at Clarion Hotel Portland enjoy an indoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking, as well as a free airport shuttle (available on request). Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with securing valuables, luggage storage, and concierge services. Additional amenities include a spa tub, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Double Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Roll-In Shower)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Clarion Hotel Portland

Everyone (29) Couples (1) Family (9)
4
Business Business

Really liked that it was attached to the restaurant. Did not like the situation with the stairs down to lobby for check in. Imagine this would be hard to less mobile people and there was no elevator or chair lift. Maybe they make accommodations some how for this. Anyway, I had a nice stay and was very happy with my room.

By on Apr 26, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,

4
Everyone

Overall quality good. Cost down from summer tourist when it doubled

By on Feb 16, 2022

3
Everyone

By on Jan 4, 2022

3
Family

The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The facility was clean. However, the room we got, 503, had a funky smell. It smelled like dried vomit or old milk that wouldn't go away. I just didn't say anything. I brought Lysol and now and then I'd give the room a good spray.

By on Jun 2, 2021

2
Family

Room was clean. Strange people hanging around the lobby and front exit. Halls dirty. Generally seedy feeling. Front desk staff very helpful.

By on May 28, 2021

4
Everyone

By on May 16, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Oct 6, 2020

3
Family

I have a problem with the bathroom the toilet never really flush and the staff when I told him about it they sent the maintenance guy up there he changed the flapper inside the toilet and then it work for a little while but then it ran water all night long cut off and on. Other than that everything was pretty much you know really good service but never really could go to sleep even with the door to the bathroom close it just you wake up in the toilet would just be running making loud a loud noise of water running and my squealing so it kind of for the two nights I was there

By , from Portland Maine on Sep 20, 2020

5
Family

Very comfy beds, very clean. I thought this was a great hotel.

By , from Chino, CA on Aug 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 22, 2020

Thanks for sharing your feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again if you return to Portland!

5
Family

The room was great. The staff was friendly and helpful- which can’t be easy these days with all the uncertainty about the Coronavirus. The only negative aspect of our trip was that the grounds really require a good cleaning of dog waste. Although there are waste bags and disposable cans readily available, unfortunately some aren’t considerate about picking up after their pets.

By on Mar 15, 2020

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-Clarion-Hotel-Portland.h7171-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Portland-Hotels-Clarion-Hotel-Portland.h7171-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Portland-Hotels-Clarion-Hotel-Portland.h7171-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions