Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Quality Inn University Center

2.5 out of 5.0

Quality Inn University Center

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Old and not as kept up as it could be. Could use some updates

Old technology! My keys didn’t work and the door was hard to open. Eventually the front desk told me that the keys become de magnetized if they are near your phone. Tvs were difficult to use. Some staff at the front desk were very cold. Would not stay there again.

The staff was not friendly. They didn’t care to know how we enjoyed our time.

Booking was sloppy and inaccurate.day before arrival I stopped to again assure rooms were booked properly and there were 3 rooms booked and not 2. After numerous phone calls during prior2 months to assure accuracy I was shocked at whole process with booking via Orbitz and hotel.

Convenient location to visit the universities in Oakland, and the staff are kind and friendly. However, some trash were left when I first enter the room that I stayed.

Renovated hotel. Very good location, walking distance to UPMc. Panera in the lobby very convenient

Hotel was very run down. Door to room was constantly stuck, bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed and there was a sign in the bathroom alerting us that if you didn’t close the bathroom door, that the steam would set off the fire alarm. Then the heat in the room was either too hot ( even set at 61) or too cold. Hotel needs a major overhaul and staff acted like they could care less. I paid $100 a night which was $70 too much for this place. Plus the parking lot is shared with a Panera bread so parking was not guaranteed. Most times the lot was full.

Outdated for this price. No any other amenity such as business center, etc.

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. From check in to meeting the maid in the hall the day we checked out, everyone was friendly. The shuttle driver who picked us up at 9pm at the hospital the night of our stay was very pleasant as well. The hotel is older, but the rooms and halls were very clean. Panera Bread on the bottom floor makes for a very convenient meal for folks from out of town staying at the hotel.

Was a great time in Pittsburgh. Hotel was ok but on Sunday morning there was no water. It got fixed but it was very inconvenient. Staff was friendly and room was clean. Old heater only has hot or cold, there was adjustments but made no difference

The room was clean however had a dingy smell and humid. The pillows were very small and flimsy. Not even a chair to sit down other than the bed.

This Quality Inn was in a handy location to access Carnegie Mellon, Pittsburgh Univ. or Carlow Univ. Check in was a little weird, but overall the staff was friendly. This hotel had free parking but no free breakfast. The halls were a little dingy but room was clean. The rear "fire exit" (which I thought would lead to the back parking lot) actually led to a locked door. (Code violation?) I would probably not stay at this hotel again.

Slider to balcony off track and unsecured, both neighboring balconies could walk over and look or walk in my roomind if they wanted. The 1/2" gap on the track let a ton of cold air in so room was freezing in Feb. Better to stay at a $49 hotel out of town... atleast then I expect a dump BUT for over $100 per night I expect security and a comfortable room.

Great location if you are in town traveling to UPMC (within a reasonable walking distance) and are on a budget. The hotel itself is nothing special, but I don't think that anyone would be expecting a "5-star" experience based on the rate/hotel brand. They do have an attached Panera, which is a plus. The hotel room was a bit dated, but clean overall and OK for a night/few nights. Again, if your expectations aren't unreasonable this is a convenient and practical hotel for UPMC visitors.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. Beds were comfortable also. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave.

Building and decor are old sometimes shabby, need updating.

We specifically went to Pittsburgh to go to UPMC. We did not know her way around Pittsburgh so the shuttle service at this hotel was priceless for us. They have excellent service the staff was extremely friendly at the hotel we were very comfortable in our room and we would definitely stay there again.

Good location - right by the colleges (Pitt, Carnegie Mellon, Duquesne). Room was dated but had a small balcony, fridge, microwave, and hair dryer.

Convenient to the University of Pittsburgh. Friendly helpful staff. Free parking.

3401 Blvd Of The Allies Pittsburgh PA

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to University of Pittsburgh and University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Quality Inn University Center places you in Oakland, within a leisurely stroll of popular sights such as University of Pittsburgh and University of Pittsburgh Medical Center. This hotel has 119 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at Panera Bread, the hotel's onsite restaurant. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a balcony, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Property features

At Quality Inn University Center, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and a computer station. There's free parking and a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, securing valuables, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a library, free newspapers, and an ATM.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Everyone (16) Couples (30) Business (28) Family (24) Friends (14) Other (28)
3
Partner Couples Families

Old and not as kept up as it could be. Could use some updates

By on Jun 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. I am sorry to learn that you were displeased. What could we have done better?

2
Families

Old technology! My keys didn’t work and the door was hard to open. Eventually the front desk told me that the keys become de magnetized if they are near your phone. Tvs were difficult to use. Some staff at the front desk were very cold. Would not stay there again.

By on May 9, 2019

Review comment responded on May 10, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to learn that you were displeased with your visit. Thank you for letting us know about the issues. I apologize for the inconvenience.

4
Families

The staff was not friendly. They didn’t care to know how we enjoyed our time.

By on Apr 20, 2019

Review comment responded on May 3, 2019

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to learn that you were displeased. Would you be able to provide some specifics?

2
Friends

Booking was sloppy and inaccurate.day before arrival I stopped to again assure rooms were booked properly and there were 3 rooms booked and not 2. After numerous phone calls during prior2 months to assure accuracy I was shocked at whole process with booking via Orbitz and hotel.

By on Mar 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 29, 2019

Thank you for the review. I am sorry for any inconveniences. I'd like to look into this issue for you but since this post is "Anonymous", I cannot.

2
Everyone

By on Feb 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 1, 2019

Thank you for rating our hotel.

4
Everyone

Convenient location to visit the universities in Oakland, and the staff are kind and friendly. However, some trash were left when I first enter the room that I stayed.

By , from Washington DC on Oct 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2018

Thank you for being our guest!

4

visiting

Everyone

Renovated hotel. Very good location, walking distance to UPMc. Panera in the lobby very convenient

By , from ohio on Jul 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 2, 2018

Thank you for the nice review.

2

worst $100 i’ve spent

Everyone

Hotel was very run down. Door to room was constantly stuck, bathroom door wouldn’t stay closed and there was a sign in the bathroom alerting us that if you didn’t close the bathroom door, that the steam would set off the fire alarm. Then the heat in the room was either too hot ( even set at 61) or too cold. Hotel needs a major overhaul and staff acted like they could care less. I paid $100 a night which was $70 too much for this place. Plus the parking lot is shared with a Panera bread so parking was not guaranteed. Most times the lot was full.

By on Mar 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 23, 2018

I wish you and your family the best. If you must return for medical reasons, please give us a call directly. We would be happy to assist.

3

4 star price, motel facility

Everyone

Outdated for this price. No any other amenity such as business center, etc.

By on Mar 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2018

Thank you for your review. We do have a computer and printer in the lobby for all guests.

4

convenient stay near magee women's hospital

Families

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. From check in to meeting the maid in the hall the day we checked out, everyone was friendly. The shuttle driver who picked us up at 9pm at the hospital the night of our stay was very pleasant as well. The hotel is older, but the rooms and halls were very clean. Panera Bread on the bottom floor makes for a very convenient meal for folks from out of town staying at the hotel.

By , from Johnstown, PA on Mar 1, 2018

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.