Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
  • Free WiFi in rooms and ...
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities

Recent guest reviews

Staffs were nice and food at bar were quite good actually. I ordered steak with additional side dishes for two people, which exceeded expectations for English Food. Hotel is located a bit far from town centre, but easy access to bus nearby.

So hubby wants to go away for his birthday, so we decide to go to Oxford. Was only after booking had been made that I found the recently dated negative reviews, well hey ho it’s booked and there were positive reviews. So positive aspects the receptionist were extremely friendly and helpful so those negative reviews were wrong. However the male staff that ticked our name off for breakfast could do with a smile on his face as to us he appeared moody and of fish and his attitude when (as it turned out) he mistakenly informed us that we had not paid for breakfast could do with a big uplift . In the end after I showed the restaurant supervisor our booking the issue went away, but it did pull the whole service aspect down for us Have to say when this issue was mentioned to the receptionist they were very apologetic for the admin issue with the restaurant. For a 4* hotel was not impressed with the breakfast, there were no options clearly offered other than the standard breakfast buffet and the tropical fruit drink tasted like barely flavoured water. The observations from recent previous guests were spot on regarding the presentation for the bedroom areas of the hotel. The carpet in the corridor of our bedroom was threadbare and large areas were patched with gaffer tape (see pictures), the bedroom door (see picture) has scuff and scratch marks and really needed a repaint. However the reception area, public toilets (see pictures) and staircase were in good standard. Didn’t check out the bar area. As a 4* hotel this hotel is at best a reasonable 3*. The one positive aspect is the staff (excluding the male at breakfast already referred to) and the public parts of the hotel are reasonably presented.

My partner and I had decided to spend a night in Oxford for my birthday. We wanted to pick a hotel not to far from the centre and had worked out this hotel would be perfect. And since it was my birthday we thought we’d spend a little more then usual for a one night stay somewhere. A week or so before we were due to stay my partner emailed the hotel asking if they could provide anything for my birthday for example maybe balloons or a complementary drink. They said they would gladly offer a bottle of Prosecco in the room for an additional £25. On arrival the hotel itself looks run down and needs some work doing. The main reception is nice but still not amazing and not what it suggests on the website. We were welcomed well I say welcomed loosely by a woman at reception who told us she would be just a minute whilst she continued to sort some paperwork behind the desk. We were then told our room number etc. Waking up the stairs the carpets were worn down and looked tatty but the sofas and other parts looked okay. On entering our room we noticed a stain on the carpet we then noticed two more stains. Switches that didn’t seem to do anything, lights that didn’t work, marks all over the wall and the bathroom was a true let down. Dirty, mouldy and rusty. We didn’t say anything whilst there because I just wanted to enjoy my birthday. We also didn’t have high hopes after reading trip advisor reviews anyway. The only plus was that they let us use the carpark whilst we explored Oxford before the check in time. I’d say for a one night stay it’s not bad but it’s pricey for a one night stay in a below average hotel.

We booked this venue for 2 days of conferences for about 50 people a day and things didn’t go well from the start: - the room we were given to hold 50 was way too small. This apparently due to an oversight by a previous member of staff. This led to a very hard day. - the projector barely worked. After a delayed start trying to get every one in the room it was too late to change it until lunchtime. - I was with 3 colleagues, but my overnight room was changed on the day of arrival and I was shipped to the annex at the top of the hill. - My overnight room was okay, but the curtains were coming down, switches didn’t work, a lamp didn’t work, there was no soap and the bath fixtures weren’t fixed. - The food was okay, but the restaurant barely used. However the Fish and Chips were a highlight. So although everyone was friendly, our visit did not go well.

Room 411water dripping in through ceiling, which had cracked and bulging. No reply from Reception when we called for help(it was 1am). I got dressed and found ONE member of staff on-site who was manning the bar. Only room available 406, a twin bed room, in the basement! I fully expected to be reimbursed the £177 pre-paid for the room, instead was presented with a bill for our additional food £15, at reception the next day. Reception were unaware of what had happened in the night and were not allowed to make any decisions. I asked to see Manager but he wasn't on-site (10am Sun morn). The hotel computer system was "down" and thus reception were unable to print a receipt. A woman came to the desk to sort the problem, she introduced herself as a manager but she was actually the house-keeper and not authorised to make any management-decisions! An appalling level of service for a "not inexpensive" hotel. The hotel promised to email me my receipt...I am still waiting for this email to arrive!

We were not impressed at all. They call it 4 star and we booked “ superior” double room. The bed was fine and the room appeared clean, however the bathroom was 1 star quality. Hairs on the floor, mold around the bath and the sink unit top was falling apart. Reception said sorry and would mention it to the maintenance team in the morning. The breakfast was nothing short of an “ all inclusive” type food shed. They ran out of fried eggs, then scrambled eggs, the bacon and bread for toast was in short supply. One staff seem to be insufficiently trained and kept dropping cutlery. Coffee seem to be rationed as well. The evening before after coming back from a walk around town at around 11pm the bar person seemed agitated that we wanted a drink and got the order wrong claiming I and my 3 companions were wrong ( what happened to the customer is always right). All in all I will never come back to this hotel or any of the Compass Chain if this is the poor sub standard service to be expected. I will also not be recommending this hotel to anyone else. In general staff were friendly just lacked any proper management, supervision and training.

I've been working at the hotel on a course for a week and I have been here every day. The service has been exceptional and everyone has been helpful and polite. Everything has run like clockwork and I have been very happy and comfortable here. A part which stood out most for me was the breakfast team and in particular, Juddy and Sabilla. They were always helpful, friendly and quick in thier service. The breakfasts were great quality and set me up for the day! Thank you for a fab experience and I hope I come here again.

We experienced a series of disappointing experiences from arriving when I had to inform the receptionist of their own websites offer for club room with privileges (£25 pp dinner allowance) When we got into our room we were also informed that we had a free minibar - you may be surprised to learn however that this minibar is teetotal!! Only soft drinks in this minibar! The carpet in this room is also stained very badly. Terrible experience in the restaurant when taking up the £25 offer on our first evening with my husbands steak and ale pie and mash being served cold with a jug of solid gravy as accompaniment ....and for myself no catch of the day available on a very limited menu. Sorry but we won’t be returning

We have stayed here several times now and always enjoy our stay. The location is perfect for us to walk by the riverside and also visit Oxford. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Rooms are adequate and breakfast very good

Got the feeling nobody had stepped inside our room for a few years, its just seemed in a bad way - from a missing tv remote, to a dodgy shower head and toilet flush. We were warned about a wedding and potential for noise, but the walls are so paper thin it wasn't even the wedding we needed to worry about. Even a little bit of talking carries through the hotel, and once the maids arrive and breakfast opens it sounded like elephants had been let loose.

Church Way Oxford England

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Laundry facilities

O2 Academy (Oxford) is within 2 miles (3 km) of Hawkwell House Hotel by Compass Hospitality while other popular attractions such as Christ Church College are within 3 miles (5 km). This 4-star hotel has 77 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service. For your convenience, a English breakfast is available for a fee.


Guests can expect to find 38-inch a TV with digital channels and Netflix, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free bottled water, and a desk.

Property features

A local mainstay since 1864, Hawkwell House Hotel by Compass Hospitality offers free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and express check-out. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include free newspapers, a terrace, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Club Rooms with Privileges

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Four Poster Suite

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Twin Room

Twin 2 | Sleeps 2

Standard Single Room

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

77.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 1316 reviews

Hawkwell House Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Church Way, Oxford, England OX4 4DZ
url importing https://www.orbitz.com
There was an error importing, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com". www.orbitz.comhttps